Taxi operator blocks Uber, Grab drivers from picking up passengers at four more locations – report

Big-Blue-Taxi-01

Drivers of ride-hailing services like Uber and Grab are now barred by a taxi operator from picking up passengers at four more locations – Publika, Ritz Carlton Hotel, Sunway Putra Mall and JW Marriott Hotel – in a report by The Sun.

“We are expanding the restriction imposed in KLCC because these places are part of Big Blue’s territory, and it is our priority that the public have a good and safe customer experience,” Big Blue Taxi Service founder Datuk Shamsubahrin Ismail said.

The news comes just days after he said Uber and Grab drivers will be blocked from picking up passengers at Suria KLCC. He said the company had the right to impose such a restriction due to a contract he had with the respective building owners or managers.

“Under the contract, only Big Blue taxis are allowed to pick up passengers from the property’s private road while those which are operating illegally or do not meet requirements of any of the authorities like Road Transport Department (JPJ) or the Land Public Transport Commission (SPAD) are prohibited from entering to pick up passengers even if they have bookings from visitors,” he said.

uber-grab

However, drop-offs can still be within the building premises as the enforcement of such restrictions does not cover public or access roads. Shamsubahrin also added that those who had returned their taxis and are now driving private vehicles are welcomed to join the ZeptoBlue taxi fleet (a collaboration with Zepto Express).

“Once they join us, I am open to offer them employment contracts enabling them to earn a steady income of RM3,000 each month,” he explained, stressing that the offer is only available to those who own a valid Public Service Vehicle (PSV) licence and a clean driving record.

“As customer safety is our utmost priority, we conduct strict checks with all the relevant authorities on all our drivers before offering them an employment contract. We do not hire or accept drivers who have a criminal record,” Shamsubahrin said, adding that he hopes to have some 5,000 new drivers by end of the year.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Yokohama24 on Oct 20, 2016 at 10:43 am

No matter where you block your business will still go down. Blocking pick-up locations doesn’t make a customer change their mind to take your blue taxi instead they will easily relocate another pick-up location. No brainer strategy. Good luck blocking botak guy.

It is only a matter of time when your business fails and have insufficient fund to continue the contract or even better KLCC might even retract the contract and offer it to UBER GRAB instead which ACTUALLY HELPS THE PUBLIC to COMMUTE without any HASSLE AND WORRIES.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 234 Thumb down 2
    • Kucing Kurap on Oct 20, 2016 at 11:32 am

Hope our PDRM can help the rakyat. I am surprised, if this small matter also PDRM cannot protect the rakyat, whatmore big cases like rape, murder, assault and robbery?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 108 Thumb down 6
      • Jimmy on Oct 20, 2016 at 12:39 pm

The producer of Note 7, change the u to e.

• Kucing Kurap on Oct 20, 2016 at 1:19 pm

This guy is officially a Samseng. So how come his Datukship is not withdrawn?

The Government should withdraw his Datukship because this is not how a TITLED person should behave.

In England, if you behave like a Samseng, immediately your Sir title or your knighthood is withdrawn.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 9
          • U r not Msian, if u din know datukship is awarded by the 9 Sultans (and some say sulu sultan too), NOT from Gov.
            If wanna bash, pls bash with facts.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 14
          • Non Malaysian stir thing on Oct 20, 2016 at 3:33 pm

We no need somebody from other country to talk foolish thing here.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 18
    • Ihatetaxi on Oct 20, 2016 at 12:00 pm

This botak guy playing role as samseng now. Botak now has deficit income becos of uber & grab. Served you right botak samseng

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 2
      • MeToo on Oct 20, 2016 at 12:44 pm

I’m advising my guest who comes regularly to KL to avoid JW Marriot and Ritz Carlton…

If the Hotel doesnt do something against these gangster the hotel will continue to lose business.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 73 Thumb down 2
    • Makan Abu Lah Lu on Oct 20, 2016 at 1:41 pm

Day by day many drivers gave up their taxi and turn to grab n uber.So he himself have to behave like a thug to block these grab n uber.In 6 months time nobody but him wondering around KL do all the blocking.Haha

• Kambing on Oct 20, 2016 at 1:54 pm

The Return of Dr Evil.

• TangkapBotak1 on Oct 20, 2016 at 2:05 pm

Tolong simpan sikit Bodoh tu.
      Mamat nie menjatuhkan maruah bangsa…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
    • Who the F does this guy think he is?? The roads belong to him??

Bloody little napoleons poppy up everywhere…

when u have a weak government this is what happens.

Najib in his budget already endorsed Uber….

so this botak if wanna bash… take it up with najib n kak mah la….not with end users and providers.

• applegreen on Oct 20, 2016 at 10:44 am

I thought land/property owner is the one can block uber and grab drivers. If taxi drivers have time to block the road that is something wrong with their mind. They should take passengers only. Passengers have the right to choose; taxi, uber or grab

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 81 Thumb down 0
    • Kucing Kurap on Oct 20, 2016 at 11:25 am

Now Najib is interested in improving teksi issues in Malaysia, let us see what he does to this botak. If nothing happens to him, this means, even Najib is scared of this botak.

So, if Najib and PDRM is scared of this botak, are we becoming a lawless state?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 10
      • Nancy on Oct 20, 2016 at 1:32 pm

Police shall also catch you for creating anger and stir fake news here.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 9
      • Tantawi on Oct 20, 2016 at 1:46 pm

Unless Najib change all the taxi to new,bigger,safer and stricter laws for them to operate,I’ll never take taxi anymore! U want to be high income nation be like a proper high income nation! I don’t like cincai!

• err… UBER and Grab had been legalize is it? So they have done something to get to this botak.

• “these places are part of Big Blue’s territory” –
    Cakap serupa Gangster jalanan.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 103 Thumb down 1
    • 0rgpandai on Oct 20, 2016 at 11:50 am

Like dogs guarding their territories

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
    • KenJi on Oct 20, 2016 at 1:34 pm

Wah lau… Self gazetted territory. Better u name it as Big Bald’s Territory… only my 10¢ opinion.

• DonkeyKong on Oct 20, 2016 at 10:47 am

This annoying frog needs a punch in his face. Why isn’t this thug arrested by cops for criminal intimidation yet?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 2
    • Unlike the other crap here, I respect ur opinion so I reply to u.

The thing is, u shud read his statement carefully. Did he directly threaten bodily harm, property destruction or financial doom to his opponents? If not, then by law, there is not sufficient reason to book him, unlike a certain shirted person. We have laws in place, and polis can only take action against the taximen who did the actions. Unless they can corroborate and say their actions is ordered by Dr Evil, law cant do much else. Unfortunate, but thats the rule of law, not rule of koboi or rule of kabali.

Of course, unless a certain hacked fesbuk linked to him were to appear…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 33
      • tokmoh. on Oct 20, 2016 at 12:23 pm

Sound like a troll at first, but sadly, quite true.

They’ll use what u said to justify no further action. These samseng will get their way.

• The law is the law. If we think to take the law into our hands, then we no better than them.
          U have to remember, legally, Grabuber is ILLEGAL. We do have laws against teksi sapu.

• Jimmy on Oct 20, 2016 at 10:53 pm

You go and do video recording, then you get a good lawyer, and see.
        Who said cannot sue or arrest.
        But remember, ultimately the winner is determined by ‘siapa punya buku-lima lebih besar’; Only minor cases involve real justice in USA.
        You know what I mean.

• Zaidi on Oct 20, 2016 at 1:56 pm

No one lodge polis report

• That too is needed. But if make polis report without direct threats evidence, polis can tangkap u for using hearsay as evidence (ie false reporting).

• Yea lah. All the buildings tu is bapak dia punya.. You are as stupid as you look…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 1
    • Hahahahaha! This can only end well for him! XD

That was sarcasm btw. Assuming the management of those places are smarter than him, they’ll kick his @$$ out the moment the visitor/client count drops significantly. Dozens of hotels and shopping centers within the Klang Valley area. Only one Botak-Samseng blocking a few of them. People go elsewhere la.

• sohai on Oct 20, 2016 at 10:57 am

since when a taxi driver becomes law enforcer?

Want to talk about Law and contract? Your taxi drivers were suppose to follow the meter. Did they?

And please, can paultan stop showing his face?! Is hard to keep my breakfast down seeing his face. He has this face that only a mother would love.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 90 Thumb down 1
    • Kucing Kurap on Oct 20, 2016 at 11:16 am

In Malaysia now, we have become cowboy town. Polis are scared of these gangsters. This dude is like Pablo Escobar or Al Capone. Polis are super scared to touch them.

These gangsters fail to realise, even Government now have invested in Uber. LTAT and Khazanah have invested hundreds of million of ringgit in Uber.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 3
  • 4G63T DSM on Oct 20, 2016 at 10:57 am

I would be wondering how the Taxi operators will be able to differentiate UBER/Grab cars from Private cars.

How would they know if I were to pickup a client myself or send the company driver/car for a pickup?

If Hotels such as these are letting these loony tunes to dictate what business they can get then I would be recommending clients and guests not to use those hotels.

How silly is this?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 0
    • These taxi goons think that the hotel management is like them. Even the hotel management also know what is the best for their customer and yes, by using UBER/Grab less everyday job for the hotel staff because customer can do the booking them self.

• Bash Basher on Oct 20, 2016 at 11:37 am

It would be very nice for us to see one day this botak guy go ask Datuk Wan Zulkiflee’s (CEO of Petronas) chauffeur to pick the Datuk from another place.

• 4G63T DSM on Oct 20, 2016 at 4:24 pm

Maybe they think a big Luxo barge isn’t an UBER.

I once had an UBER Lux Mercedes S Class pick me up from Mid Valley. (also had E Classes, BMW 5 series…etc)

• wahai on Oct 20, 2016 at 2:09 pm

Ya, with some guess work they can.
      Eg. if they see a chinese dude picking up a malay girl and she is going to the back seat… straight away they yell at you.
      Anyway, the possibility of being intimidated is already a deterant for some, since we know these are thugs.

• 4G63T DSM on Oct 20, 2016 at 4:26 pm

My company driver/car pickup a client/guest then how?

All the Tan Sri’s, Dato and Datins with personal chauffeurs how?

• wahai on Oct 21, 2016 at 9:45 am

Not with certainty, but some calculated guesses.

Chauffeur driven usually has nicer cars, not a typical vios or myvi.

You could actually go and stand in front of KLCC and observe. With some practise, you probably could get 80% of the guesses correct.

• Dayne on Oct 20, 2016 at 10:58 am

With Uber, steady income is around RM6000.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 1
  • Kucing Kurap on Oct 20, 2016 at 11:01 am

In May 2015, Datuk Shamsubahrin Ismail was sentenced to a total of 73 years’ jail for money-laundering and cheating National Feedlot Corporation (NFCorp) executive chairman executive chairman Datuk Dr Mohamad Salleh Ismail

I don’t know how he can come here to give a press conference. Should’nt he be in jail? Or does the Prison in Malaysia allow inmates to give press conference?

Or in Malaysia, court can order you to be in Prison but you can go in and out as you like?

Now you know why the his teksi gangsters are not scared to do road blocks. They know PDRM or Penjara CANNOT touch them!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 96 Thumb down 2
  • Deadpool on Oct 20, 2016 at 11:04 am

uber or grab car drivers can just say to them “why block me? I am just picking up my friend, cannot ah?” stupid botak. reasons banyak banyak all are just for the sake of your own pocket.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • Open Letter to PDRM by Kucing Kurap on Oct 20, 2016 at 11:06 am

Hello IGP, please grow some balls. Rakyat now so scared of these thugs. Just because this dude is powerful and can even get out of penjara whenever he likes, and he is above the law and the courts, please apprehend this dude.

Please IGP. Please grow some balls. He causes millions in ringgit in productivity lost because his hooligans are doing road blocks and preventing us rakyat from going to work on time.

Some of us are doctors and nurses, when we cannot go to hospital on time due to teksi gangster road blocks, patients actually die. Yes, people actually die.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 1
  • What made them think that they have the right to do such thing? Making up bs contracts. This is becoming more like a samisen gang claiming their territory.

• hondaman on Oct 21, 2016 at 11:19 am

err it is true about the contract, you can check with Suria KLCC management.

• his face is really disturbing to look at. Even for a split second.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
  • “We are expanding the restriction imposed in KLCC because these places are part of Big Blue’s territory, and it is our priority that the public have a good and safe customer experience,” – the irony is the public did not want you, they want UBER and Grab.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 0
  • Ah Kow on Oct 20, 2016 at 11:30 am

You want to block then block lo, 4 locations only. That is nothing for UBER GRAB’s business. No matter how you block it would have no effect because they got thousands of locations to pick up. Also not like if you block already customers will come to you, they will still go for UBER GRAB.

• VAPERS on Oct 20, 2016 at 11:31 am

If I dropped my wife and kids at those places and gets attacked by those taxi drivers I’m gonna kick their butt… Will the police arrest me or not? It is self defense. Truth or reality?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
  • Deadpool on Oct 20, 2016 at 11:32 am

can’t tahan see this face, oh yea he is busted for money-laundering and cheating right? he also a thing that sounds like busted. malaysia memang bolehland. hotdog needs to change name, prisoner can talk ‘coke’ in press conference. not to mention rm1 whole chicken, what else? hippopotamus needs a rm2000 hair do.

• Yusof on Oct 20, 2016 at 11:33 am

The more you try to block the more people will not take your service. Acting like hooligans and so childish. Shame on you!

• buBoobu on Oct 20, 2016 at 11:34 am

hah..! and the person that wants to commute are the customers there calling grab/uber.. u cant stop the customer from choosing their choice of commute.. even i will walk down abit further to take grab/uber for my commute..

• Yea.. whenever I want to talk grab/uber from klcc, I will just walk opposite to avenue k. Simple as that

• Ben Yap on Oct 20, 2016 at 11:37 am

pity this guy la….

he has lost his hair and money in the taxi business; yet you guys want to bash him.

• Anything But P1, Greedy P2 on Oct 20, 2016 at 11:42 am

Will someone please arrest this bozos? Especially this kepala? Austin Powers where are you?

• KingKhan on Oct 20, 2016 at 11:45 am

Hahahaha the best part was after reading this page uber advertisement at below :)

• Concerned citizen on Oct 20, 2016 at 11:49 am

How can they tell who’s Uber and who’s just picking up their relatives or friends? Happened to me when I tried to pick up my daughter and was chased off by these taxi drivers. Bloody hooligans!

• Frends on Oct 20, 2016 at 11:50 am

I will do a new app called frend-Uber-Pickup.
    The concept is you make frend with Uber driver in the app, you know, like those dating web. After become frends then the drivers went on to pick up their frends. Voala, kappaw. Its then frends picking frends not passangers. Screw you Botak!

• Rezen ZS on Oct 20, 2016 at 11:54 am

He’s so scared his business is interrupted by Uber & Grabcar. But somehow, his actions actually that interrupted many public activities. -aptb-

• faizal on Oct 20, 2016 at 12:00 pm

zaman teksi dah berakhir..tu realiti yg depa kene hadap

• Official transport sponsor for 1911

• Jesse on Oct 20, 2016 at 12:14 pm

You are further embarassing us what more our nation. It is already horrible that the service is bad. What more, who would use your taxi operation sir. Unless the taxi’s here can be further improved, be truthful (in terms of fare charges and using meter service) and as well as the friendliness of the drivers.

Please take into considerations that we have used public transportations before and why we are commenting objecting the blocking is due to the horrible service.

• Uberian on Oct 20, 2016 at 12:33 pm

This confirms everything. Uber & Grab are not threatening the taxi drivers but it is taxi companies which are affected. All those stunts by 100 or so taxi drivers strike are orchestrated by greedy taxi companies. All these just to ensure the survival of their monopoly. Well, keep dreaming. If customers of those places choose not to go there, in the end, those dodgy contracts will be canceled anyway. At the end of the day, businesses will follow what the end consumers want unless it is a monopoly. Thankfully Uber Grab is here to crack your monopoly.

• TeksiDying on Oct 20, 2016 at 12:37 pm

Waiting to see his taxis get vandalized because of his attitude. Cant believe a founder can show such an attitude. His “big” blue will become small blue soon because Uber and GrabCar will eventually wreck them

• Luqman on Oct 20, 2016 at 12:46 pm

The building owners will need to issue statements to either back him up IF there is REALLY a contract (which is rather unheard of) or to call his lie. Or else, he show us where is it stated in the contract. Words coming from this fella’s mouth = cannot believe

• Ya lorr. Cannot tahan seeing his face lor. Hilang selera makan ooo…

• iuse3310 on Oct 20, 2016 at 1:20 pm

remember when fuel injection was first introduced?no mechanic with deep carburetor know-how trying to stop car the innovation, but equip themselves with new knowledge. I don’t see public phone makers suing or making noise at smartphone companies. did i miss when kerosene seller ran a picket at tnb? and did myspace trying to force facebook to close down? the point is simply time changes. and so are the way people do things, including how they get about.no one can stop change except to innovate, adapt to new ideas

• yusof on Oct 20, 2016 at 2:09 pm

Grabueber diever u are ulat.u no have lesen psv and bandaraya lesen permit ,kastam marah only taxi can pick people. Grabuber cowboy kl is not taxes USA.we people kl want safety service.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 22
  • Lancerian (Member) on Oct 20, 2016 at 2:17 pm

I guess we can see now where the thuggish attitude some taxi drivers have, come from. It is exactly such behaviour that turn people away from taxis and to go for ride hailing options. This guy doesnt have any right to accost, question or bar anyone from stepping into or alighting from a vehicle anywhere. It should be a matter for the competent authorities to do the legal thing or the building owners/management to act through their own security or staff. The public have a right not to be harrassed or bullied and if this continues they have a right to avoid Big Blue or those premises that allow him free rein. Meanwhile the public reserve the right to take reasonable and appropriate action against such a menacing public nuisance.

• Raja Nur Imran on Oct 20, 2016 at 3:04 pm

Taxi drivers need to wake up and smell the future….it will come to them whether they like it or not…you cant stop them…if you think uber or grab car is stealing your money, why don’t you just became one yourselves…. Doing something like this is pointless and wrong…

• Concerned on Oct 20, 2016 at 3:05 pm

What if one genuinely and innocently picks up/drops off his family/wife/gf etc at these locations but got harassed by these thugs for being mistaken as uber/grab drivers. The only recourse is probably just reporting it to the police but damage already done. Scary stuffs. If the police isn’t going to do anything, at least the property owners should stand out and rebut these statements.

• 4G63T DSM on Oct 20, 2016 at 4:31 pm

They are conveniently forgetting hotels like this not only hosts Hotel Guests, but also Dinners and functions.

So its not inconceivable to be picking up a family member.

I want this to blow up big. All they need is to harass the wrong VIP. They would get their ass whipped.

• zorroo on Oct 20, 2016 at 3:53 pm

Grabuber give me 3000 a month. Petrol yours vivos yours applicatian yours i just driwing.baru syoik. Cigaratte i buy myself.

• 4G63T DSM on Oct 20, 2016 at 4:36 pm

I’m actually a SPG member. I wonder what would Starwood and Marriott say. Maybe I should just call them up and complain.

• Tonald Drump on Oct 20, 2016 at 8:30 pm

Isn’t this man supposed to be in jail for 73years? Why is he barking up the wrong tree outside the jailhouse?

• boycottBigBlueCab on Oct 20, 2016 at 8:36 pm

we need to teach him a lesson. Boycott the blue cab till he admits his fault. We need the power of Rakyat as our government is falling

• Mencari kebenaran... on Oct 21, 2016 at 6:44 am

Ramai org pertikaikan macam mana si Shamsubahrin boleh keluar jel dan bagi statement pasal Big Blue tu…

Saya sendiri cuba cari maklumat tu dan mmg betul dia ni sebenarnya dan sepatutnya sedang dipenjarakan…

KUALA LUMPUR: Former National Feedlot Corporation Sdn Bhd (NFCorp) consultant Datuk Shamsubahrin Ismail (pic) was jailed eight years and ordered to be whipped four times for cheating.

http://www.thestar.com.my/news/nation/2015/05/19/nfcorp-man-jailed-for-cheating-exconsultant-found-guilty-of-dishonestly-inducing-corporation-chairma/

• Geoff_kl on Oct 21, 2016 at 4:14 pm

I stopped using blue and red taxis from the day Uber launched in malaysia. For 2 years now I have not had a single problem with an Uber ride. Always on time, clean car, great service and with a smile on their face. The complete opposite of Dr Evils criminal band of ‘taxis’.

• Henry on Oct 20, 2016 at 9:56 pm

He thinks he is the law.

• just improve the taxi service and quality …. just look at the taxi around pavilion just wait for hours to take one passenger … and cheat them. For years Malaysian taxi reputation has been bad. It is time to make it better guys … don’t try to fight and just block .. so stupid.

Take a look …. Uber lost in Japan… Taxi in Japan far better then Uber!

• wana b a ganster? join the blue taxi ^^

they got own territory now….wow!

• Geoff_kl on Oct 21, 2016 at 4:11 pm

This Dr Evil looking fool needs to keep his mouth shut and stop embarrassing himself. Trying to intimidate Uber/Grab drivers and passengers is only making us dislike blue/red taxis even more. After years of the incumbent criminal taxis stealing money from both Malaysians and tourists they are finally learning the power of competition and customer choice. Adapt or die….it’s very simple

• \\`ired on Oct 21, 2016 at 5:12 pm

It’s time for a little transparency. Lets release both your government’s emails and your taxi companies emails, and lets show the public exactly what kind of corruption scheme you are running.

Oh did you think I was asking you to? We already have them. Watch for yourselves in the news Big Blue. You’re about to be on international TV.