2017 Suzuki SV650A in Malaysia – RM41,128, with ABS

2017-suzuki-sv650a-action-9

As the machine that arguably re-started the naked middleweight Japanese sports motorcycle, taking its cue from the 1993 Ducati Monster, the Suzuki SV650 has been around since 1999. For 2017, Suzuki Assemblers Malaysia has launched the Suzuki SV650A, at a price of RM41,128, including GST.

First announced last year in November ahead of the EICMA show in Milan, Italy, the updated 2017 Suzuki SV650A goes “back-to-basics”, with a facelift that brings it back closer to its naked sports forebears. The fuel tank, which grew rather portly in the previous generation Gladius 650, has now been slimmed down.

The Suzuki trellis frame has been retained, and the traditional round headlight has returned, giving the SV650A a blend of retro and modern styling. The 645 cc twin-spark V-twin Euro 4 engine gets new pistons and rings, along with a revised cooling system and exhaust, that bumps power up to 75 hp, an increase of 4 hp, while torque remains the same, but the 64 Nm now kicks in higher at 8,100 rpm.

Some weight has also been lost for the ABS-equipped 2017 SV650, which now weighs 197 kg, down from the previous model’s 205 kg. The weight loss was achieved with the use of 140 new or re-designed components, with 60 new parts in the engine alone.

Also new for 2017 is an LCD instrument cluster, replacing the old analogue tachometer/ LCD speedometer of the older model, with LED lighting all-round. New riders will appreciate the low rpm assist feature that keeps engine revs up during launch and low speed to prevent the SV650A from stalling.

2017-suzuki-sv650a-action-5

A low seat height of 780 mm will make Suzuki’s middleweight popular with many riders, especially for beginners and riders with short inseams. The 2017 Suzuki SV650A is priced at RM38,800, excluding GST. Including GST brings the price up to RM41,128. There are two colour options – Pearl Mira Red and Metallic Triton Blue.

Competition for the 2017 Suzuki SV650A locally includes the Yamaha MT-07 at RM35,926, including GST, but the Malaysian model MT-07 does not come equipped with ABS. Another contender is the Kawasaki ER-6n at RM34,509, with GST, also without ABS.

Coming with diverse and extensive experience in heavy engineering, Mohan enjoys making anything with wheels go fast, especially motorcycles. His weapon of choice is the Desmoquattro engine, and he has a penchant for anything with a dash of Italian design. Strangely enough, he insists he's a slow rider.

• lovely
    i never saw place they did official launch
    maybe via media only ???

anyway the bike is here but more costly by 7k with yamaha mt-07

well suzuki is made in japan and have ABS with better quality

technology wise i can see suzuki has more features

now who is buying

i go for red color

• Maybe for me.
      Mt-07 wasn’t in my consideration with or without SV650.

I am happy they brought in the ABS version. As I read it somewhere that the rear wheel of this bike gets lockup alot. And this remains one of the few models with ABS in the market.

Will have to see and hear it in the flesh to decide, otherwise I will still go for a Kawa. I like the dash. Side profile is abit too “Duke” for my taste. Tail is awesome with the LED light design. And I wish they copy the Ducati Scrambler for the LED ring on the headlight.

Blue for me.

• donno on Oct 24, 2016 at 12:57 pm

The same engine is licensed to Hyosung in Korea for the Hyosung GT650. It is available in Malaysia for less than RM20K as the Blade 650R. So why is Suzuki selling its version for RM41K?

• For this case u really get what u pay for.do ask around from owner of blade650 that have upgraded to bike from another maker.

• Is a common scenario in Malaysia, no? We have many examples of that.

CBU Lancer became CKD proton. A rebadge. What’s the price difference and quality difference? Alot.

• karimon WGN on Oct 24, 2016 at 2:29 pm

No official launch due to tight budget.. Only display at roadshow,dealer shop and highway billboard..

• oh mak lu cina on Oct 24, 2016 at 3:06 pm

Brand yang sudah gulung tikar, lagi mau jual model di malaysia kah?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 18
  • Versys kaki on Oct 24, 2016 at 3:08 pm

Suzuki M’sia marketing please benchmark to Kawasaki or HL Yamaha. I was a Suzuki Superbike fans but I not buying Suzuki due to the Price, After Sales service, etc. so sad…

• Ootai on Oct 24, 2016 at 6:09 pm

Suzuki have to in bring the latest gsxr 750 soonest possible. For lower spec models, suzuki malaysia may have tough time to match competitors.

• this bike gets better review compared to MT07 & ER6.. especially on the suspension.
    would love to have a test ride when it’s launched next yr..

• i did research

oil filter rm40
    air filter rm 117
    chain sprocket set few hundred
    iridium ngk plug one piece rm 49

this bike has very low mainteance vuf\dget price. so we can save a lot of money

also this bike is mechanic foreman friendly
    easy access and easy to do by foreman with quick downtime

i going for red color

worth the money

• bike is already on sale
    go to dealer u will see
    can buy today also