Honda Gienia – interior of China’s ‘City Hatch’ revealed

The Honda Gienia is a hatchback version of the Honda City for the Chinese market. We first saw the five-door hatch last month, but there was no interior to be seen. Now, thanks to images from autohome.com.cn, we get a first look at the Gienia’s dashboard, which holds no surprises.

The dashboard is identical to that in the Honda Greiz, which is the Honda City with a unique front/rear for the Chinese market. However, the instrument panel is different – while the Greiz’s three-dial layout is familiar from our City, the Gienia’s meter panel houses two dials and a multi info display screen in the middle.

All else is carried over, including the touch screen head unit and air con control panel. The Gienia/Greiz dashboard is largely similar to what we’re familiar with, save for a slightly different layout on the passenger side of the fascia.

Previewed by the Concept B from the 2014 Beijing show, the Gienia targets a more youthful audience compared to its sedan sister, and is just 22 mm shorter than the booted car. It’s powered by a 1.5 litre i-VTEC engine with 129 hp and 155 Nm, mated to a five-speed manual gearbox or a CVT automatic.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Shaddup & Take my money!!!

• Ah Lan Chow on Oct 18, 2016 at 9:24 pm

Willing to pay higher than Vios price for this! Back side wonderful.Inside out perfection.No need to pay designer for facelift City.This one more than enough to kill other competitors.Just add in all wheel disc brakes,6 airbags and VSA.. If Persona can do it,jepunis just watch and see? C’mon bring in soon.

• nextpls on Oct 18, 2016 at 9:45 pm

Gen2 wannabe..
      Next!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 8
    • This junk are better than malaysia honda city (RM76,100 lowest spec), honestly if u gonna buy the lowest spec honda city.. u better buy a saga.. and save rm30k

• Kunta Follower on Oct 18, 2016 at 6:51 pm

How is Proton selling in China? Our Ministers say selling very well. Betul kah?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 16
  • This isn’t hatchback, its purely liftback.

• Mini civic HB. With this, who needs a civic HB?

• Mikey on Oct 19, 2016 at 8:40 am

Your “mini civic HB” & the real Civic HB served different segment la J. One is a B & the other is a C-segment la not to mention different engine size.

• brabusbus on Oct 18, 2016 at 7:13 pm

This isn’t hatchback, it’s liftback!

• Le'bong on Oct 18, 2016 at 7:39 pm

Look very impressive.Pls pls Honda Malaysia just bring this to replace current City sure sell like more than anak dara nasi lemak.All those same category rivals would be crying louder than ever.I would rather wait for this one than waiting for Vios to do overhaul it’s freak design.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
  • Thanks to Proton creator Malaysians will never see this beauty in our beloved nation. Thanks to Proton creator our car market is not liberalised and Malaysians are forced to pay high price for good quality foreign cars. Thank you Proton creator for making Malaysian lives so difficult. You owe Malaysians a big big apology.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 12
    • Thanks to PM we soon dun need P1 or cars much anymore, with MRTs & LRTs criscrossing.

• Mikey on Oct 19, 2016 at 8:46 am

J, last week U claim U are happy with your Campro power engine in your Gen-2. What happen to that claim !?

• Ahh. Thats the friendly neighbourhood RBA impostor. U shud know him, cuz he sits beside u.
        My CPS is still kickin asses and taking number plates from others that underestimate P1

• Mikey on Oct 19, 2016 at 8:33 am

If Honda were to bring in this model, UMW will be force to introduce their new Vios in no time else they will be left behind.

• passion on Oct 19, 2016 at 9:29 am

i want one !!!

• Ex VGM staff on Oct 19, 2016 at 12:43 pm

This is neither hatchback nor lift back. The best term is fastback.