Student wins new 2016 Proton Saga at launch event

2016-proton-saga-winner

You were probably stunned watching it on yesterday’s live stream as we were seeing it for ourselves, but it definitely did happen – 22-year-old Aliya Raidah binti Abdul Malek won her way to a 2016 Proton Saga at the launch event, becoming the first person to own one.

It all started innocuously enough, with minister of youth and sports Khairy Jamaluddin delivering his usual speech before the car was launched – but then he walked away from the rostrum and called for a student born in September to come to the stage.

The human resource development student at Universiti Putra Malaysia (UPM) was picked to come forward, and Khairy asked her a simple question – name three Proton model names beginning with the letter ‘S’. Aliya’s answer – Saga, Savvy and Satria – was, of course, correct, and Khairy handed her a Proton bag.

But then Khairy quipped, “Actually, if we want the Proton brand to be emblazoned in the hearts of the Malaysian youth, surely we can’t give Aliya just a bag.” And, to the surprise of everyone in the room, he pulled out the keys from his pocket and handed them to Aliya. That’s quite a door gift, if you ask us…

Read all you need to know about the 2016 Proton Saga in our comprehensive launch report here.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Hidden due to lowcomment rating. Click here to see.

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 185
    • Dedak in the house on Sep 29, 2016 at 2:15 pm

Yes, im one of gomen student loan.. now earning more than 10k monthly.. good circle! No need to say bad thing about this girl la..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 8
    • armandd on Sep 29, 2016 at 2:31 pm

envy is in the air…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 4
    • Aiyaa..relek laa.. It is her luck to get free car. It just the same when Tony Fernandez give AA free tickets when he give a talk at UPM.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 2
    • Since when proton is a gomen car?

• Ciskek on Sep 29, 2016 at 11:19 am

Aliya Ohhsome!!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 2
  • inb4 bash start.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 40
  • Stupid Proton on Sep 29, 2016 at 11:38 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 190
    • frossonice on Sep 29, 2016 at 12:25 pm

This happen to be an automotive website. Paultan report anything about automotive and currently Saga is in the news, not Lamborghini Aventador Superleggera.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 100 Thumb down 2
    • Irritated? on Sep 29, 2016 at 12:29 pm

You said it is irritating yet have so much time to come in here and leave a comment. Who is the irritating idiot here?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 88 Thumb down 0
    • Encik Kunta on Sep 29, 2016 at 1:12 pm

Proton must stop giving free cars. According to my internal sources at Proton, Proton has given away many new 2016 Perdanas FOC to Government officials as well as to Tun M (extended version) and even our current PM. We are talking about tens of cars here and not one or two.

Come on Proton, when BMW or Mercedes launch a new car, they don’t give a free unit or many free units to Angela Merkel in Germany.

The same in the UK and South Korea. British car makers and Korean car makers don’t give FREE or FOC cars to their PM or Ministers.

This is especially so when your company is not doing well and losing money.

Hello abang abang, you all doing business lah. Learn not to give FREE or FOC cars to Government officials.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 64
      • Dedak in the house on Sep 29, 2016 at 2:19 pm

Brader.. i knew a VIP who works in bmw sgpore.. he bought a bmw with discounted price.. and he is just a DRIVER only..

• Albert on Sep 29, 2016 at 4:55 pm

Brader Dedak
          The driver can resell to the real buyer the next day,mah.

• Dedak in the house on Sep 30, 2016 at 11:17 am

U know how much to own a car in sgpr? With coe some more.. if want to resell to enjoy the discount, better dont buy in the first place.. sgprean prioritize house over car.. not like msian, bought a pprt unit but at the same time own a vios or honda.. thats the mentality of msian.. biar papa asal bergaya..

• Bash Basher on Sep 29, 2016 at 2:31 pm

Paultan is malaysian > created an automotive motive in malaysia> talk about our recently launched malaysian car. WTH is wrong? Probably only you’re wrong.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 0
    • bro 2.0 on Sep 29, 2016 at 7:15 pm

Don’t like Proton, den don’t go to Proton pagelah. Simple. Nobody’s forcing you to go read an article about Proton except you. You played yourself.

• Kunta Follower on Sep 29, 2016 at 11:40 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 138
    • frossonice on Sep 29, 2016 at 12:26 pm

Rage… Rage on.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 1
    • topkek on Sep 29, 2016 at 12:43 pm

Yeah if dun gip dedak then you say p1 dun appreciate those winners pulak.

Topkek

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 2
      • Dedak in the house on Sep 29, 2016 at 2:21 pm

Dont gip make noise, gip low spec also make noise, upgrade to full spec lagi make noise.. im fortunate that u arent my neighbour.. bising la dei..

• PM Mana? on Sep 29, 2016 at 11:53 am

Proton is no more important. Past 30 years, all launches they get PM to officiate. Now, PM pun tak mahu datang. Broken English DPM pun tak mahu datang.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 106
    • matabulat on Sep 29, 2016 at 12:13 pm

it’s a marketing decision.who are the target for the saga?youth.those who will get their first car.that’s why they invited uni students.afterall khairy is the ‘cool’ type minister many youngsters could get along with.youngsters hate najib coz he has made life hell especially for them

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 113 Thumb down 6
    • Bash Basher on Sep 29, 2016 at 12:30 pm

Your comment is invalid towards this post.
      He is our Youth minister, whats wrong calling a Youth minister to officiate a car targeted to the youths?

However your comment might be valid if he officiates Accordana.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 0
    • RoadRage (Member) on Sep 29, 2016 at 12:45 pm

I heard your mom speaks better english, should’ve let your mom to officiate instead

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 1
    • Encik Kunta on Sep 29, 2016 at 1:15 pm

Are you sure? Cause the youths think he is arrogant and they cannot understand how he does not know RM100m disappeared from his own ministry under his own eyes.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 40
      • Albert on Sep 29, 2016 at 5:23 pm

Encik Kunta
        Ya lor.
        Where is the relevant transport minister?
        The transport YAB should be officiating.Maybe,this officiating is on part time basis.
        Tommorow,you launch a BRA AND UNDERPANTS…who r going to invite? THINK..THINK..THINK..TOM HANKS/ANGELINA JOLIE?

• KJ = Full time minister, part-time proton brand ambassador. Perodua please don’t invite him to any of your launches yah.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 38
  • Mikey on Sep 29, 2016 at 12:04 pm

Since she is the first person to own the New Saga, U can name the plate as Saga 1. That way, M’sian can/will recognized the Car.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 75 Thumb down 1
  • mr1031 on Sep 29, 2016 at 12:16 pm

congratulation! nak dengki2 , kutuk2 pun buat apa…(dalam hati ade jeles sikit)

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 91 Thumb down 6
  • Sharul on Sep 29, 2016 at 12:26 pm

I just do not understand the Malaysian Mentality ..you call yourselves educated, but yet make stupid comments….pls look at yourselves…pls laaa…. haih….people win a car, you make noise for what…..anyway, congrats to the new owner….

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 63 Thumb down 1
  • tokmoh. on Sep 29, 2016 at 12:35 pm

I was trying to watch the launch video last night (not live), but the audio lari so far from video, it’s unwatchable.

Is it just me or anyone else notice this?

• alex chan on Sep 29, 2016 at 12:40 pm

calm down guys, its the same person using multiples nicknames in order to show that how much msian hate certain brand..IT IS THE SAME PERSON, dont get fooled.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 1
  • nabill (Member) on Sep 29, 2016 at 1:00 pm

gee man….some of u should get a life and stop being butt hurt…congrats to the student..!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 2
  • Waiting on Sep 29, 2016 at 1:03 pm

Congrats Aliya Raidah binti Abdul Malek..you get a good car..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 1
  • Anonymous on Sep 29, 2016 at 1:27 pm

Fish !!! The question was so easy to answer and the fact that she missed out Suprima S is so unaccaptable WHYYYYYYY !!?? This is so unfair pffttt

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 40
    • tokmoh. on Sep 29, 2016 at 2:09 pm

Hey, she recalled the legendary Satria.

Suprima lel, what a flop nobody can even recall it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 0
  • azmin on Sep 29, 2016 at 1:52 pm

sp many proton staff here and I bet none of them own a proton. maybe Kancil or will be forced to take proton cars under staff loan,

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 34
    • Dedak in the house on Sep 29, 2016 at 2:29 pm

Never heard p1 force their staff to buy p1 only.. anyone??? The ceo himself admitted that he owned few p1 cars with his own money..

• Perut Dua on Sep 29, 2016 at 3:11 pm

@azmin – I have Protons and other cars too. No one ‘forced’ me to buy any car. It was my choice. It hard for you to understand what ‘choice’ means?
      BTW – congratulations to Aliya. Keep the car in the family. It’s a good story to tell your children and your grandchildren!

• Ben Yap on Sep 29, 2016 at 3:43 pm

Nasib baik tak jawab S2000, SLK, Supra.

• Bypasser on Sep 29, 2016 at 5:48 pm

Plot twist: KJ paid for that one so theres no FOC gift by proton here.

• Wow… that’s a really nice rabbit to pull out of the hat….. congrats to Aliya. Nicely done Proton and Khairy….

• Good on her.

• dorey on Oct 01, 2016 at 12:38 am

Very good idea. First time i saw a student got a car on the launching ceremony. Not vip, minister or someone. Hehehe