UMW Toyota recalls Vios, Altis, Yaris, Alphard in M’sia for airbag inflator replacement – grey imports covered

2009-toyota-vios-trd-sportivo

Following Toyota Motor Corp’s massive global recall to replace Takata airbag inflators involving millions of cars worldwide, including some of its best-selling models, local distributor UMW Toyota Motor (UMWT) has announced a “special service campaign” a.k.a. product recall for Malaysia.

This is a big one, and it involves the replacement of the inflator module in the airbag system on the front passenger side in various models. They are the Vios, Corolla Altis, Yaris and Alphard manufactured between October 2007 and December 2011. UMWT says that around 80,000 units are involved, and the figure only includes cars distributed by the official channel.

2010-toyota-corolla-altis

This latest recall is an expansion of earlier campaigns to fix the same Takata airbag issue that has dogged almost all the major Japanese brands. It is the auto industry’s biggest ever recall.

The defect is due to propellant degradation occurring after prolonged exposure to high humidity and temperatures. The inflators contain a non-desiccated, phase stabilised ammonium nitrate propellant that may cause the rupture of the module. If it does, metal fragments will pass through the airbag as it inflates and shoot into the cabin, leading to serious injury or death.

UMWT says that its princpal TMC is currently working on obtaining the necessary parts for the recall. Once the parts are available, UMWT will notify owners, requesting them to bring their cars to an authorised Toyota service centre for a job that will take from one to three hours. All costs will be borne by UMWT.

The company says that it is aware that some customers who are not the first registered owners of the affected cars may not be contactable, and they should contact Toyota service centres or get in touch by Toyota Freephone at 1800-8-TOYOTA (869682). Toyota is also currently updating its VIN database and owners can check their car’s VIN number at this dedicated page.

The inclusion of the Alphard raises questions about the fate of the many grey imports running in Malaysia. We reached out to UMWT and a spokesman said that yes, grey imported Alphards/Vellfires manufactured in the same period (October 2007 and December 2011) will be covered, although it’s only normal for the company to take care of its own customers first. Still, that’s good news for owners of the grey big MPVs. The online VIN checker is only for UMWT cars, so you’ll have to call Toyota Freephone.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Anything But P1, Greedy P2 on Oct 27, 2016 at 5:56 pm

I can imagine Sam Loo’s customers all call and made noises.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 3
    • Mike Chew on Oct 27, 2016 at 6:29 pm

Why made noise? Customers gip many thankiu to Sam & Toyota cuz vely responsibled & good heart.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 32
      • Nosushi on Oct 27, 2016 at 7:08 pm

Jepunis now no quality. Avoid at all cost

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 12
        • Sama L00 on Oct 28, 2016 at 11:24 am

We will replace all airbags, even though the car is not sold by us – This is RESPONSIBLE car maker and that’s why it is the largest car maker in the worlds for so many years!!

Proton no airbags recall simply their Wira, Waja, Iswara, Saga, Juara, Arena had NO airbags. Then you think Proton’s quality is better? lol… I just can’t stop laughing on your ignorance.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 13
          • Sam proton on Oct 28, 2016 at 5:23 pm

ww trust your son proton airbag no issue

• nosushi on Oct 28, 2016 at 5:30 pm

Why dragged in p1 here. This is about toyotaik / jepunis cars

• Toyol on Oct 28, 2016 at 11:22 pm

Funny LARGEST car maker got airbag problem.. maybe can learn from proton on how to choose airbag kihkihkih

• Yong Tau Fu on Oct 29, 2016 at 6:55 am

Aiyoo… why drag P1 here, this is about toyota.. if you really love your beloved toyota go to youtube hilux 2016 fail moose test. There is a lot of foreigners bashing toyota right now… go la protect your beloved toyota from them.. be the hero you are supposed to be..

• Jeffrey Read on Nov 23, 2016 at 10:39 pm

Excellent use of word from liable to responsible.

• loler on Oct 28, 2016 at 5:28 pm

Jepunis supporter lives in cave too long, only knows wira waja juara arena, lol

• karam singh on Oct 27, 2016 at 7:59 pm

So… the recall done many months already
        UMW just started , yeah very responsible
        But there still many other carmakers still not doing recall on the airbags.
        finger crossed

• Toyota been silent for too long. Unlike Honda, quickly start campaigning and replacing.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 6
      • Anything but P1, Greedy P2 on Oct 28, 2016 at 12:41 am

Guess the problems were here all along and they shut the customer from publicizing it. Now a lot came forward and they had no choice to do it

• Same L0rr on Oct 28, 2016 at 3:09 pm

As long as engine using timing chain, Toyota’s owner still satisfied with the Toyota product!

• Albert on Oct 27, 2016 at 6:48 pm

Why now only RECALLS EXPANDED to other models n year of manufacture,for Toyota?
      After the previous recalls involving some Camrys and Vios….why suddenly recalls?
      Dont they know Takata has supplied ammonia nitrate based inflators all this while?
      Has anyone died due to shrapnel injuries from the defective inflators?
      Maybe,some are in hospitals,half alive.
      And the beautiful part is TAKATA is still kicking and alive.
      It is shambolic,cos innocent lives are at stake.Some of the vios your uncle/nephew is driving is a TIMEBOMB,waiting for an accident to detonate the shrapnel into your neck.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
    • Hun Bun on Oct 28, 2016 at 9:01 am

As always Toyota being late,became follower to others than leaders in term of technology introducing and technical problem rectification.. No surprise Toyota no longer no 1 in Malaysia.Maybe there was serious incident happened recently that UMW trying to hide the news? Very suspicious! U knew that u got the same airbags supplier with Honda,but why this late? Toyota RV going down.

• Takeshi on Oct 27, 2016 at 5:56 pm

Good job UMW Toyota! Lead by example.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 85
  • inb4 meme Jepunis “Quality”

Toyota waited for owners to risk life 1st (and honda owners to kirred) b4 do replacement.

Why?

Cuz we MY pipu dun persoal jepunis overlords, since their salesmen/part-time enforcers will come bash anyone who dares.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 7
    • Madeyy on Oct 27, 2016 at 6:21 pm

No car is perfect.
      Deswai gahmen sapott naik Train

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 8
      • I will be sure to full use of this excuse whenever any bashers bring up P1. Thank q

• Tuuu diaaaaaaaa…….

• What about others like Toyota Harrier & Wish? Can go UMWT?

• aloha on Oct 27, 2016 at 8:59 pm

estima also…

• Strangerdoc on Oct 27, 2016 at 9:32 pm

Including “Grey Import”. Toyota responsible enough even if it is not bought at UMW toyota

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
      • 4wheeler on Oct 28, 2016 at 9:40 pm

Hopefully they will stay true as per promised (to include Grey Import).Imported models brought-in by 2nd dealers such as Toyota Wish,Alphard/Vellfire,Caldina,Harrier,Estima,Land Cruisers,Prado,Opal & all toyotas..

• the.mechanic on Oct 27, 2016 at 6:52 pm

Strange how life threatening killer airbags gets less hassle from malaysians compared to other issues like power window and gearbox

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 1
    • Cuz them salesmen has brainwashed MY pipu that its better to proudly die in a jepunis deathtrap, than shamefully survive in a P1.

• In the comment section, we like to complaint anything & everything under our sun.
      1) When no airbag’s, we complaint
      2) When no VSC, we complaint
      3) When CVT was introduced, we complaint that it sucks
      4) When “standard” tires is deem good enough for car manufactures to be installed for their cars but we still want to complaint that it is too ‘skinny’

If i call us M’sian as the BEST complainer in the world, I wonder how many people will agree ??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
      • I can be sure that Msian will complain that they not the best complainer in the world. But then I confident if complaining was an event in the Olympics, we wud have won our 1st gold long time ago.

• Optimus Prime on Oct 27, 2016 at 7:03 pm

Does the recall includes Estimas / Previas as well?

• Muahahahahaha…………

• Crasher7 on Oct 27, 2016 at 9:07 pm

Wait, I already replaced airbags for my family’s Vios few months ago. Why is it announced again??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
    • Acekin on Oct 27, 2016 at 9:53 pm

Previously driver side or both passenger and driver side?? Mine also called twice by Honda.. first driver and passenger..

• Lembu Jinni on Oct 27, 2016 at 10:18 pm

Why use “special service campaign”?
    Isit too shameful to issue “product RECALL” ?!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
    • Noh Jib on Oct 28, 2016 at 12:54 am

Product recall sounds too similar to Note 7 recall hence paraphrased to a more customer friendly special service campaign sempena Deepavali . Isn’t that lovely.

• Not Toyota Fan on Oct 28, 2016 at 3:27 pm

Why use “commission”? Is it too shameful to use “corruption”?

• nabill (Member) on Oct 28, 2016 at 12:28 am

Wow, was that vios always been that ugly? The white one in the pic above….. With all the new cars coming out lately, makes this things terrible…
    One a different note, its good actually that grey imports are covered as well….

• panjang on Oct 28, 2016 at 8:27 am

Responsible?
    For sure yes but why does it took so long to announce?
    The recall can be done together with other make which are affected but yet they delay.
    Just give it few more month,the list will just gets bigger.
    One big question,who will be held responsible for any death which occuur due to this,Takata or the car maker?

• azrai on Oct 28, 2016 at 9:15 am

Thank god kancil use Takada airbag a.k.a. tak-ada airbag.

• Ben Yap on Oct 28, 2016 at 9:40 am

my cervelo road bike never have any recalls. quality comes with price.

• nasha on Oct 28, 2016 at 10:22 am

easy to tipu MYpipu believe jepunis kompeni very responsible bla bla bla. jepunis kompeni do this recall campaign coz takut kene saman billion2 sampai bankrap. this takata airbag faulty dah lama punya kes (almost 10 years). only when some US citizen died in US due to this then, barulah jepunis overlord mau take actions do recall campaign. US consumer rights very strong. that’s why they have a lot of kes saman kompeni there. don’t play play. soooo go praise and worship your jepunis overlord saying they very responsible la very take care of customer la bla bla bla.

• alpinestar on Oct 28, 2016 at 10:22 am

also the new Toyota Hilux 2016 fails moose test ..

• sipaigong on Oct 28, 2016 at 10:23 am

Go buy the Vento and Jetta !! No worry.

• Same L0rr on Oct 28, 2016 at 3:07 pm

Dont play play with DSG.. issue never end!

• camtakpro on Oct 28, 2016 at 10:26 pm

Correct. No worry about safety. Since car cannot move or parking in service center.

• Kunta kinte on Oct 28, 2016 at 3:30 pm

good job Toyota!, its shows a strong leadership of a very reputable company.
    No need to wait people died due to airbag like honda.
    we at pakatan always talk about leadership, when u drive a toyota, people will straight away knows your value, capability and intelligent in managing money (high resale value – remember)
    drive an european cars, well, all rakyat knows that they have no brain,

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
    • Please watch your mouth

Toyota vehicle is not great or ideal for many people too.
      If it is ideal and great why so many consumers still prefer to buy other better or more premium vehicle brands and avoid owning a Toyota.

Maybe Toyota owners had so much brains until they had becomes brainless in the process.

Driving a Toyota means you are just middle or avergae income or just a new job starter joining the working world only. Still a lot to learn . Even in China, consumers prefer European cars than Japanese cars if they can afford simply because of higher status to show they had higher income brackets and higher education compare to those owners driving japanese cars. It is an actual fact happening in China’s consumer perceptions . so meaning to say all the china people are stupid when they can make rockets , space stations and satellites and drive european cars and not japanese cars ??

European cars always had an instant premium feel whereby from the car control buttons and materials used when u get into the car.

Getting into a Toyota car do not had any instant premium feeling cos the material used is so much hard plastic and certain buttons looks cheap in the making.

Even the Toyota car door hinges are small in comparing to bigger door hinges standard on european car. In comparing Passat to Camry , the passat door can support a person weight but not the camry

Maybe resale value is important in exchanging between and among toyota owners only from left to right . Outside the Toyota circles people/other car brands owners are not bothered with the stupid RV . That is why Toyota worldwide sales are slumping as many people in Toyota circle realise Toyota car is not worth buying nowadays .

Obviously consumers not driving a Toyota shall be the smartest .time bomb had happened in the past on unintended acceleration and takata air bags issues that had claimed valuable lives.

• Kunta kinte on Oct 31, 2016 at 9:45 am

passat?? , please dont insult, passat equivalent to vios only, if you want to compare with camry, please take a bwm 5 series (an example of very fast depreciation and crappy resale value car).
        why resale value bad?, because rakyat knows it has no quality, people appreciate resale value because of quality, that why we in pakatan appreciated quality people, and toyota is the main choice of us.

• halflife on Oct 28, 2016 at 5:33 pm

Yeah thy will go straight to early afterlife due to takata airbags

• Tahar on Oct 28, 2016 at 5:44 pm

Ha , Ha , ha, Bro

You seems to be a frustrated Toyota owner and would like to get more new Toyota owners to join your club of frustration when Toyota is not an adorable car brand nowadays.

People are stupid >>> period

• Yippi33 on Oct 28, 2016 at 4:14 pm

Never believe umwt and HM ever again when they say “Malaysian units not affected”…loads of BS

• old horse on Oct 28, 2016 at 4:49 pm

isn’t this prove that UMW also behind the grey alphard imports for years before they launch it with super high price?

• Hi Paul Tan, is grey import Estima ACR50 year 2006 affected by this Takata Airbag recall ? i cannot find information about it. thx.

• Takara airbag made from 2001 to 2015 globally & any manufacturer that use their airbags are affected..

I don’t think any manufacturer or even takara replacement\alternative can reproduce that amount of units to cater for the replacement. So from my observation every manufacturer in their respective country is doing it by phases..