Goodies for electric vehicles in Budget 2017 – minister

petronas_chargev-3

Good news for owners of electric vehicles and plug-in hybrid cars, and the car companies selling them. The upcoming Budget 2017 that will be tabled by PM Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak this Friday will encourage the use of EVs in Malaysia, Bernama reports.

Energy, Green Technology and Water (KeTTHA) minister Datuk Seri Dr Maximus Ongkili said there will be a plan to increase the number of charging stations to encourage the use of electric vehicles. “The use of electric vehicles has yet to be expanded as we need to promote infrastructure such as charging stations,” he told reporters in Langkawi.

The initiative will involve the finance, transport and the international trade and industry ministries. “KeTTHA’s role is to reduce the release of carbon dioxide,” said Ongkili.

Across the board duty exemptions saw the likes of Nissan and Mitsubishi bring in CBU imported electric cars (Leaf and i-MiEV respectively) a couple of years ago; in addition to Honda, Toyota and Audi’s CBU hybrids. Today, incentives are given to those who assemble these green cars locally. The Volvo XC90, Mercedes-Benz C350e, BMW X5 xDrive40e and BMW 330e are attractively priced PHEVs that one can plug in to wall chargers. The Tesla Model S is also in Malaysia, but not everyone with the money can buy one.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• jamal on Oct 17, 2016 at 10:32 am

Free tax Tesla Model S in Malaysia. proposed price RM200k.

• Kucing Kurap on Oct 17, 2016 at 1:23 pm

What happened to the many Tesla’s Government bought to research? I think the bill to buy those cars alone came to about RM100 million.

Just a bit of advice to our corrupted Government. Tesla has already told the world, all their patents, designs, tech know how and blueprints are FREE to anybody who wants it. Yes, totally FREE. So, Proton and Perodua can use these blueprints for FREE to make a new electric car.

I wonder why so much of expenditure to research making a new car?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 6
      • basherlogic on Oct 17, 2016 at 1:33 pm

do U know how to build cars?!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 11
        • If they knew, they wud have shaddup long ago…

• Operation Manager on Oct 17, 2016 at 6:53 pm

JOKE OF THE DAY from mr.green minister !!! Go GREEN with allowed & approved 20yrs old Lorry buses smoke octopus, & approved Euro2 Diesel & Petrol. Immediate action also never can be implement…

• Operation Manager on Oct 17, 2016 at 7:16 pm

CAMRY Hybrid Tax Duty exemption + CKD sell rm170k. US only selling rm100k… mr.green, mr.mai, mr.trade, after TaxDutyCKD Exemption still 170% taxed ..???

• Same L0rr on Oct 17, 2016 at 3:09 pm

Where is Proton electric car?

• Kenneth on Oct 17, 2016 at 4:05 pm

Are you serious? Everyone would buy a RM100k Ferrari instead (without tax)
      Who will even buy a electric car with that price?!

• Gee I wonder why the gov so semangat to promote electric cars..maybe they have suddenly realised the need for a more ‘eco’ outlook and sustainability…but then again..this is Malaysia….’udang di sebalik batu’ is synonymous with how we do everything here….

fact of the matter is..Malaysia has a massive oversupply of electricity…all those licenses given to IPP’s the last 20 years has meant that we are only at 60% utilization….more usage equals more money…it’s always the money…. kickbacks from that should cover the lost tax income and then some…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 5
  • Tokkok.. Like everybody can afford to buy ev from bmw merc volvo etc.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
  • What’s the point to table this into the parliment if the car prices are still high for low-middle incomers? The government is yet to reduce the current car prices here in Malaysia, and they want to talk about electric mobility? They talk as if the rakyat is making millions a year. What they should focus on is:

1. Reducing car prices for low-mid incomers
    2. Lower interest rate which shouldn’t burden the rakyat
    3. Lower importation tax rates to not only keep the car prices down, but spare parts as well.

Get these right, then only can talk.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 2
  • Ahmadjr on Oct 17, 2016 at 11:11 am

It’s not so green to use electric cars in here cause we generate our electricity using coal and gas. Only less than quarter by hydro.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
    • Power plants r still much much more energy efficient compared to car engines.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
  • Increasing the charging stations is pitiful. What’s the use if the car is so expensive? I don’t see how this can help…

We are not stupid.

• Mozilla Chrome on Oct 17, 2016 at 11:29 am

Introduce Euro 5 petrol first then we talk about reducing the release of carbon dioxide.

• arowana on Oct 17, 2016 at 11:41 am

toys for the rich & famous

• Mikey on Oct 17, 2016 at 12:34 pm

The Goodies for EV is actually not Goodies for the poor. Tell me how many poor Makciks can afford to buy a 100k to 400k EV ?! We are still waiting for an EV from P1/P2.

• azrai on Oct 17, 2016 at 1:34 pm

So goodies for rich boy toys, who don’t need anything at all? How about B40 & M40 then??

• What about hybrid car tax exemption? Any news?

• Susukotak on Oct 17, 2016 at 1:57 pm

kurangkan tarif elektrik dulu baru cakap EV.

• TeslaGameChanger on Oct 17, 2016 at 3:52 pm

When will they bring in the affordable Model 3? I’m not buying any car until Model 3 comes to Malaysia.

• Yippie on Oct 18, 2016 at 5:15 pm

Many teenagers are very naive. The kids thought car price go down u can afford the car easily. This is a close to free market. There are no 1 +1=2 in micro or macro economic. Imagine a merc c class selling at rm 150k for c250. If u can pay cash , alright then u can afford it and its affordable. If u cant, there are always this middle guy call banker. At such price, bank will not continue the current promotion because its not wise to the profit. Everything should be close to equilibrium of the business. ROI is priority. Interest will rise and tenure will fall. 9 years is now not viable, 5 is the max. Interest will rise to around 10% like once it were. At rm150, u need to pay rm 4800plus monthly for 3 years and rm3300plus for 5 years. At the end everything will be unchanged. Might even lead to more future economic unsound perodua drivers impposible for owning cars because currently too many ppl of unsound income were owning car leading to bad quality life later on when they reach their 40s. So be thankful to the current trend. Dont create unnecessary negative chain reactio to the market.