DBKL to introduce road pricing scheme in city centre – system to be implemented when MRT starts operations

singapore-erp

Kuala Lumpur City Hall (DBKL) says it has plans to introduce a road congestion pricing scheme in the city centre, and will implement the system when the Klang Valley Mass Rapid Transit (MRT) begins operations, The Edge reports. The city’s governing body is currently studying the details of the proposed scheme, though it said that the collection rate has yet to be finalised.

“We will implement (road pricing). That will be the last initiative to reduce congestion in the city. We are still looking into the details. We have done a few engagements with the people not only on pricing, but more on how to transform our public transportation in Kuala Lumpur,” DBKL urban planning department senior deputy director Nik Mastura Diyana Nik Mohamad told the publication.

She said that the plan to introduce road pricing had been incorporated in the Kuala Lumpur Structure Plan 2020. The scheme is aimed at reducing the flow of private cars travelling in to the city centre, much like how Singapore’s Electronic Road Pricing (ERP) system works, and encourage people to use public transport.

“This is like what Singapore does. If you go into the city centre at a certain time, [which] causes congestion, you have to pay,” she said, adding that authorities had been planning to implement a traffic management policy in the city centre as far back as the 1980s, but could not due to the lack of alternative transport.

Phase one of the MRT Sungai Buloh-Kajang (SBK) line between Sungai Buloh and the Semantan station in Damansara Heights is scheduled to begin operations on December 31; a three-month long trial run is set to begin this month. The second phase of the SBK line – from Semantan to Kajang – will become operational in July next year.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• I seriously do not get them. Yes, its good to control congestion via charges but our effing public transport system is not on par with those in singapore etc. We dont even know exactly how efficient the new MRT is they want it implemented as soon as MRT is operational?? Efficient Shuttle busses, safe walkways…where are they?

Baru nak ada MRT berlagak nak buat congestion charges bagai. Other countries had years of planning ahead.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 89 Thumb down 5
    • Elyas on Oct 06, 2016 at 3:08 pm

Bas Mini is the answer.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
    • Ah Kow on Oct 06, 2016 at 3:26 pm

If they want to implement this to reduce congestion, does this means that their parking rate hike is not helping to reduce traffic congestion in the city?

Because if it is helping then they wouldn’t need to implement this ERP system.

• Same L00 on Oct 06, 2016 at 3:49 pm

Who care about congestion, ease of transportation bla bla bla… It is all about money!!

• Need longer tims to catch public transport… so new office hour to be starting from 10AM

• What a beauty….

• Semi-Value (Member) on Oct 06, 2016 at 10:58 am

apa pun tak boleh, copy ini boleh. tapi no worries system sure failure. atau kena curi.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
  • OrdinaryResident on Oct 06, 2016 at 10:59 am

For those who can afford to drive, will still drive. For those who can’t afford, will be suffer from the crappy public transport system. And will the government try to improve the quality and efficiency of it? You know the answer.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 3
  • zarafah on Oct 06, 2016 at 11:06 am

DBKL do you want to charge in certain time only or 24/7 non stop?

• What a stupid plan…

• UMW TOYOTA on Oct 06, 2016 at 11:15 am

pay here pay there… rm5200

• carlover on Oct 06, 2016 at 11:16 am

if you implant that , you better demolish all the Tolls

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 1
    • Salesman on Oct 06, 2016 at 4:10 pm

Actually this is true. We already have so many tolls. While other cities doesn’t have tolls.

I support congestion charges, but the tolls! This will be double charges to the public. The tolls are already expensive!

• Yokohama24 on Oct 06, 2016 at 11:17 am

Good move to reduce traffic congestion. But at the same time improve and expand the pedestrian walkway too please. Especially around the city centre.

(*thumbs up for the escalated bridge from Pavilion to KLCC)

Yes there is public transport, but what is the use when there’s no proper walkway? After getting down from MRT/bus/taxi you expect pedestrians to walk at the side of the road is it?

Good move for trying to follow Singapore’s ERP system, but at the time, please also follow Singapore’s pedestrian walkway availability.

Majulah Malaysia!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 6
  • NotACityGuy on Oct 06, 2016 at 11:23 am

Once again, some idiots are talking out load.

How to curb congestion you ask?
    – Well lets use this plan from the 1980’s despite now being 2016 (36 years later) – since Singapore is using it we must be fine right?
    – Well lets punish the road users! Hike the toll rates, now lets implement a road-usage fee – then we can hike it up also!
    – Lets introduce more “affordable” cars promote country spirit and growth but punishing them at the same time! After buying the car – they won’t be able to use them cause its too pricey!

Overall, lets applaud the wonderful thinking people we have currently inside the gomen.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
  • pengayuhbasikal on Oct 06, 2016 at 11:33 am

ok good move…

but..our townplanning is not as good as Singapore…and please alert…KL is not an island like Singapore..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
  • Turbo on Oct 06, 2016 at 11:34 am

Expensive car Tax, GST, tolled roads (recently increased), increased parking rates….and now road congestion pricing??? Many people at breaking point already and these fools want to impose more pain on rakyat.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
  • ducatiscrambler on Oct 06, 2016 at 11:35 am

This is indeed a good scheme. Congestion charge is implemented in big cities worldwide. Not only is it good for the business due to the reduced traffic, it also reduces noise and air pollution.

If you’ve been to Bukit Bintang you would know that the traffic is an absolute pain in the arse, make you question if you’re still in Malaysia or not (referencing the Vietnam and Indonesian traffic here of course)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 21
    • BAIJU on Oct 06, 2016 at 5:05 pm

My Grandfather smoked his whole life. I was about 10 years old when my mother said to him, ‘If you ever want to see your grandchildren graduate, you have to stop immediately.’. Tears welled up in his eyes when he realized what exactly was at stake. He gave it up immediately. Three years later he died of lung cancer. It was really sad and destroyed me. My mother said to me- ‘Don’t ever smoke. Please don’t put your family through what your Grandfather put us through.” I agreed. At 28, I have never touched a cigarette. I must say, I feel a very slight sense of regret for never having done it, because your post gave me cancer anyway.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
  • “We have done a few engagements with the people not only on pricing, but more on how to transform our public transportation in Kuala Lumpur”

* few *

As much as I’m an advocate for private cars. I do support the move to reduce congestion in the city . So yes I support the move, however as with any Malaysian plan; excellent on paper , extremely crippling in execution. Also, charging cars for entry can just persuade crafty Malaysian to use motorcycles , and that I am much against.

I do suggest they include exemption for electric cars/scooters so to support the promote usage of such vehicle by Malaysians

• eeaaasy money..

• Passerby on Oct 06, 2016 at 11:48 am

parking expensive and now enter city also need to pay… before go in city u need to pass through few tolls… thanks dbkl

• Krasher on Oct 06, 2016 at 11:56 am

We are so first world…..in how a government charge the people.

• Chris on Oct 06, 2016 at 11:57 am

DBKL – money grabbing imbecile!

With better planning before constructing new highway and roads into and out of KL, there will be smoother traffic. We can always construct elevated highways! We are not Singapore, an island with land limits.

Idiotic approval by these guys ruled solely on their own interest for money caused all these badly designed roads leading into and out of KL.

They still dare to propose to extract more money out of us, daily drivers?

If i could, i would post a middle finger here.

• heybadigol (Member) on Oct 06, 2016 at 12:03 pm

Hopefully it would mean less cars on the road going into KL. But they must also improve parking at LRT/MRT stations to make it work, in addition to improving public transportation itself.

• Tiger on Oct 06, 2016 at 12:03 pm

First world rules & regulations BUT 3rd world implementations

• potato on Oct 06, 2016 at 12:13 pm

Yes. About Time.

Better late than never.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
  • Painter on Oct 06, 2016 at 12:23 pm

I agree with this, like London where you pay GBP 11.50 per day, but…

Let all the MRT lines be completed first. Let all LRT lines be fixed so they don’t suffer frequent breakdowns when it rains.

Let all Uber and Grab drivers be issued minicab license and properly insured.

Let all the plate numbers be streamlined. All follow one design. Even royal family must use the plate number, not just the one stating their position.

Let government summons system be centralised. Now you don’t pay DBKL tickets, nothing happens too.

And most importantly, all public servants, especially the senior ones must ride in public transport. Leadership by example, can or not?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 0
  • (DBKL) says it has plans to introduce, not confirm !

If it is, then i’m pretty sure i’ll say nasty words on the the one who proposed this mind blowing stupidity !

• Another way to suck more money from the poor city-dwellers who are struggling tirelessly to make a living by working really hard.

• How on earth can they implement this kind of rubbish? Our public transport is COMPLETELY UNRELIABLE! They should study first once the MRT is in operation, not as an immediate effect once the MRT is in operation. Our public transport is not efficient at all. No proper maintenance as well. Nonsense!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 4
  • Hazmi on Oct 06, 2016 at 12:51 pm

‘…causes congestion, then they have to pay’ Bloody imbeciles we are already paying a lot then now wanna charge some more? Cukup cukup la ambil duit rakyat

• seancorr (Member) on Oct 06, 2016 at 12:57 pm

Heck there’s still congestion even during midnight hours.

• ERP is fine if it is introduced to replace the toll system currently all around the city. To have ERP on top of tolls is just evil. MRT is not a cure-all for all our traffic woes.

• Not happy Malaysian on Oct 06, 2016 at 1:41 pm

Nonsense rubbish piece of idea . This idea is more taking money from public then helping the grow. Public transport planning is more like racist benefit not public concern , I dare to say .

• Muhammad Haikal on Oct 06, 2016 at 1:41 pm

Well. I have to start cycling back again. At least i can lose some weight.

• pondan on Oct 06, 2016 at 3:00 pm

Ini semua wang punya pasal la…

reduce congestion is only an excuse.

There’s many other way to reduce without charging.

Long live Malaysia

• Ah Kow on Oct 06, 2016 at 3:15 pm

No objection against the ERP system, but if you charge the public for this, then you should also give discount on public transport. If not how to encourage?

Don’t give all the nonsense excuses saying our public transport fare is cheap enough. The main focus here is to reduce congestion, nothing to do with cheap or not cheap.

Reduce fare is one thing, another thing is to improve public transport efficiency and network.
    Speaking about efficiency, no one likes to wait, no one likes a cramped up bus (worse if got sweaty smelly passengers in it), no likes to walk far under the hot weather because the bus did not reach near their destination.

Worse (base on true experience) no likes a raining bus! Outside raining nvm but in Malaysia our Rapidkl inside bus also can rain. Why? I don’t know why somehow the water from outside manage to come in and leak inside the bus caausing passengers to be wet!

Dear DBKL kaodim all this first before implementing such system. Thank you

• Ahmad on Oct 06, 2016 at 3:38 pm

1. 6% GST
    2. Petrol increase RM1.80
    3. Toll price increase
    4. Parking rate fare increase in CBD
    5. Food price increase
    6. House price increase
    7. Car price no decrease
    8. Salary no increase
    9. now want to charge for entering into city some more

How to survive like that? Spending more than we can earn. You want the public to eat nasi putih kosong everyday?

• myDAPy on Oct 06, 2016 at 3:41 pm

Will only agree if DAPy in Fed Govt. More check and balance.

• Fucukyongtaufoo on Oct 06, 2016 at 3:44 pm

All the government ministers and top officials in gov agencies must walk the talk and start taking public transportation to work on daily basis.

Convince the public first that you can go to work and run your errands without problem related to public transport, then you can come out and suggest all these road pricing initiative bla bla bla… Don’t be NATO and do ribbon cutting only!!!!

• Most of congestion in KL because of Tolls. Replace the Tolls with ERP’s not adding them to current system.

• Agree but charge the motorcycles too

• Mean time to travel in SG from end to end MRT line is approx 51 minutes. Subang to KLCC pun sudah 1 hour plus. Not mentioning another many minutes to terminal putra. That shows how efficient is our public transportation.

When public transportation system failed, you will pin point to Prasarana, RapidKL, Komuter, weather, landslide, drainage system, SMART, taxi, uber, grabcar & everything right?

You just increase parking rate earlier this year. Did you know the impact? Even Cyberjaya open air car park increased its rate now.

Dont just implement, government kan suka establish “suruhanjaya diraja” for adhoc things. Study the plan. Panggil real PhD lecturers, engineers & discuss the plan. Integrate. Promote sustainability, not make money.

Make sure rakyat REALLY satisfied with the service. Do not just gebang “perception on public transport improved” while the actual service is improving at a so-so rate.

Promote public transport dulu. Use adat minang approach= to teach, not to punish. When the system is as per what the rakyat want, automatically we will use public transport as it offers greater convenience.

• oklar on Oct 06, 2016 at 5:52 pm

THIS IS GOOD IDEA. COZ CONCEPT FROM GOVERNMENT TO CATEGORIZE CITIZEN BASED ON THEIR RICH LEVEL.

NOT RICH = GO PUBLIC TRANSPORT
    RICH = DRIVE CAR

• Andrekua on Oct 06, 2016 at 6:36 pm

Ah, these goons never cease to amaze you. When you compare them to SG, they told you to migrate. Yet they themselves told you how SG is collecting gst, erp, vep, bla bla bla. It’s totally fine when they were the one talking. Can they also follow SG and change the traffic lights timing so that when it’s green, the whole street lights are green and we can reduce the time stuck behind irregular traffic lights timing?

• Diesel Power!! on Oct 06, 2016 at 7:27 pm

If ERP implemented, our city will look like Hanoi coz flooded with bikes.. Instead of becoming first world country, look more like a third world.

Now already so many bikes zip in & out..

Want to reduce jams :
    1.reduce cars by scrapping 20yrs old vehicle.
    2. Increase dpayment of new car to 20%.
    3. Reduce loan tenure to below 7yrs.
    4. Provide motorbike lanes.
    5. Provide pedestrian walkway.
    6. Provide more feeder bus from/to LRT /MRT station.
    7. Provide more parking space at LRt/Mrt station.

• Logic on Oct 06, 2016 at 7:56 pm

To reduce congested the city why not stopping the construction building new buildings…

• cracktech on Oct 06, 2016 at 8:01 pm

Dont worry it will FAIL after a short implementation. They tried a similar system in 70’s ( if I am not wrong) it was scrapped. You cant control a traffic congestion through fines and fees.

• submarine on Oct 06, 2016 at 8:36 pm

There’s only a tunnel vision type of aspect you base your study on. You can’t just base on the MRT readiness to implement ERP system. What about shuttle services? What about parking system to support the initiative? Then have you even considered school children? In view of how good law enforcement is in this part of the world, will parents allow their kids to fully rely on the public transportation services? Is your public transport as integrated as those in Singapore yet, if you want to copy their ERP system? Get the Rakyat’s feedback first even before you suggest this money-making scheme in the name of cutting down congestion!

• Bob1067 on Oct 06, 2016 at 11:05 pm

Billions of ringgit spent on the city, year in year out. If the planning have been seriously and intelligently done, the city folks or those entering the city would not have to face such unnecessary payments. They are already taxed enough with tols, parking, car taxes, summons, insurances, and what not.

• Awais Farooqi on Oct 07, 2016 at 1:59 am

And I still cant find any nearest train station to place where I live …… still have to take texi to got station and on other side they are planing to grab some extra cash to cover up all mrt project expenditure through us.

• Come back when you successfully convince us that the Public transport is “usable”.

• Bernard on Oct 10, 2016 at 11:50 pm

Don’t compare with singapore lah. If bolehland can do 10%, already major achievement .

• SOOO stupid wan to ban motorcyle then want to charge use on car.. dont follow singapore singapore very small and money also high than us malaysia
    salary to small to camre for them so dont be stupid gove try to think about people in country not only your pocket