LRT, Monorail riders entitled to refunds if train is late

LRT rail pix Bernama

Here’s something we didn’t know. Apparently, LRT and Monorail riders have the have the right to claim for refunds if their trains are at least 15 minutes late. This was revealed by minister in the prime minister’s department Datuk Nancy Shukri, reported by the New Straits Times.

The minister said that commuters who experience delays also have the option of claiming coupons, which could be used as tickets for a replacement journey the following day. “The same policy will apply to the MRT, which is expected to be operational by the end of 2016,” Nancy said in a parliamentary written reply to Datuk Koh Nai Kwong.

The Alor Gajah MP had asked whether the government would implement a compensation system for LRT and Monorail commuters who experienced delays, pointing out that public transport users in the UK and Japan are entitled to refunds if they encounter delays. He added that such a system would encourage operator Prasarana to ensure efficiency and upgrade its overall services.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Adam Grouse on Oct 31, 2016 at 4:04 pm

Implement for Bus servis also. RapidKL, but never punctual

• Ah Kow on Oct 31, 2016 at 4:57 pm

Totally 110% agree!!!!!!

• kzm (Member) on Oct 31, 2016 at 6:19 pm

U cant do that for buses.. if there is traffic jam who to blame?

• Pipu in London, Tokyo & SG can do it.

Malaysia Boleh ! sorak tak serupa buat ka. khkihkihkihh

• Who else to be blamed?

Government

• Abang Alza Pakai Topi on Oct 31, 2016 at 8:41 pm

You can do for buses. Its called BRT. Not the elevated type. The type we are supposed to geta along federal highway. No more emergency lane. One dedicated bus lane and 2 to 3 lanes for cars. You don’t know because you never care about car pooling. Laki bini lain kereta. WTH!

• kzm (Member) on Nov 01, 2016 at 1:53 am

of cuz u can do late arrival penalty for buses if they have their own separate lane.. Existing bus lane? u go kl u know n this is why i say can not do for conventional buses system.
          ps: i know wat is BRT fyi

• Looks like I can get free ride to work everyday if this policy is implemented on KTM Commuter.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
  • Mach 3 on Oct 31, 2016 at 4:22 pm

Implement for tolled highways in Klang Valley too if toll gate closed/malfunction during rush hour causing queue that stretches.

• Anything but P1, Greedy P2 on Oct 31, 2016 at 4:24 pm

Meanwhile KTM…
    Keretapi Tidak Maju

• latif on Oct 31, 2016 at 5:44 pm

ktm is not rapid rail, they shared the track with other train services

• alldisc on Oct 31, 2016 at 4:39 pm

this is just brilliant. in japan you even get an apology note from the train operator which can be presented to the boss as proof.

• In Japan is 5 minutes.

• Hmm... Much Hmm... on Oct 31, 2016 at 7:29 pm

In Japan it’s 30 minutes plus we have to go to the station master booth to collect the slip. I know because I used to live there.

• Regular LRT/KTM commuter on Oct 31, 2016 at 8:58 pm

How would one claim if LRT and Monorail does not have a published schedule?

With KTM it makes sense because they publish their timetable and chances are most commuter can’t get refund because they will be within the 15minute window.

• Ahmadjr on Oct 31, 2016 at 10:18 pm

It’s about 20-30 minutes if in uk. No way they will compensate if only a few minutes. 3 hari dah bungkus

• MalaysiaBoleh on Oct 31, 2016 at 9:02 pm

Toll operator also must give discount if traffic jam

• Savvykl on Nov 03, 2016 at 1:58 am

the report a bit wrong & not complete. please follow RapidKL press release.