RM1.4b upgrade to increase KTM Komuter frequency

ktm-komuter-2

The government has allocated some RM1.4 billion for upgrades to the KTM Komuter service, which will increase frequency during peak periods, Bernama reports. This was revealed by Transport Minister Datuk Seri Liow Tiong Lai, who hopes that the upgrading of the system can be completed by 2020.

“KTMB is implementing the Klang Valley Double Track (KVDT) project to upgrade the signal link in the Klang Valley. They will extend it to Seremban as the signal link can increase the frequency level,” he told reporters in Negeri Sembilan yesterday.

In May, KTMB said that we can expect KTM Komuter waiting times to be halved from the current 15 minutes to 7.5 minutes by 2019, with the new double tracks in place. Along with the shortened intervals, KTMB is also targeting the passenger per hour, per direction figure from 1,000 to 6,000, boosting daily ridership from 117,800 to 250,000.

“This project outcome is to achieve headway or frequency of every 7.5 minutes, which can be categorised as ‘Metro’ standard, like the LRT or the upcoming MRT. For the ‘Metro’ standard, the frequency is around 3.5 minutes, but we cannot achieve that. The maximum we can go to is 7.5 minutes,” KTMB project division GM Ismail Said said then.

It was also reported then that the RM1.41 billion KVDT project is slated for completion in November 2019, and it includes the laying of new tracks that will be easier to maintain, the replacement of 20-year old signalling equipment to reduce metal theft and service disruption, installation of radio systems, upgrading of 16 stations and a new feeder station in Sentul for generation of more electricity to increase train frequencies.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• marcello on Oct 31, 2016 at 12:05 pm

Syabas Gahmen prihatin.. Baru minggu lepas jer sangkut kat stesen KTM Kampar

• What?!! $1.4 billion for this system?!! Ok, not your money, spend as much as possible.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 6
    • Wahai Orang Kampung on Oct 31, 2016 at 3:23 pm

$1.4 billion on rail service is small money. When we can afford $2.6 billion on 1 person.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
      • Albert on Oct 31, 2016 at 5:38 pm

Orang kampong,
        Be careful..Tun said it is a crime to talk about the sensitive subject.
        Anyway,we talk 3 ,talk 4…we talk about cars/jpj/transportation.
        KTM,IS NO DIFFERENT than MAS….it has been bleeding from day 1.
        Part of the reason could be the POOR WORKING CULTURE and presence of VULTURES.
        THEY CANT EVEN ACHIEVE BREAKEVEN STATUS.
        Year in ,year out…..bailouts…more bailouts.(u can call it fund injection/subsidy etc)
        Worst than poor Protong.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
    • So how much should it be?

• Ahmadjr on Oct 31, 2016 at 12:24 pm

Install panel solar at the stations or along the tracks. The electricity goes back to the grid and you can make sum of money to cut the operational cost

• How much cost to install solar panel? To feed the grid, you need to apply FiT (feed in tariff) quota via SEDA. Unfortunately, there’s no more quota available anymore.

• Thanks to the ruling government and our pm, please continue expenditure on public transportation and infrastructure, indirectly creating employment opportunities for our nation’s youth and technical skills upgrading… Malaysia boleh

• Bodo piang. Why no MPs (from either side) persoal what happen to KTM ticketing system. Izit alredi operational or still in wrapping. Just cuz cannot politikus so all the politikuses dun care! Better to see it fail cuz public transport is PM grand plan! During budget, all cabut pegi teh tarik demo! Poodah!

• Tiger on Oct 31, 2016 at 1:18 pm

If such stated amount really spend on upgrade with proof of spending I would say it’s world no 1 train system ever

• Ah Kai on Oct 31, 2016 at 1:33 pm

Stop being too ambitious to achieve 7.5mins frequency. Current 15mins frequency also inconsistent and apply during peak hour only. After that 30-45mins. Improve the existing frequency & timing first la.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
  • Dr. Salleh on Oct 31, 2016 at 1:56 pm

Last week, I took the commuter train to Tampin from Bangi after like 20 years. I must say the train ride was excellent and very comfortable though not very cheap like in Korea and Japan.I even made friends while boarding the train.Hoping to use more train trips to KL and planning a longer trip to Sungai Petani via ETS quite soon.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
  • nabill (Member) on Oct 31, 2016 at 2:21 pm

this ktm sucks way too much cash every time there is a budget announcement , billions , and almost zero improvements..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
    • Be fair. What is good is good. No improvement? Really? You should use their service once in while. Condemn saja tak guna. Yup their commuter is not as good as what most of us want, but thumb up for their ETS, really help when you need to travel cheap and fast compare to airplane.

• nabill (Member) on Oct 31, 2016 at 6:38 pm

Ya i use…and thats my opinion… With the amount of money pumped in yearly, they should be 90% better and more efficient…

• alldisc on Oct 31, 2016 at 4:43 pm

during weekdays the train frequency is high. but during weekends it can get as long as 45 minutes.

i appeal to KTM to slightly increase the number of trains during the peak hours on sunday and saturdays. perhaps between 11am-2pm.

• Weekend crowd not economic feasible to run peak period frequency

• karam singh on Nov 01, 2016 at 9:41 am

obviously you are not using komuter services. the crowd is there. especially between UKM to Kepong/Sg. Buloh.

• Mamat Syukur Nikmat on Oct 31, 2016 at 6:33 pm

syukur sgt nikmat ada keretapi yang best, ada aircon…