Malaysia August 2016 vehicle sales data by brand – top 5 unchanged, Perodua up 40%, Toyota up 30%

Perodua_Axia_Bezza-1

Vehicle sales in Malaysia for the month of August 2016 was up 23.2% from a poor July, but the year-to-date total of 370,242 units is down 14.8% compared to the same period in 2015. The car market may not be sizzling hot this year, but it’s not a total collapse either (as some pessimists might lead you to believe), and most brands are chugging along though this leaner period.

The top five positions remain the same, and the leaderboard reads Perodua, Honda, Toyota, Proton and Nissan. It’s the same order, whether for August 2016 or year-to-date Jan-Aug 2016.

Malaysia’s market leader for the past decade, Perodua, gained 40.5% from July to extend its unassailable lead thanks to the new Bezza, its first ever sedan. Proton, in fourth behind the Japanese giants, gained 14.6%. It should be awhile more before the effect of the new Persona (launched in late August) and new Saga (launched yesterday) translates to numbers.

Honda is still the non-national leader by some margin, but previous foreign brand champ Toyota had an encouraging August with a 30.5% gain. Other top performers in August were Mazda +50.4%, Volkswagen +35% and Renault with a big 118.4% jump. It wasn’t such a good month for Audi (-21.6%) and Subaru (-35.9%).

We’re approaching the final quarter of the year. Never mind catching Perodua, but will Proton finish the year strong enough to retake the No.2 spot ahead of the foreign makes? With the Perdana, Persona and Saga all introduced, there’s one more launch left in the locker for Proton – the rebadged Suzuki Ertiga MPV.

august-2016-car-sales-data-by-brand

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• FIST (Member) on Sep 29, 2016 at 5:12 pm

Toyota jumped because of Sienta..?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 14
    • Discount given gao-gao to clear “old” Vios la (single VVTi)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 0
      • tokok on Sep 29, 2016 at 11:45 pm

T still no match for H really

• Same L00 on Sep 30, 2016 at 3:35 pm

Honda or Toyota, everyone knows they won’t go wrong with sushi cars. Can’t afford a sushi cars? Perodua is a good deal also, that’s why it is the best seller now. Get kimchi no RV, get Proton no quality, simple!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
      • Same L0rrrr on Sep 30, 2016 at 9:46 am

I got to admit new proton launches took many of sales from my vios. But only sushi got better RV.

• Untung Manyak Wang on Sep 30, 2016 at 10:15 am

Honda PV 2 times more than Toyota PV. Vios Discount tak cukup banyak :p

• AutoFrenz (the original) on Sep 29, 2016 at 7:20 pm

Serious…jaguar sold 4 cars only…is this for real

• AutoFrenz (the original) on Sep 29, 2016 at 7:23 pm

And lexus still better than volvo and audi combined plus a few units…what a joke

• Same L0rr on Sep 30, 2016 at 7:49 am

Why Proton sale so slow? Because of Campro VVT & Clutch CVT bising Punch! Please Proton. Stop with that powertrain.
      Come out with dual VVT. Where is your GDI engine? Clutch CVT change it to Torque Converter CVT!

• OMG…may this will be the worst sales results for Proton? Still behind Honda abt 10K cars…Kiss good bye to Proton.

• zulRunner on Sep 29, 2016 at 5:15 pm

Walawei tongek manyak tinggi oooh, tp jangan sombong dl.
    Sale Perdana blum start kira yer…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 10
  • Lockhart on Sep 29, 2016 at 5:17 pm

before you guys condemn proton, FYI Persona was launched end of Aug 2016. So wait for Sept 2016 report

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 13
    • How about iriz then? Launch last month also?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 2
    • azmin on Sep 30, 2016 at 8:50 am

will you buy a proton? do you own a proton? I have a preve for 4 years now and I know all about proton.

• I have a 2014 preve iafm exec… bought that new around 58k… 2016 i want to trade it in at proton also to buy exora… but then they just want to take my car at rm29k only… damn it proton cars… will not buying proton anymore… i want to go for innova….

• Dedak in the house on Sep 29, 2016 at 5:17 pm

All increased.. why??? Bcos they offered dedak during merdeka month.. some even extended the dedak period until sep..

• Mikey on Sep 29, 2016 at 5:25 pm

Wow, there are 5 mega/filthy rich M’sian who bought Lamborghini. With 267 Porsche, 62 Jaguars, 178 Land Rover, 8011 Merc & 5455 BMW sold up to Aug/15, M’sian are indeed a “Rich” nation. I believe these are all New car.

Those CBU are not included & there is no mention of Ferrari either. Happy commenting guys as i can for-see most will be focusing on the bread & butter cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
    • Encik Kunta on Sep 29, 2016 at 5:59 pm

How is Prootn going to pay their 12,000 workers if their sales is hardly 70,000 per year?

Their BOD alone requires berpuluh million per month as each director gets 6 figure salary per month (not per year)

How to pay 12,000 workers like this?

I think the BOD and management in Proton should volunteer a 20% pay cut and give up all the luxuries like drivers, Audi A8L, club memberships, Business Class Travels etc

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 4
      • Andrekua on Sep 29, 2016 at 7:04 pm

Apa lagi, bailout la… Proton do not need to pay their workers because we’re paying for it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 4
      • Same L0rrrr on Sep 29, 2016 at 8:07 pm

Agreed with Kunta, nxt car for our son will not be saga anymore

• Kunta katak on Sep 29, 2016 at 10:47 pm

Bash proton but beli saga for your son juga. Pity both of you T sales man

• frossonice on Sep 29, 2016 at 8:36 pm

People talk about filthy rich Malaysian buying super expensive car and you reply about Proton which has no bearing whatsoever from original comment. Topkek basher.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
      • Henry on Sep 30, 2016 at 10:48 am

Another 1.5 billion soft loan, perhaps?

• inb4 Lexus > Audi

• Katniss on Sep 29, 2016 at 5:33 pm

Maxus G10 sold how many

• Susukotak on Sep 29, 2016 at 10:39 pm

I saw 1 this morning in shah alam. Nice back

• Mikey on Sep 30, 2016 at 10:13 am

Maxus sold how many are NOT important to us. We are only interested in what P1 & P2 is doing bcos its our National car.

• mohd nat on Sep 29, 2016 at 5:35 pm

excited to know till this year end how proton can capture market share after introducing new perdana,persona,saga and ertiga in this year after see many positive comments and tumbs up in this page as well as at other pages. How about new bezza sales can perform or not. good luck both of national car P1 & P2. no bash.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
    • Sayonara on Sep 29, 2016 at 5:53 pm

Bye bye Proton! Sayonara! Your Saga and Persona will slowly tak laku by Bezza soon!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 21
    • Encik Kunta on Sep 29, 2016 at 5:54 pm

Proton 44k

Perodua 133k

I think we know which company is sleeping, relaxing, minum teh and makan karipap 8 times a day in the factory kantin and looking at aweks.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 12
      • basherlogic on Sep 29, 2016 at 9:32 pm

If like that Ferrari is lazier company coz lesser sales

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 5
        • azmin on Sep 30, 2016 at 8:55 am

Ferrari? is a super premium sports car maker man. they make around 10,000 cars per year and all are pre-sold before launch how can you compare Ferrari way of biz to Proton? I know proton, I worked there for 11 years and know what culture they have. some brilliant talents under the most stupid management ever.

• basherlogic on Sep 30, 2016 at 12:29 pm

Then why you dun say P2 got cheaper car less than 30k? Pipu buy p2 coz it’s cheap not because it is good!

• Encik Kunta on Sep 29, 2016 at 5:45 pm

Proton only got 4436 sales? Why so low? I thought Proton was boasting yesterday already got 10,000 orders. If last month was 3866 sales (before the Persona launch), you mean Proton could only deliver 600 cars?

I think Proton was lying as usual about their 10,000 orders. Just like how the old CEO lied to everyone that Iriz sales were so good, that Proton has orders up to 2 years. Then Tun M came out with the truth that Iriz sales were kaput.

Come on Proton, be honest with your figures.

Anyway year end already and Proton has only sold 44,000 cars? Last year Proton sold 100,000 cars and this was the scandal that Mustapha had to intervene.

Now year ending and Proton has sold only 44,000 cars? By year end, I think max also with Saga sales would be 70,000

Like this how to pay back the RM1.5 billion? 3 years also to break even (according to Proton) tak boleh.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 399 Thumb down 22
    • Anything But P1, Greedy P2 on Sep 29, 2016 at 5:54 pm

As usual la, CEO syiok sendiri

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 5
      • Orders are not sales kid.
        Maybe your parents dun teach you, pity.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 9
    • Silthice on Sep 29, 2016 at 5:57 pm

Proton didn’t mention they do any Persona delivery in the first week right after the launch.

• Bashers pls read on Sep 29, 2016 at 6:00 pm

For people who like to stupidly bash proton August sales here, please read the article first. Especially 3rd paragraph, Last sentence.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
      • Adios Proton on Sep 29, 2016 at 9:00 pm

The sales impact from new Saga, Persona, Perdana and Ertiga will not be huge enough to stop the sinking ship to drag along DRB into deep abyss further. Even DRB evidently can no longer burn a billion ringgit each year for a decay dying tree and pretend itself as willing custodian while can’t wait to kick out the burden to the new owner. Such a tragic end to Proton shall a China company taking it over. Nevertheless the rakyat will be the final victor as the dinosaur bully comes to an end.

• Andrekua on Sep 29, 2016 at 7:06 pm

Nah, payback? We’re lucky if they didn’t asked for more, let alone pay back.

• kzm (Member) on Sep 29, 2016 at 11:51 pm

u thumb up ur own comment way too much la brader..

• Henry on Sep 30, 2016 at 11:09 am

Very likely the 1.5 billion soft loan will be converted to equity.

• Silthice on Sep 29, 2016 at 5:49 pm

Honda leading in YTD figures more than twice of Toyota. Wonder what if Honda has much more line up offered in Malaysia.

• Susukotak on Sep 29, 2016 at 10:42 pm

No wonder they differ brv launching date to next year. Good strategy.

• Anything But P1, Greedy P2 on Sep 29, 2016 at 5:53 pm

Passenger car sales
    Honda 55.7k
    Toyota 26.6k

Hahahaha
    Moving backwards

• camtakpro on Sep 30, 2016 at 7:01 am

When that happened, UMW so-called ‘facelift’ will change engine, transmission and add VSC across all range – see Vios. Continue stop buying them and you have reverse camera and 6 airbag across all range.

Same with Altis and Camry (and all others model). Just stop buying it. And you will have VSC across all range.

• inb4 bashers dun read 3rd paragraph until finish b4 keybording

• John, you may offer free afterlife package for those who order basic saga, hahaha, saga need it more urgent than vscless vios

• They dun need it coz if buy saga they can save some money more than overpriced Vios

• Perodua-bezza, discounted myvi n alza.
    Honda-promotion city, jazz n new civic
    Toyota-discounted vios
    Proton-discounted iriz n old saga

My prediction: proton will leap to second next month. Possibly to take back the first place in one year if perodua doesn’t keluar the bezza 1.5 with longer rear bumper.
    Why:bezza is killing the myvi and axia, saga and persona are killing the bezza. If a person had tested drive the persona, bezza and myvi then they never choose the persona, the person must be either a really proton hater or jimat minyak is their first car priority.

• passion on Sep 30, 2016 at 9:10 am

anyone here has a subaru xv? i hear it has plenty of problems. bearing noise,losing engine oil and faulty drive shafts.the pickup is also very bad i hear with plenty of road noise. and very small boot?

• Mikey on Sep 30, 2016 at 10:26 am

I believe P1 will end up in No2 at the end with their new Persona & Saga bcos its their most sellable & their bread & butter products. Forget about No1 as P2 is too far ahead.

Target for next year & take care of your customers complaint’s bcos your customers are your most valuable assets that a company can have.

A satisfied customer recommendation is better than any advertisement. Hope P1 reads all the comments here & take it as a challenge rather than a bashing.

• Henry on Sep 30, 2016 at 10:46 am

Wow! Thanks to the Bezza, Perodua’s YTD volume is three times that of Proton. August’s Merdeka Sales by the various car distributors also help to increase sales.

• Same L0rr on Sep 30, 2016 at 10:57 am

Buy Ferrari better.. Good RV!

• oledi test drive the persona, wow it is really a good car to drive. really wooo, i no tipu.

• john is otak batu on Sep 30, 2016 at 7:21 pm

3 years later, don’t come out complain on noisy engine & hi fuel consumption, k??!!!

• azrai on Sep 30, 2016 at 2:27 pm

Better buy 20 years old Wira at RM5k, if sell also RM5k. Very good RV.

• Propro on Oct 01, 2016 at 3:54 am

Correct me if I’m wrong, but according to the table, Proton should be in number 3 spot right?

• Kenny on Oct 02, 2016 at 10:44 pm

Ford sold a miserable 56 passenger cars in August. Expect Sept to be lower due to the launch of the Jetta. When will SDAC realize they have overpriced the Focus?

• camtakpro on Oct 04, 2016 at 7:58 am

Focus only? Everything from Ford are overpriced. Anyway they can follow Suzuki footstep.

• sabahan on Oct 04, 2016 at 3:21 pm

Toyota sales increase, thanks to their new Hilux
    Everywhere in Sabah