Mazda 2 prices increased in Malaysia – sedan and hatchback now up to RM3,180 more than before

2016 Mazda 2 Smokey Rose 2

Prices of the Mazda 2 have increased in Malaysia by up to RM3,180 for all versions of the B-segment model. This includes both hatchback and sedan bodystyles, equipped with either the halogen or LED headlamps.

The standard Mazda 2 with halogen reflector headlamps is now priced at RM87,586, an increase of RM2,120 from before (RM85,466). Meanwhile, models with the LED headlamps now retail at RM93,946, which represents a RM3,180 hike from previously (RM90,766).

As before, customers who opt for the Soul Red exterior colour option will be required to pay an additional RM530 on top of the purchase price. All the prices mentioned here are on-the-road without insurance. There are no changes to the car’s equipment list as well.

No change to the Mazda 2’s optional accessories, with the Sports Kit (front lip, rear lip, side skirts, and rear spoiler) still priced at RM2,300 (sedan) and RM2,370 (hatchback), respectively. Other items include a chrome exhaust tailpipe (RM70), boot tray (RM130), stainless steel scuff plate with LED lighting (RM275) and navigation system for the Mazda Connect infotainment system.

Each purchase continues to come with a three-year (or 100,000 km) manufacturer warranty and three years (or 60,000 km) free maintenance package.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• gaviny on Oct 11, 2016 at 6:49 pm

pretty cunning strategy to do an increase before the facelift arrives, that way they can claim facelift has no price increase. lol

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 1
  • Palehotak on Oct 11, 2016 at 6:50 pm

Sales naik sikit, sudah manyak sombong. Podaahhh!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 91 Thumb down 2
    • Jimmy on Oct 11, 2016 at 9:54 pm

You-aim-da-view style. And the greed.

I make it clearer to you this time, in case you are so naive to teach me that Mazda USA is not distributed by You-Aim-da-View-usa.

• Can you just rest in peace with that kind of price tag?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 1
  • Hakim on Oct 11, 2016 at 7:05 pm

Might as well buy the forte cheaper and bigger and better or the HRV. Lousy Mazda pricing. All thanks to that Proton creator who started all these mess in beloved Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 12
    • Better buy P1. Dun have old man korni to suka hati up price when market share start to go up. Somemore inside so much bigger for same segment.

• Jimmy on Oct 11, 2016 at 9:46 pm

Why don’t you just blame the greed.

• Which creator?

• horrayooi on Oct 11, 2016 at 7:27 pm

Such a small car and not a very popular brand selling from RM87k to RM93k. Their sale advisors will have plenty of time in the showroom to play video games and Whatsapp on their smartphones. Good luck.

• imaqtnate on Oct 11, 2016 at 7:38 pm

Wish Mazda bring in the manual option for the enthusiasts. I dream of the 6 speed manual!

• First you only bring in the auto ND MX-5, then you stop selling the soft top MX-5 and going to replace it with the heavier MX-5 RF.

Then for Mazda2 you bring the basic halogen fitted model with only 2 airbags & charge a fortune on it. A few months later you offer the LED headlights as another separate model and charge even more money for it. Now you’re increasing the price even more.

Next to SDAC, Bermaz is probably the most stingy distributor ever.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 2
    • Jimmy on Oct 11, 2016 at 10:08 pm

In USA, their distributors are so greedy that they sell their Fords, Mazdas and Toyotas at Mercedes prices in USA.

Exacerbate a bit, to make you see the clearer picture.

One day, our Japanese D-segment saloons will cross the rm300k mark; rm5000 increments with each facelift and each new generations.

• maXref (Member) on Oct 11, 2016 at 9:05 pm

As it is its expensive compared to its competitor. Now wanna dig their grave even deeper ah -___-

• Good job bermaz, just what we need during this times. Price hike on what basis? Please be the next to exit Malaysia.

• Mikey on Oct 11, 2016 at 9:29 pm

Good luck to you Bermaz. Most car manufacturers IMPROVE their specs &/or reduce the prices to entice the buying public especially in the end of the year & you come out with an increase in price.

Vios reduce their prices also people complain bcos its essentially an “old” car with a newer engine with extra goodies thrown in. Are U not asking for troubles here.

With the growing competition in this section, U should be thankful that there are M’sian willing to fork out close to 100k to buy a compact car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 1
  • Albert on Oct 11, 2016 at 9:35 pm

At 87Kfor basic mazda,it is way way too damn expensive,Dato Ben.
    You can get 1 bezza for yourself and a saga or another bezza for your wife/girlfriend.
    Alto it has slightly higher h/p…it is too premium in pricing.
    Also,if u are as tall as the legendary Rudy Hartono,u need surgery to shorten your legs,to drive a Mazda 2.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 1
    • neonceejay on Oct 12, 2016 at 12:02 am

I love the Mazda 2. Not after I can’t squeeze myself at the rear seat.
      And the lansi attitude of bermaz salesman that ask me to “get the info online”.

Satria neo’s, satria, megane Rs, heck even kancil have better space at rear. (space proposition, i am 183cm tall btw)

If it’s cheaper than can forgive, but they just cross the bottomline of being expensively impractical.

• Bermaz, no problem if you want to increase prices. Because when the sales almost stopped for the 2 and your stock cars are basking under the sun in your stockyards, you will eventually have to give big, big discount. Look at what is happening to the BT-50 when you did the same thing by increasing prices with negligible improvement.

• passion on Oct 12, 2016 at 8:34 am

NO NO NO. wrong move!!!

• azhar on Oct 12, 2016 at 8:35 am

Berjaya auto lg tamak dari UMW

• JB_KIA on Oct 12, 2016 at 8:51 am

increase to offset year end rebate???

• Robinhood on Oct 12, 2016 at 10:10 am

Mazda looking for trouble. By the way, it’s only a tactic because as you stepped into the showroom, the SA will offer u discount kaw kaw which makes no difference. Old tactic tak boleh lagi…. customers are much smarter nowadays.

• JB_KIA on Oct 12, 2016 at 7:18 pm

what step in? anyone can contact 20+ SAs a day with WhatsApp. Sape murah dia dpt.

• Ben Yap on Oct 12, 2016 at 10:14 am

japanese companies tend to be greedy…. look at honda, toyota and now mazda.

they cannot taste success.

• Yap is very ben on Oct 12, 2016 at 3:58 pm

In fact, they are success. If they are not, who else? volkswagen? P1? peugeot?

• I used to like Mazda for the value they offer… now I think bmw and Honda gives better discounts.. so bye bye Mazda I’m switching brands

• Nasha on Oct 12, 2016 at 12:07 pm

Berjaya Group always like this, doing biz just becoz for the sake of just doing it. Look at other Berjaya Grup bisness (except Starbucks, Toto), semua have problem on moving forward/developing products. eg: Kenny Rogers – bloody damn hell expensive compared to competitors, Wendys – how many branches did they currently have?, MOL – has anyone/heard anyone use this as e-payment channel?, Redtone – has anyone/heard anyone use this telco provider?, 7-Eleven – popular for only go there to buy liquor, condoms, and ice.

• Bernard on Oct 12, 2016 at 1:22 pm

It should be sold below RM50k !!!!

• Semi-Value (Member) on Oct 12, 2016 at 2:47 pm

lol good luck berjaya auto

• Friendly Polisman on Oct 12, 2016 at 3:15 pm

Mazda cars are pretty lousy, small and very expensive..

The mazda salespersons better find another job becoz they will be out of job soon in their mazda showroom.

No body will touch mazda…..as there are better and cheaper cars out there….

• Dalgish_Ynwa on Oct 29, 2016 at 4:18 pm

Daylight roberry! Was considering this car to replace my old myvi. With the price adjustment I’m sticking with Honda jazz v specs which offers more value for money package, 6 airbags and better rv