Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid – M’sian launch this month, CKD

2017-hyundai-ioniq-hybrid-uk-spec-02

It has been awhile since we last saw the launch of a regular hybrid car for the masses, not luxury plug-in hybrids costing more than apartments. Since the expiration of CBU hybrid incentives at the end of 2013, Toyota and Honda have largely stopped peddling hybrids, with the exception of the locally-assembled Toyota Camry Hybrid. Now, Hyundai has something up its sleeve.

It has been showcased and caught testing in Malaysia, and now the Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid is ready to make its debut. Hyundai-Sime Darby Motors (HSDM) tells paultan.org that the Ioniq is set to be launched later this month. The (non-plug-in) hybrid version of the Ioniq – which was designed to also accommodate plug-in hybrid and EV systems – will be locally assembled in Kulim, Kedah, to take advantage of tax breaks.

The Hyundai Ioniq trio – hybrid, plug-in hybrid and full EV – made its motor show debut at this year’s Geneva show. The Ioniq Hybrid went on sale in the UK last month, which means that we’re pretty quick off the mark here. Malaysia will also be the first location outside of Ulsan in Korea to assemble the Ioniq.

2017-hyundai-ioniq-hybrid-uk-spec-03

Hyundai’s answer to the Toyota Prius is powered by a 1.6 litre Kappa GDI four-cylinder direct injection engine, producing 105 PS at 5,700 rpm and 147 Nm of torque at 4,000 rpm. Hyundai claims that this internal combustion engine has the world’s highest thermal efficiency at 40%. Interestingly, that’s the same claim with the same 40% figure as Toyota’s current fourth-gen Prius.

The Kappa GDI is mated to a permanent magnet synchronous electric motor with 32 kW (44 PS) and 170 Nm, a lithium-ion polymer battery (lower memory sensitivity, better charge/discharge efficiency and better maximum output over Ni-MH nickel-metal-hydride batteries) and a six-speed dual-clutch automatic transmission (DCT). The combined system output from the engine and electric motor is 141 PS and 265 Nm.

The electric motor was specifically designed for world-class efficiency, with optimisation measures including up to 10% thinner core components (electrical steel sheet) and rectangular-section copper wire for reduced core and copper loss. The motor enables the Ioniq to run in pure electric mode at speeds of up to 120 km/h.

2017-hyundai-ioniq-hybrid-uk-spec-17

A unique point compared to Japanese hybrids is the use of a DCT over a CVT. Hyundai claims that its dual-clutch ‘box has best-in-class transfer efficiency through the use of low-friction bearings and low-viscosity transmission oil. It also features Sport and Eco modes – the former holds on to lower gears for longer, while the latter shifts up earlier to higher gears for maximum fuel efficiency.

The Ioniq is built on a new dedicated platform, and benefits from a number of weight-saving measures, including the use of an aluminium bonnet and tailgate that shaves 12.4 kg off steel versions. The material is also used on a large proportion of suspension parts to save around 10 kg, including 4.6 kg off the front lower arms and 7.14 kg off the rear lower arms. Even the cargo cover on the Ioniq is around 25% lighter than on other Hyundai models.

Under the skin, a multi-link rear suspension system with dual lower arms enhances ride comfort, Hyundai says, while the steering has been tuned for clear and precise response and feedback, with an increased ratio for a sportier character. The brakes have also been optimised to maximise regenerative braking performance.

Aerodynamics is important in in fuel-saving car, and the Ioniq’s Cd value is 0.24. Contributing factors are front wheel air curtains, active air flap in the front grille, rear spoiler and diffuser, side sill mouldings, floor undercover and a closed wheel design. Of course, there are low rolling resistance tyres as well.

Other highlights include batteries located under the rear seats to maximise cabin space; in-dash insulation to minimise engine noise; floor panel damping, enhanced A- and B-pillar fillings, thicker window glass and noise-cancelling windscreen film to further reducee NVH, and suspension tuned for ride comfort.

Recyclable materials find their way onto a Hyundai for the first time – the interior door covers are made from recycled plastic and powdered wood and volcanic stone, trimming 20% of mass compared to conventional materials. The headlining and carpet also feature raw materials extracted from sugar cane, while eco-friendly paint with soybean oil ingredients produce metallic finishes on some components.

The claimed fuel consumption is as low as 3.4 litres per 100 km (29.4 km/l) in the UK, which makes the Ioniq an interesting proposition, especially if HSDM manages to give it an attractive EEV price. The Hyundai’s styling is surely less polarising than that of the Prius, too, and there’s a hint of Honda CR-Z at the back. What do you think?

GALLERY: Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid in Malaysia

GALLERY: Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid, UK spec

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Original Sam on Nov 03, 2016 at 1:16 pm

Buy kimchi no RV, buy sushi so happy. simple!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 84
    • Wolfgang Puck You on Nov 03, 2016 at 3:10 pm

Nowadays kimchi is as reliable as sushi..I used to owned Vios,the dashboard make rattle sound then altis engine make timing chain sound,.. My wife bought an Elantra driving experience all smooth and fuel efficiency great too.Then i count the depreciation percentage of of my Vios and altis was at 45% and 50%.I found on car mags,car ads and used car dealerships,kimchi depreciation about the same too! Kimchi sell new cars cheaper of course the value is cheaper than sushi.So how can kimchi no RV? Unless u sell before 3 years of usage,but who the #### sell at very short time? If sushi sell before 3 year it will be no RV as well.RV is count by percentage over years of usage not simply by value of the car.People don’t buy less than 3 years cars,they prefer new instead.Be logic la stupid Same Loooo

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 95 Thumb down 3
      • Kunta bin Kinte on Nov 03, 2016 at 6:26 pm

I am shocked at this Hyundai Hybrid. Amazing how Hyundai has come out with an equivalent to Camry Hybrid.

My question is this…where is Proton’s Hybrid and EV cars? Proton promised their Hybrid 8 years ago. They took lots of our money to do research to develop a hybrid. Where has the money gone and where is the Proton Hybrid?

Then Proton showcased their EV Iriz 3 years ago. Big hoo haa. They again asked gomen more money to come out with a production Iriz EV. What happened? Where is the money and where is the car? Our money mah!
        I am shocked Hyundai can do so well. The company is only 10 years older than Proton. And yet, Hyundai sells 9 million vehicles globally per annum. Proton only sells 50,000 vehicles per annum and bulk of it is purchased by the Government departments to “help” Proton.

9 million vs 50,000. You be the judge.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
    • Halo… everybody forgot about the Note 7 is it??

If they can screw up the battery for a phone…

Surely a hybrid is also at risk!!

• Mikey on Nov 03, 2016 at 1:23 pm

Wow, this Koreans upstarts are giving the Japanese a run for their $$$. What is more interesting is that the Ioniq is using a DCT instead of CVT to deliver the goods.

The Koreans is showing the Japs that they can make a better looking EV/Hybrid cars. The Koreans win on looks alone hands down.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 63 Thumb down 2
    • Mickey mouse on Nov 03, 2016 at 2:35 pm

How do u know dct is better?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 17
      • Mahogany Tool on Nov 03, 2016 at 3:16 pm

He said more interesting lor.. better on design.But what if this interesting DCT Korean is better than CVT Japanese? That Prius C look puny and girly but so expensive.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
      • Bash Basher on Nov 03, 2016 at 3:35 pm

Go ask Porsche!

• kanazai2001 on Nov 03, 2016 at 5:12 pm

fyi…
      nissan x-trail PHEV uses single brushless motor with dual clutches + CVT…

• kudos to HSDM for bringing in the Ioniq quickly

hopefully it is specced and priced right for the masses

• Ah Kow on Nov 03, 2016 at 2:51 pm

When is Elantra/Avante coming? !

• Han sam ha me da on Nov 03, 2016 at 4:22 pm

I watched de singapore tv ad new elantra…nice look !!

• Bobby on Nov 07, 2016 at 6:33 pm

I rent the new Elantra known as Avante in Korea.. i drove the midspec version in Jeju.. What I can say, K-car have been improved lately in terms of handling and the comfort when drive.. The NVH is so good AF and it also fuel efficient.. it is quite suprising I just only use 3/4 tank of fuel touring one whole Jeju.. I heard the new Elantra will come by next year.. let’s wait for the car to launch in Malaysia..

• Sammy Vellu on Nov 03, 2016 at 1:29 pm

Meanwhile, Proton is still showcasing their Proton Saga BLM “Hybrid”, or their Proton Exora “Hybrid” since 2009.

I remember PT reported that Proton will launch their Hybrid vehicles by end-2014 back in 2013; then on 2014, made another article stating that a Proton Hybrid will surface by end-2015. Look what year is it now …

No surprises actually. Look at our own government, first is Wawasan 2020, then Transformasi 2050. So at year 2020 when Teslas’ and autonomous driving are everywhere, Proton gonna make another statement saying “Proton set to launch their first Hybrid vehicle by end-2030, lowest-spec model to get ABS, and ESC will be available across the range”.

Owh, and it comes with a 10 years, unlimited mileage power-window warranty!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 5
    • P1 ≠ Gov

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
    • With oil prices so low, theres less incentive for EV Hybrid cars. So P1 can take as long as it needs to ensure the right car comes out at the right time. Not like previous 22 years.

• FireAce on Nov 03, 2016 at 5:30 pm

Although the global crude oil price is low, our petrol price is NOT!

RON97 is RM2.30/L now, not too far from all time high of around RM2.65/L when crude oil was USD120 per barrel. (If I remember correctly, at that time all petrol is RON97, lower version is RON92)

• Nope. Highest was Rm2.70 back in 2008, but that was with full subsidy that time. So cant compare now. We shud wean ourselves from this artificially low addiction.

• Call Me Maybe! on Nov 03, 2016 at 3:37 pm

And why u desperately counting and waiting on proton? U really want to be their first hybrid buyer isit? Proton sell what it can offer.An ambition is no wrong but better than no ambition at all.Sigh! Shut up la we talking about Korean and hybrid,proton is out of topic!Spm failed?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
    • Habiby on Nov 03, 2016 at 4:17 pm

Ayoyo Sammy. We talking about Korean car vs Japan car and so sudden you include local car in the conversation.
      You mabuk todi ke???

• This is killing its elder cousin, recently launched all new Cerato.

• Hot Like Me on Nov 03, 2016 at 3:25 pm

If price less than 90k i’ll buy 10! Parking outside Toyota showrooms tell them this is how u design a car and sell at affordable price! Not at greedy price! I’m talking about u UMW!

• Henry on Nov 03, 2016 at 1:45 pm

Nice looking, but I would change those wheels.

• Ben Yap on Nov 03, 2016 at 2:17 pm

knowing hyundai, sure the pricing of the car is ridiculously high.

better off with a prius or might as well just get a tesla.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 30
    • Bash Basher on Nov 03, 2016 at 3:59 pm

Your comment is very ironic..
      “price ridiculously high” and “better off with Tesla”???

• Ben Yap on Nov 03, 2016 at 5:36 pm

Because it is a Hyundai, a badge not worth investing. High price, low resale value.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 15
        • taknak on Nov 04, 2016 at 12:31 am

since when in Malaysia a car is an investment? do you know what is investment?

• Ayman on Nov 04, 2016 at 2:24 am

Hey…u talk about resale value?koreans car are at good rv nowadays..koreans car better than germany car and almost same the japanese..hyundai automotive is a 35th biggest company in the world..hyundai now is different..koreans car have lowest problem based on the j.d power ok..

• omegle on Nov 03, 2016 at 2:31 pm

looks interesting, can’t wait to see the real thing when it’s launched here

• FIST (Member) on Nov 03, 2016 at 3:08 pm

let’s hope with the EEV incentives and CKD will make the price reasonable. with fuel prices going up, i will consider this car for future purchase

• Blue travel on Nov 03, 2016 at 3:19 pm

What’s the pure electric range?

• Louis on Nov 03, 2016 at 3:31 pm

The interior and THE FLAT BOTTOM STEERING WHEEL!

• BeemerFreak on Nov 03, 2016 at 5:06 pm

It’s a lot better looking than the new Prius….good thing that we are not getting that ugly car here

• Aero (Member) on Nov 03, 2016 at 5:33 pm

Excellent news ! The new Ioniq will be big, it is after all, the Korean Prius. I’m very impressed at how quickly Hyundai/HSDM and Inokom have announced our local launch, and on top of that, it will even be locally assembled as well.

CKD cars usually launch later because it takes time to commission local vendors to manufacture components, and train workers to assemble them at the factory. This is why we always get Toyota, Honda, Nissan etc.. cars months after our Thai and Indonesian neighbours (it’s because we import the CKD packs from them).

But for Hyundai/ Inokom, we can see that the opposite is true; Malaysia is the production hub. But it remains to be seen whether Inokom will export the Ioniq to Thailand, and if so, whether it will be in CBU form (like the Elantra currently) or CKD packs (unlikely, because Hyundai shut down their Bangkok factory).

Looking forward to the launch.

• Better dun CKD here cuz MY pipu alredi says if got their hands involved, then it wun have quality. “MY pipu make no quality one!” according to them. So better CBU.

• Waiting for the full spec and pricing..well if its less than 100k will be considering..otherwise not worth it for me i guess..space not much bigger than a focus(by youtube review)meaning the interior space equivalent to b segment car..

• Andrekua on Nov 03, 2016 at 7:25 pm

I think the word DCT will send shivers through potential buyers heart. Given that most Dual Clutch strike fears, I wonder why SD insist on it.

• cropika on Nov 03, 2016 at 9:15 pm

any news regarding the price editor? with prius priced around 149k…hope this goes aroun 100k…that could kill toyota. haha