Subaru WRX S4 tS – five month-long limited-edition

subaru-wrx-s4-ts-01

Over in Japan, Subaru Tecnica International (STI) has introduced the WRX S4 tS, a limited-edition model based on the WRX S4. The car – which the automaker says inherits expertise gleaned from the S207 – goes on sale for a five-month period, being available until March 12 next year.

No changes to the output from the regular S4, the FA20 horizontally-opposed 2.0 litre direct injection turbo four-pot continuing on with 300 PS at 5,600 rpm and 400 Nm at 2,000 to 4,800 rpm. Engine torque during acceleration has been enhanced by 10% by employing modified air intake/exhaust parts, while an added CVT oil cooler improves cooling performance of the Sport Lineartronic transmission. As before, Symmetrical All-Wheel Drive with Active Torque Vectoring is present.

Like the S207, the S4 tS’s handling is enhanced by the addition of original STI components, which include a flexible front tower bar, flexible draw front stiffener, a flexible support rear subframe and STI-tuned Bilstein suspension with Dampmatic II adjustable front units. Also to be found are Brembo front 17-inch opposed-piston four-pot ventilated brake calipers.

Externally, unique bits for the variant include a large front under-spoiler, STI-designed BBS 19-inch forged aluminium wheels, a black shark fin-style roof antenna and cherry red pinstripes adorning the mesh-type front grille and rear bumper.

Inside, there are STI-spec Recaro front bucket leather seats done in a black semi-aniline finish, and variant dedicated items include a special intrument panel with a tS limited edition logo and side sill plates. Four exterior shades are available for the S4 tS, and these are WR Blue Pearl, Crystal White Pearl, Ice Silver Metallic and Crystal Black Silica.

There’s also a special NBR Challenge Package version, which commemorates the automaker’s 2015 and 2016 victories in the SP3T Class at the Nürburgring 24-Hour Race. This one gets its BBS 19-inchers finished in black, and other dedicated bits include a dry carbon rear spoiler and an ultrasuede-wrapped steering wheel (with silver centre marking).

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• alldisc on Oct 04, 2016 at 6:30 pm

Best looking impreza wrx in my honest opinion is the bug eye model. Subaru has lost it since then

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 18
  • Aragon on Oct 04, 2016 at 6:49 pm

Nice spec. But should have come with stick shift for pure driving experience.

• Mikey on Oct 04, 2016 at 9:01 pm

Goodies are :-
    a) STI-designed BBS 19-inch forged aluminium wheels

b) STI-spec Recaro front bucket leather seats done in a black semi-aniline finish

c) a limited-edition model based on the WRX S4.

d) FA20 horizontally-opposed 2.0 litre direct injection turbo four-pot continuing on with 300 PS

e) an added CVT oil cooler improves cooling performance of the Sport Lineartronic transmission.

f) Symmetrical All-Wheel Drive with Active Torque Vectoring is present

g) handling is enhanced by the addition of original STI components, which include a flexible front tower bar, flexible draw front stiffener, a flexible support rear subframe and STI-tuned Bilstein suspension with Dampmatic II adjustable front units.

h) Brembo front 17-inch opposed-piston four-pot ventilated brake calipers.

OK Subaru, please tell me THE price. I’m in love AGAIN with the STI Insignia.

• Take my money now!!!

• TreeHugger on Oct 05, 2016 at 12:44 am

What were they thinking fitting a CVT transmission to this? all the added performance kit can go down the drain. What a let down.

• Hayenadeblue on Oct 05, 2016 at 9:12 am

CVT? No, no, nooooo.

• Mikey on Oct 05, 2016 at 10:42 pm

I see U like manual joy stick just like most of the DRIVERS here. This is not your normal CVT. Its a Sport Lineartronic transmission meaning its for matured/older driver like me who have outgrown or tired of changing gears.

U can get a WRX STI specked car with 6 speed manual transmission if U want. Beware though bcos Sekali Coba Kali Kali Mahu.

• Ah Kow on Oct 05, 2016 at 9:30 am

Kereta guna CVT boleh lari meh?

• passion on Oct 05, 2016 at 12:31 pm

i heard its a nightmare to own a subbie these days as their quality has dropped. massive amount of problems. but i guess if you love the car then there is no stopping you.

• Mikey on Oct 05, 2016 at 10:32 pm

Passion, as your name imply, U buy a Scooby bcos U LOVED or have a Passion for it. I/we scooby fans buy the car for sheer pleasure of driving a Symmetrical All-Wheel Drive.

The other factor why we buy a horizontally-opposed boxer engine is bcos it is unique, unlike a ‘normal’ in-line/V configuration engine. The boxer engine sound is also different.

It is a price I/we have to pay for a performance car. In fact, it is quite costly to dabble into any form of Turbo or compress air car/toy.

It is a car not for the faint-hearted but once U are hooked, there is no turning back. In short, it is a DRIVER car & its certainly not for someone who look for RV.