Yema B11 – China’s near carbon copy of the BMW i3

yema-b11-1

While the infamous Landwind X7 was a pretty “accurate” copy of the Range Rover Evoque, the Yema B11 is a different story altogether. No guesses for what model the B11 attempts to rip off (it’s already in the title), but it is the BMW i3.

Rather than outright copying the design of the i3, Yema made a few changes beginning with a set of conventional doors and roof rails. The front-end, while inspired by the BMW green vehicle, gets an oversized blue grille, accompanied by new lighting units.

Moving on, the B11 gets significantly smaller wheels, and while it attempts to emulate the unique shape of the BMW’s sides, the end result pales in comparison. Things appear to be more “decent” at the back, with the B11 copying the i3’s layout.

yema-b11-2

In terms of dimensions, CarNewsChina reports that the B11 measures 4,163 mm long, 1,720 mm wide, 1,630 mm tall, and has a wheelbase of 2,515 mm. By comparison, the i3, measures 3,999 mm long, 1,775 mm wide, 1,578 mm tall, with a wheelbase measuring 2,570 mm.

Like the i3, the B11 will be available as a full electric or a hybrid. The former sees propulsion coming from a 41 hp electric motor, while the latter adds on a 68 hp 1.0L petrol engine to the electric motor.

GALLERY: The 100% authentic BMW i3 driven in Munich

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Kucing Kurap on Oct 20, 2016 at 12:34 pm

China is such a disgrace. Everything also copy and infringe people’s hard work and intellectual property rights.

But global BMW dare not sue China. Mat Salleh also as dirty cause they know they cannot market their BMWs to China if China gets angry with them.

So, they giggle and keep quiet about it. Hippocrates. So who is dirtier now? China or Germans?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 3
    • Jimmy on Oct 20, 2016 at 12:49 pm

I told you before, laws are just games for high-end people, not you and me.

• Kucing Kurap on Oct 20, 2016 at 1:01 pm

BMW is a no ball company. So is Mercedes Benz. If China ask them to sit down like a dog, the Germans will keep quiet and obey.

Every wondered why the 3 series and the E class got special long wheelbase version for China and not anywhere else in the world?

Yes, this is because China told the German BMW and Mercedes to do it. So like kuli or babu, the Germans followed orders.

BMW will never sue China. Thus encouraging more copies and copyright infringement to happen.

• BMW once sued one of the chinese company for copying the X5 or X3 (cant remember), but BMW lost because China said its a different car and it doesnt look the same (which it looks exactly the same). So even is the germans want to do something, they cant, because of the protective China.

• In Mesia this is called Rebadge..

• Miera on Oct 20, 2016 at 1:48 pm

Fuuyoh lawa siot..bila nak launch kat Bolehland^^

• kzm (Member) on Oct 20, 2016 at 3:56 pm

At least they built something..we?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 12
  • Anonymous on Oct 20, 2016 at 12:41 pm

Hahahahahahahahahaha

• Jimmy on Oct 20, 2016 at 12:46 pm

Most, not all, people would like to be inspired by the beauty of others, if they themselves cannot innovate from zero.
    This company is exception, very ‘innovative’.

• Ah Kow on Oct 20, 2016 at 12:48 pm

They maybe able to copy the design easily, but never the engineering, China wannabe automotive industry is still far behind Germans. This may explain why no one is sueing them because deep down they know China automotive is no match for the Germans

• Mikey on Oct 20, 2016 at 10:35 pm

U are absolutely right Ah Kow. When it comes to engineering cars, the Germans are way far ahead of China at this point in time. Give them another 10/15 years & U will see that China will be at the forefront of Automotive Engineering just like the Koreans.

U will not be surprised that the Chinese may make it even better than the original bcos they are dead serious in copying & improving on anything & everything. Not that I approve of what China is doing now. They simply bulldoze everything through & get what they want bcos they have the might in terms of $$$(Trillions).

Someone should NOT have woken the sleeping giant. They are simply too Big to contain & even USA can’t tell China to walk or talk.

• Mark Mark on Nov 26, 2016 at 8:29 pm

You are wrong. Chinese engineering students and those who are in Western companies leading the way in those companies all over the world are slowly returning back to lucrative jobs in China now and the results are coming through slowly.

If you knew about the industry here at all then you would be aware they are deep into, and nearing the end of driveline phase that has seen them taking massive jumps and they have literally caught up in every aspect other than diesel.

Now they are beginning to pay attention to styling areas.

• nabill (Member) on Oct 20, 2016 at 1:02 pm

A place where the word shame doesnt exist

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
  • heybadigol (Member) on Oct 20, 2016 at 1:04 pm

Is it RWD as well, like the i3?

• mantao on Oct 20, 2016 at 1:10 pm

why china like this one?!

• Ridhuan on Oct 20, 2016 at 2:22 pm

Macam Yes tapi Bukan.

• In MY, this will be praised as innovative and fresh thinking design idea, veli gud wan. Unlike own-created, own-engineered,own-made lousy P1.

• amry83 on Oct 21, 2016 at 4:00 am

and you definitely like the china car better… it’s even worse!!

• Bernard on Oct 20, 2016 at 2:59 pm

And this is the country which will be the next superpower!!!

• seancorr (Member) on Oct 20, 2016 at 4:44 pm

Why????

• thepolygonal on Oct 20, 2016 at 5:01 pm

This is unacceptable and a poor taste to copy… copy the i8 instead… and bring it in to Malaysia.

• one look at the rear and you know the driver is Darth Vader.

• That is nasty

• Mark Mark on Nov 26, 2016 at 8:15 pm

Firstly most young Chinese men’s opinion of the Land Wing is extremely critical and they feel shame that China allows it, so the success of direct coipies has always been questionable anyway.

Yema copied the old Subaru SUV and you see very few of them around so they probably reap what they sow.

But further, I hate the copying accustation a lot on the Chinese when they are merely following stying trends, but not a word is said when it’s literally every body else in the world following styling trends.

The recently release Chevrolets are a splitting image of Hyundis and Kias, and a few uears back it was hard to tell the difference between a Camry, Accord, Sonata, Cruze – but nothing was said, as is with the current crop of small SUV that know one can tell apart at 400 meters.

Yes there are some copying done by the Chinese, and it is occasionally blatant, but they are also forging ahead with their own vehicles, and their own designs albeit slowly.

Articles that concentrate on the copying aspect are with some bigotism and just pointless as the market will decide, not you.