2017 World Car Awards – nominees list announced

In the lead up to the 2017 World Car Awards, the official list of nominees for each of the five categories has been released. The nominees will later be shortlisted to the top three finalists in each category, which will be announced at the 2017 Geneva Motor Show, before the overall winners are revealed later on at the New York International Auto Show.

The entrants for the latest iteration of the awards sees many new important models, including the Audi Q5, Honda Civic, Toyota C-HR, Mercedes-Benz E-Class, Bentley Bentayga, Volvo S90 and many more.

Last year, Mazda took home the top prize when the MX-5 was crowned the 2016 World Car of the Year, edging out the B9 Audi A4 and Mercedes-Benz GLC. The roadster also took home the World Car Design of the Year award as well. Other winners in 2016 include the Audi R8 Coupe (World Performance Car award), the G11 BMW 7 Series (World Luxury Car award), Toyota Mirai (World Green Car award).

The full list of categories and nominees are as follows:

2017 World Car of the Year

2017 World Luxury/Performance Car

2017 World Urban Car

2017 World Car Design of the Year

2017 World Green Car

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• How dare they persoal and not select my Biza?! Its best celup jepunis, u know! We have so much innovation, like first time we have ESC in our car and we dun need to test this, unlike all those lousy cars listed. Our Biza only needs to be virtual reality tested. This is new age high-tech car making, others r still in 20th century!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 40
    • Mikey on Oct 06, 2016 at 4:32 pm

inb4 Best Tongek Design Award category.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 0
      • Encik Kunta on Oct 06, 2016 at 5:22 pm

Where is our Proton in the list? But…but…our Ministers said our Proton BETTER than Volvo and BMW.

This is no rumour. It is well documented in the media. Our Ministers actually said that. So, if our Proton is BETTER than BMW and Volvo, where is our Proton in the list?

Our Ministers also said our Universities are BETTER than Oxford University of the UK. Proton employs mainly local grads from local universities.

Thus our Engineers in Proton must be better than Oxford University of the UK and they must be very competent and designing the best cars and engines in the world ie Proton.

So where is Proton?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 67 Thumb down 9
      • honda civic sure win laa!
        honda is the best car in the world maa…
        just wait n see
        hahahaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 22
        • Encik Kunta on Oct 06, 2016 at 5:32 pm

Wah, Hyundai is nominated in so many categories.

Both Proton and Hyundai started about the same time. Hyundai merely started 10 years earlier.

See now what has happened. Hyundai sells 9 million cars per year globally. Proton sells 70,000 cars ONLY in Malaysia. That also, 90% ordered by Government departments and ministries.

Amazing. Hyundai not only sells so many cars but also has been nominated for so many awards.

Why is Hyundai and Proton so different? The answer is very simple. One company work hard and is focused. The other company believes in relaxing, lepakking, tidur, minum the dan makan karipap 8x a day in factory kantin, tengok awek kilang, roman kat office etc.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 10
          • Same L0rrrr on Oct 06, 2016 at 7:22 pm

True Kunta, ageed with you. I know the pain of your persona and your son saga. Next time we both must work harder to earn at least a city.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
          • Bull kuntal on Oct 06, 2016 at 8:07 pm

Same bull from bull troll. Sigh.

• Proton Kunta on Oct 06, 2016 at 9:58 pm

@ kunta, work hard to earn a better car, dont simply bash if you cannot afford

• You sure or not Proton n Hyundai started at the same time…?

• Jimmy on Oct 06, 2016 at 5:47 pm

Read your sarcascism. I felt surprised (the nice word to use) that Civic is in the list; what is so special about this Toyota CH-R?

Can’t believed my eyes, that Rio, Sportage and Elantra are in the list.

Oh my Buddha. Oh my God. These two will not penalise me when I use their names. Only fanatic people go on punishing people for tiny minute trivial things.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
    • nojaps on Oct 06, 2016 at 4:34 pm

So where is camry/altis/veeyos?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
      • basherlogic on Oct 06, 2016 at 5:44 pm

Proton not inside but Skoda is inside. OMG OMG OMG. In Europe, Skoda is the worst worst worst car ever.

What does this mean about Proton

• Find other names la. Even ferrari and lumbugini not in the list. on Oct 06, 2016 at 8:05 pm

As above

• Dont Bash Without Logic on Oct 06, 2016 at 8:28 pm

What nonsense! Skoda sells more cars than Peugeot and Citreon in the UK and most of Europe. Its even considered more premium than many more established Western European cars. Have you been to Europe, kid?

• He think Skoda only born yesterday while Skoda born a long time ago compare to P1 P2

• topkek on Oct 06, 2016 at 5:27 pm

what rubbish you talking abang? If Bezza is so bad and untested, how it can sell so well? Are you a retard?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 10
      • Sell well ≠ gud. Just look at ipong for reference

• Albert on Oct 06, 2016 at 9:57 pm

KUnta
          ONe more missing award
          WORLD’S MOST BAILOUT CAR AWARD 2017
          PROTONG….ADA GAYA,ADA SYIOK TAPI BANKRUPT

Buy Rolls Royce…award or no award
          ADA GAYA,ADA PRESTIGE ,ADA RV

• Because there is a lot more not so smary buyer in MY? Oo.. btw Persona waiting list keep on ++

• lokman on Oct 06, 2016 at 5:54 pm

are you for real brader? Kau tak makan ubat ye?

• spongewai on Oct 06, 2016 at 4:21 pm

it’s either Toyota CH-R nor Honda Civic or Audi A5/S5 win the World Car Award

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
  • Congratzzz Honda Civic!! Bezza di mana^^

• Mikey on Oct 06, 2016 at 4:46 pm

Please update us on this. I am keen to know just for reading purposes. Thanks PT.

• Kunta kinte on Oct 06, 2016 at 4:53 pm

rubbish awards, 90% of nominee goes to crappy resale value car that actually have almost 0 resale value compare toyota of perodua.
    I urge the committee to check back the list.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 17
    • Jimmy on Oct 06, 2016 at 5:50 pm

Are you the real Kunta? Your comment didn’t sound like his.

Stop using other people’s names. Innovate your own.

• Yes, its him alrite. He is toyota salesman. Deswai he promote toyota

• Mr Kunta on Oct 07, 2016 at 2:40 pm

no lah, its not me. Its john impersonating me. I am now known as Encik Kunta.

• Volvo S90/V90 > ALL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
  • Volvo S90/V90 > ALL

• heybadigol (Member) on Oct 06, 2016 at 5:24 pm

Why is the BMW 5 Series in this list? The G30 hasn’t even been launched yet, and it’s already appeared here. Doubt the list is referring to the current F10.

• tokmoh. on Oct 06, 2016 at 5:26 pm

Volvo S90/V90 > ALL

• tumbs up on Oct 06, 2016 at 5:33 pm

P1 & P2 is no where near to be listed.
    Kia and Hyundai are in. Even China Buick is in too.
    “Proud” to own P1 and P2.

• Bash Basher on Oct 07, 2016 at 10:26 am

What you mean China Buick?
      Buick is American bro

Buick cars that are assembled in China you mean?

• Semi-Value (Member) on Oct 06, 2016 at 5:45 pm

how the Chevrolet Cruze is in the list….i cannot brain

• 280TSI on Oct 06, 2016 at 7:17 pm

Knape X bleh?

• More Value on Oct 06, 2016 at 8:32 pm

Because this is world car awards, not jaguh kampung awards.

• Bash Basher on Oct 07, 2016 at 1:56 pm

You must remember the Cruze you get in Malaysia is totally different from the Cruze in America. It should be the same for any other brands as well.

• Even Ssyangyong in the list

• Where is toyota & honda city or hazz?

• Beli Tax atau Kereta,abang? on Oct 07, 2016 at 1:00 am

Untested Car of the Year Award : Bezza
    Sudden Lunch Car of the Year Award : Bezza
    No R & D Car of the Year Award : Bezza
    Over-Test Published/Spyshot by Paultan Car of the Year Award : Saga,Persona
    Over Priced Car of the Year Award : All Toyotas

Conclusion : Your low salary just paying tax plus interest rate charged over high tax paid by monthly instalments,..and late charges.hahaha

• Especially this applies to tertiary students who buys vios keli straight after grad, then say no money pay PTPTN

• Ah Kow on Oct 07, 2016 at 3:43 pm

You forgot …

Best Rebadge car of the year … Accordana

• Let the Asians in the list inspire us in Malaysia. But it would take a change in mindsets and a lot of give and take from EVERYBODY plus at least the effort to make the playing field fair. Not easy of course. But we have to evolve our thinking and actions if we want to be someone globally. Stranger things have happened.