SPYSHOTS: Honda BR-V SUV spotted in Malaysia

honda-br-v-malaysia-01

Oh look what we have here – it’s the Honda BR-V, lightly covered and spotted by reader Kamal Kaiza turning into Honda Malaysia’s plant in Pegoh, Melaka. It’s the new SUV’s first sighting in Malaysia, and seeing that it’s already out and about running on-road tests, it looks like the new model will be coming here sooner rather than later.

For the uninitiated, the Honda BR-V is an upright SUV based on the Mobilio MPV. The ‘Active Sport Crossover’ measures 4,455 mm long, 1,735 mm wide and 1,650 mm tall, with a wheelbase of 2,660 mm. That’s 161 mm longer, 35 mm narrower and 45 mm taller than the HR-V, with a 50 mm longer wheelbase.

It’s already on sale in both Indonesia and Thailand, powered by the same 1.5 litre SOHC i-VTEC engine as seen on the Jazz and City, here putting out 117 hp and 146 Nm of torque. Drive is sent to the front wheels via an Earth Dreams CVT. There’s also a 100 PS/200Nm 1.5 litre i-DTEC diesel version in India.

honda-br-v-malaysia-02

In Thailand, the BR-V is available with five or seven seats, whereas it’s a standard seven-seater in Indonesia and India. Malaysia is expected to get the latter option, though it shouldn’t really be an issue as all the rear seats are foldable (50:50 for the third row and 60:40 for the second). Read Anthony Lim’s first review of the SUV here.

We’ll have to wait for the exact details and specifications of the Malaysian models, but for those who have been waiting for the BR-V to arrive, this sighting should prove exciting. Yes, it’s finally coming.

GALLERY: Honda BR-V driven in Japan

GALLERY: Thai-spec Honda BR-V

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• Salesman mentioned about going for BR-V training this week and assembly has already started. Should be out by end of this month or December. Indicative price is above Honda City and below HR-V. 7-seat version confirmed. Now Sienta is not alone…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 0
    • Pinky on Nov 02, 2016 at 2:34 pm

I don’t know why people kept condemning about the looks of the Sienta. It’s actually quite a good looking car and I really like the futuristic design of it. Been to Singapore and Japan recently and you could see the Sienta almost anywhere. Rode one as an uber in Singapore and it’s quite refined and comfortable.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
      • Salam sejahtera on Nov 02, 2016 at 3:49 pm

Trust me, sienta look like an alien car that design by alien engineer from mars and pluto..sienta looks so weird and ugly, even more ugly than a pig..btw, same loo will say that sienta have good resale value..whats the point to have good resale value sam loo? U think that all people will use it for a month and then sell it again?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 12
      • RavenAii (Member) on Nov 04, 2016 at 12:01 am

Yeah I also think that the Sienta is a really cool, jazzy and futuristic looking vehicle. A few uncles and aunties were a bit disappointed with the look, while me, I dislike the powertrain offered with the vehicle. Should’ve been a 1.8L mill since it is positioned between the 1.5L Avanza and 2.0L Innova in terms of pricing, and also, there’s no manual option! But overall it is a real beauty to look at.

• seman on Nov 02, 2016 at 4:29 pm

price under 100k & beat the fail priced toyota rush

• Please price it sensibly and kill that fugly Sienta!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 12
    • ex-VGM staff on Nov 02, 2016 at 11:50 am

ugly? you are saying japanese are crazy?

sienta is the 3rd best selling car in Japan. they are entering a new era of motoring and you are left behind 10 years back.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 11
    • Kunta Kinte on Nov 02, 2016 at 12:11 pm

Don’t worry, come here sure price is Rm100k and above. See who owns Honda….it is the gomen through DRB.

MITI will make sure the price is over RM100k to untung more.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
  • Abang Alza Pakai Topi on Nov 02, 2016 at 10:17 am

P2 Alza > All

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 11
  • Toyota salesmen will scare till pee

• I hope malaysian version has 1.8 version option

• CarSifu on Nov 02, 2016 at 10:45 am

My gosh the rear looks farnee man

• Aquila on Nov 02, 2016 at 10:49 am

Finally… it’s coming soon… A Yeay for me!

• Nazri on Nov 02, 2016 at 11:15 am

Price starts from RM118k according to my friend working in Honda

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 17
    • jinggo on Nov 02, 2016 at 11:35 am

In your dream bro..

• aquila on Nov 02, 2016 at 11:49 am

My guess based on the price in the two neighbouring countries… it will be between these RM90K to RM110K price range. I do hope it’s not above RM110k price range.

• karam singh on Nov 02, 2016 at 11:51 am

sitting nicely between HRV and CRV. and at the same time kacau the sales of both models as well as pushing resale value for HRV slightly lower.

• BRV Fans on Nov 02, 2016 at 11:57 am

Impossible RM 118k, if this range, totally no ppl will buy and better go for HR-V or civic 1.8 range.
      price should be RM 80k to RM 95k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
    • seman on Nov 02, 2016 at 12:09 pm

is it b-segment suv? why the price so much premium than new civic?

• Abg deris on Nov 02, 2016 at 11:05 pm

Hahaha , rm 118k much better buy recond estima

• thepolygonal on Nov 02, 2016 at 11:43 am

So this is against Toyota Rush… hehehe.
    Bring in the Honda Step WGN to fight off Sienta.

• BRV Fans on Nov 02, 2016 at 12:03 pm

Finally…. waiting from year 2015 till now.
    Finally…. new model to fight with 7 seater market.
    Finally…. new choice for Malaysia market.

• applegreen on Nov 02, 2016 at 12:22 pm

Next time PT team boleh try hire photographer menyorok belakang pokok kelapa dekat maingate kilang honda

• seancorr (Member) on Nov 02, 2016 at 12:27 pm

Took them long enough but maybe because it wasn’t designed to have the usual suit of safety features. Maybe HM was adding the airbag count and other safety aspects of the vehicle since it only has the basic ABS and 2 airbags elsewhere.

• Waiting BRV on Nov 02, 2016 at 1:07 pm

At last the long awaited is here!!!

• Powderlah on Nov 02, 2016 at 1:51 pm

First of all, please don’t get me wrong.
    To understand the projection of power as a people mover, I have googled around youtube for br-v top speed. In average it managed to get to 160kmh, but very slow to reach the figure with driver only. What if this car fully loaded with 7 people? How confident is the driver to overtake lorry/bus at the speed of 110kmh? How about going uphill? We need at least 1.8l not 1.5l.

• hamas on Nov 02, 2016 at 5:56 pm

It catching up it’s competitor, Alza. Gogogogo!

• Salam Sejahtera on Nov 02, 2016 at 8:17 pm

what? I only see 2 tin milo, the white one and the black one