Michelin Pilot Sport 4 now in Malaysia – from RM481

MICHELIN PS4

Michelin’s latest performance staple is in town – enter the Michelin Pilot Sport 4. It replaces the outgoing Pilot Sport 3 tyre, and aims to improve on its predecessor in every aspect, offering “innovations and advanced technologies that increase every aspect of performance and safety for drivers,” the company says.

The Pilot Sport 4 tyre is Michelin’s first to feature the brand’s ‘Dynamic Response’ technology, which employs a belt with hybrid aramid and nylon reinforcement for the tyre to better withstand centrifugal forces and maintain contact patch stability at high speeds, translating to improved traction, reactiveness, handling and control, according to Michelin.

michelin-ps4-size-chart
Click to enlarge size chart.

Increased braking efficiency and traction on both dry and wet surfaces come courtesy of new functional elastomers and hydrophobic silica, which have been added to the Pilot Sport 4’s rubber compound. Deep longitudinal grooves are said to effectively remove standing water from the contact patch, for a significant reduction in the risk of aquaplaning.

Categorised as a street performance tyre in the realm shared with the likes of the Continental Sport Contact 6 and Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3, the Michelin Pilot Sport 4 tyre will be available in 23 sizes ranging from 16 inches to 19 inches in diameter, priced from RM481 to RM1,293.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• From east side on Oct 19, 2016 at 1:03 pm

Im using it right now 225/45/17 superb in any condition better fuel consumption, noise and grip I give it 9/10 score

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
  • Does it drive better then BMW if i fix it to my proton?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 17
  • Bob_B78 on Oct 19, 2016 at 1:39 pm

The new ps4 is not comparable to the csc6. The correct comparison to csc6 is ps4 S. Lots of tyre review pits csc6 with pss. PS4 S is the new replacement for pss, while this new tyre as mentioned is replacement for ps3

• These r not for normal cars

• no 15" tyres? on Oct 19, 2016 at 2:55 pm

Its great that its launched…but no option for 15″ tyres???

im a current user for the 195/55 R15 PS3 tyres so once my tyre wear out what should i replace it with?? previously i was using the PS2 too. Dont tell me that now i have to buy the XM2..? That is a different category all together.

Did they say that they will continue selling the PS3 alongside PS4 tyres?

• Tracks on Oct 19, 2016 at 8:32 pm

Perhaps you can try Continental Performance Contact 2 tyres as I find them to be pretty good. I had previously been using PS3 185/55/R15.

• passion on Oct 19, 2016 at 3:11 pm

good tires and good prices too.

• Kunta Follower on Oct 19, 2016 at 3:38 pm

Malaysia produces rubber and yet out tayar is so expensive. Michellin probably uses Malaysian rubber also. Come on kerajaan, why is our tayar so expensive?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 17
    • For every Rm1 u pay for rubber cost, u pay Rm9 for the tayar technology. Ur welcome to spend ur Rm1 to make own tayar, but I belip u will early afterlife after 100 meters.

I rather spend on expensive tayars than ur TRD sportivo stickers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 3
    • Very simple reason. They are likely made in Thailand .My PS3 is made in Thailand too.

• Mikey on Oct 19, 2016 at 5:15 pm

CAVEAT EMPTOR/Buyers Beware. This Michelin PS 4 is a “ZR” rated tires meaning its for performance/sports car.

Our P1/P2/Vios/City cars are NOT encourage to use it. Please read what tires is ‘Suitable’ for your car B4 changing to this tires.

Your car manufacturer did their best when they tested what should be the Best tires for your vehicle.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 6
    • Ollie on Oct 19, 2016 at 9:24 pm

It’s just a speed rating dude. What are you on about? The tire is rated for 300kph doesn’t mean you can’t do 30kph in it.. Learn up

• Learn up? Rule #1: Bashers dun learn anything.

• Mikey on Oct 19, 2016 at 10:07 pm

You are right Ollie if U don’t mind the harder ride & have the doe beside being more noisy than the “S” rated tires. Anything U can tell me other than “Learn up” ?!! I used to be selling tires FYI.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
        • Henry on Oct 20, 2016 at 8:31 am

There is no right or wrong when people what to burn money. Logic and objectivity does not apply in this case.

• Nuujib on Oct 20, 2016 at 9:09 am

Mikey nowadays all customers can Google their info and be an expert . Even if you’ve sold thousands of tyres they won’t accept your advice . Sigh

• Mikey on Oct 20, 2016 at 2:45 pm

To Henry & Nuujib, U are both right. Thank for typing here to make your point noted. This is the reason why PT call this a ‘comment’ section.

• Ollie on Oct 22, 2016 at 11:22 am

Anything below 17 inches has no discernible effect on ride and handling. The main thing he is that ZR rated is not even available for tyres before 18 inch. Which means, yes i do know more. And no salesman has knowledge, car salesman in particular have less knowledge than buyers.

• Michelin Pilot Sport 4 comes in Run Flat tyres or not ! on Oct 19, 2016 at 7:13 pm

PS4 fitted on BMW F30 / 3 Series but is it run flat, all BMW cars now come with Run-Flat tyre ….so does Michelin Pilot Sport 4 come in run-flats as well, could somebody check and confirm, all info on the net does not mention run-flat tyre >> ??!

• intermilan on Oct 19, 2016 at 8:06 pm

205 45 16 please….

• Ollie on Oct 19, 2016 at 9:23 pm

Go to klang get it for rm300.. I still don’t understand why tyre companies are happy to let dealers take advantage of users. Why not just set a recommended retail price that’s realistic and able to buy direct from the manufacturer??

• Buy direct from manufacturer means u have to drive to thailand to buy (at least for michelin’s case)

• Ariff on Oct 21, 2016 at 11:39 am

Probably the best tyres I’ve ever had. But then thanks to gst and our horrible exchange rate the prices of these excellent tyres are just out of my budget :(. Good all round dry and wet conditions. Fantastic grip too. Just have to make sure tyres gets changed because the rubber can get very hard toward the end of their cycle. Now using continental.

• Hazeem Adri on Oct 31, 2016 at 4:10 pm

Where can i get the tyres ? Area gombak or Kl . . Mazda 6 skyactiv 2014

• miloo on Jul 26, 2017 at 5:01 pm

expensive!

• roughrider on Mar 12, 2018 at 11:56 am

I can say PS4 has better grips against PS3 which i used too before.but dont know the life expand as PS3 drained less then 2 yrs for daily driven.

• My PS3 will be lucky to even last 18 months… was told by the shop today it only has another 2-3 months lifespan if driven daily… the tyre has only been on the road for 11 months now.

• Scandi Octo on Jan 26, 2019 at 4:18 pm

Clocked 50,000 km for 1 yr 1 month for S60 T6 daily driven. PS4 has a better grips and handling when your foot on the floor which i used to on PS3 & Hankook V12 Evo before. Acceleration feel good especially on soft-turbo. Of coz, in dry & wet on bolehland pot holes road condition

Yes, the price is expensive for 225/45/17, definitely i was not in the argument against the good performance on the road so far.