Budget 2017: Gov’t encouraging BR1M recipients to become Uber and Grab drivers – RM4k rebate for Iriz

irizpix-bajet-2017-iriz-rm4k-offer

In today’s Budget 2017 speech, prime minister Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak announced that the government is encouraging the B40 group (those with a household income of up to RM3,855), especially BR1M recipients, to increase their income by joining ride-sharing app companies such as Uber and Grab.

For those who already own vehicles, the PM said that their income could reach up to RM1,500 a month for part-time drivers working between 10 to 40 hours per week, and RM4,300 if working for more than 40 hours per week.

For those without a vehicle, the government has announced that a downpayment for a vehicle can be made using BR1M, with a rebate of RM4,000 being provided for the purchase of a Proton Iriz.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Oct 21, 2016 at 5:50 pm

lol help p1 clear old stock…does he know can get higher rebate than that right now

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 4
    • Kunta bin Kinte on Oct 21, 2016 at 6:26 pm

Oh My Oh My, another bailout. Government will be using our money to clear Iriz stock. Ask yourself this, why Government did not say Saga or Persona?

Clearly, another bailout for Iriz. And using rakyat’s money.

It is sad when the old CEO had to lie and say Iriz sales were super good and the waiting list for months. And then few months later, Tun M, the then Proton chairman, accidentally told the truth that Iriz sales were kaput.

How can the Government be neutral and fair to other car makers?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 5
      • U Help Me on Oct 21, 2016 at 7:41 pm

Next year Grab and Uber will be regulated and tax money will be collected by gomen directly la

• Captain Obvious on Oct 21, 2016 at 7:47 pm

What do you do when you have barely enough money to cover up your monthly expenses?

Take up another RM40K loan so that you have an additional commitment of RM600/month. Genius.

Let the Captain Obvious do some maths for you. I used to drive for Uber but I’ve decided to stop after 6 months. And I know very well how much you could earn by driving Uber.

The car I used : 2014 Proton Saga SV
        Average hours per day : 10
        Average income per week : 700
        Days driven per week : 6
        Average hours per week : 60
        Average gross income per hour : RM11.50

By earning RM700/week, it may seems to be alot to some of you. But bare in mind, the RM700 has your toll earnings included and have not deducted your petrol and maintenance money. And sometimes the amount could be even lesser if you’re unlucky and often gets all those RM2 / RM3 trips.

Based on my experience, 35% of the income you earned goes to toll, petrol, and wear & tear. Therefore, RM700 – 35% = RM455 (Nett earnings) per week, which translates to ~RM1820 per month. But I have not deducted my monthly installment for my Saga yet (RM652/m for 5 years).

So again, RM4300 or more with 40 working hours per month is literally bullshit. Also, Uber has recently removed their “Hourly Guarantee” scheme and replaced them with the “Boost” scheme, which does nothing and does not benefit we drivers at all!

No idea about Grab, never wanted to try it based on all the previous complaints on how they treat their drivers and how they confiscate their weekly earnings etc.

To those who are tempted, please think twice before making your order. Buying a car is not like buying Nasi Lemak, your car depreciates 20-30% the moment you drove it out from the showroom, and that alone is not a small sum.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 1
        • TreeHugger on Oct 21, 2016 at 10:45 pm

True. Also, 40 hours per week is not part time. That is full time hours, and large portion of the RM1500 will go to hire purchase instalment, petrol and car maintenance such as tyre, brakes, and other consumables and wear and tear items for such high running hours of the car. At the end of the month it’s really not worth it. The more people become Uber drivers the smaller the chance of each driver to get customers and income.

• Uber refunds toll to the drivers woh. So how come you calculated it in a cost?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
      • Albert on Oct 21, 2016 at 9:24 pm

Kunci Kunta
        Lies,lies,lies…..no end to it.
        Those Iriz are collecting dust at showrooms,yards,everywhere since Saga and persona launching.
        Some salesman giving rm6K discount..what’s so great AhJibkor giving rm 4 K ?
        Someone must have telephoned Jibkor and cried..saying if they cant clear Iriz and preve and Exora stocks, will need another bailout soon.

• Jimmy on Oct 21, 2016 at 11:09 pm

Nooe, customers must expect rm6k discount from Proton and rm4k rebate from gomen, so there you are, you can have an Iris at rm28k, down from its original price of rm38k.

Come on Proton, be sincere.

• WT Fuchhhh on Oct 21, 2016 at 6:38 pm

Vely clever. Just ask P1 to deduct from their monthly payment from the 1.5 B loan….In the end P1 would not need to repay a single cent fr

• Kunta bin Kinte on Oct 21, 2016 at 6:48 pm

Why not Saga and Persona? Yes the answer is because another bailout for Iriz.

whose money will be used? Our LHDN money will be used.

• Saga and persona still new ma. Tahun depan dia buatlah untuk saga and persona. Be patient.

• hamka on Oct 21, 2016 at 6:53 pm

BR1M recipient Nenek umor 70tahun, Uber driver ?!!

• atokkk - not real one on Oct 24, 2016 at 7:42 am

LOL.. sick people…gov. must hav better dicesion to select IRIZ..its safest car sor far..

• Talked about pouring salt onto an open wound, this is like pouring sulphuric acid into an open wound for the Taxi drivers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
    • WT Fuchhhh on Oct 21, 2016 at 6:43 pm

Malaysian people gets fuchh again. P1 would not need to service their 1.5B loan as the Gomen will will rebate them 4k for each iriz they sell. In the end , we are the ones whom would have to bear the 1.5 B .

• Now Taxi Driver can join BERSIH rally after hear this statement… Rally with Red, Blue, Yellow & etc Taxi on the road.. haa haa

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
  • Mikey on Oct 21, 2016 at 6:06 pm

Clap 10 times. Our PM effectively reduced our B40 group by a large margin & sold 10,000 Iriz.

• Syukur…timo kasih PM.

• gdntsk (Member) on Oct 21, 2016 at 6:12 pm

I’m anticipating more taximen to hold more demonstrations against Uber/Grab.

And Proton must have lied big time about the sales figure of their Iriz. This is my first time hearing of such an incentive being offered by a national government for a specific car model sold in a country. Does anybody know of similar incentives offered in other countries?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
  • Bodo piang. Why din allocate more money to enhance public transport instead of make more private drivers on the road. We need more bus drivers, not teksi sapu drivers!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 14
    • Kalau Tak Suka, Keluar!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 5
    • Ultra2Disk on Oct 21, 2016 at 6:46 pm

Elo ? I think like everyday set and ads Prasarana/RapidKL open up to anybody Malaysian to become Bus driver, you should become one.

• Abuden! Of course they shortage drivers, cuz all got robbed by SG! Why?! Cuz MY bus driver is treated like pekerja buruh! Pay like shiet! Thats why I said PM shud raise the prices for cars and motors, then use it to pay bus drivers on par with SG! But for this mesti ada syarat-syaratnya for them drivers lah!

• Tuan Muda Sahari on Oct 21, 2016 at 7:18 pm

Ride sharing lbih kurg sma dgn public transport yg bole krgkn kesesakan,so sapa2 yg malas nk drive & ada feel mcm ada driver sndri (wow!) bole la guna grab/uber utk ke mna2 dgn hrga yg brpatutan.

Kpd pemandu teksi yg sedia ada, beralihlah kpd grab/uber. Wlupun anda pmndu yg baik & jujur, imej teksi amnya tlh tercalar dgn segelintir pmndu teksi yg brtindak mngenakan caj yg brlebihan & ala2 samseng.

Drpd anda kerap sertai protes / tunjuk perasaan utk mengenyangkn pmgang permit yg duduk & trima duit hasil peluh anda,mngapa x anda trus cari nafkah utk isteri & anak2 anda dgn grab/uber? Hanya daftar & anda x perlu brbaris utk tggu planggan,planggan akn cari anda. Masa anda dpt dijimatkn & duit brtmbh dlm poket anda.

Teksi anda x releven lg dgn masa skrg? Maintenance yg x brapa oleh pihak pemberi sewa? Anda dpt beli kereta baru, milik anda sndri! Ya,anda sndiri! Anda rajin? Duit masok. Anda malas? Duit x masok. Simple.

Gunakn peluang,kmi rakyat brhak memilih utk servis yg lbih baik. Jgn buang msa utk brdemo, dunia tlah brubah,pinggirkn ego anda. Skrg dunia tnpa smpadan,blajarlh guna smartphone. Kpd pmndu2 yg tlah brusia & blom mahir guna smartphone,blajarlah krn skrg hp bole jdi punca pndptan. Brubahlah kpd grab/uber, anda bole dpt pndptn yg lbih drpd apa yg anda dpt skrg.

Lbih bribu org pmndu teksi tlh hntr balik knderaan yg dsewa. Mksudnya, mrk tlh mengakui prkhidmatan teksi skrg x lagi relevan dlm dunia teknologi skrg.

Anda adalah bos kpd diri sndiri. Kereta sendiri. Pendapatan sendiri. Lu pikirlah sendiri.

P/s: sy bkn pmndu grab/uber,sy rakyat yg prihatin trhdp priuk nasi anda. Sy juga rkyat yg inginkn prkhidmatan yg trbaik pd hrga yg brpatutan. Ini adalah pndpt pribadi sy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
    • We need better public transport indeed. But pumping money into prasarana is like pimping money into another leaky bicket dripping into somebody’s pocket.

The problem isn’t transportation, it’s the job market. Heck public transportation is like at the top 5 least concerned items of the government.

• And how do u wanna improve the job market? Isnt incentivising Prasarana to up drivers pay & benefit an effective method to solve it?

So i gave my idea. Whats ur idea?

• Lizzam on Oct 21, 2016 at 6:15 pm

Taxi drivers are going into more fits of rage after this!

• I can sort of get what they’re trying to do here but there’s a part of me which can’t help but think they just want to sell you more Iriz’s

• Even gov’t is siding with Uber / Grab. Habis lah taxi.

• Madey Matt on Oct 21, 2016 at 6:20 pm

Mr PM, thanks for the incentives buy why only Iriz? I cannot brain la

• policeman on Oct 21, 2016 at 6:42 pm

It’s small and takes up less space.
      It doesn’t cause accidents by losing control and/or turning turtle.

Which other national car meets these 2 simple criteria?

• Matjava on Oct 21, 2016 at 6:26 pm

Taximan won’t vote gomen

• Poton oledi take gomen loan mah.
    Deswai insentive for poton only.
    Dis way will encourage poton sales.
    P2 can look only

• thanks PM, now taxi drivers will target iriz cars as they think it’s a uber/grab car.

• Jika itu aku on Oct 21, 2016 at 10:15 pm

The same thought I had after hearing about Iriz being promoted as Uber/Grab car.

I own an Iriz!!!

Why this car???

Why???

Omg. I fear of my life already. If I just stopped by to pick up my friends somewhere, and some hooligans might come and scare the hell out of me.

Why why why!

• Tuan Muda Azrie on Oct 21, 2016 at 7:19 pm

Ride sharing lbih kurg sma dgn public transport yg bole krgkn kesesakan,so sapa2 yg malas nk drive & ada feel mcm ada driver sndri (wow!) bole la guna grab/uber utk ke mna2 dgn hrga yg brpatutan.

Kpd pemandu teksi yg sedia ada, beralihlah kpd grab/uber. Wlupun anda pmndu yg baik & jujur, imej teksi amnya tlh tercalar dgn segelintir pmndu teksi yg brtindak mngenakan caj yg brlebihan & ala2 samseng.

Drpd anda kerap sertai protes / tunjuk perasaan utk mengenyangkn pmgang permit yg duduk & trima duit hasil peluh anda,mngapa x anda trus cari nafkah utk isteri & anak2 anda dgn grab/uber? Hanya daftar & anda x perlu brbaris utk tggu planggan,planggan akn cari anda. Masa anda dpt dijimatkn & duit brtmbh dlm poket anda.

Teksi anda x releven lg dgn masa skrg? Maintenance yg x brapa oleh pihak pemberi sewa? Anda dpt beli kereta baru, milik anda sndri! Ya,anda sndiri! Anda rajin? Duit masok. Anda malas? Duit x masok. Simple.

Gunakn peluang,kmi rakyat brhak memilih utk servis yg lbih baik. Jgn buang msa utk brdemo, dunia tlah brubah,pinggirkn ego anda. Skrg dunia tnpa smpadan,blajarlh guna smartphone. Kpd pmndu2 yg tlah brusia & blom mahir guna smartphone,blajarlah krn skrg hp bole jdi punca pndptan. Brubahlah kpd grab/uber, anda bole dpt pndptn yg lbih drpd apa yg anda dpt skrg.

Lbih bribu org pmndu teksi tlh hntr balik knderaan yg dsewa. Mksudnya, mrk tlh mengakui prkhidmatan teksi skrg x lagi relevan dlm dunia teknologi skrg.

Anda adalah bos kpd diri sndiri. Kereta sendiri. Pendapatan sendiri. Lu pikirlah sendiri.

P/s: sy bkn pmndu grab/uber,sy rakyat yg prihatin trhdp priuk nasi anda. Sy juga rkyat yg inginkn prkhidmatan yg trbaik pd hrga yg brpatutan. Ini adalah pndpt pribadi sy.

• Henry on Oct 22, 2016 at 5:57 pm

This is an offer to some people to become their own boss. There are no guarantees in life except death and taxes. Success or failure is in your own hands. Grab the opportunity and make a go of it.

• Mr Syukur Selalu on Oct 23, 2016 at 11:24 am

A screw-up idea by a screw-up leader, applied to screwed car manufacturer, used and compete among screw-up taxi drivers…..and to be patronized by everyday-being-screwed rakyat Malaysia

Mega-screwed situation, of course.