GreenTech announces partnership with Petronas to deploy ChargEV charging points at 66 petrol stations

petronas_chargev-3

Malaysian Green Technology Corporation (GreenTech Malaysia) has announced a partnership with Petronas Dagangan (PDB), which will see PDB deploy 66 ChargEV charging stations at its Petronas service stations across the Peninsular.

A Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) was signed by Mohd Ibrahimnuddin Mohd Yunus, MD and CEO of Petronas Dagangan and Ahmad Hadri Haris, group CEO of GreenTech Malaysia, at the ongoing 7th International Greentech & Eco Products Exhibition & Conference Malaysia (IGEM 2016) earlier today.

Mohd Ibrahimnuddin said that PDB’s collaboration with GreenTech supports the National Electric Mobility Blueprint in promoting the usage of both full and hybrid electric vehicles in the country. “We consider this to be a new milestone for PDB as the first oil company in Malaysia to commit to this cause,” he said.

“Under the collaboration, PDB is committed to install electric vehicle charging facilities at 66 selected Petronas stations located along major highways in Malaysia. By providing charging facilities for electric vehicles at Petronas stations, PDB is positioning itself as a key player in the country’s electric vehicle ecosystem,” he said.

petronas_chargev-10

He added that both organisations will also embark on a co-study on Energy Efficient Stations (E2S) to look into the feasibility of enhancing the infrastructure for electric vehicle ownership and usage in Malaysia.

The ChargeEV point that will be deployed at the Petronas stations are New Motion three-phase 32A, 400 volt 22 kW units. At each location, the charge point is set to be placed near the facility’s Mesra store. Installation of the units will take place from this month until December.

The 22 kW fast charger – which can be pole or wall mounted and is IP54 rated, making it suitable for outdoor use – is an ideal solution for the Petronas deployment. The unit is one of three ChargeEV solutions being offered by GreenTech, the other two being a single-phase 16A 3.7 kW AC charger and a single-phase 32A 7.0 kW AC unit.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Dylan Ch'ng on Oct 06, 2016 at 7:04 pm

Is it only me or what, but does that electric car look odd or what

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 20
  • Jom lepak 1jam kat PETRONAS. tunggu charging Tesla gomen kasi.

• thepolygonal on Oct 07, 2016 at 10:11 am

Jom… 1 jam… but to be better kalau terus drop old battery and go with battery fully charge battery… mcm kita beli gas kat rumah kan lebih cepat?

• Luqman on Oct 06, 2016 at 7:24 pm

Why they didn’t deploy chademo instead?

• The person who give the go ahead for this partnership should be shot. It is like KFC selling Herbal-life slimming tea as its side dish. Doesn’t make sense. To raise their cooperate environmental awareness they should consider big green scale project, like providing solar penal to school or hospital, produce cleaner fuel for the market, etc. Amateur move by Petronas, installing electric charger where they sell fossil fuel.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 31
    • Only You on Oct 07, 2016 at 8:26 am

Its called evolution. Petronas can see itself as an energy provider, which could be electricity, solar, wind, fossil fuels etc. Shell has thought about this for years.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
    • Most of our electricity is generated by fossil fuels. All I see is Petronas increasing potential revenue, upstream.

• Schmitt on Oct 06, 2016 at 8:26 pm

So, waiting in Petronas station while the car charges?

• Petronas has kedai mesra cafeteria/McDees

• orang biasa on Oct 06, 2016 at 10:00 pm

Basically you are right. While charging, need to wait maybe minimum 30min to charge. So the customer will wait at mesra store and have a drink/snack (maybe need to pay too). I bet this will less customer use because of safety purpose. If night time, lagi tak petlu cakap, sure mesra tutup lock pintu because of their own safe. Very hard to implement unless owner are live in landed property.

• Who want me stay at petrol station for 1 hour for full charge?

• Add A Comment on Oct 07, 2016 at 9:51 am

You can choose to sit under the sun and wait at the road side of PLUS, while charging you car with your powerbank….if you can afford an EV vehicle…or maybe, get a car first….

• Mikey on Oct 06, 2016 at 8:42 pm

TQVM PDB. The lounge looks bright & with ample tables/chairs to boot. Hope it comes with Free Wi-Fi, Astro & children’s playground so that the children’s can have fun & adults can check their email while charging.

• Mikey on Oct 06, 2016 at 8:51 pm

Anthony Lim, just curious. What is the name & model of the handsome car if you don’t mind !

• Interceptor on Oct 06, 2016 at 11:38 pm

The car is Tesla model.. Unfortunately won’t be available for Malaysian citizens except already available for GLC..

• Electrical charging station at a petrol pump station,
    sounds totally safe.
    It’s not like tiny leaked spark would ignite a tiny leaked gas or something, right?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
    • Only You on Oct 07, 2016 at 8:27 am

Because the whole station doesn’t run on electricity right?

• timbuktu on Oct 06, 2016 at 9:29 pm

good start. not convenient for now since owner will need to wait for 1 hour at the station. they should install them at malls and give incentive to company offices to install them at employee car parks.

• Mat Mph on Oct 06, 2016 at 9:37 pm

Hopefully in the future – they will make something like powerbank, charging the powerbank when driving and able to charge car battery when stop for a break etc.. No need to wait in queue to charge our car.

• RicoT on Oct 06, 2016 at 9:40 pm

I wonder where all the Tesla went?

• policeman on Oct 06, 2016 at 11:53 pm

Why should Petronas do this. Who drives EV anyway, like 3 people?

Push it to a non GLC. Don’t screw the country. See if Shell wants it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 17
  • Painter on Oct 07, 2016 at 9:18 am

A step in the right direction. Kudos to Petronas.

• Wanna buy a renault zoe cause 99.9% of my travel is within the city and the car cost RM145k. What a load of crock.

• thepolygonal on Oct 07, 2016 at 10:16 am

Same here.. was really considering the zoe until they announce the price. Zoe is basically a Axia sized car so the $$$ kinda… unless it’s design in a way that it’s a sports car… then I wouldn’t mind.

• Wait till u see nissan leaf price. and both under TC

• Terturtler on Oct 07, 2016 at 10:07 am

why? because it is part of their pledge and responsibility in giving back to the nation.
    Same like NGV, they are selling it at loss, “non-GLC” wouldn’t done it.

With the infra set in, people will probably consider EVs.

• terturtler on Oct 07, 2016 at 10:13 am

how much the possible charging rate/ cost?, or is it for free.

• Charging stations at petrol stations? Shouldn’t it be located in shopping malls instead? Whoever come out with this dumbf*** idea should be shot

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
  • Malaykintom on Oct 07, 2016 at 3:34 pm

Great to hear about this. So adorable when we continue to save our planet. It’s a super awesome start to change our world in better side. And this one announcement truly confirm this fact. But I really interesting about the cost of charging: can it be competitive to traditional fuel?

• p2lover on Oct 08, 2016 at 7:09 pm

Just wonder….How long it need to fully charge a car? We only need less than 5 mins to fully pump a petrol car, how about this electric car?

• Athies on Feb 26, 2017 at 10:41 am

Petronas, like all other crude oil fuel companies is greedy… while you and your family waiting for the car to be charged… family members will buy other stuffs… note the other stuffs sold in crude oil fuel companies are very expensive…

• Rebecca on Dec 01, 2017 at 12:54 pm

Hi, I am running Airbnb Homestay in Penang, one of my guests will be coming over next month, she is driving Hydrid car, BMW 330e. Where can she charge her car in Penang ? We are in Georgetown itself. Thank you