Mercedes-Benz C-Class Cabriolet launched in Malaysia – C200 RM359k, C250 RM389k, C300 RM444k

mercedesbenz_c250cabriolet-2

Alongside the SLC roadster, Mercedes-Benz Malaysia has also pulled the covers off the Mercedes-Benz C-Class Cabriolet today. The launch of the roofless variant completes the local C-Class lineup – or at least, as complete as it can be without the wagon bodystyle.

It’s quite a pricey proposition – the C 200 retails at RM358,888, the C 250 AMG Line at RM388,888 and the C 300 AMG Line at RM443,888, making them between RM50,000 and RM55,000 more expensive than the equivalent coupés, and more than RM100,000 dearer than the locally-assembled (CKD) sedans. All prices are on-the-road without insurance, inclusive of a four-year, unlimited-mileage warranty.

The cabrio is essentially a droptop version of the coupé, retaining much of the same unique design cues, including door mirrors that sit on the door tops, S-Class Coupé/Cabrio-esque two-piece LED tail lights and a low-mounted number plate recess. The C 250 and C 300 get the AMG Line package that includes aggressive front and rear bumpers, deeper side skirts and chrome pins on the ‘diamond’ grille.

mercedesbenz_c300cabriolet-4

Inside, the dashboard is shared with the sedan, but the longer doors get redesigned door cards with shorter decorative trim (now in a brushed metal finish as opposed to following the centre console trim) as well as leather trim that now runs the full length of the doors. The massive bucket seats are also unique to the cabrio, and the car is now a strict four-seater.

The fabric roof opens and closes in 20 seconds, and is operable at speeds of up to 50 km/h. When folded, it encroaches into the boot space, which shrinks from 360 litres with the roof up to 285 litres.

Kit on the C 200 includes LED High Performance headlights, 18-inch five split-spoke alloy wheels, Artico faux leather upholstery, piano black interior trim, ambient lighting, illuminated door sill plates, power-adjustable front seats with memory, the base Audio 20 CD infotainment system, Garmin Map Pilot navigation and a reverse camera.

mercedesbenz_c300cabriolet-15

All models gain Active Park Assist, Agility Control suspension, the Dynamic Select system, Pre-Safe and Active Brake Assist. The C 250 adds on LED Intelligent headlights, Adaptive Highbeam Assist Plus, full-leather upholstery and sports suspension.

Stepping up to the C 300 nets you 19-inch AMG multispoke alloys, Keyless-GO, open-pore black ash wood trim, an analogue clock, Air Balance fragrance system, a COMAND Online navigation system and a Burmester surround sound system.

Power comes from the same 2.0 litre turbocharged four-cylinder engine as the sedan and coupé, but the cabrio receives the newer nine-speed 9G-Tronic automatic transmission instead of the 7G-Tronic Plus seven-speeder on the others. The C 200 gets 184 hp at 5,500 rpm and 300 Nm from 1,200 to 4,000 rpm, while the C 250 nets 211 hp and 350 Nm. The C 300 tops the list with 245 hp and 370 Nm.

Browse full specifications and equipment of the Mercedes-Benz C-Class Cabriolet on CarBase.my.

GALLERY: Mercedes-Benz C 250 AMG Line Cabriolet

GALLERY: Mercedes-Benz C 300 AMG Line Cabriolet

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Mikey on Sep 29, 2016 at 9:43 pm

Wah, so beautiful, classy, adorable & captivating la. Can MBM loan me one for 1 week only. I promise to return & give a Good write up. Can or not !?? Cheers …

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
    • Same L0rrrr on Sep 29, 2016 at 10:39 pm

Like i said many times sushi has best RV. After 5 years, my son and my boss kunta son can sell our proton saga at higher RV.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
      • Mikey on Sep 30, 2016 at 10:54 am

Same L0rrr, thanks for dropping 2 lines here. We are writing about Merc. If U want sushi, go to Sushi King.

A Merc/BMW owner do not look at RV B4 buying. Sound like U never own one of these German engineered cars.

I suggest U borrow 1 from your friend to drive so that U can enjoy the finer things in life B4 U shoot yourself again.

• ryhme on Sep 30, 2016 at 2:26 pm

If Merc is so good, why RV is low?

• Same L00 on Sep 30, 2016 at 3:34 pm

If I have any junk (e.g. Proton) at home, I will give out for free. No one likes to keep junk home, and only sozai would pay for junk.
            Mercedes is good but overpriced. More and more people realise Lexus is the way!

• hanjina on Sep 30, 2016 at 4:25 pm

But but but why you bought saga for your son?

• Mikey on Sep 30, 2016 at 5:25 pm

rhyme, what do U know about cars other than RV !? Don’t ask silly question unless U want me to call U Stu..d.

• azrai on Sep 29, 2016 at 11:00 pm

Stop behind Metrobus & start writing…

• Mikey on Sep 30, 2016 at 11:00 am

azrai, I usually do not reply 2 a condescending one liner but I’ll make U an exception bcos I’m free now.

If U think U can contribute something here, please write something that is of useful otherwise STFU.

U have contributed nothing valuable except wasting time & space.

• Lee Kum Kee on Sep 30, 2016 at 9:49 am

Driving this in Malaysia will make one look like a clown than anything else.
      HOT! DUSTY! BLACK SMOKE!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 6
      • HAZE….SNATCH THEFT….

• Mikey on Sep 30, 2016 at 11:08 am

Bro Lee Kum Kee. In case U do not know, this is a CC(Coupé/Cabrio). U are suppose to close the roof when U are in a “HOT! DUSTY! BLACK SMOKE!” area.

• angrybird on Sep 30, 2016 at 2:28 pm

What so special about it? Bird poop can still drops on your head!

• Mikey on Oct 01, 2016 at 12:19 pm

Ha ha ha. Now i know why U call yourself angrybird. Bcos the bird poops drop on your head isit !

• inb4 tax the rich so no problemo

• Sammy Loo on Sep 30, 2016 at 12:24 am

how many airbags?

• inb4 PT & HS book one each.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Sep 30, 2016 at 10:50 am

nice but pointless