Singapore to match Malaysia road charge, says it’s “discriminatory against Singapore-registered vehicles”

johor causeway jam bernama pix

Singapore will soon match Malaysia’s RM20 road charge at the two land entry points to Johor “in some form”, according to a Bernama report. Singapore’s Ministry of Transport was quoted as saying that Malaysia’s road charge (RC) was “discriminatory against Singapore-registered vehicles as it is only applied at the Singapore checkpoints.”

Details will be announced by the republic in due course. Singapore’s Ministry of Transport had earlier said that the republic will continue to match any increase in Malaysia’s tolls.

However, Malaysian transport minister Datuk Seri Liow Tiong Lai said that the Malaysian government had never practised discrimination in implementing RC for foreign-registered vehicles from Singapore entering Malaysia, and it would implement the charge at entry points from other countries in phases.

Singapore’s current toll charges (left), VEP fees (right)

“Singapore has been charging RC on us for decades. We are only about to start now. There is no discrimination. We will impose the road charge not only at our border with Singapore, but also our borders with Thailand, Brunei and Indonesia with a similar charge of RM20 per car,” Liow said. He also added that his counterpart in Singapore had been notified of the implementation of RC in advance.

As of 12:01am on November 1, drivers of Singapore-registered cars entering Johor either via the Causeway or the Second Link have been charged an additional RM20 fee, on top of checkpoint toll charges imposed by both Malaysia and Singapore. With the new charge, a round trip for a Singapore-registered car entering Johor will incur over S$19 (RM57) in fees.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• Kete Brunei, Siam, Kalimantan Xder road charge ker

• Kunta Kinte on Nov 02, 2016 at 11:59 am

don’t worry, we will kowtow to Singapore. Just like how we kowtow to China.

Who knows, even the kastam complex also we might sell to China.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 10
      • Dedak in the house on Nov 02, 2016 at 12:19 pm

Yup.. we “sold” penang tunnel to china.. who knows right..

• Certain segments in MY alredi kowtow to SG and alwiz bash Gov. oh wai…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 8
      • Nancy on Nov 02, 2016 at 1:50 pm

You are singaporean also. Come here stir thing only.

• Samlorh on Nov 02, 2016 at 10:34 am

Yes Singapore… Malaysia charge RM20 so obviously you should also charge us 20SGD because that totally make sense and isn’t discriminatory… And F*** logic #Kiasu

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 69 Thumb down 7
  • Pondan lembik on Nov 02, 2016 at 10:34 am

Singapok and their people always complaining..whenever see them pecut on our highway bringing their true ahbeng identity.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 6
    • SGpore and certain segments in MY, berpisah tiada.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
    • Leonardo on Nov 02, 2016 at 4:14 pm

I have to agree with this observation. Although there are a few ‘law abiding Singaporean drivers’, the majority will speed on the right lane and expecting other drivers to make way for them. Because in Singapore they don’t dare to speed. CCTVs are everywhere. Heavy fines, because Singapore is a ‘fine country’. They are not worried with our speeding fines as it is penuts to them. RM300.00 is just S100.00.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
      • kopiokaokao on Nov 02, 2016 at 11:26 pm

Do not assume S plate means Singaporean driver, there are a lot of Msian PR driving S plate car too…with Kiasi Singaporean vs earning SGD Malaysian PR….who do you think more likely to cheong 150km/h in NSHW?

• yeah very good, go buy e-scooter no toll or vep, no jam also

• waiting for John to bash Singapore

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 8
  • Pity those Malaysian PR on Nov 02, 2016 at 11:01 am

Singapore charging RC for decades, but at least that’s only from mon -Fri!! Weekend and public holiday is free idiot! The Malaysia RC is per entry so I don’t see how is that fair or not discriminate

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 35
    • ex-VGM staff on Nov 02, 2016 at 11:48 am

it is still a lot cheaper when you convert the currency. RM20 is about SGD6-7. which is not much to most singaporeans with cars (bearing in mind that a honda civic with COE is almost SGD100k @ RM300k)

• kzm (Member) on Nov 02, 2016 at 11:57 am

bolehland pipu enter Singapore everyday to work or Singaporean enter boleh 7 days a week. Who do u think will suffer more. the guy who pay S$35 or RM20?

• Anonymous on Nov 02, 2016 at 1:54 pm

FYI, the majority of M’sians who work in SG do not drive… they ride motorcycles or public transport.

• Hot Cat not Hot Dog on Nov 02, 2016 at 10:16 pm

We 30 thousands workers everyday drive motorbike to SG no charge from thems lah ! And some by bas kilang . Very minimum will drive cars those are sale peoples and they maybe enter SG a day per week.
        And you know what? They will bring back their money here to spend..buy house buy cars and bank loan easily approved, because of their income paid.
        And also many Singaporean like to come MY to spend cos currency rates. Why MY want to charge 20 ringgit… want to control number of cars to enter? … I don know ??

• Err… for all the fuel you Sg pump up full before go back to SG maybe?

• you guys have bigger currency. whats RM20 for you?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
    • Bahomet on Nov 02, 2016 at 2:02 pm

Yea, you compare RM20 road charge per entry vs Singapore VEP SGD35 PER DAY.

• FirYa on Nov 02, 2016 at 3:38 pm

Eh come on la, what’s RM20 to you? Your currency is bigger.You charge a lot to us Malaysian. I have many Malaysian friends work at Singapore. They said, it is expensive to go to work via vehicles so they walk for at least 10km per day you know? Even motorcycle pun kena charge maa. Kecoh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
  • Liow Teng Lai,

If SG raises their charges to Malaysian cars, you should step down for failure to negotiate this in advance. In fact you should step down now as you have proven to be a useless and incompetent transport minister in all issues raised so far (bus crashes, airline and airport problems, useless KTM, and now this RC issue).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 31
  • 4G63T DSM on Nov 02, 2016 at 11:22 am

Good then. Greed causes untold additional grief for normal citizens trying to slog through life with ever increasing costs. Sinkipore has long indicated they will match any charges. Stupid of us to bulldoze this through.

It would cost malaysians more than what we can get from sinkipore.

We pay SGD.
    They pay RM.
    We go there on a daily basis to work.
    They come in infrequently.
    They charge to discourage people to drive in and congest thier roads.
    We charge to discourage Sinkiporeans from coming to shop and spending thier money.

BRAVO. Really good job there.

Wonder what TMJ will say about this as it affects his Rakyat the most.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 9
    • My thoughts exactly. What is Malaysia tying to prove? When Singapore imposes a reciprocal charge on our vehicles, who loses? Their currency is 3x ours, it is a no brainer.

• precisely! sadly alot shortsighted foolish bloke here…

• Anonymous on Nov 02, 2016 at 2:08 pm

They do come in frequently… while the majority of M’sians who work in Sg ride the motorcycle or take public transportation. There are more Sg cars entering M’sia via the causeway than M’sians driving into Sg. Sg has implemented somesort of fee for cars entering its city state for a long time while M’sia hasn’t until now so Sg has been milking our drivers for years. M’sia n Johor does not see this as a tit for tat matter… but if u really know Sg then u know all to well that they are just waiting for an excuse to justify additional charges towards M’sians. Too many Sg cars are already on our roads every single day and it is the rakyat that pays for its maintenance… so why not M’sia and Johor for that matter impose a bit on them? n this will be implemented on other entrances on other foreign cars too ie from thailand, brunei & indonesia. I don’t see any reduction of Sg cars on M’sian roads soon… at least they’ll be paying for using them.

• When MY do cannot, when SG do is ok. Topkek

• Nex100 on Nov 02, 2016 at 12:31 pm

Singapore VEP charge is not discriminatory? We should match RC to SGD 35 per day and not RM 20 per entry.

• Ohhh if thats what you suggest, then Singapore VEP charge should also change the VEP to per entry basis! NOT mon-fri 2am-5pm only! No more free entry on weekend/public holiday or after office hours! In the end msian work in SG suffer the most.

Drivers of foreign-registered cars and motorcycles need not pay any VEP fees for the day if they drive into Singapore after 5pm and leave by 2.00 am the following day on weekdays during this period. VEP fees remain non-chargeable on Saturdays, Sundays and Singapore Public Holidays.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
      • Yong Tau Fu on Nov 02, 2016 at 10:20 pm

Charge whatever they want.. cause I never go to singapore by car.. only a fool drive to singapore..

• Leafable on Nov 02, 2016 at 12:33 pm

Malaysia need Singapore more than Singapore need Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 26
    • seletar on Nov 02, 2016 at 12:50 pm

Are you kidding me? Tell me where Temasik got their freshwater supply?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 4
      • reservoir on Nov 02, 2016 at 1:19 pm

from ourselves. tell us where Msia got your water from now?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 16
        • Machoman on Nov 03, 2016 at 1:15 am

Oo gud…so malaysia can stop selling water to sinkapore already…I can’t wait for that

• seletar on Nov 02, 2016 at 1:00 pm

Are you kidding me?Tell me where Temasik got fresh water supply?

• BlurSotong on Nov 02, 2016 at 3:55 pm

Get your facts right . I am true blue Johorean. Malaysia supply untreated water aka dirty and longkan water to Sg for 100 years . We buy treated and safe water from Sg. Sg is 30 percent water dependant though NEWater and many water catchments in spore.
        The retail and services in Johor need Cash rich or currency powerful Spore to spend in Malaysia. PERIOD.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 9
        • KontiKinte on Nov 02, 2016 at 6:59 pm

If they didn’t spend it at Johore then where they gonna spend it. Sarawak? Brunei? Or at the dam sea?

• Yong Tau Fu on Nov 02, 2016 at 10:27 pm

If johor can’t survive without singaporean.. then, they are not that really good state.. how about you just shut up and show how good johor really is.. stop kissing singaporean ass please, johor people are much better than that..

• Gaviny on Nov 02, 2016 at 1:37 pm

No wonder the Singaporean are all very childish , everything the gahmen take care for them , no independence at all.

• Peter on Nov 02, 2016 at 4:07 pm

Ya add as you wish. 20 or 200 make no diff. You won’t know how gov spend this money anyway, especially out gov.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Nov 02, 2016 at 8:17 pm

jangan masuk la….jam enuf already

• kopiokaokao on Nov 02, 2016 at 11:39 pm

Whenever you can’t solve your problem, the easiest way is shift your blame to your rich neighbour…why?
    1. Your road is jam and your city is cloak..Singaporean fault…
    2. Road lack of maintenance with lots of pot holes…Singaporean Fault
    3. RM3 vs SG1….Singaporean fault
    4. JB living standard too high…Singaporean fault
    5. Oil price low…oil price high…Singaporean fault
    6. Singaporean Rich…Malaysian poor….Singaporean fault
    7. Water ration in many malaysia city…Singaporean fault
    8. Speeding in NSHW with the latest sports car…Singaporean fault
    9. Genting Casino…Singaporean fault
    10. Fill in the blank your self…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 8
  • Singapore is sustained by all the laundered and illegal money sitting in their banks. They should be quiet actually.

• Hot Cat not Hot Dog on Nov 04, 2016 at 8:06 am

I want to say is rakyat MY & SG tak salah…
    Everything are politician fault !!!