BMW X1, Jeep Renegade and Volkswagen Tiguan manage to secure five-star safety rating from ANCAP

The Australasian New Car Assessment Program (ANCAP) has released its latest round of safety test results (derived from Euro NCAP testing) for three SUVs – the BMW X1, Jeep Renegade and Volkswagen Tiguan.

All three models managed to obtain good scores in each of the physical crash tests, with the X1 and Tiguan scoring 36.66 and 34.48 points (out of 38 points), respectively, in adult occupant protection. The Renegade meanwhile, scored 15.41 points (out of 16 points) in the frontal offset test. Standard safety kit on all models include dual frontal, side chest and side curtain airbags.

The two German models were praised for including active safety systems as standard, including autonomous emergency braking (AEB) and lane support systems. These systems are not offered on the Renegade, although the Jeep offers good structural performance in many collision simulations.

The Tiguan (AWD variants) and Renegade (FWD variants built from May 2016) have each been awarded the latest 2016 datestamped rating. However, the X1, which was launched in Australia last year, gets a 2015 datestamp instead.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Silthice on Oct 06, 2016 at 1:00 pm

The new ANCAP applied for both Australia & South East Asia (ASEAN)?

• No. ANCAP and ASEAN NCAP are different. The latter has much lower standards and doesn’t take more advanced features like AEB into account. Any Tom, Dick and Harry car can get a 4* rating even without ABS and only 2 airbags.

• 4 star is only achievable with ABS. 5 star if with ESC & minimum 2 airbags

• Mikey on Oct 07, 2016 at 8:59 am

Since we are talking about stars. Is does not matter if its 3/4/5 stars if we drive like a mad dog. We should drive sensibly otherwise all the stars will be buried together with the driver.

• Encik Kunta on Oct 06, 2016 at 2:01 pm

Pity Ancap cannot see DSG breaking down. Otherwise, sure get 1 star.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
      • kzm (Member) on Oct 06, 2016 at 3:03 pm

why u keep making useless comment? What safety rating have to do with DSG problem?

• Canterbury on Oct 06, 2016 at 1:14 pm

Nothing new, Bezza achieved 5-star too.

• Yaloh! Ini aussie mesti kena deadak one for so easy gip 5 stars here and there, just like they gip to Preve, Suprima too. Cannot belip them, right?

• 4G63T DSM on Oct 06, 2016 at 1:18 pm

Still don’t think side and curtain bags are important?

Watch closely.

I would rather a car with no front airbags than one without side airbags.

• kzm (Member) on Oct 06, 2016 at 3:06 pm

frontal collision is more than side collision bro..oni stupid pipu donwan front airbag. I rather have all.

• 4G63T DSM on Oct 06, 2016 at 6:45 pm

aiseh. sarcasm is lost on this one, poor KZM has some difficulty with english.

Of course we would rather have all. What did you think??

Frontal crash. You have 4-5 ft of crumple zone. AND A SEATBELT. AND EVERY vehicle is made to take that impact. Side impact, you have 6″ of space and no seatbelt to hold you in.

In most cases all you have is a 1.5″ side impact steel beam mounted low in the door….which is usually useless if you get hit, say by a pickup with a high ride height.

Ok people, please take note of where your head is in relation to the B pillar of your car. Then think what happens when you get hit on the side.

I walked away from a rather serious crash at 90kmh. No, my car had no airbags. I had no injuries other than some sore wrist and a sore neck for a few days, simply because I was wearing my seatbelt. (I would have been thrown out if I had not been wearing them)

The car I had T boned (driver jumped the stop), wasn’t so lucky. Head injuries, from her head hitting the B pillar and had to be rushed to surgery. It could have been fatal.

And guess what, the car I hit was a lot bigger than the car I was driving. So don’t think just because you drive a large car you are safer from smaller cars hitting you. Perhaps so in the frontal crash, but not so in a side impact.

Either I had a guardian angel that day or simply because the car’s crumple zones and seatbelt kept me alive.

So there you go. Some public service for you.