Honda recalls 350,000 2016 Civics in the US over electronic parking brake issue – Malaysia not affected

2016 Honda Civic Sedan

In the US, Honda has announced a recall for around 350,000 10th-gen Civics over an issue with the vehicles electronic parking brake. The recall involves 2016 model year Civic Sedan and Civic Coupe models.

The automaker said that the software for the Vehicle Stability Assist ((VSA) electronic control unit in the affected vehicles may prevent application of the electronic parking brake from being applied immediately after turning the vehicle ignition off.

It added that the vehicle could roll away if the parking brake was not properly engaged and the vehicle was not in its parking gear. Honda said that the issue was discovered following warranty claims related to the illumination of the brake warning light.

2016 Honda Civic Coupe

Honda said that no accidents or injuries have been reported as a result of the issue. It said that a software update for for the electronic control unit will be carried out as a fix for the problem, and will begin notifying owners of affected cars in November.

A check with Honda Malaysia earlier reveals that the local version of the 2016 Civic sedan is not affected by the electronic parking brake issue.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Honda Man on Oct 14, 2016 at 6:27 pm

Surprise surprise, of course it doesn’t effect any units in Malaysia. HM has better engineering, parts suppliers and mfg QC so no effected units…. until an Oh Sh$t moment happens when someone actually dies.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 128 Thumb down 12
    • UH OH on Oct 14, 2016 at 9:45 pm

Must let go before warranty ends

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 2
      • Operation Manager on Oct 17, 2016 at 7:44 pm

R&D failure still pretend no body business, mr.mai mr.trade setup end consumer with no protection rules & regulation, msian life is cheap…

• Kunta ex proton operator on Oct 14, 2016 at 9:49 pm

THis news will not impact good sales of Honda

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 16
      • Big Big Liar Malaysia on Oct 15, 2016 at 11:43 am

Honda is DRB aka crony GLC. You trust the Government after 1MDB scandal? Even Audit House also can lie about 1MDB accounting and give audit approval. Even AG also can lie.

What is stopping Honda and DRB fro lying also

• kzm (Member) on Oct 17, 2016 at 10:26 am

Honda Malaysia Sdn Bhd is not control by DRB bro. Honda Motor Co Ltd (51%) is the one controlling Honda Malaysia. Last time i said that DRB control plant site is incorrect. The plant is control by Honda Malaysia Sdn Bhd. They are not like UMW-Toyota.

• Kunta thump up own post on Oct 15, 2016 at 9:06 am

Good move to rectify the issue

• If you actually understood the “problem” you would not make such a statement. When brake hold is activated and park lever is on Neutral (as in the described case) the EPB will automatically engage. Only when brake hold is not activated in Neutral gear mode, it will not activate, driver still has to manually engage the parking brake, which you would do under normal circumstance if you have mechanical hand brake. Its an electronic setting issue, not a safety issue. Don’t expect the car to do everything for you. You are still the driver, use you common sense. The EPB is fully functioning, its about auto-engaging where the issue is, not if the EPB is working or not. Logic thinking please before commenting id you have not understood the issue at hand.

• P1 power windows OK jer.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 9
  • Can honda malaysia explain why malaysia civic is not affected?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 101 Thumb down 7
    • Same L0rr on Oct 14, 2016 at 6:56 pm

Inb4 Altis safer & reliable…Sell off your Civic before the car & RV roll down the hill. #nasihat

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 19
    • Lee Kum Kee on Oct 14, 2016 at 6:59 pm

Inb4 Takata airbag recall. Honda Malaysia also claimed their CKDs are not affected in the first place. But see la now. Takata recalls is everywhere, with deaths already amounting more than a dozen worldwide. Was a Honda fan here. Once bitten, twice shy. Will never trust Honda again.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 7
      • Megane on Oct 15, 2016 at 9:22 pm

Had some issue with Honda City before …steering has some resistance mid corner . Honda dismissed that . Then front windscreen for both Honda City and Accord smearing with watermarks during rain – dangerous driving during rainy nights . Glad I disposed off both . Good riddance . Will never buy Honda again .

• Their talibaruters says jangan persoal tuan jepunis overlords. They will come for ur kepla

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 4
    • Ms Check Pick on Oct 14, 2016 at 10:27 pm

Always bear in mind that first batch launched frequently effected.That’s another good reason for Malaysia being that last batch to launched the latest model.Same goes to Note 7 issue.Nobody in Malaysia be effected coz been recalled before landing our shore.But wow Civic 350,000 sold just around 10 month of this year alone? Good reception but hopefully Honda find solution to fix it right.Yesterday Prius recalled,today Civic.Let’s predict what model tmro? Paultan gonna give prize who’s guessing correctly? Hahaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 5
    • Caution on Oct 14, 2016 at 11:51 pm

Don’t be worry dude…be very worried.

• Worry is the honda malaysia senyap senyap correct it during the first or second service to keep the reputation.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 9
      • Durian durian Kunta on Oct 15, 2016 at 4:33 pm

Can Nkh explain are you current civic driver? Since you so concern?

• Noone on Oct 16, 2016 at 1:09 am

Easy question bro, same part with different supplier.
      Ever heard or localization? Mybe msia spec using local part supplier and not involve in this recall. Just mybe…

• Wow……of course they said not affected here.hard to believe…is same design btw….
    Altis much safer.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 42
    • Lee Kuan Eyuwww on Oct 14, 2016 at 10:31 pm

But altis look so outdated,typically small and still ah beng look alike for that price.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 16
      • Mikey on Oct 15, 2016 at 12:08 pm

LKE, I don’t mind being an Ah Beng when I can afford to drive an Altis. Am sure many will want to be Ah Beng when he can afford to drive a more than 100k car which not many can.

FYI, a person who drive an Altis is a mature, conservative(don’t show-off) man who have a family, who want a save & Reliable car that can last at least 10 years without having to sit in a workshop due to spare parts or mechanical break down.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
      • pak atan on Oct 15, 2016 at 1:19 pm

Better be safe than sorry with family along. #CivicTakdeParkingBrake

• hippo on Oct 16, 2016 at 11:43 am

Altis might not have the latest tech, but at least it doesnt have so many recall and issue.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 7
        • Ah Lan on Oct 16, 2016 at 4:57 pm

Altis no issue coz inside empty specs.And reality is altis no issue coz nobody buy,very little unit sold..sold to old uncle or ah beng.Whole the time just park outside house.Sure no issue.Overall Civic sales still not effected in Malaysia.Parts and vendor mostly from Thai/Asean.I’ll trade my old car for civic turbo soon.Wonder got blue colour as in pic here?

• Some said that Vios and Altis did not any issue because there is no any new tech inside..hahaha.. Don’t know it is good or not.

• karam singh on Oct 17, 2016 at 9:16 am

Actually altis does have the latest tech included in it, just look at the hat hback version (Toyota Auris in UK and Japan spec). Delicous

• truly amazing msian civic can escape the vsc software update
    msia ada vsc ke?

pls confirm how come

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
  • horrayooi on Oct 14, 2016 at 7:27 pm

Too much electronic use in automobile causes problems. For parking- the mechanical handbrake is the most reliable and simple. These Honda engineers are becoming electronic obsessed nowadays. Too much electronics causes problems. Now they have to spent money on 350,000 recalls for the electronic parking brake.

For B segment like City they omited the temperature gauge, replaced with 2 idiots light ( blue and red ). Save may be RM50 for the temperature gauge. They treated B segment purchasers like low cost but selling prices are not cheap.
    Very annoying. They are in some kind of cartel, other brands from T and V company also the same. Cut cost for B segment.

For C segment onwards like Civic they have proper temperature gauge. May be these things are done by the same group of engineers. Airbags by vendors also not tested and counterchecked before installation.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 5
    • as Warren Buffett puts it, the choice is yours…the new Saga has proper temperature gauge though.

• John is otak batu on Oct 15, 2016 at 7:47 pm

That’s why mark I proton saga still running around strongly. Just isi minyak and jalan. No worry check engine light on, abs light on, this on, that on.

No need to worry anything about inb4.

• tokmoh. on Oct 15, 2016 at 11:01 pm

Damn straight.

That Star Trek actor died due to Jeep’s fancy gear lever failed. Why the hell carmakers have to fix what isn’t broken? Was changing PRND so hard, as if it’s not simple enough compared to rowing manual gearbox?

Now electronic handbrake instead of good old mechanical ones. What was wrong? Just to save space? Because they got courage like Apple?

• Too much innovation is not gud thing. Just ask Note 7. Oh wait, dont. It might explode…

• lao yee on Oct 14, 2016 at 8:12 pm

Honda Malaysia not recalling unknown numbers of 2016 Civics over turbo system and air conditioning issue – US maybe not affected

• Gaviny on Oct 14, 2016 at 8:29 pm

It’s worrying when people say you’re not affected

• the.mechanic on Oct 14, 2016 at 8:48 pm

Different supplier, different manufacturer probably.

Turbo issue.. not affected.

Gearbox issue.. not affected.

Airbag issue.. no problems.

confirm la different source.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 5
    • Correct, US Civic obviously made in the US, while M’sia version are sources from Thailand, so problem not affected here.
      Having said that, i’m stunned by the sales figure of 350,000 units. Even US market is enormous compared to Malaysia, still shows the Civic is huge success.

• honda? think twice on Oct 14, 2016 at 10:09 pm

can paul tan members help to get detail explain from HM why not affected? consumer n potential consumer has right to know.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
  • Andrekua on Oct 14, 2016 at 11:04 pm

Not affected YET… wait for the letter to arrive when accidents occurred to some unfortunate Civic owners.

• Jimmy on Oct 14, 2016 at 11:13 pm

We are so good.

• Die in Honda on Oct 14, 2016 at 11:58 pm

I’m not bothered of this news. I’d rather die in a Honda over any other cars… Can’t wait for the airbag to explode and now, being run over it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 24
  • JB_KIA on Oct 15, 2016 at 12:10 am

mesia cars always not affected. we r always the very lucky bunch

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
  • Greentechie on Oct 15, 2016 at 11:50 am

When there’s a Takata air bag recall, my 8th generation accord was said not affected. All of a sudden 2 weeks ago there came a letter requesting me to get it replaced. So I’m sceptical now.

• Mikey on Oct 15, 2016 at 12:23 pm

Ha ha ha ha, An article which claim Electronic Parking brake issue on the Honda Civic(in the US of A) can make sooo many people here jumping even though it’s already explain it does not affect HM cars.

• Mikey on Oct 15, 2016 at 12:40 pm

Don’t worry HM, after all has been said & done including bashing, you will still end the year as the top non-national car manufacturer.

• if you sort out by car recall worldwide news, you will be shocked to see almost all recall don’t affect vehicle sold in Malaysia.
    Malas Boleh

• Rushed job? on Oct 15, 2016 at 1:34 pm

Another recall for this model

• See.. That is the problem of going electronic

• Kopi Kiss on Oct 15, 2016 at 4:56 pm

Malaysia honda car not affect becoz Malaysian life not worth saving, or too stupid to sue the manufacturer……

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 2
  • Syukur we duduk Malaysia. Not affected.

• ben yap on Oct 16, 2016 at 10:17 am

honda malaysia is becoming the next VW.

• some honda cars were made with passion and pride with intention to produce flawless car in the name of technology and future..i think you can guess which honda cars fall under this category. some honda cars were made to gain huge profit by exploiting popular culture. these cars usually updated to new models quite frequent in order to follow market sentiment. Just look at samsung note 7 example. So honda may also make mistake

• anonymous on Oct 16, 2016 at 3:17 pm

The Malaysia’s Civic has the same issue only but just that the safety standard is not on par with US.

Talking about the parking brake won’t engage by itself after turning off the ignition. The Malaysia’s version of Civic has the same issue, I asked Honda salesperson he said they never said it is operated automatically after turning off the vehicle. Perhaps in US such matter will be taken seriously because of their written standard requirements but Malaysia isn’t, that’s why they say malaysia’s version is not affected. Go test drive a civic and you will notice you’ll need to engage the parking brake manually after turning off the vehicle as opposed to the continentals.

• If you engage the brake hold and gear lever is in Neutral, the Electronic Parking Brake will automatically engage when you turn off the engine. Its a choice setting by the driver, not a software issue. Having said that, Maybe US drivers have different standard compared to other US made brands, which is why this issue has come to attention.

• Yes we do .. In USA we sue almost anything! Quality control in here is amazing .. if there’s certain amount of people experiencing a problem they can file a complaint thru NHTSA (National Highway Traffic Safety Administration) they’ll investigate the case and if found they’ll have to fix the problem for free and in some case they’ll be a class action lawsuit for the victims and the lawyer will try getting millions of dollars out of the company! Accident..sue … slip n fall …sue… tak bisa berak…sue.. now you know why the standard are totally different!!

• honda malaysia not affected coz they dun bother yet…sales still pick up

the 2016 civic has too many electronics gadgets/components…we will see more issues soon ^^

• biasalah barang2 pasang dkt Malaysia/ import ke Malaysia plg berkualiti di dunia. memang tak terlibat recall