GALLERY: Mercedes-Benz CLA200 facelift, now AMG

mercedesbenz_cla200_ioi_ext-1

Mercedes-Benz Malaysia has showcased the entry level version of its recently-facelifted CLA four-door coupé in IOI City Mall. The new Mercedes-Benz CLA 200 gains a few added bits, in exchange for a little extra outlay compared to the previous CLA 200 – the price is now a modest RM3,000 higher at RM236,888 on-the-road without insurance, inclusive of a four-year, unlimited-mileage warranty.

So what do you get for the three large? Well, the most noticeable difference is that the CLA 200 now gets the AMG Line appearance package, hitherto available only on the mid-table, RM278,888 CLA 250 4Matic. The 18-inch AMG multi-spoke alloy wheels are also new, and give the CLA 200 more than a passing resemblance to the full-fat, upwards-of-RM400k AMG CLA 45.

However, the previous car’s Night Package, which added gloss black exterior accents, have been ditched on the new model. The door mirror caps, front splitter, side skirt inserts and rear diffuser are now in body colour, and the window trim strips are picked out in satin chrome.

mercedesbenz_cla200_ioi_ext-3

The new kit comes hand-in-hand with the styling revisions applied to all CLA models, including new LED High Performance headlights that replace the old bi-xenon units, revised tail light graphics, reprofiled front and rear bumpers and twin integrated exhaust exits.

Not much has changed inside – the sizeable eight-inch Media Display and flatter audio face buttons were introduced last year, but the facelift adds chrome-plated trim around some of the switchgear, as well as a revised instrument cluster with white-on-black dials and red needles for improved clarity.

A new C-Class-style steering wheel was also introduced in last year’s update, but the new car’s AMG Line interior affords it a flat-bottomed wheel, plus red stitching on the Artico faux leather upholstery. One unfortunate omission from the new CLA 200 is the authentic carbon fibre trim that was also incorporated last year – that one’s now reserved for the CLA 45.

mercedesbenz_cla200_ioi_int-1

In its place is brushed aluminium trim; other than that, the specs remain the same as before. There’s still manual air-conditioning and no Keyless-Go, but you do get Light and Sight ambient lighting, powered front sports seats with memory, a reverse camera, cruise control and paddle shifters. Safety-wise, there’s Attention Assist, Active Park Assist, Pre-Safe and Collision Prevention Assist with Brake Assist.

It’s the same story under the bonnet – the carryover 1.6 litre turbo four-cylinder engine sends 154 hp and 250 Nm to the 7G-DCT (seven-speed dual-clutch transmission). The 0-100 km/h sprint is done in 8.5 seconds, and the CLA 200 runs out of puff at 230 km/h. One last thing – the old car’s sport suspension has been removed in favour of a comfort setup, albeit one that’s lowered by 15 mm at the front and 10 mm at the rear.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Lee Kum Kee on Oct 11, 2016 at 3:46 pm

Audi A3 > All

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 14
  • Why is CLA market below the C-class? The design really doesn’t deserves the “entry premium” title man.

• Becoz this is a coupe version of A keras? CLA is NOT from C keras, u know.

• Mark James on Oct 12, 2016 at 1:15 am

I have the new CLA 220 AMG Line. Aesthetically it makes more of an impact than the C class, but the C class is a much better car in terms of driving performance and build quality. That is why it is considered entry level.

• Mikey on Oct 12, 2016 at 9:59 am

Mark James, is there a CLA 220 AMG Line or it is a typo thing !? I agree with your reason/analogy that the C-class is a better buy value wise.

• Justin Wood on Oct 12, 2016 at 5:53 pm

I own a CLA 220 CDI AMG too in Camden. Entry-level £30K

• Mikey, there is a CLA 220 AMG Line, in the U.K at least. It’s a nice car and makes a big impact visually. I like it as a car a lot but my previous was a 2013 A3 and that was definitely built better. Felt much more solid to drive. And my comments still stand regarding the C class, it’s a better car which is why the CLA is considered entry level.

• Mikey on Oct 11, 2016 at 4:28 pm

Ha ha ha, John will be laughing at Merc for charging M’sian RM236,888 OTR without insurance for a manual air-cond & no Keyless-Go.

• Sure or not on Oct 11, 2016 at 4:39 pm

Exterior nice. Interior power. Comfort hebat. Power … Frustrating.

• Mikey on Oct 11, 2016 at 4:53 pm

Merc should NOT charge 3k for the small upgrade. In fact, Merc should throw in more goodies to entice more customers to buy this ‘small’ premium sedan.

It’s the year end coming & the economy is abysmal to say the least. Unless Merc say they have people queuing to buy this car, Merc will throw more goodies/discount to sell a small premium car in the end.

Most purchaser who have the doe will shell-out their $$$ to buy a C-class which have more room & looks better IMO.

• Kenny on Oct 11, 2016 at 5:08 pm

It’s a coupe. FYI

• Mikey on Oct 11, 2016 at 5:29 pm

Kenny, of course I know it’s a 4 doors coupe. It’s in the picture. U think I cannot see isit !

• Kenny on Oct 11, 2016 at 5:10 pm

If you want a c class coupe, u have to fork out more money and it’s only 2 door coupe available but not 4 door :)

• rashuk_khan2 on Oct 11, 2016 at 8:13 pm

Saga 3rd gen.

• Aragon on Oct 12, 2016 at 3:04 am

The boot space js a joke.

• Hayenadeblue on Oct 12, 2016 at 7:38 am

No rear aircond vent? No rear foot aircond vent? Pass. Even my W203 have these.

• passion on Oct 12, 2016 at 8:39 am

nope. lets move on.

• Kunta kinte on Oct 12, 2016 at 10:36 am

there is only 2 type of rakyat in msia
    1. stupid rakyat: blindly purchase european car and regret when selling it because european car have very crappy resale value = 0%, when u see people driving european car, we rakyat know already he/she is stupid..as simple as that.
    2. clever rakyat : toyota owner – luxury and status symbol. but if you cant afford, can always buy perodua..bezza top spec is almost same level as altis

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
    • Sickput on Oct 12, 2016 at 7:37 pm

German car built quality is different. If its the same as toyota or hyundai, prople in korea or japan would not buy them. In beijing, i see more german brands than anywhere else in asia percentage wise.

• Sickput on Oct 12, 2016 at 7:34 pm

Geman cars are squeezing the japs out of the market.