No toll hikes until the end of 2017, M’sian government to compensate concessionaires RM60m for deferment

toll booth

It was reported earlier this week that only four highways are entitled to toll hikes next year, with those highways being the Johor Bahru Eastern Dispersal Link (EDL), Kajang–Seremban Highway (LEKAS), Senai–Desaru Expressway (SDE) and the Guthrie Corridor Expressway (GCE), and that any deferment in rate increases will cost the government RM59.77 million in compensation to the highway concessionaires.

It appears that the deferment and therefore, the compensation to the highway concessionaires will be taking place, according to works minister Datuk Seri Fadillah Yusof in a report by The Star. “The Cabinet on October 12 agreed to postpone any restructuring of toll rates for the year 2016 and 2017. This means that there will be no toll hikes for the four highways this year and next year,” he said.

Fadillah also told the Dewan Rakyat that toll rate adjustments proposed for eight highway concessions this year will also be halted, as reported by The Sun. This would also mean that the highway concessions will be compensated too, though Fadillah did not specify the cost of compensating them.

Meanwhile, PLUS Malaysia confirmed that there will be no changes in toll rates for the eight highways it operates, which include the North-South Expressway (NSE), the New Klang Valley Expressway (NKVE), Federal Highway Route 2 (FRHR2), and the Seremban Port-Dickson Highway (SPDH), North-South Expressway Central Link (NSECL), the Malaysia-Singapore Second Crossing (MSSC), Lebuhraya Butterworth-Kulim (BKE), and the Penang Bridge.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• Thanks to Dr. M
    1 way or another, we still have to pay them

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 3
    • Mikey on Nov 04, 2016 at 11:02 am

man, U are right. We should THANK our Federal Gov for putting our people into this “quagmire”.

• Sama L00 on Nov 07, 2016 at 10:49 am

There is a term for this – CRONIES.
        You can find them in Proton spare part supply chain also.

• Wahai Orang Kampung on Nov 04, 2016 at 11:17 am

RM55 Billion Rail lime….Oh Waiii..

• Kunta bin Kinte on Nov 04, 2016 at 12:31 pm

RM30 bil hike up to RM60 billion. Oh John!

• Jimmy on Nov 04, 2016 at 1:06 pm

RM 188k per point as gantirugi tanah, irrespective of gunung or hutan areas; and people still could not understand the meaning. Go and calculate so that you know this figure is not plucked from the sky.

Or maybe, each buruh will be paid RM8888 monthly salary during the construction.

New Guniness world record is being born.

• Kunta bin Kinte on Nov 04, 2016 at 12:27 pm

Malaysia is the only country in the world where it cost RM100 mil per 1 KM. Those charges are excluding land and acquisition charges.

RM100 mil per 1 KM also despite using super cheap Bangladeshi labour.

Our toll concessionaires kelentong the Government that they spend RM100 mil per KM and ask for long contracts and compensation etc etc with option of increasing toll rates.

Do you think 1KM of road cost RM100 mil? Don’t forget, that is without land acquisition.

• Periasamy on Nov 04, 2016 at 12:48 pm

Kasi naik Harga Minyak Petrol Diesel..mau Bayar Toll Compensation maaa. huhhhuhhuhu

• Shud just let it increase. Gov then use the money improve public transport instead

• Mikey on Nov 04, 2016 at 3:23 pm

john, if our Gov REALLY improve public transport with the $$$ saved, we should NOT be in this predicament. Who is governing our Rakyat all these years. U agree !!?

• Yes. I agree. And we shud never ever let him come back to govern (proxy or otherwise), with his pals from the other side.

• Hamdan on Nov 04, 2016 at 2:54 pm

Bolehland mau Bankrap kah ??

• Hahaha on Nov 04, 2016 at 5:01 pm

Anyone care to realise that by virtue of the govt paying, it means all of us are paying one way or the other. Just saying….

• Faiz Roslan on Nov 04, 2016 at 10:35 am

good move by the government, caring and helping the citizens are in need. they are willing to take the hit to avoid burdening the ppl.

instead of protesting like barbarians on the streets and bashing the country like the country owes u everything, take a step back and look at what the gov is doing to help us ordinary folks

this latest news and the small increase of petrol price to ease the burden of rakyat will definitely help the gov to build this country more sustainably, well done to the gov!

– Faiz Roslan CEng

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 99
    • Hot Cat not Hot Dog on Nov 04, 2016 at 10:58 am

Are they this politician truely care abt you rakyat ?
      Then this country will not hv high debts loh !
      Where the money gone ?
      You think ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
      • Michael on Nov 04, 2016 at 12:36 pm

Bodoh guy, that RM60 mil comes from our pocket. Still reading Utusan and sleeping the whole day

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 5
        • Faiz Roslan on Nov 04, 2016 at 1:59 pm

Any proof coming out from ur pocket? U think ur tax can cover? It’s nothing to what government is getting from GLC and Bumi companies. Typical basher.

– Faiz Roslan CEng

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 41
          • KenJi on Nov 04, 2016 at 3:08 pm

Mu kelik ngaji dulu. Mu doh bijok mu maghi sini

• Mikey on Nov 04, 2016 at 3:33 pm

Faiz, what does CEng stand for that you are so proud to display here ! I would hide the CEng if I were you cos I will not tarnish my profession in a personal opinion.

Don’t try to use a “Title” unless you are willing to sign off your comment as a professional or as facts.

• Get a grip of yourself- Even the GLCs are bought with taxpayers’ money. As for Petronas pumping oil from the ground, it is the rakyat’s money too, not for the gomen to use at its absolute discretion or reserved for a certain race only. FYI today your beloved PM signed trade deals worth 144B with the Chinese..so why are you so afraid of the Chinese? Boo!

• Hot Cat not Hot Dog on Nov 04, 2016 at 4:25 pm

En. Roslan .
            What Micheal said that money come from ours pocket ! Means rakyat pockets…Rakyat means Malay, Chinese & Indian. And we rakyat not happy now is…goverments including Malay , Chinese & Indian mb always come out funny ideas & plans , spend spend spend.. Now who rich ? You Roslan or me.? Those got goverment contract one lah getting richest !!

• how is it a good move by the government using taxpayers money to compensate the concessionaires? Anybody can do. If they sit down with the highway concessionaires and negotiate for a non increase in tolls for at least the short term then clever la. Yes despite the contractual obligations because the contracts were lopsided and inflated in the first place.

• Deadpool on Nov 04, 2016 at 11:40 am

hello, you need to read more news and come out from your kampung. you think you super star ah left your signature below, LOL. you like to feed those useless clowns so called gov’ that’s your problem, don’t talk like you are smart and lecture people here, because you are just one of the puppets fooled by the G. i wonder how you know how to use a computer and internet with such a ‘smart’ brain.

• Faiz Roslan on Nov 04, 2016 at 2:01 pm

Kampung or not is irrelevant. Are you making fun of us? Kampung ppl are more educated than u city fools.

– Faiz Roslan CEng

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 27
        • Deadpool on Nov 04, 2016 at 2:46 pm

well, i’m not saying kampung people are not educated, but they are isolated from the fact. unlike you, come out to city still don’t know what happened to the world. what gov doing now is cut 1kg meat off you and give you a 100g free meal (90g are water, 5g veg, 4g fats,and 1g ur own meat somemore), you happy with that?

+ Fooled Rubbish Cabage

btw please don’t like your own comment, disgusting.

• Kampong or not nobody knows. But the fact you speak with strong racial overtones reveals the degradation of your character and demise of moral values. With this revelation, readers here should just ignore you.

• Hot Cat not Hot Dog on Nov 04, 2016 at 4:38 pm

Now everybody talking about we rakyat including you En.Rosland.. We rakyat money ringgit becoming small and smaller. And country debts going high and higher !
          Our goverments still talking about nonsence , kampung people including my mum they don pay toll..You and me paying the toll everydays .

• Kunta bin Kinte on Nov 04, 2016 at 12:35 pm

this dude typical boot licker. Ask him how much of contracts he got….then you will know why he licks boot

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 8
  • pengayubasikal on Nov 04, 2016 at 10:37 am

bila difikirkan semula…cuma saya tiada statistic…adakah sebab…highway highway tersebut tidak popular dan tidak banyak traffic…maka gantirugi lebih menguntungkan…claim gantirugi lebih banyak dari kutipan tol yang sebenar …

• palehotak on Nov 04, 2016 at 11:19 am

Tol naik korang Bash. Tol X naik pon Bash.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 13
    • Bukan. Ini krana kenaikan setiap tahun telah ditentukan dalam kontrak. PM xleh nak buat apa2, nak salahkan siapa? Tu orang tua nyanyuk tu.

• Jimmy on Nov 04, 2016 at 1:16 pm

Who said? You know the rules of games?

If the contracts are in the hands of Lim Guan Eng, I will find some reasons, or artificially created reasons, to tackle the contracts. There are ways to do it!

Just that I won’t teach you.

• R u in legal profession? Do u know these r not MOU? They r legally binding contracts which can bring the offending party to court if theres proof of active breach. Doesnt matter if its Gov, can still sue them.

When that happens, not even the entire Bar Council kuncus can wiggle out of settlement, unless they willing to suspend legal justice and allow Gov to strongarm the concessionaires. Selective justice, mau kah?

• Qhair1e on Nov 04, 2016 at 10:42 am

Syukur Syukur! Gomen prihatin, rakyat didahulukan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 13
  • Hot Cat not Hot Dog on Nov 04, 2016 at 10:52 am

Hahaha ! …. the cabinet say ?
    Whatever lah !

• lilytan on Nov 04, 2016 at 10:57 am

Toll hikes would be suicidal. Election year maa..

• Mikey on Nov 04, 2016 at 10:57 am

The word COMPENSATION means “Something, typically money awarded to someone in recognition of loss, suffering or injury”.

Tell me who/which/where/what did any of this concessionaires Lost, suffered or injured ??!! I rest my case.

• AkooIm on Nov 04, 2016 at 10:57 am

Concessionaires
    Read: Cronies

• Ben Yap on Nov 04, 2016 at 10:58 am

abolish the tolls only. already tax the citizens so much still want to tax us.

• Susukotak on Nov 04, 2016 at 11:17 am

sama jer. tol naik rakyat kena. tol tak naik pun kena (indirectly) bayar duit rakyat jugak. kenapa dulu CA tak buat tol berkurang dengan tempoh CA. kan semua org setuju.ke Madey tak terpikir benda ni?

• applegreen on Nov 04, 2016 at 11:18 am

That means by 2018 or even after election, BN still want to do toll hikes. So who’s gonna vote for you?

• pengguna tol on Nov 04, 2016 at 11:40 am

is it highway is made for profit???
    isn’t Government is made to help citizen by providing better service???
    Even WE those who use the highway yet to pay toll bla bla bla but then G said need to compensate?
    What the heck is happening???

• sabahan on Nov 04, 2016 at 12:13 pm

so kind our government. Increase petrol price, remove cooking oil subsidy which everybody is consuming. Then subsidy to highway toll that only benefit to certain people. Do the maths and they are the winner….

• FIST (Member) on Nov 04, 2016 at 12:20 pm

Just raise it and end the contract faster

• Can i say that if the leak doesn’t happen, things should work the opposite way.

Say Rakyat win for this one?

• Bernard on Nov 04, 2016 at 1:42 pm

Abolish all tolls

• just let it increase as per agreement, dont always say demi rakyat tidak mahu membebankan rakyat but actually bebankan kita another 20 years. How profits are those blood sucker.

• Megane on Nov 04, 2016 at 4:41 pm

Tax us more government. We still love you no matter what . Leaders well being is our top priority . muah !

• Pondan on Nov 04, 2016 at 7:59 pm

Gov Dr. M time, made a stupid decision to enslave Malaysian for generations.

Now, this gov is selling more to China. The future generations will be slave for life.

BN is getting better and better pawning future generations and national assets and still proudly claim credit for a job well done.

God bless Malaysia.

• kiki lala on Nov 04, 2016 at 11:23 pm

always tipu…

• If the toll price increase. What people like me can do? Did my minister would hear my voice? I just a collateral damage due to my lazy.

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Nov 06, 2016 at 10:38 am

Government compensate means money still comes from taxpayer’s pockets

• Hadi75 on Nov 08, 2016 at 8:08 am

Best business model ever…..toll hike approved …company and shareholders make profit….no toll hike also make profit…
    toll hike approved…rakyat suffer …toll hike not approved also rakyat suffer (indirectly)…

• So the taxpayer who doesn’t use the highways daily has to pay for the non-taxpayer who uses the highways daily?

Stupid govt, just let them raise the tolls lah.