Volkswagen Golf Mk7 facelift set for November reveal

vw-golf-r-facelift-ring-3_bm

The facelifted Volkswagen Golf Mk7 will be unveiled in November, the carmaker revealed recently. Despite the minor exterior changes as seen in earlier reports, this update of the popular family hatchback is said to include extensive revisions to its drivetrain.

Among them will be a mild hybrid powertrain with a claimed “real world” fuel economy figure of less than 4.0 l/100 km. This mild hybrid configuration mates a 1.0 litre, three-cylinder engine with an electric supercharger, courtesy of a 48V electrical architecture.

This mild hybrid will be part of the German automaker’s green vehicle efforts in the United States, in light of the Dieselgate scandal which has all but stopped the diesel push in its tracks. So far, Volkswagen has the Golf GTE, a plug-in hybrid hatchback which boasts 201 hp and 350 Nm from a 148 hp 1.4 TSI engine and a 101 hp electric motor, propelling it from a standstill to 100 km/h in 7.6 seconds and to a top speed of 217 km/h.

For the update, the standard Golf range is expected to replace the current 1.4 TSI petrol and 1.6 TDI diesel engines with new petrol and diesel units, both displacing 1.5 litres. As for its performance variants, the 2.0 litre, direct injection turbocharged four-cylinder petrol can be expected to receive updates as well.

GALLERY: Next VW Golf R at the Nurburgring

GALLERY: VW Golf GTI facelift images

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• Mikey on Oct 14, 2016 at 5:02 pm

A VW golf is the car many manufacturers will want to beat bcos it has set a high standard many company will want to emulate. It is practical, not ugly, tightly made with quality to boot.

Aside from diesel-gate which does not affect us in M’sia as there is no regulation to sanction the gate.

If VW just use the conventional torque converter 6 speeder as in the polo 1.6 now, there will be no more complain about the GST, oops i mean DSG.

Someone have commented very well on the proper use of the DSG gear box which I’m not going to bore you here again.

Wala, no more issues or complain now. Problem solved. Please bring the new Golf & see how many still want to complaint with your normal auto box & M’sia are not affected by the diesel-gate when you sell only Petrol engine here.

Lets see how many still want to bash/kutuk VW now.

• kadajawi (Member) on Oct 15, 2016 at 6:03 am

My Golf has some noises that shouldn’t be there… that my Citroen Xsara took 10 years more to develop. Other than that I’m satisfied though, and it is an otherwise well dampened car… you can easily do a ton of miles without getting exhausted.

That new engine, already test driven by journalists, sounds pretty nice. Especially that it doesn’t need to use petrol to cool the engine at full load.

TC isn’t going to happen… overseas people want DSG, and they are way more important in terms of sales.

• Golfer on Oct 15, 2016 at 10:00 pm

Honestly I love the DSG. I would not have fell in love with a VW if it did not come with a DSG.