Volvo on its way to being an ‘SUV company’ – report

New Volvo V90 Cross Country Studio

Sport utility vehicles and crossovers are in great demand, and Volvo is on track to take advantage of that. The Swedish automaker aims to sell more vehicles of such body types than of any other kind by the end of the decade, Volvo research and development chief Peter Mertens told Autocar.

The shift in customer preference to crossovers and SUVs was the key driver of sales in Volvo’s largest markets, especially Sweden, the United States and China, said Mertens. The company sold 503,217 cars globally last year, and according to Volvo’s own figures, sales of all Cross Country variants and XC models totalled just under 267,000 units, which makes up more than half of the brand’s total sales figure.

The biggest selling model last year was the XC60, with 159,617 units sold. The next in line was the V40 hatchback, with 83,357 units sold. As for the rest of the XC and Cross Country range, Volvo sold 40,261 units of the XC90, 30,175 units of the XC70, and 23,274 units of the V40 Cross Country.

In the first six months of 2016, sales of the XC90 picked up sharply with 51,810 units already sold in that period, indicating a six-figure sum for the full year period. The XC70 also increased in sales with 19,250 units sold in the same period, while the V60 Cross Country sold 10,316 units in that time. The new V90 Cross Country will soon boost the figures further.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• old horse on Oct 05, 2016 at 6:35 pm

and our P1 still producing no one needed models…

Saw persona on the road…its..narrow..the old persona ratio is much better…i wonder how good can it sell..
    and the Almera beside suddenly looks so big…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 14
    • jonn dol on Oct 05, 2016 at 9:04 pm

Why suddenly mention P1?? By the way, small & entry level cars are still the biggest seller. Those high riding vehicles trend won’t last long.

• Jimmy on Oct 05, 2016 at 10:10 pm

In luxury and ultraluxury markets, bosses who sit at the back still prefer huge saloons; S-class/7-series and above.

Take good care of the ingress and egress, and the comfort level at the back, among other things.

SUV is the future, yes, especially true for the driving purchasers who drive the vehicles themselves.

I think many of us wish that all sedans can have increase in ground clearance by 5cm. Sportscar/hypercars excluded.

• Mikey on Oct 07, 2016 at 9:24 am

Jimmy, I agree with U on the ingress & egress department. The reason most rich people own a MPV is bcos its higher & that makes the Boss(usually older) easy to access.

The other advantage about top spec MPV is bcos of the individual Captain electric powered chairs & the driver don’t have to manually open the door for the Boss.

The main reason people buy a MPV is bcos they just push a button to ‘slide’ the door’s open. IMO, that is more stylish & convenient than a S class/7 series.

In conclusion, the wealthy owns both & some but to the rest of us, we can only ogle & salivate. Cheers Jimmy, at least we still have 4 wheels to take our tired body to wherever we want. Happy driving/commenting Jim

• tokmoh. on Oct 06, 2016 at 7:32 am

Volvo > all

• Got RV?

• RV? Obviously you did not own conti car.

• tokmoh. on Oct 07, 2016 at 1:22 am

Godcar gave rm10k discount. Apa RV?

Alasan la if said to clear stock, to tepati janji turun harga. If RV so good, they wouldn’t bother and just raise price also people buy.

• Mikey on Oct 06, 2016 at 8:57 am

It is not a mistake Volvo sold 159,617 XC60. The company build its reputation as a SAFE car B4 embarking its long journey & they never forsake THAT philosophy.

Its good looking for a SUV & more importantly most people who buy a Volvo is bcos of safety especially in US & China which is the biggest market.

Beside great demand, its also more lucrative & profitable for Volvo to sell SUV/Crossover.

• passion on Oct 06, 2016 at 9:39 am

i really wish that prices could be lower. i want to own one someday.

• tokmoh. on Oct 07, 2016 at 1:19 am

Volvo no RV they said, so get a used one.

Join fb group, got even special group for xc90 and xc60 owners, engage with them, bunch of friendly, happy owners ever happy to share info, trusty mechanics, service and parts cost. If you plan well, Volvos are quite value for money to run for a conti.

Screw fc, screw RV. Once you drive Volvo, you’ll know why all those matters less when it can put a smile on you, a joy only Volvo can give. For life.

• FIST (Member) on Oct 06, 2016 at 10:35 am

Porsche is already a SUV company

http://press.porsche.com/news/release.php?id=972

• Porsche is a joke in SUV, Cayenne is a Tourage and Macan is a Q5. Do not even have their own platform and engine, what SUV company you are talking about?
      Volvo for life!!

• Mikey on Oct 06, 2016 at 3:26 pm

Itu la John, the last time i ask U to read up VW holdings group but U ignore it. See now how U make yourself a laughing stock.

I’ll take the liberty of writing here for U lah since U got no time reading bcos U are busy commenting. Porsche owns more than 32% & have a voting rights of more than 50% in VW.

Is that good enough for Porsche to use his “Own” platform ??! I’m not going to bore U by writing a long list why Porsche will use whatever VW is using bcos the VW Group as a whole call it SYNERGY.

For your sake, I hope U read it this time. Be happy & don’t be angry. Cheers…

• tokmoh. on Oct 07, 2016 at 1:11 am

But he has a point, Porsche serves a niche SUV segment. They’re otherwise too expensive, not as practical for family use.

For the mainstream SUV market that wants safety, comfort, practicality, reliability, value for money all in a compelling package, Volvo > all.

• tokmoh. on Oct 07, 2016 at 1:25 am

Oh also, in Europe, there’s perception Volvo had good RV cuz they got good demand.

Here only vios godcar and civic fd got godlike RV, the rest drop like water.

• Mikey on Oct 07, 2016 at 9:41 am

tokmoh, can U stick to THE point. Why bring out RV or Vios/Civic.

When a Rich man buy a SUV, he is using it to serve his purpose or preference.

No one say U must buy a Porsche or Volvo. Just buy any SUV that serves your NEEDS.

Its called choices. Heck, U can even buy both if U want or have the $$$.

• karam singh on Oct 06, 2016 at 8:09 pm

As far as I can remember Volvo one of the earliest remaining passenger car companies who shifted to SUV segment, joining Mitsubishi, land rover, Toyota and the likes. It all started with V70 cross country, then suddenly came the XC90. Very soon BMW launched the X5. Mercedes with ML and Audi with Q5.

• tokmoh. on Oct 07, 2016 at 1:05 am

Ya ka? I remember the V70 cross country was a bit ad hoc cuz they were not ready with the XC90, when the competitors already have X5, M-keras n Q7.

But the XC90 wasn’t just better late than never, it was the best ever, and was in production for over a decade, which is crazy long by today’s era standard. So good that even the hard critic Jeremy Clarkson owned FOUR XC90 first gen. And based on his favourable review of current XC90 mk2, not surprised if he’ll eventually get his fifth XC90.

It’s a bit of a shame Volvo was well remembered for its wagon, the great 122 Amazon wagon, sexy P1800 ES, and legendary 850 wagon BTCC.

But i understand they gotta move with the times. Wagon is a dying segment as SUV became the hot segment. Good to see they’re still making V90 and upcoming V60, but i think the SUV will be their main seller.

Too be fair, they make great SUVs, the XC90 is a great success, the XC60 is beautiful yet every bit as lovable as any Volvo : safe, comfortable, practical, powerful, and gorgeous even if it’s almost a decade, it still looks very modern.