JD Power 2016 Malaysia Sales Satisfaction Index (SSI) – Mitsubishi ranked first, local brands trail the pack

2016-jd-power-slide-5

A weak Malaysian car market, brought down by a sluggish economy, rising car prices and the implementation of GST has seen some improvement. It has been invigorated by new model launches, according to the JD Power 2016 Malaysia Sales Satisfaction Index (SSI) that was released today.

With sales volume declining year-on-year, the local car industry has been focusing on improving the buying experience for the customer. This is shown by an improvement in the overall sales satisfaction score – 789 out of a possible 1,000 points – a 37 point improvement over the previous year.

“The excitement that surrounds a new model launch has the ability to draw customers into the showrooms,” said Mohit Arora, regional vice president at JD Power. “Car dealers that fully capitalise on their customers’ heightened interest with an energising shopping experience can gain from highly satisfied customers who are more likely to repurchase and recommend.”

Overall, the JD Power SSI study indicated that owners of newly-launched vehicles reported having a higher satisfaction with their purchase than those who bought cars from the existing model range – 804 versus 787 points.

Based on the survey results, 92% of customers reported having a hassle-free purchase process, which represents an 11% improvement over 2015. In addition, 94% of car buyers said that sales personnel are more focused on providing in-depth explanation on features and benefits of the vehicle.

The domestic car market has also improved in its satisfaction index, closing the gap with international makes. The SSI shows that Malaysian buyers are more satisfied, reaching 783 points in 2016 from 736 in 2015, and closing to within 11 points of international brands, from 34 points previously.

For mass market brand performance, Mitsubishi is at the top of the SSI rankings, with an almost perfect score across the categories – satisfaction, sales initiation, dealership, deal, salesperson, delivery timing and process. In close second was Mazda, with Toyota taking third, while for local brands, Perodua came in above Proton.

Coming with diverse and extensive experience in heavy engineering, Mohan enjoys making anything with wheels go fast, especially motorcycles. His weapon of choice is the Desmoquattro engine, and he has a penchant for anything with a dash of Italian design. Strangely enough, he insists he's a slow rider.

• Yokohama24 on Oct 07, 2016 at 12:51 pm

Wow all 3 Japanese giants lose to Mazda and Mitsubishi.

• Tahniah on Oct 07, 2016 at 1:46 pm

Syabas Proton! Keep it up!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 37
      • Mr Kunta on Oct 07, 2016 at 2:30 pm

Cannot trust this survey lah. Proton has a stinking name. Ask anybody who owns a Proton. Also ask anybody who has bought a Proton the last 2 years.

They have nothing nice to say. The best judge is the word on the street. Go ask any friend of yours who own a Proton. Ask him about the SC. Everyone will tell you the famous sentence from SC.

What is the famous sentence from SC?? Well, the famous sentence is this, “Encik, jangan complain banyak encik, anda beli Proton, what do you expect? Quality memang lah macam ni. Kalau nak higher quality, beli lah Benz”

Every Proton owner has heard the above from the SC.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 68 Thumb down 25
        • Cool story bro

• So was it a hearsay? or your own experience?
          If he said that’ im sure my fist will touch his chin already.

• AutoFrenz (the original) on Oct 07, 2016 at 4:19 pm

Buat apa kasi award kepada penjajah Jepunis?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 10
        • AutoFrenz (the original) on Oct 07, 2016 at 4:25 pm

Best sales always from Proton. We Malaysians must support Proton! Let us give them full support!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 16
        • Cannot trust means in reality P1 shud score better than P2, huh?

• Bangsa on Oct 07, 2016 at 5:45 pm

Tahun 2016, SC tak cakap mcm tu lagi. Cerita lama tak perlu ulang seribu kali, yg penting skrg sudah berubah.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
          • Encik Same VHL Loo on Oct 07, 2016 at 11:33 pm

Tahun 2016, SC tak cakap mcm tu lagi, betul, tapi sikarang tiba giliran SC Toyotaik cakap mcm tu.

What is the famous sentence from SC?? Well, the famous sentence is this, “Encik, jangan complain banyak encik, anda beli Toyota, what do you expect? Quality memang lah macam ni, harga pun macam ni jugak (potong leher), janji resale value baguih. Kalau nak lower quality, beli lah Protaik”

Every Toyotaik owner has heard the above from the SC.

• Calvin on Oct 07, 2016 at 8:55 pm

I bought a Proton in 2012. I have not heard what you stated above. I am very satisfied with my car over the past 4.5 years. What weed you smoking?

• Be Fair on Oct 08, 2016 at 12:19 am

Mr Kunta, we know you’re a Proton basher. If you want to bash, at the very least show some sense of intelligence responding to the topic. This is a SSI report, on Sales experience… but you’re addressing a Service CSI experience. Why you’re not bashing KIA, Peugeot, Volkswagen etc.? They’re not in the survey because maybe JD don’t have enough sample to do it. What does that tells you?

• Dear Mr Kunta on Oct 10, 2016 at 8:50 am

are you sure? got proof? in this IT era, no one would believe your ‘tong milo kosong’ talk anymore.
          we need proof. no proof can go ‘talk cock – sing song’ at kedai kopi……

• Operation Manager on Oct 07, 2016 at 2:03 pm

Who survey…? 2689 pv sold from Jan-Aug16…

• Zamree on Oct 07, 2016 at 12:59 pm

Salesperson kat Mazda & Mitsu mmg mantap. Gembira & Puas sekali..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
  • gaviny on Oct 07, 2016 at 1:31 pm

Both 1 and 2 are brands making a comeback in past years to best out the old rivals Japanese ,

Wonder why no continental makes are on the list

• Susukotak on Oct 07, 2016 at 2:14 pm

then u know this is not study. just a syok sendiri survey

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
    • camtakpro on Oct 10, 2016 at 8:07 am

Most people that they survey, were people that just moved out from Proton, or just sold off their VW. And finally end up with Mitsubishi ASX.

If I were Proton or VW owner and move to Mitsubishi, I would give Mitsubishi 6 stars out of 5 stars.

• Mikey on Oct 10, 2016 at 10:31 am

gaviny. The fact that JD Power does not have any Continental cars only show it is a flawed survey.

• Operation Manager on Oct 07, 2016 at 1:57 pm

Mitsu… the brand manage to sell 2869 passenger vehicle from Jan-Aug 2016??? Who is being survey…?

• xoxox on Oct 07, 2016 at 2:09 pm

where is volkswagen???

• azurestratos on Oct 07, 2016 at 2:15 pm

Who the is this JD Power?

• mastermind on Oct 07, 2016 at 2:22 pm

Why conti cars not available?
    Paid survey that why..no conti car …
    1.All samples were paid…new corruption on automotives industries..
    2.Salesman ask buyer to give higher mark during nego proccess..

• Kunta kinte on Oct 07, 2016 at 2:59 pm

rubbish survey, you know why?
    1. crappy resale value car topped the chart
    2. where as high resale value car such as no 1 car world wide = toyota is in the middle.
    to JD power – i urged you to revise and tell the truth to the rakyat!.
    ..well at least they tell the truth about proton at the bottom.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 12
  • Tracks on Oct 07, 2016 at 3:59 pm

Excuse me. Nissan is joint third with Toyota but was miss out in the writer’s statement.

• Mazda..???? the reason im not buying the car (CX5) is the salesman/woman.girl etc.. specifically glenmerie branch.. their first impression on me .. straight forward don’t want to entertain me.. not one.. not twice..

• Anything but P1, Greedy P2 on Oct 07, 2016 at 6:44 pm

Big joke, my sister owns a Mitsubishi and the service centre in Glenmarie is pure shit, the salesman too just want sales. Puchong service centre better. This survey is not accurate

• Anything but P1, Greedy P2 on Oct 07, 2016 at 8:31 pm

Seriously I have to wait long for the car to be serviced. And they did not tell inform me that the car was ready. I was sitting at the bloody sofa! I have to go out to only look at my car done the servicing, all sit there playing with phones and pretend busy. I had to ask sommore. Plus all the problems I had with the car was not rectified or solved. True story!

• Car lover on Oct 07, 2016 at 6:46 pm

Mazda PJ, best service i have for all my new car buying experience. T and H salesman also commented bad on other brand but u handly heard from Mazda salesman. They always talk on the car……..well done Mazda.

• proton service sucks !!!!!!!!

• Bernard on Oct 08, 2016 at 2:40 pm

Proton is in last place.

• alan wong on Oct 09, 2016 at 2:18 pm

Well so far when i at PJ Mazda showroom to buy my mazda cx5 and until i sent my mazda cx5 to sc at Old Klang road, everything was ok. So far so good and no complain especially SC at old klang road which was very good at customers. Every complain are attended and noted.