Perodua Bezza Wagon rendered, cheap estate anyone?

bezza-wagon-theo-2

Our Mr. Rendering Theophilus Chin has been on a wagon state of mind lately. Last week, the man rendered a wagon version of the latest 2016 Proton Saga, naming the Skoda-inspired idea Proton Saga Aeroback.

It got us asking the question of a budget station wagon, one that Tan Chong made work in the early 1990s with the Nissan AD Resort. Would such a car be popular today, or does the budget seven-seat MPV render the affordable wagon obsolete in our market? Here’s another proposal from Theo, this time based on the Perodua Bezza.

Very neatly executed to this amateur pair of eyes, better looking than the Saga Wagon, IMHO. The extension of the Bezza’s roofline and the addition of a set of pillars also seemed to have improved the proportions of the compact sedan, which design is of course limited by the size of the Axia’s platform.

A wagon version of the Bezza would make it a multi-purpose family of four – the compact hatchback (Axia), the booted sedan (Bezza), the super-sized people carrier (Toyota Calya and Daihatsu Sigra in Indonesia) – sharing the same platform. However, we don’t think that this is part of Perodua/Daihatsu’s plans, given the wagon’s limited appeal in these parts.

Interesting, though. So, once again, what do you think of a “Bezza Wagon” and the idea of a cheap wagon?

GALLERY: Perodua Bezza and Perodua Axia

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Anything But P1, Greedy P2 on Oct 17, 2016 at 1:11 pm

Build it!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 5
    • Tonggek Bezza on Oct 17, 2016 at 2:29 pm

pasti render belakang mesti tonggek ..barulah Perodua

• Same L0rr on Oct 17, 2016 at 3:10 pm

After hatchback, sedan & now Sedan, this Perodua Axia platform model surely can sale like a hot cake/pisang goreng!
      Because of reliability engine & gearbox!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 23
    • Albert on Oct 17, 2016 at 7:07 pm

Datuk Aminar
      Why dont u get a 1.5 dual VVTi engine?
      So u have 1.0,1.3 and 1.5 Bezza.
      Phase out the Myvi.
      Revamp the Alza.
      Proton will have nightmares the sooner u do this.
      People will trust a Toyota engine more than a Campro,right?
      It is called PERCEPTION.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 16
  • Kucing Kurap on Oct 17, 2016 at 1:17 pm

Don’t talk abut wagon lah, Perodua, until today don’t even have ABS in most of their cars, what more VSC.

Come on Perodua, it is 2016, how can you sell cars with no ABS? ABS was compulsory in Europe in 1990. VS C was compulsory in Europe in 2000.

Malaysia still living 30 years ago?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 17
    • Be Fair on Oct 17, 2016 at 7:28 pm

The Boss at Toyota/Daihatsu says Msian will still buy Perodua, no need ABS. The quality and reliability is safety enuf.

• 4G63T DSM on Oct 17, 2016 at 1:27 pm

I would think the wagon is still relevant today. The 2 box form survives the conversion from Hatch much better, and it looks better than most Hatch to sedan conversions, and no one is going to complain about the much more usable space to boot (pun intended)

That is if priced competitively against the 5 +2 compact MPVs.

My pretty much useless + 2 3rd row seat has been collecting dust in my storeroom for the past few years. So yeah, its basically a 5 seat wagon.

I would be curious why wagons wont be popular here, as all MPVs, SUVs, Minivans are all 2 box wagons.

• Bezzaisugly on Oct 17, 2016 at 1:31 pm

Looks better than the sedan bezza which is out of shape

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 4
    • nabill (Member) on Oct 17, 2016 at 2:54 pm

Anything with a 4 wheel and a steering looks better than alza

• 4G63T DSM on Oct 17, 2016 at 10:06 pm

Let me introduce you to the Pontiac Aztec.

So no. You can apparently do a lot worst.

• Unknown on Oct 17, 2016 at 11:26 pm

“Better than sedan bezza?which is out of shape?” Are you serious or what ? This wagon design look so weird much weird than the sedan one.

• Then what will happen to alza? facelift pun belum lagi

• Bezza xl

1.5 motor, manual/auto

reclining rear seats with 40:60 split fold

No 3rd row, strict 5 seater

• Hayata on Oct 17, 2016 at 2:14 pm

Why do my eyes see an iriz.

• Be Fair on Oct 17, 2016 at 2:40 pm

It looks quite good actually. However would it be safe as Bezza/ Axia have no safety features and flimsy. With skinny tires would this wagon be stable if a bus passed by it at Plus h/ways? Can the 1.3 hv enough torque to pull it from Ipoh to Seberang Perak RnR with full load?

• camtakpro on Oct 17, 2016 at 2:53 pm

Wagon, damn good buy for pasar malam stalls’ owner.

• Mikey on Oct 17, 2016 at 4:47 pm

In the looks department alone, this budget estate looks much more pleasing to the eyes. The 2/3rd row if folded when not in use are very usable when you want to carry tall/long ‘barang’.

The roof railing can do wonders when you want ‘extra’ space when you balik kampong. You can double up as a Mountain Bike’s carrier when you & family decided to go trekking or do outdoor activity.

A wagon has its use-fullness if you put you ideas to good use instead of bashing anything or everything you do not like. I say Common P2, do the right thing & show others you are the game changer & not just a FOLLOWER.

• uberian on Oct 17, 2016 at 4:54 pm

I love my cheap Axia but this render is hideous. Perodua needs to stop making hideous cars. Perodua Bezza is well packaged but would you wanna drive that after looking at the new Saga?

• Build it then only sales is to poor man Nirvana to transport pipu kirred by unsafe axias/myvis/alzas.

• Bangsa on Oct 17, 2016 at 5:30 pm

Mcm tiru suprima

• This is why Bezza cannot get the best design reward bcos it so ugly

• Shikin on Oct 17, 2016 at 7:13 pm

Exceptionally Toyota quality. Who will wan to buy Saga and Persona over Toyota Bezza?

• Middle Age Driver (Member) on Oct 17, 2016 at 8:36 pm

Wooo I will buy it. Sell my bezza for this if it comes out.

• Middle Age Driver (Member) on Oct 17, 2016 at 8:39 pm

Build it …. build it……i will trade in my bezza for this.

• Alan Tan on Oct 17, 2016 at 11:46 pm

It look much better than the Original Bezza. The rear tail lamp do resemblance of MB W204 C Class wagon tail lamp.