Drivers prefer phone navigation over in-car systems

vw golf mk7 touchscreen

In-car navigation systems have been found to be the least satisfactory aspect of new car ownership, according to JD Power’s 2016 U.S. Tech Experience Index (TXI) Study of new vehicle owners after 90 days of ownership. On a scale of 1,000 points, the average score was 730, indicating that people were relatively satisfied with the technology in their cars.

Navigation systems scored the worst, with an average score of 687. Almost two-thirds of new vehicle owners with built-in navigation reported using their smartphones or portable navigation devices for finding their way on the road. Of the 43% who have used the in-car systems, 56% of them stopped using them within the first month, according to JD Power.

The biggest cause of turning away from use of built-in systems was often the difficulty of entering a destination, and having to go through tedious menus or ‘points of interest’ menus which don’t include many choices, according to J.D. Power vice president Renee Stephens.

Voice command functions aim to make the input process easier, however they are often misunderstood and require repetitions, compounding the users’ frustration. In addition, many systems lock drivers out from manually making inputs while driving for safety reasons, but that also locks out passengers who can help make inputs whilst on the move, requiring the driver to revert to voice commands.

Ford SYNC 3-01

More recently, new vehicles have systems such as Android Auto or Apple CarPlay which mirror and display the mobile device’s applications on the vehicle’s infotainment screen. Systems such as Ford’s SYNC 3 offer the choice of pairing with both mobile operating systems, which gives drivers more intuitive access to their mobile devices; for example, mobile-based navigation can have their maps displayed on the car’s screen.

These latest systems should provide solutions to the aforementioned problems with in-car systems, however most drivers aren’t aware that these systems are present in their vehicles. “For any technology in a vehicle, it’s critical that the owners want it, are aware they have it and know how to use it,” said Kristin Kolodge, executive director of driver interaction & HMI research at JD Power.

“The dealer plays a critical role in whether or not a technology is used. When the dealer takes the time to explain the technology or provide a demonstration, it not only makes the owner aware they have the technology, but also helps them understand how to use it, which means they are more likely to use it, continue to use it and, because they see the value, want it in their next vehicle,” she adds.

For those who have an in-car navigation system, do you use it?

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• Fariz01 on Oct 12, 2016 at 12:06 pm

Personally i love the Lookatoo navigation on my proton. Yes the interface is basic, in fact it looks like a mid 2000’s nokia maps on their old Nseries phones. But its fast to lock on my position and recalculate routes. I use waze for traffic info on my phone but navigation seems better on the basic car gps. It does not send me to Mars when i type a location, unlike phone based navigation.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 3
    • BabyWazer on Oct 12, 2016 at 1:04 pm

I have Lookatoo too. While it’s great that Lokatoo GPS lock is quick, accurate and maps are updated every 2 to 3 months. But it doesn’t have traffic data like Waze. I don’t even use Google Maps even though the map is accurate simply because navigation is subpar and traffic data is still very basic. Waze is simply superior with navigation and realtime traffic data.

Using Sat Nav in the cities without realtime traffic data is a complete waste of time. Wasted RM5K just to have Lokatoo in my car. My next car purchase must have CarPlay or Android Auto. Otherwise a basic multimedia system without Sat Nav will suffice. Smartphone navigation is simply superior and easily upgradable.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
      • Prefer GRAB … UBER apps can be mirrored to the display too … BlueCab cannot see then

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
  • Leafable on Oct 12, 2016 at 12:09 pm

We love all our UK car’s built in navigation. Only Malaysia car’s have been replace by the cheapo aftermarket system.

• Waze is still the navi app of choice for me. I never use an in car navi, no regular over-air map/POI updates and more importantly no traffic information.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
    • Leafable on Oct 12, 2016 at 3:37 pm

Because you can’t get a proper built in navigation in Malaysia unless you driving high end car.

• neonceejay on Oct 12, 2016 at 12:15 pm

Yeap, agree. easier to update.
    Cause we malaysian after buy a car we expect to use it for at least 5 to 6 years,
    And by that time no matter how fancy your car infotainment is will look like belong to Musuem negara.

I always prefer a simple radio with bluetooth and aux in. The rest, let my phone (which can be replaced and upgraded easily) do it’s job.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
  • Yokohama24 on Oct 12, 2016 at 12:32 pm

Waze should be integrated into the in-car system. If in-car system have simcard slot that would be a bonus.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Oct 12, 2016 at 12:40 pm

lol gps systems are dead..all use wze

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 3
  • When I was still using my old car and plan to buy a new car, I thought the in car navigation is a must-have feature. Until I got my new car and found the tediousness of inputting the system. Worst, the maps get outdated. And can’t find the details for some lesser known road/town

• Gonzales on Oct 12, 2016 at 12:45 pm

Phone can smell polis speedtrap.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
  • Chris on Oct 12, 2016 at 12:50 pm

We own a proton preve cfe. The built in gps is NOT being used as it repeatedly gives wrong or longer directions to reach. Furthernore, updating is so expensive. We are much happier using a Marbella gps which we can navigate without any hassle.

• Who are the WE? So patheticly trying to see your brand here hoping car manufacturer will adopt your lousy product.

• palehotak on Oct 12, 2016 at 12:50 pm

Android Auto rocks

• altimatesss on Oct 12, 2016 at 1:09 pm

Yes, absolutely agree with this. I only used my in-car navi twice since i bought the car.

Besides other issues highlighted here, we are also used to smarter way of navigating which apps like Waze provides e.g. finding the best route which has the least traffic congestion etc.

My next car must have at least Android auto/Car play – and ability to mirror your smartphone.

• Mirror link on Oct 12, 2016 at 1:55 pm

In-car system with mirror link software is the best. Can display whatever on your phone to the car radio.

• LittleMin on Oct 12, 2016 at 2:16 pm

Perfect solution : Android headunit with Waze apps inside.

Which is what I did to my car.
    Satisfaction 100% while using Waze on the headunit.
    And viewing angle is better than those handphone on handphone holder.

• Traffic information is a must nowadays & regular update POI is what user is looking for.

Besides that, Car HU has so far behind mobile phone technology for quite some time
    – 854 x 480 resolution they call it HD. There’s no higher resolution available
    – Still using pressure based touch screen rather than capacitive
    – Screen brightness too low, problem in sunlight readability. No auto brightness too.
    – Still using TFT screen, poor viewing angle.
    – The list can go on

Unless manufacture keep up with technology, user won’t bother anymore. I really hope Apple can enter this area to heat up the competition.

• Ollie on Oct 16, 2016 at 12:31 pm

Agree much. I’ve seen so many people put cheap China head units to replace the original, sold by the dealer. Thing costs 3 to 5 k. Actual cost is rm500 but the dealer won’t tell you that. Looks really ugly, ugly fonts, ugly interface, slow response. Funny how people live with that

• Andrej on Oct 12, 2016 at 2:46 pm

There is also an option to have offline navigation on your smartphone like Sygic Car Navigation and connect it to your car via MirrorLink, InControl or Honda Display Audio. Hopefully in the near future Car Play and Android Auto will be available for other navigation apps too.

• there he is on Oct 12, 2016 at 2:52 pm

ford sync 3 is in town

• seancorr (Member) on Oct 12, 2016 at 3:02 pm

But of course since phone navigation software has real time traffic monitoring and receives updates frequently. Tell me when was the last time you had your vehicle’s maps updated?

• So we all agree that we pay for something that we don’t use.

So please take out this option and give us VSC…. or an umbrella. at least we will use them

• tokmoh. on Oct 12, 2016 at 3:23 pm

Carmaker usually charge rm2k++ to upgrade to built in navigation.

Bodoh. For same money, can get iPhone, Samsung Bomb Note7, way more mobile, versatile, can Waze, G Maps, only clueless waterfish unker aunty will pay for it.

• wahai on Oct 13, 2016 at 9:30 am

Why stop there? All those ipad with sim card lagi big screen, battery lagi tahan.

Don’t blame the uncle aunty lah, is rarely an option to choose at the first place. You want VSC and more airbag? you have to buy the highest spec, which also make you pay for this gimmick.

• Mr Fakta on Oct 12, 2016 at 6:54 pm

Because there’s no good in car navigation. Try loading Google map or equivalent map with internet.

• while waze is good for its realtime traffic info, the navigation at least for me is average. My preferred navigation apps is google maps which is much better than waze and the realtime traffic update is good on par with waze now. i have a few experiences with uber drivers using waze ending up with the drivers gave up using waze and asking me for directions because waze is showing wrong routes etc.

• Kenny Fang on Oct 12, 2016 at 7:42 pm

I don’t have in-car navigation but I use a 7″ Android tablet for this purpose. It beats sticking my phone to the windscreen with the risk of dropping. Using your phone for navigation drains the battery fast and is never a good thing when you get a call.

• Jay Law on Oct 12, 2016 at 8:58 pm

Pokemon GO is my GPS

• paul, why can’t a car manufacturer like proton,etc use waze,google maps as part of their navi? i haven’t seen any doing it.

• Ainon on Oct 13, 2016 at 6:55 am

Mercedes Benz navigation software is horrible, the POIs and addresses are very limited, navigating using geo-coordinates is inaccurate and using voice command is basically hopeless. Hopefully they will install Android Auto and Apple CarPlay into the COMAND headunit so that Waze or Google maps can be used.

• Das Auto on Oct 16, 2016 at 3:18 pm

Saw a BMW with driver’s handphone stick over the infotainment screen. The amount of money we pay that not going to be use!