Mazda car prices to increase next year due to forex

2016 Mazda CX-3 Dynamic Blue Mica 2

Prices for Mazda vehicles in Malaysia will go up next year. This was announced by Bermaz CEO Datuk Seri Ben Yeoh at a dinner with the media tonight. The head of Mazda’s local distributor said that the move is due to forex movements.

The company has tried to hold on to prices for as long as it could, but the recent strength of the Japanese yen against the Malaysian ringgit has made the price increase inevitable, Yeoh explained.

At the event, Mazda also previewed the new CX-9 to the media. The second-generartion CX-9, the brand’s flagship SUV and big brother to the popular CX-5, will be launched in June 2017.

Powered by a SkyActiv 2.5T turbocharged engine, it will come in 2WD and AWD variants plus Mazda’s i-ActivSense safety technology and generous equipment. Details and gallery here.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• WT Fuchhh on Nov 03, 2016 at 8:20 pm

Now….Only the rich can drive……Everybody else can take MRT n LRT….

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 4
    • Operation Manager on Nov 03, 2016 at 10:33 pm

Mazda previous month sales oledi behind luxury MERC-BENZ… car price still increasing…? 2017/18 good buy Cheap Sales 2016 built NEW car…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
      • Kunta bin Kinte on Nov 04, 2016 at 8:57 am

What a disgrace. Last increase few months ago Bermaz said because of the US dollar. Today, they change story. Now, they say it is the Yen. So, which is it? Which story is true? US dollar or YEN? Looks like PURE lies and greed.

Where is Najib’s promise to reduce car prices? Already Monday we kena whack with super increase in petrol prices. Now, we kena whack with this news. How long can the rakyat suffer like this?

I also suspect Bermaz aka crony company is trying to do a bluff. You see, Mazda has now become a toilet brand. Sales have plummeted like mad. Infact, Mazda sales showroom have close to near ZERO sales. This maybe a ploy to clear 2016 old stock lying in the yard.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 5
        • Henry on Nov 04, 2016 at 10:43 am

What is the difference? The RM lost about 25% against both the USD and JPY.

• Kunta bin Kinte on Nov 04, 2016 at 12:31 pm

pakai hotak sikit. CBU Japan Made CX5 in US is only US$20k. Here RM150k. We are already paying overbloated prices.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 5
          • Lee Kum Kee on Nov 04, 2016 at 2:06 pm

You try buy CX-5 in Sinkapore S$148,000

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
          • Kunta Kinte on Nov 04, 2016 at 5:32 pm

but Singaporeans earn 5X more than Malaysians. So, the CX5 is actually cheaper for the Singaporean than the CX5 for the Malaysian.

Kerja kerajaan also low ranking can get SGD$5000 (RM15,000). In Putrajaya, majority gomen servants still earning RM1200

RM15,000 vs RM1200

• SGD5000 for S$148,000 and RM5000 for RM150K CX5. Not like they earn SG and pay for RM. I dont know that people who got SGD5000 (RM15K) in SG will buy CX5 in RM150k here in MY.

• Henry on Nov 04, 2016 at 3:02 pm

Pakai otak sikit. Do you know the CIF price and the import duty plus excise duty? Add up the duty and excise duty and you will see how little the car actually cost. As if the car importer make all the profit. Actually it is money for nothing for the Gomen.

• timbuktu on Nov 03, 2016 at 11:47 pm

This is either real or just a cheap trick by the stupid CEO Ben Yeoh trying to scare people into buying his cars and clearing stock before year end.
      Either way Mazda gains nothing. Firstly, people already know the cheap & stupid trick. Secondly, even if the news is real, who cares? We just move on and buy another marque. There’s nothing great in a Mazda that makes people wanting to buy it at a higher price.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 8
      • Kunta bin Kinte on Nov 04, 2016 at 9:03 am

I would stay away from a company that lies about increasing their prices out of greed. One day they blame the Yen, another day they blame the US dollar. Next month they will blame the Rupiah or rupees.

This alone shows it is an unethical company with no principles. You dare fork out RM300k to a company that is so dodgy and unethical?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 3
    • Mazda thought they were luxury and top selling car lol come on mazda wake up u r just another toyota and honda! nobody want your lousy no resale value car~

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
    • BenYeoh on Nov 04, 2016 at 11:31 am

Mazda is Premium. nuff said

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 13
    • Nancy on Nov 05, 2016 at 7:49 am

Looking at all the comments from head to toe, one sentence to conclude is that..” Malaysian are suffering, mentally, physically & deep inside their pocket”. Are we going to get any better tomorrow ? ? ?

• Go ahead please.
    We are not going to lose sleep over this.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 81 Thumb down 4
    • Kunta bin Kinte on Nov 04, 2016 at 9:15 am

Nobody really cares. There are better options like the X-Trail or the CRV.

Vincent Tan now feeling the pinch. His CX5 first few years got good sales. Now its dying out. Nobody even looks at the CX5.

Crony will be crony. No matter what. Greedy and just want to squeeze the rakyat.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 8
      • Henry on Nov 04, 2016 at 10:47 am

That’s just your opinion. How many of the outgoing CRV and current X-Trail can you see compared to the CX5?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
        • The CX5 bought before their practice the up price thing ok. But after this you will only notice the previous model on the road not the new one.

• Henry on Nov 04, 2016 at 3:05 pm

As if other importers pay for their cars with Rupiahs. All foreign cars will be similarly affected.

• timbuktu on Nov 04, 2016 at 5:47 pm

narrow minded Harry.
            there are companies that want large profit margin but doesn’t care about volume. and there are companies that is ok with smaller profit but sells plenty. i’ll go with the latter. narrow minded people like Harry will go for the former.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Nov 03, 2016 at 8:29 pm

lol….i kinda have to agree somewhat on this…the yen did appreciate a lot this year…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 2
    • which currency did not appreciate against ringgit ^^

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
      • Err. All how about all currencies, cuz they fluctuate daily?
        Just this week alone, RM is up & down against USD few times alredi

• Andrekua on Nov 03, 2016 at 8:34 pm

100k B segment incoming. Good for those who bought one earlier.

• Hot Cat not Hot Dog on Nov 03, 2016 at 9:01 pm

Bila ringgit mau naik ???

• dpmee on Nov 03, 2016 at 9:17 pm

Don’t worry. Toyota Ch-R here soon

• Matchy on Nov 03, 2016 at 9:29 pm

Another increase?! I thought they just increased it recently? Mazda2=100k?!

• lilytan on Nov 04, 2016 at 8:03 am

100k so cheap. My BF bought Mazda2 in SG RM$303K = S$101k @@

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 13
      • roxas on Nov 04, 2016 at 12:22 pm

unfair to compare with us. how much is your bf earning in SGd . LOL .

• Let’s say SGD12k. Here RM12k monthly can ady buy a beemer, lol

So which is better? Go figure.

• abukik on Nov 04, 2016 at 2:49 pm

Ur bf bought Mazda 2 with RM303k didnt mean he is rich. It just shows that he is too “smart” only.

• kikco on Nov 03, 2016 at 9:36 pm

i tot mazda2 import from thailand…

• X factor on Nov 03, 2016 at 9:50 pm

Japan

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9
    • Shhh! Dun say what us car savvies knew. Berjaya’s hoping the rest of pipu dunno that. break their ricebowl u know!

• Dude not all the car comes from Thailand. Locally assembled, Japan & Thailand.

• camtakpro on Nov 04, 2016 at 8:59 am

No. Cooking oil is fed into those heavy machineries making Mazda CKD cars. Hence the increase.

• Some Mazda owner said it is CBU imported, but did’t realize CBU from Thai.

• Mikey on Nov 04, 2016 at 10:25 am

kikco, Thailand get its CX-5 from M’sia while the CX-9 is CBU.

• Mazda 2 import from Thailand & Mazda CX-3 import from Japan. Both model are different country. Mazda 2 soul red color need $$, but Mazda CX-3 no need. I think Japan car already included.

• Forex my @ss! Chinamankompeni just wanna up profit only. U just wait and see what we consumers can do. Prime example is toyota!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 4
    • Yea man.
      Berjaya never kena banned from malaysian yet.
      7Eleven priced their products skyhigh.
      Mazda never gib discount. only UUU
      Kenny Rogers also UUU

Malaysian ASSEMBLE! Lets banned Berjaya Companies!!

• X factor on Nov 03, 2016 at 9:49 pm

I thought BN said they re going to reduce car prices?? Come on PRU14 is coming but nothing been reduced

• Forrester from RM211k to 129k. 38% price reduction. Janji ditepati

• Salam Sejahtera on Nov 04, 2016 at 2:10 pm

VW Passat from RM190k to 105k. 45% price reduction. Janji amat ditepati

• B factor on Nov 04, 2016 at 6:26 pm

All these car prices been reduced because new model is coming out.

• Car company jack price even EEV, people blame gov. Company smiling till death. Why not My pipu boycott a little bit from buying. If Passat can sold at kaw2 discount to clear stock, so how much their profit for this Japs, if you wonder.

• Problem is MY pipu dun use brain. When them blood suckers take us for suckers and simply jack up price while blame Gov, we just dun persoal and oso blame Gov.

But when forex down, raw mat price down, all them find 1001 excuses not to reduce and blames Gov for this, and again we got hooked line and sinker, blaming Gov together.

We can choose to go for more reasonable brands but we alwiz dun think, and just follow the crowd. If this mentality dun change, I dun see why these vampires will be honest, really.

• Sgt Scoop on Nov 03, 2016 at 10:21 pm

Trying to rustle up some business before the end of the year? This old trick is played out at this point.

• Mazda’s sweet deal but definitely not a necessity. So it’s fine. You can keep your prices and keep your cars. We’ll wait for the yen to come down or whatever.

• thepolygonal on Nov 04, 2016 at 9:22 am

Yup.. Mazda is a ‘good to have’ but not ‘must to have’ brand :D well other than the MX-5 at least.

• What next? 100k Mazda 2?

• Mohammad on Nov 04, 2016 at 7:11 am

Dunno why a Mazda 2 is selling at RM100k when 95% of the countries worldwide are selling it from RM55k with 6 airbags. This B segment is one of the cheapest car in North America, Europe, Australasia, North Asia. But once reached Msia the price suddenly shoot up to RM100k with 2 airbags. Thanks to who? Thanks to Proton who started all these mess!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 16
    • Company collect profit kaw2, you blame P1. 2 airbags for Mazda also blame P1. Why not get the HRV? both Japs and both CKD. Blame P1?

• Becoz this dupe is not even Msian. Keep copy paste same shiet but with diff name. But one time tersasul and revealed his is SGrean. Dunno why they doing here, maybe SGGov banhammer them from toking bad about own country, so need to release stress on MY. Poor MYball.

• Yes, P1 needs to be blame. For high price and for lousy spec. If we have open market, we would have progressed on better in our automotive sector. Because of making P1 ‘affordable’, all other brands are taking advantage and hence it is what it is today. Should promote competition instead of protectionism!

• That is why I compare it with HRV/Honda. Both not so cheap, around same price but different spec. Understand? It is your fault becoz buying shit stuff with premium price while you can get premium stuff with premium price.

• Oh..by the way, persona will give you six airbags with the same size of m2 with less the price

• cendol (Member) on Nov 04, 2016 at 8:02 am

Mercedes and BMW reducing car prices but Mazda increasing car prices.
    Mazda is not Apple

• Faiz Roslan on Nov 04, 2016 at 8:15 am

Don’t blame FOREX, the government has been performing really well economically and ringgit have performed much better these days. A lot of investors are attracted to ringgit with many investment capital flowing in to the country. Blame it on the greed of this non bumi company! Please learn from bumi owned Naza who recently help consumers with the guaranteed second hand price, instead of cheating consumers with more unjustified price increase!!!

– Faiz Roslan CEng

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 31
    • Did you just come out of hibernation from a cave? The government is god damned broke because even by collecting 51B in GST they still have to remove subsidies for cooking oil! Inflation is through the roof and our ringgit is depreciating everyday! Do remember that our currency was at parity with the Sing Dollar only a few decades ago. Today it is 3x! This has nothing to do with bumi or non-bumi, get your narrow mind out of race and religion

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 5
      • We knows ur from Down South and fruss with MY for making u suck back 20 years of unfairness whenever cross to JB. Tough!

As it stands, MY is in a better economic shape than SG. 9of10 economist predicts ur SG will go into recession in couple of years, while none predicts so for MY.

Here, we suffer a bit for a solid future. But thats our future. U just worry ur own down there.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
        • Your assumptions are wrong. If I was from Down South I won’t waste my time here lamenting about how poorly the nation has fared in every aspect, from the economy all the way to race relations. Yet we have naive jokers like you who dig a hole and put your head inside pretending all is good and dandy.

Which 9 of 10 economists think MY will fare better than SG? The fact remains that within the same given period since independence the GDP per capita for SG is now 5 times ours. Yes USD10 K compared to USD50K. Despite all our god given natural resources, we still find ourselves trying to be a high income country. Not even developed mind you, just high income. Solid future you say?

• Ur living in a cocoon if u din read international economic news. Pls dun limit ur reading material to politics only.

I can gip links, but I think PT wun allow it here, so google it urself. Thats the problem with SG edu. Their world consist of their selves only.

• Fully agree and sapot u, bro. We have taught Honda & Toyota. We will teach Berjaya too.

• when times are good, i don’t see car price will go down because of forex????

• Time to teach this company. Most my pipu had done it to umw, if not umw still sell to my pipu dinasour age keli. Just until now they upgrade the keli a little bit eventhough it still dinasour.

• krejin on Nov 04, 2016 at 8:32 am

Good move from Mazda. Positively, when less people buy it, more focus can given to current customer in term of after sales service. And can save market price for second hand car too.

Monthly Sale in the chart?Yes, keep decreasing. Don’t give a damn about that.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Nov 04, 2016 at 9:07 am

QUESTION IS….british pound drop like crazy why british car no drop price

• ridi car price on Nov 04, 2016 at 9:21 am

good for you. increase somemore la. all car sales already dying. consumer, please sedar diri. teach them a lesson. use our power. buy used car with big depreciation or take motor bike.

• alberto on Nov 04, 2016 at 11:17 am

Yen go up..CBU Japan car selling at a loss..why teach mazda a lesson?

• tokmoh. on Nov 04, 2016 at 9:46 am

Meanwhile, Honda and Toyota throwing price like pasar malam.

• hyin21 on Nov 04, 2016 at 10:15 am

look like we are teaching him how to do business?
    let’s see if they go bankrupt & then we will know who is the better businessman

• We taught Hondasan, now their prices r reasonable.
      We taught Toyotasan, now their safety is better.
      We WILL teach Berjayasan, dun take us as fools and blame Gov!

• hyin21 on Nov 04, 2016 at 1:48 pm

they would have seen it, right? & yet they choose to increase price. it’s their business & it’s their money to lose, who are we to teach them…

• Who r we? We r the CONSUMERS and POTENTIAL CUSTOMERS that they lost thanks to their greed.

• hyin21 on Nov 04, 2016 at 9:51 pm

Like I say, if they want to lose money, so be it. Maybe they feel this strategy is best to maximise returns to their shareholders.

• Ben Yap on Nov 04, 2016 at 10:26 am

Last week i walked in Bermaz Glenmarie, shah alam.

Sales people there sitting down playing their phones. they don’t bother to entertain including the receptionist.

Haven’t even buy the car yet from them shows poor customer service. after buying it will be worst.

Now price increase with no improvement in customer service, I won’t plonk my money there.

• Mikey on Nov 04, 2016 at 10:40 am

hyin21, a good businessman is busy MINDING his own business charting & planning what can he do to grow his business in 2017 & beyond especially in this current difficult time.

• hyin21 on Nov 04, 2016 at 11:56 am

then maybe this is Bermaz strategy. let’s see what is the outcome

• gen-x on Nov 04, 2016 at 10:44 am

Consider rebranding as Brimaz to also distribute british cars to offset the difference

• Gaviny on Nov 04, 2016 at 10:52 am

Commentators here seem so confident other car makers aren’t going to follow suit

• Henry on Nov 04, 2016 at 12:02 pm

You are correct. It affects all importers. Due to the sliding RM profits are reduced. Businesses are not charity organisations. They are in it to make money. Car distributors have high overheads and hundreds of mouths to feed. Employees also want their annual bonuses.

• Gaviny on Nov 04, 2016 at 12:48 pm

I know right, mazda is just smarter to first do it get over the pain than to wait for the rest and follow. Then what they will do is launch the facelifts with little price changes ,because the mazda 3 is due for facelift, mazda 6 has had updates, the 2 was updated also, cx 5 also gets updated

• Because most commenter have the power to make sure they sell their car with rreoseonabl price is it? If you know what i mean.

• alberto on Nov 04, 2016 at 2:59 pm

CALM DOWN and take a CHILL PILL
      The other car brand already increase their price a year ago. Bermaz buying from JAPAN. Yen go up, MAZDA CBU probably selling at a loss. This is common sense.
      Bad enough business to just break even.

• ObviousFacts on Nov 04, 2016 at 11:56 am

Like everything in life, there’s always something more than meets the eye…Although many many fellow Malaysians will not openly admit this..we all know deep inside Mazdas have always been perceived to be more premium than regular T,H and N’s of the world

Research by the brand itself and so many independent reports has shown that people who buy their cars all over the world are from a more educated and higher income bracket than their mainstream Japanese counterparts..essentially it’s sort of like an entry level premium carmaker now..in the same Mold what PSA is trying to do with DS and Bmw with MINI

That’s why they have stopped chasing volume as a whole and looking to make more profit per car sold as they are starting to realise how the brand is usually perceived.. The quality of their interiors..tech and driving satisfaction are already a match with the premium guys..now that they have finally sorted their biggest issue,..nvh…they are set to soar…besides..we overestimate the importance of our car market..we are just a speck

P>S ain’t a mazda owner.salesman or fan but I have driven them and I’m…just stating the obvious from these observations…

• Jimmy on Nov 04, 2016 at 12:57 pm

In the previous post, when the juniors informed/educated me that UMW does not distribute Mazda vehicles.
    You are literally right and correct.

• Uberian on Nov 04, 2016 at 1:17 pm

Hahahaha….. I used to adore Mazda for their design especially the small Mazda 2. Now bye bye la Mazda…. I better buy Ford or Honda. Actual American brand no price increase and actual Japanese brand no price increase. But psedo American-Japanese car maker Mazda keep on jacking up the price of already overpriced cars. Later when Renminbi gets stronger against Ringgit Mazda will jack up the price again. Becoming psedo American-Japanese-Chinese car. Hahaha

• Bermaz obviously trying to boost sales before year end by this tactic.

Such a scam… shame.on u Bermaz

• now they got excuse to price the mazda 3 facelift at a higher premium (should it be introduced here next year or soon)…nice strategy ^^