Malaysia’s first electric vehicle (EV) to debut soon

baic-ev200-002

Malaysia’s first electric vehicle will be unveiled next month, at the upcoming Malaysia Autoshow, to be held from November 10 to 13 at the Mines International Exhibition and Trade Centre. Said to be a joint venture between Beijing Auto International Corporation (BAIC) and Malaysian company Amber Dual, the locally-assembled EV will be a new sedan, based on an existing BAIC EV200 hatchback.

No official name has been announced for the locally-assembled EV just yet, but the sedan is expected to have a total range of approximately 200 km on a full charge. Details are scarce at the moment, but if it is to be based on the BAIC EV200, it’s likely its technical specs wouldn’t be all that different from the donor model.

The BAIC EV200 looks like the first-gen Mercedes-Benz B-Class both inside and out – the two companies have a joint venture in China. In EV200 form (there are EV150/EV160 models in its home market), the hatchback has a 53 kW (72 hp), 180 Nm electric motor paired with a 30.4 kWh lithium ion battery. The 4,025 mm-long, 1,295 kg vehicle has a top speed of 125 km/h, and can get from 0-80 km/h in 9.7 seconds.

baic-ev200-003

It was reported late last year that Chinese automaker BAIC was set to make Malaysia its electric vehicle manufacturing hub for the ASEAN region, with an assembly plant in Gurun, Kedah expected to start operations in September or October this year. Things appear to be on track, with a public debut set for November.

The plant in Gurun has an annual capacity of 20,000 units, and is said to be ready for assembly to commence. Production will be for the domestic market, and possibly for export later on should market conditions permit.

Entrance fee to the Malaysia Autoshow is RM10 for adults, while students with identification cards will be allowed entry free of charge on November 10 and 11 (Thursday to Friday).

GALLERY: BAIC EV200

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• Painter on Oct 26, 2016 at 2:14 pm

Pardon my ignorance. I didn’t know Malaysia Autoshow still exists.

Or is it just a collection of cars that are already on sale put on display by the usual suspects?

Because if it really is, I wouldn’t want to burn my hard earned money just to see Honda HRV placed on a pedestal…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 75 Thumb down 1
    • Bash Basher on Oct 26, 2016 at 2:37 pm

Sadly in bolehland, these event organizers only want to earn money from the available automotive brands in Malaysia for their display/advertisement space.

• Operation Manager on Oct 26, 2016 at 4:27 pm

Ohhh SOHAI, now you see even China Auto share technology to Boleh… AutoShow of Saga / Iriz / Persona / Perdana / Axia / Myvi / Alza / Bezza / Vios / City / Almera / etc…… for which potential country market share…? Even 3rd world having BETTER & CHEAPER CAR than BOLEH… With P1P2 luxury treatment at cheapest price (lowest tax duty) already kill the inititive & competitive… now all only sitting & waiting…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 10
    • Anything but P1, Greedy P2 on Oct 26, 2016 at 3:04 pm

What’s more they lock the cars and then you get harassed by sales people distributing photostatted price leaflets

• old horse on Oct 26, 2016 at 5:58 pm

pity to Proton…araent they suppose to JV with someone to do this EV instead of this dont know what company..?

• offisial wan on Oct 26, 2016 at 2:26 pm

Soon meaning by year 2059??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
    • WT Fuchh on Oct 26, 2016 at 2:32 pm

inb4 electric vehicle (EV) is for Uber.

• 2020 (+30) la

• Jimmy on Oct 26, 2016 at 10:54 pm

Mark my words, my vision 2050 is to become the richest man in the World who is 2X richer than Bill Gate (don’t correct my spelling, in case you want to).

• Better dun come here. MY pipu alredi hi keras, dun wan do 3D jobs anymore. Deswai when assemble cars, all no quality one. Better gip to tomyam so that we have gud reason to bash Gov.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
    • Jimmy on Oct 26, 2016 at 11:00 pm

When it reaches USA, the jaguh kampung young designers will berpandai-pandai mencampurkan BMW kidney grill plus telur di tengah, to make it a butterfly shape front grill. That is R & D for front grill + bumper. Mesti tunjuk ada rajin kerja, tiada minum teh tarik 10X/day.

• nabill (Member) on Oct 26, 2016 at 2:38 pm

u meant 2nd gen A class not 1st gen A class right? atleast looking at the dash !

• applegreen on Oct 26, 2016 at 2:42 pm

the interior really look like old merc b class

• johnlabu on Oct 26, 2016 at 2:42 pm

So finally, this is the reason why they don’t let Tesla sell their Model S here in Malaysia.

• Mikey on Oct 26, 2016 at 2:56 pm

This is a JV EV car by BAIC & Malaysian company Amber Dual. The original EV200 car is between BAIC & Merc. Wow, we are getting a M’sian made EV with both Chinese & Germans DNA. Lets see how many reply/bash after me.

• Mikey on Oct 26, 2016 at 3:00 pm

Looks like our PM have bypass both P1/P2 by introducing this EV to M’sian.

• Not Gov initiative, private. PM sapots trains instead

• Mikey on Oct 26, 2016 at 9:44 pm

Ahem john, when PM can sell our Edra Energy to China, he will sell U too. Its only a matter of time the HS Train & all trains contracts will be given/sold to China too. Looks more like U elp me, i elp U to me.

• Really? Then ur idol SG must have kena dedak many times over for buying a fleet of China trains. Grow up and grad from school first b4 coming here. This place not for kids

• alldisc on Oct 26, 2016 at 3:08 pm

I was thinking proton would be the first to produce in Malaysia. Don’t they have saga REEV and exora REEV?

• Well, they’ve tested them both. And tested. And tested. And tested. Like 5 years ago.

• Henry on Oct 26, 2016 at 3:59 pm

Yes, why make when you can rebadge and get others to assemble the car for you. Why saddle yourself with a huge overhead like a manufacturing plant? This is the way to make profits.

• Mikey on Oct 26, 2016 at 4:27 pm

The only problem I can see is “How much we have to pay in terms of royalty” for rebadging.

• arowana on Oct 26, 2016 at 4:12 pm

working with China company to come a car that boast local made is total bullshit.. why the hell our country’s company love to partner with other companies that sounds to be a failure, yet they still wanna proceed..

• Black Dog on Oct 26, 2016 at 5:04 pm

Just 200km? 100% it won’t work!

• Jimmy on Oct 26, 2016 at 11:05 pm

Ya, it has to be at least equivalent to 45L of fuel tank; 80L is even better.

• skeptik on Oct 26, 2016 at 5:10 pm

This car sells for 100k+ RMB in china.
    Not a very popular model at that.

More popular EVs are from BYD

• meteraxi icu on Oct 26, 2016 at 5:33 pm

These mean kuala lumpur will be texas usa.don waste money build railrod east cost.this scrap projek by 2030 we world use anti gravity flying machine.rajin rajin la tengok film movie najib.

• Anticipate on Oct 26, 2016 at 5:34 pm

Pure EVs are still not practical at the moment due to lack of charging stations. Hybrid EVs are the better choice but then, it can only really take off when oil prices will hit US$150/barrel. Otherwise, the general market acceptance will still remain as status quo.

• I can imagine someone getting stranded along PLUS, because he didn’t think about the return charge.

• TeksiDying on Oct 26, 2016 at 7:54 pm

125kmh top speed. There will be a lot of right lane hoggers in this piece of Chinese machine poop

• Jimmy on Oct 26, 2016 at 11:15 pm

Viva, Kancil, Myvi punya top speed berapas?

Left lane driving at 30km/jam talking iPhone boleh?

Scared that people will come out from T-junction without ‘berhenti’ even when you are near to the junction, memupuk tabiat of fast lane hogging?

Please build speed bump 5 metres before any T-junction.

• Kopi Kiss Kiss on Oct 29, 2016 at 11:42 am

There might be electric cars terbakar on the road in the future….