New Mazda CX-9 previewed in M’sia, June 2017 launch

mazda-cx-9-skyactiv-2-5-11

The new Mazda CX-9 had been expected to surface by the end of 2016, and as promised, Mazda distributor Bermaz has given the media a preview of its flagship SUV, the bigger sibling of the popular CX-5. However, the second-generation CX-9 will only be launched in June 2017. It will be a CBU import from Japan, but Bermaz is exploring the possibility of CKD local assembly and exports (Thailand gets its CX-5s from Malaysia).

Revealed at the LA Auto Show late last year, the new CX-9 is styled in the now familiar Kodo design language Mazda has pushed over the past few years. No surprises, but design highlights include the wide, square jaw and chrome bar linking the tail lamps.

The seven-seater SUV (50:50 third row, 60:40 second row) no longer shares underpinnings with Ford, and has a slightly smaller footprint than before – but at 5,075 mm long and 1,969 mm wide, it won’t be confused for a CX-5. The overhangs have been trimmed, and the 2,930 mm wheelbase is 55 mm longer than before.

mazda-cx-9-skyactiv-2-5-31

Similarly, the interior is all new, featuring a dashboard layout that’s typically modern Mazda, with three deep-set dials and a free-standing display in the centre of the dash. Age aside, the materials used in the original CX-9 was quite some way from the premium standard, and this is an area that has been significantly improved.

The design isn’t the only big shift for the CX-9 – gone is the big naturally-aspirated V6 engine and in comes a downsized turbo motor. Mazda’s SkyActiv-G 2.5T is a direct-injection turbocharged engine with both i-stop and i-ELOOP tech.

The four-cylinder unit makes 250 hp/420 Nm in the US, and 228 hp/420 Nm in Australia. It has what Mazda calls Dynamic Pressure Turbo – which varies exhaust pulsation depending on engine speed – to help reduce turbo lag. The 2.5T is mated to a six-speed Skyactiv torque converter auto gearbox. Malaysia will get both front-wheel drive and high-spec AWD variants.

mazda-cx-9-skyactiv-2-5-5

The big Mazda is strong in safety, and has been awarded a five-star rating by the Australasian NCAP. Six airbags aside, there’s Blind Spot Monitoring (BSM), Rear Cross Traffic Alert (RCTA) and Smart City Braking Support (SCBS) and Mazda Radar Cruise Control (MRCC), now with a Stop & Go function to handle stop-start traffic. All are part of i-ActiveSense.

Kit wise, things that are available include an eight-inch touchscreen for the MZD Connect infotainment system, a 12-speaker Bose premium sound system and a revised Active Driving Display head-up display that is now full-colour and projects directly to the windscreen. Aside from speed and driver assist warnings, the HUD now includes a rev counter and navigation.

Also available are a sunroof, powered tailgate, three-zone air con and LED headlamps. Note that these are all the toys available for the model, and the Malaysian spec has not yet been finalised. The car shown here is from Australia and does not reflect what we will get, which will be off a higher spec, Bermaz boss Datuk Seri Ben Yeoh said. Stay tuned.

GALLERY: Mazda CX-9 in Japan

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Simon Ambrose on Nov 03, 2016 at 7:59 pm

Wow Audi screen in dash like design!

• sack the designer on Nov 03, 2016 at 9:39 pm

Why wow? It is copy paste job!
      Sack the designer!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 15
      • Why all front all the same ? Mazda has repeatitive boring koala nose design in all its cars. No, thanks

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 17
        • That’s a family face in case you did’t know. Try tell that to the piggy nose of BMW.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
        • AutoFrenz (the original) on Nov 04, 2016 at 9:45 am

Mercedesz front orso same you never complaint…even wprst same headlights for all models…ok now start complaining and whining…

• Even chapalang proton can do different front designs. Ok, some parts are quite similar though, so why not Mazda??

• Kunta bin Kinte on Nov 04, 2016 at 9:03 am

I would stay away from a company that lies about increasing their prices out of greed. One day they blame the Yen, another day they blame the US dollar. Next month they will blame the Rupiah or rupees.

This alone shows it is an unethical company with no principles. You dare fork out RM300k to a company that is so dodgy and unethical?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 20
        • AutoFrenz (the original) on Nov 04, 2016 at 9:48 am

Dont complaint too much la..if you cannot afford then third hand kembara suits you well…whining all the time…get a life la haiyaaa…spoilt my day everytime i see your name here….podah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 12
  • Bermaz probably waiting for the ringgit to strengthen before introducing it…..

anywat, if u cant quite stretch ur budget, theres always the innova to consider

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 12
    • Sam&Shaw on Nov 04, 2016 at 8:08 am

Anda betul bro shaw, Innova memang bagus.

• Even the ringgit strengthen they will not reduce the price. After this they will blame Thai currency down. Typical greedy company. It is not because budget, but some customer smart enough to smell the greediness of some company. Even Innova is out from this type of customer, because they very smart in spending their hard earn money if you know what I mean.

• Peterprakash on Nov 03, 2016 at 8:05 pm

Why not come to Indian market this mazda company car we are interested to see her

• Semi-Value (Member) on Nov 03, 2016 at 8:30 pm

lol wait so long….other cars already launched la brother

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
    • Rahman on Nov 04, 2016 at 8:39 am

Kia Sorento dah launched! Lebih Power & practikal, ada Future Value guaranty

• Hopefully we will get the same spec as aussie, rm200k for bolehland?

• Hot Cat not Hot Dog on Nov 03, 2016 at 10:04 pm

Comfirm over RM 300k

• Ricardo on Nov 04, 2016 at 4:29 am

At the rate Bolehland is going, don’t even think about that price bracket. We will be lucky to get at 250k.

• Skyactiv- D on Nov 03, 2016 at 8:57 pm

No diesel engine, so ‘pemanduan CX9’ feel very sluggish…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 10
  • Hot Cat not Hot Dog on Nov 03, 2016 at 8:58 pm

I heard from mazda price over RM 300 k..

• Very pretty, also well liked in early car reviews (TFL car). If the rumors are true that this will cost about rm250-260k, this will be a very good buy.

• Prolly on Nov 03, 2016 at 9:22 pm

CBU estimated $228K^^

• Shamgti on Nov 04, 2016 at 3:15 am

June 2017??!! Haiiyaaa..

• mlover on Nov 04, 2016 at 9:44 am

the rear look unbalance design..the tail light too small

• kanazai2001 on Nov 04, 2016 at 11:25 am

y nvr bring in CX4?! @@

• zoom zoom on Nov 04, 2016 at 11:48 am

love mazda cars. But i hope mazda malaysia really look into their service center, so many complaint, i heard some charge for oil change but after driving out from service center found out oil didn’t change.

• Jimmy on Nov 04, 2016 at 1:24 pm

Toyota aftersales service is good, Honda don’t know, the rest …….

• Jimmy on Nov 04, 2016 at 1:27 pm

Mercedes aftersales service is excellent, just that you have to be able to pay for it.
      Some Japanese brands, even if you pay for it, you get subpar service, worst than Proton in some aspect.
      Ask your friends.

• Mikey on Nov 04, 2016 at 1:13 pm

This new CX-9 looks impressive given that its goodies have improved by having the latest gizmos like i-stop/i-ELOOP tech together with BOSH 12 speakers, new HUD/Led headlamps/3-zone aircon & sunroof to say the least.

Since this is “only” a 2.5 plus Turbo. it should be priced cheaper than the older model bcos our tax structure is more favorable to smaller engine. Smart move Bermaz.

• kanazai2001 on Nov 04, 2016 at 3:15 pm

honda civic 1.5L turbo… ~130k…
      favarable to smaller eng capacity?! @@

• kanasai, please read our Malaysia Automotive Info Duty Structure. Our Tax structure states that U are paying 105% for engine above 2,500cc.

I believe that is what Mikey is referring to.

• Kimchi on Nov 04, 2016 at 2:08 pm

Its too pricey….i think Santa Fe and Sorento 10x better than CX9

• 鼎好 on Nov 04, 2016 at 3:11 pm

We need CX4 here! Pls bring it to our shore!

• Kingkong on Nov 04, 2016 at 8:05 pm

Omg 2017 coming. Where is ya surround camera? Mazda come on! Is cx9 not kancil!

• Bernard on Nov 04, 2016 at 10:04 pm

What happened to cx 7??

• DoesSammyThinkHeHasValue?? on Nov 05, 2016 at 12:15 am

It’s a good SUV, no doubts about that. The engine is probably one of the best units to come out of Japan at this stage. It definitely outperforms anything we have seen from Toyota, Honda or any other Jap brand’s in that category.

The way I look at it, this is an X5 on a budget.

• Mazda cars and SUV had the worst RV currently.

Toyota and Honda vehicles are next to get hit by low RV soon

Audi and VW currently had the worst resale value for European makes

• eeeriz on Nov 06, 2016 at 8:06 am

I want one! If you look at the review made in youtube in US, everyone gave a big thumbs up! However i would like to know if Mazda has resolved the issue on draining battery. My current CX9 has changed 3 times since bought it last year. My old CX5 also changed the battery in less than a year after the ownership. All mazda workshops i have been said it was normal. What happened here Mazda? My old volvo S60 even last than 3 years and yet my driving style was always aggresive one.