Volkswagen wraps up fourth consecutive WRC manufacturers’ championship at 2016 Rally GB

vw-2016-wrc-champs

They came, they saw, they conquered. Two weeks after VW man Sebastien Ogier won his fourth consecutive FIA World Rally Championship drivers’ title, his team has wrapped up its fourth consecutive WRC manufacturers’ championship, making it four in four for both man and team.

Fittingly, the title was secured via Ogier and co-driver Ingrassia’s fourth victory in a row at the Rally Great Britain in Wales. It was the pair’s sixth win of the 13-round season. Rally GB was the penultimate round of the 2016 season, with Australia to come in mid November.

Jari-Matti Latvala/Miikka Anttila and Andreas Mikkelsen/Anders Jæger have both won one race each this year. This achievement means that Volkswagen can join Citroen as only the second manufacturer in the history of the WRC to win all three world titles (driver, co-driver, manufacturer) four years in a row.

“A great success for Volkswagen. The Polo R WRC and the Volkswagen Motorsport team have made motorsport history with their fourth title in a row. Given the strength of the opposition, this success has only been possible with a committed team effort, with every single member giving his best for the course. Congratulations and thank you to the whole team,” said Dr. Frank Welsch, member of the board of management at Volkswagen Passenger Cars.

Can anyone stop VW and Ogier in WRC? The team has won 42 in 51 rallies since making its debut at the 2013 Rally Monte Carlo, making the Polo R WRC the most successful car in the history of the series. The Polo has been on the podium 85 times. Next year, the 2017 Ford Fiesta WRC, Citroen C3 WRC and the returning Toyota with its Yaris WRC will have a crack at dethroning the Germans. It won’t be easy.

What’s still on the plate in Australia? Four drivers can still clinch second place overall, including VW’s Andreas Mikkelsen. The Norwegian is third after Rally GB and trail Hyundai’s Thierry Neuville by 14 points. A maximum 28 points are up for grabs Down Under.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Mikey on Oct 31, 2016 at 1:47 pm

Bravo VW. Beside having the best drivers, you also have the best machine & team. Without any one of the above, you will NOT win the manufacturer title. Congratulation to TEAM WRC VW.

• Mohd Faiz on Oct 31, 2016 at 3:43 pm

VW cheated again to make it come true? but how we wonder ..

• alldisc on Oct 31, 2016 at 4:41 pm

you mean – VW team using highway instead of estate road? hahaha

• Mikey on Nov 01, 2016 at 10:24 am

Mohd Faiz. when U say VW cheated without proof, U are as good as lying. Have U no shame !?

• VW already very well-known as DISCOUNT BRAND in Malaysia even before dieselgate. With DSG fiasco and all the bad repos, 2014/2015 old stocks with BIG-BIG DISCOUNT also no people dare to buy now. VGM should shut production and import base on order la. And VPCM gotta choose seriously: “NO DISCOUNT” or “NO SALES”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 10
    • Very less German tech will give huge discount. You are glad you stay in Malaysia can buy cheaper VW machine. It’s a piece of solid machine compare to Japs or local made. VGM only be in Malaysia for few years compared to Merc and BMW. Please give them some time ! Chill people .
      Ps: I am glad and happy with my Golf Mk7. Driven it for 2 years. Peace

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 14
      • VW=very worry on Oct 31, 2016 at 5:25 pm

Can guarantee DSG dun kaput ?

• Nothing is “guaranteed” dude. Can you find any car manufacturer dare to tell you that our gearbox “guaranteed” dun kaput ?? Most of them they giving 5 years warranty and during this period no one dare to tell my car is perfect . Same goes to VW , they not beating around the bush.. Ever since they come to Malaysia , they give 5 years warranty straight unlike BMW only recently changed to 5 years . FYI.. Beemer last time has been practicing 2 years for ages..

DSG is fantastic gearbox and it’s super fast during shifting. The fault can be due to many factors sometimes.. Get yourself one and you will know how quick DSG is. Since VW is offering 5 years warranty now with super attractive price.. Why so worry ?? All cars have their own problem.. If we always focus the bad, the bad will zoom in and become bigger . Why not look at the good side..
          Seriously I think VW model from 2014 onwards, they have been working very hard to improve the problem they had facing last time.
          So don’t worry, go showroom test drive then u will know. Sometimes just too many keyboard warriors know just how to bash but too bad is they don’t even own a VW before.. Go judge yourself. Peace ✌️

• FIST (Member) on Oct 31, 2016 at 2:55 pm

co driver also got separate world title..?

• Alifzz on Oct 31, 2016 at 3:25 pm

Can’t wait to see Proton Iriz MEM contending in upcoming WRC.

• Iriz chassis (4doors) cannot compete against these 2doors hatches.