Volkswagen moves Asia-Pacific aftersales hub to Malaysia – faster supply of spare parts to region

2016-volkswagen-puchong-service-centre-006_BM

The Volkswagen Group has announced that it is moving its Asia-Pacific regional aftersales centre from Singapore to Malaysia, in order to facilitate a more efficient supply of genuine parts. From 2018, the new hub in Johor Bahru will serve 28 markets in the region.

To be constructed in the Port of Tanjung Pelepas (PTP) free trade area starting in January, the new Volkswagen Group regional centre for original parts will have a direct connection to the port, eliminating the need for intermediate handling. As such, the logistics process will become more efficient and environmentally-friendly.

With the new centre in Tanjung Pelepas, parts will be supplied to South-East Asian markets faster, with regional retail outlets receiving up to two deliveries per day once it is up and running. There are also plans for the aftersales activities of other brands in the Volkswagen Group to be integrated later on, as well as the regional pooling of the delivery chain for genuine parts.

Volkswagen Expert Programme 9

“Over the past few years, the Asia-Pacific region has recorded steady growth. The expansion and the relocation of our regional genuine parts center from Singapore to Malaysia reflect the significance and potential of these growing markets and will lay the foundation for further growth. Malaysia will be the new hub for aftersales logistics in the region,” said Volkswagen Group aftersales head Imelda Labbé.

Volkswagen Group South-East Asia after sales director Marcus Edelmann said, “Our new regional logistics centre will allow us to supply parts throughout the region even faster than before. From 2018, directly connected dealerships in Singapore and Malaysia will receive two deliveries per day. This will significantly improve our customer service in the region at the same time as laying the foundation for further growth.”

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Silthice on Oct 07, 2016 at 7:04 pm

After too many scandals in US & EU, VW decided to exploit SEA/ASEAN market. This is because they have seen how the Japanese overlords simply sell any rubbish in SEA and still have great figure in sales. All of this happened cause, ASEAN don’t have standard regulation for the car makers to follow and obey in order for the vehicle to be sold in SEA. If SEA has proper law ⚖ and regulations, any below standards car sold in SEA, the manufacturer will be penalized just like in US & EU. It’s time ⌚ to stop ✋ the outsiders from exploit SEA car market.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 31
    • DSGsuck on Oct 07, 2016 at 10:34 pm

So the DSG is still problematic or reliable?
      Car belongs on road not at service centre!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 13
      • Operation Manager on Oct 08, 2016 at 2:05 am

Seeing CHEAP & CHEAT (UMW-Toyo DRBHICOM-Honkan) selling milo tin kosong unsafe lowest spec at highest price, now all car makers aiming SOHAI msian. Why…? Bcoz 80% is SOHAI voluntary 9yrs loan SLAVE, voluntary con by 10k~20k from CKD-EEV. Oh sohai … compare first class US/EU MNC VW Jetta CBU(155k), CKD(135k), CKD-EEV(100k), common engine transmission safety package.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 5
        • samelordupe on Oct 08, 2016 at 10:29 am

Jetta got DSG. No, thanks

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 12
          • james on Oct 09, 2016 at 11:21 am

I only trust fact. The fact is my VW still running without fail everyday after 3.5 years or 52,900km done.

• malaysian driver on Oct 10, 2016 at 10:50 am

Fist of all, do you know what is a DSG and how does it works? Many VW drivers destroy their DSG because they like to creep their car forward inch by inch during traffic jam.

The DSG is a manual transmission under the skin and it should be driven like one. When you creep the car forward inch by inch (like driving a torque converter car), the clutch is only half engaging the flywheel to prevent the engine stalling in extremely slow speed, hence it is slipping against the flywheel. This phenomenon is call “riding the clutch” in driving term and it is extremely detrimental to the clutch because of the vast amount of heat and friction generated (made worst by our weather I Malaysia). It is like driving a manual car with the clutch half depressed all the time, you will destroy the clutch in no time.

The correct way to drive a DSG during traffic jam is just like driving a manual car, you should never creep the car forward. Let the car in front move at least more than a car length, accelerate like normal (at least more than 10km/h) so that the clutch can close completely without any slipping. And repeat the process.

Many people like bitching about the DSG even though they personally never drive one. They just hop on to the bandwagon and bash any car with DCT transmission (especially in PaulTan) without even knowing what is beneath the engine hood and how does it works. Many Malaysian buyers are equally ignorant and the sales advisor or service centre didn’t even bother to advise to the customer.

With the demise of manual driving skill (especially among women/younger drivers) this kind of issues will persist because of the physics limitation pertaining the mechanical design of a dual clutch transmission. In a normal torque converter, it is OK to slip the flywheel because it’s liquid that sits between the flywheel and the transmission. In a manual, or any clutch-based transmission, slippage means friction+heat = decrease clutch life span.

DCT transmission is a very perculiar type of animal, you need to change your driving style to adapt to it. You want fast, direct power shift like a manual transmission without working your left foot and rolling the gear yourself? Well, this is a small price to pay. If you think this is troublesome, stick to the boring torque converter then, at least you don’t need any mechanical knowledge or manual driving skill, it’s idiot proof.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 1
        • Jetta got DSG. No, thanks.
          Even persona at lowest variant got ESC.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 12
      • CB Kunta no1 on Oct 08, 2016 at 2:27 pm

Sam loo shall apply sales man job at VW since his new job at P2 not doing so well.

• seancorr (Member) on Oct 07, 2016 at 7:41 pm

They should have done this many years ago and potentially avoid all the problems that happened in Malaysia. Still, better late than never.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 3
  • nabill (Member) on Oct 07, 2016 at 8:17 pm

The irony will be those in Singapore will get their spares parts faster than us!

• Golfer on Oct 07, 2016 at 8:19 pm

Kudos to VW. They are definitely improving their after sales service. Most likely sales will pick up again.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
  • Jimmy on Oct 07, 2016 at 10:18 pm

Go and test drive a Camry and then a Passat.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 6
    • FirstBuyer on Oct 07, 2016 at 11:48 pm

Which one is better?

• Ahmad Johari on Oct 08, 2016 at 11:06 am

I own a 2015 camry and my wife drives the 2013 passat loan from her company. I have to say her passat drives way better than my camry. Smoother n more comfortable IMO. After all these years she has been driving it, not a single DSG jerkiness or problems except for the stupid petrol lid/cap motor that will not unlock every single time. She has to pry it with her fingers or nails which is troublesome.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 2
      • Ex VGM staff on Oct 09, 2016 at 7:28 pm

There are so much more than just how a car drives. It is also about the ownership experience. Things like service network support, warranty coverage, parts availability, technical support, reliability, service quality (JD power after sales CSI) and last but not least resale value (since our cars are too expensive compare to income per capita

• i guess your wife have a feather foot, she was very delicate with the paddle, maybe thats why u dont have the dsg issue

• malaysian driver on Oct 10, 2016 at 10:46 am

Light foot or feather foot, has nothing to do with the longevity of the DSG. Many VW drivers destroy their DSG because they like to creep their car forward inch by inch during traffic jam.

The DSG is a manual transmission under the skin and it should be driven like one. When you creep the car forward inch by inch (like driving a torque converter car), the clutch is only half engaging the flywheel to prevent the engine in extremely slow speed, hence it is slipping against the flywheel. This phenomenon is call “riding the clutch” in driving term and it is extremely detrimental to the clutch because of the vast amount of heat and friction generated (made worst by our weather I Malaysia). It is like driving a manual car with the clutch half depressed all the time, you will destroy the clutch in no time.

The correct way to drive a DSG during traffic jam is just like driving a manual car, you should never creep the car forward. Let the car in front move at least more than a car length, accelerate like normal (at least more than 10km/h) so that the clutch can close completely without any slipping. And repeat the process.

Many people like bitching about the DSG even though they personally never drive one. They just hop on to the bandwagon and bash any car with DCT transmission (especially in PaulTan) without even knowing what is beneath the engine hood and how does it works. Many Malaysian buyers are equally ignorant and the sales advisor or service centre didn’t even bother to advise to the customer.

With the demise of manual driving skill (especially among women/younger drivers) this kind of issues will persist because of the physics limitation pertaining the mechanical design of a dual clutch transmission. In a normal torque converter, it is OK to slip the flywheel because it’s liquid that sits between the flywheel and the transmission. In a manual, or any clutch-based transmission, slippage means friction+heat = decrease clutch life span.

DCT transmission is a very perculiar type of animal, you need to change your driving style to adapt to it. You want fast, direct power shift like a manual transmission without working your left foot and rolling the gear yourself? Well, this is a small price to pay. If you think this is troublesome, stick to the boring torque converter then, at least you don’t need any mechanical knowledge or manual driving skill, it’s idiot proof.

• Moving to somewhere!? Ini mesti semua salah… oh wai

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 13
  • Seems logical as Bosch and ZF are in Malaysia too.

• Lee Kum Kee on Oct 07, 2016 at 11:25 pm

The after sales manager wanted to stay in SG (better lifestyle maa compared to JB) but now due to cheaper MYR had no choice but to relocate to MY. Busted!

• Madani on Oct 07, 2016 at 11:50 pm

Our efforts to grow local Auto industry are showing results.

• The decision to move their logistics hub is purely economical. They stand to save millions per year as the warehouse rental and labour in Malaysia is much cheaper in PTP compared to SG.

• And? Do you think that Toyota or Honda stay in Malaysia because they have such a good heart and only want to do good for Malaysian people? :D

• Ahmad on Oct 09, 2016 at 9:46 am

Dude , T n H is big in Thai!

• Mikey on Oct 09, 2016 at 11:22 am

Good question Mohd. These car manufacturer are here to provide a choice for the buying public so that we can CHOOSE which one serve our NEEDS & make a profit along the way. This is what we call Business.

Looks like you have Many bones to pick with most car manufacturer. So far you have managed to bash Honda, Toyota, Fiat/Chrysler. Ford & GM in this VW moving article. Now I can present U with the Champion basher here.

• Mikey on Oct 10, 2016 at 10:55 am

Mohd. Toyota/Honda are here to provide a Choices for the buying public. This is purely business. Can U tell me if there is One car company that is doing it for charity or good heart !?

• Dedak in the house on Oct 09, 2016 at 10:31 am

@bala – true..

• TolNaikTakTurun on Oct 08, 2016 at 10:01 am

once bitten…..never ever go back to VW….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 8
  • Thanks to P1 and P2, because of these 2 national cars. Car manufacturer move out of the country and setup up their business in Indonland and Thailand. P1 and P2 are the father of Indon and Thai auto industry.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 9
    • Either with or without P1&P2 foreign car company want to stay or not is their choice. Not just car, a lot more company investing in My and also leaving My either the same product locally made or not. It’s business. At least we have something when they decided to leave. If car hub guarantee a cheaper car to own, why Thai car price is on par with us?

• chris on Oct 08, 2016 at 10:32 am

VW malaysia is good at “planning”. But they are really bad at executing the plan.

My vehicle has been stuck at workshop for 3 months because of a minor accident caused by drive shaft failure. It was diagnosed as a safety issue by workshop.

The reason i was given on delay of repair, drive shaft has arrived at workshop, however i will have to pay for workmanship and additional parts damaged by the accident.

Drive shaft failure caused by manufacturing/assembly problem almost cost me my life and they still dare to request for payment from me? It takes them months to carry out repair caused by their own fault.

Furthermore, i was not given a courtesy vehicle. The reason being, VW Malaysia has sold off all their courtesy vehicle as new management, Porsche is taking over. I would like to refresh your memories on 5 years mobility guarantee launched in 2014? It is now defunct and not in their website any longer.

In conclusion: VW can pack their bags and go back to Germany. Do not touch a VW even with long pole.

For Porsche management, when can i get my vehicle back? It is currently at Hicom Auto Cheras. If any of VW or Porsche personnel handling email and calls, you will know which vehicle i am referring to.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 9
    • Same L0rrrr on Oct 08, 2016 at 2:31 pm

You can trade in to me at RM15k. Get a sushi better.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 10
      • Chris on Oct 08, 2016 at 4:12 pm

Thanks but no thanks.

i like to eat sushi.

but i don’t drive sushi car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 5
    • Sejati on Oct 08, 2016 at 2:37 pm

You don’t pay, then you don’t drive. I guess the ball is in your court dude.

• Chris on Oct 08, 2016 at 4:00 pm

Is it fair to pay for something that almost kill me?

Guess the upper management in VW has the same mentality as you.

• Chris on Oct 09, 2016 at 3:16 am

My courtesy vehicle even broke down at damansara exactly at 3.00am

Idiotic vw.

• lawak jenaka on Oct 09, 2016 at 2:57 pm

hahaha now this is funny
        im sure u dont own any VW
        first you said the dont give you car
        then now you said they give
        haha drama

• Jimmy on Oct 09, 2016 at 8:42 pm

And you knew everything and came to this ‘solid’ conclusion.

I am uncertain about the possibilities. I read carefully. Do you think I or the real Chris is a low IQ idiot?

• Chris on Oct 10, 2016 at 10:04 am

In my comment, i am referring to VW Malaysia and currently Porsche Holding Salzburg (PHS).

Courtesy Vehicle is not provided by them (VW Malaysia) as they have quietly removed 5 years mobility guarantee.

Courtesy vehicle that i have is from service center, Hicom Auto, which i have serviced my vehicle for the past 3 years of ownership. This is the only VW service center that i endorse. You may give me your email, i will send you repair order from tow truck on my 3am breakdown.

Do you own a VW? Let’s meet up for a cup of tea to discuss your ownership experience?

• Camry Lover on Oct 09, 2016 at 6:43 am

Thats the price to pay for buying VW here. They are still lacking the level of service you expect from a German company

• Lemon on Oct 10, 2016 at 12:26 pm

I guess you got yourself a lemon ! Bad luck but it happens to other brands also.

• Why took them so long knowing cost in Singapore is much higher than Malaysia. Nos of VW vehicles much higher too.
    I believe it could also be a political one.

• Dedak in the house on Oct 09, 2016 at 10:35 am

Idiot.. whenever company in sg, u say msia not competetive, when change to msia u say politics.. aiyoo.. i worked in ptp, now in sgm. Trust me, msia more cheaper.. they change transhipment hub, meaning not just for msia.. meaning our tjg pls port more efficient than sg port.. please read more on shipping news..

• Mikey on Oct 08, 2016 at 11:32 am

VW is THE news when it comes to motoring no thanks to its diesel-gate scandal.

When VW announce it is moving its hub to M’sia, it is purely a logistic move to strategist its business ie to distribute original parts to his client efficiently& faster.

It also mean VW are listening to complaints/suggestions from his clients/SC to mitigate & lessen the time taken to change/repair its cars.

This is good news for VW car owners & it also mean VW is confident with its business plan.

Hopefully, VW have IDENTIFIED & solve its DSG problem which many have highlighted.

Lastly, when is VW bringing the New Passat to M’sia ?

• The funny thing is, that ‘diesel gate scandal’ hits all US companies and Toyota too.

The french gouvernment lately checked all diesel passenger cars sold in France and found out that VW currently sells the cleanest diesels (french are not known to be germans best friends btw.). The worst cars are sold by US company Fiat/Chrysler. Ford, GM (using partly Fiat/Chrysler engines) and Toyota are not much better when it comes to diesel emissions.

Nonetheless something like the DSG scandal is unacceptable and should have noted in advance by VW’s quality departement.

• Vincent on Oct 08, 2016 at 3:52 pm

This is really a good news for VW owner.

Those who bought the Jetta and Passat during drop everything sales…most knowing the problem of DSG and they consider this as calculated risk. With the spare pare RDC move to Malaysia, the downtime of calculative risk before shorter!

• Tanjung Pelepas is a Hub Port, BMW also have their own parts distribution hub there for Asia Pacific, so VW following the same to have the supply of parts faster around Asia

• Andrekua on Oct 09, 2016 at 7:57 am

Is it going to mean cheaper parts for VW owners?

• Dual clutch on Oct 09, 2016 at 2:28 pm

VW pulled out of Singapore and choose Thailand to invest and pouring billion of ringgit money to setup their industry in Thailand. If there were no Proton, VW would choose Malaysia instead of Thailand. Can you imagine this is just from 1 company. The number of investment would be folded from other car industries if they choose Malaysia. This is Proton fault.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 12
    • kzm (Member) on Oct 09, 2016 at 9:21 pm

Don’t u read the title?

• Blind or what this guy? The ckd VW assemble in Pekan Pahang right? Did Pekan Pahang is in Thai?

• Keep quiet on DSG issues….why?
    Instead of just saying, no more problems, spell it out la.

Not confidence inspiring at all.

• gaviny on Oct 09, 2016 at 11:16 pm

Faster delivery but not cheaper parts.

an oil filter costs 5 euros, sold here for 40 malaysian rupees, made in thailand

• dont care about my sushi car’s warranty…dont need it as it never goes wrong..

• sim chung keat on Oct 10, 2016 at 2:10 pm

I have been driving VW passat since Jan14 and done 145k km up to date. During this period, two major issues encountered :
    1) Replaced Mechatronic at 75k km
    2) Replaced speed sensor(1 no) at 130k km
    Both repair jobs were carried out at VW TTDI that took them 2 and 1 day respectively to complete and cover under warranty claim.
    Car is pleasant to drive – powerful, responsive (DSG character), good NVH and superb handling. I have nothing much to lament as far as ownership experience is concerned except the RV. My friend sold his 2012 passat(done 150K km) for 57K last week.

• Alex259 on Oct 10, 2016 at 2:43 pm

I wonder why peoples here keep mentioning DSG issue of VW, which cause your car in yard ; and yet stupidly keep quiet for TAKADA airbag”s issue which will cause you and your family in grave!! Why??