Fake cameras, more female officers for road safety?

AES_Camera

Fake cameras and more female enforcement officers are the keys to improving road safety, according to Dr Rozmi Ismail, associate professor for the School of Psychology and Human Development at Universiti Kebangsaan Malaysia, as reported by The Sun.

The recommendation for decoy devices was based on research conducted worldwide, which was found to be effective in getting road users to be on guard all the time, Dr Rozmi said. “Install five to 10 fake cameras at crash-prone areas or traffic lights. Make the fake cameras visible every 3 km or 5 km and let the public guess which one is a genuine camera – a real device can be installed in between,” he explained. In doing so, road users will be kept on guard.

Sarawak Road Traffic -01

The professor also suggested an increase in women’s participation in road traffic enforcement for their “straight as an arrow” stance towards law enforcement. “No disrespect to the policemen, but ladies as enforcement officers have unyielding reputation as law enforcers,” he said.

Dr Rozmi cited the example in Penang where female officers with the Penang Island City Council were verbally abused by traffic offenders, who were later arrested and charged for obstructing a public servant in discharging public duties. He said that female enforcement officers have shown that they are always firm and do their jobs without fear or favour, compared to male officers who tend to be “more lenient with offenders.”

Dear readers, what do you think of this suggestion?

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• Anything But P1, Greedy P2 on Nov 07, 2016 at 1:27 pm

Yes please!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • Andrekua on Nov 07, 2016 at 1:27 pm

I think the real problem is how much these fakes cost. Nanti fakes pun cost millions each because they didn’t give crony any benefits because they do not catch offenders with it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 2
    • Albert on Nov 07, 2016 at 6:58 pm

aNDREKUA
      Nanti,after charging rm100,000 per fake camera,the crony tell authorities sudah kena wikileak,then propose to gomen to pay rm300,000 per genuine camera.
      Wah,durian runtuh.

• Faiz Roslan on Nov 07, 2016 at 1:44 pm

I think its a good idea. Fine anyone that breaks the road traffic laws and install more speed cameras to catch errand drivers. Getting women more involve in the enforcement agencies is one step into a liberated and non discriminatory country like Malaysia. I strongly approve of this progressive move by the government.

– Faiz Roslan CEng

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 4
    • Install more cameras r useless if certain parties wanna put cover over them, just to score cheap brownie points.

• Amirulmukminin on Nov 07, 2016 at 1:50 pm

I agree 100% installed fake camera and women becomes traffic officer and related job

• Fake cameras?? Waste of time and efforts. Most of all waste of tax payer money. How long such measure would be effective before the public found out that the camera is a fake and start spreading the news that the installed cameras in X areas is a fake ones and starting to go against the traffic law again. Woman enforcer is the same as man as at the of the day is what they get out of the road block matters. I am not discriminating the woman in trying to doing their work but that that is the truth in the world of enforcement agency most of the time. They too learned the same trick from the men. If the public whom verbally abused the enforcement people, then they deserved being arrested for doing so.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 12
  • Susukotak on Nov 07, 2016 at 1:56 pm

mentally malaysian driver not ready for this. fake camera may increase accident.

• UNTIL, the first few offenders identify which cameras are the dummies, and let the internet know. Following which, I’d imagine a few websites, perhaps a couple of apps, and several hundred Whatsapp chain threads identifying them as so.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
  • just make the signs for speed trap camera more visible to public. Only then people will slow down in accident prone areas.

but i guess because speed trap fine is a business now, they wont do it to increase the fine collection ;-)

• There r speed traps signs every so often on NSE, but do pipu actually see & comply? Only when got AES lah!

• thesaint on Nov 07, 2016 at 2:17 pm

Agreed. Fantastic ideas.

• zulikha on Nov 07, 2016 at 2:32 pm

meaning that now while driving can play guessing games like Running Man tv show lah?

brilliant idea

• sohhai on Nov 07, 2016 at 2:33 pm

Following the same logic, the government should purchase more fake military equipment i.e. fake tanks, fake submarines, fake anti-aircraft guns, etc. This will certainly scare away potential enemies and help save money instead of splashing billions of ringgit on a real submarine that cannot dive

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 13
    • Did u just time travel from 1945, where spoofing works and subs r still unreliable?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 14
  • Hmm... Much Hmm... on Nov 07, 2016 at 3:05 pm

It could work in the first year. However it’s easily distinguishable due to the fact that the flash will trigger on the real deal. After a year or two, most people that frequent the roads will know which camera is real or not. And with more time added, the map apps or gps would be updated with those information as well. So it’ll be like the Pokemon Go phenomenon where it started out amazingly great and dies off quickly.

Female police officers, that I’ll only agree to a certain extent. Psychologically female are more inclined to be strict than males, it has been proven by studies and there are multiple journals about that. But regardless of gender, if the ratio of wage to monthly expenditure stands as it is, bribery and corrupt practices will still be prominent. Humans will always be humans, we adapt to the situation, and if our child is hungry and there isn’t much options for extra income, money has to come from somewhere.

Overall I’ll say, academically those suggestions are brilliant, realistically the situation would correct itself with better financial and family planning. Better raise one child than a car load of them? Assistant from the government? well… Give a man a fish, they will always come back for more. Teach a man to fish, they will be fed for life. If the assistance is free educations, free job counseling, free family counseling, in short ones that teaches them a better way to make money then I’m all for it. BR1M… That’s the other end of the spectrum.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
    • I beg to differ on BRIM. History has shown that when pipu r suffering & surviving, they r less inclined to study/learn. BRIM helps to alleviate the suffering & lessen the need to just survive. When pipur r less desperate, then they might consider skilling up themselves/their kids.

This will take a generational change, so its not a silver bullet solution like some idealistic ideas. This is for long run.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 23
  • Anything but P1, Greedy P2 on Nov 07, 2016 at 3:07 pm

Hello, put real video cameras at the traffic light junctions, you can basically dissolve GST with the high amount of offenders. Plus increase the fine RM1,500!

• How much the fake cam and who got the contract for the fake cam this time?

• orang biasa on Nov 07, 2016 at 4:30 pm

I don’t understand why propose install fake camera instead of real camera??? Cut cost or the robbery is idiot to differential the real or fake camera. Well, the robbery didn’t care real or fake, as long as they want $$$, they will die hard to rob it. When things happen, nanti pihak penguasa will say ‘we unable get the evidence due to that’s spot is cover by fake camera… Then the robbery will release free by no evidence to proof it. Pls la pihak penguasa, since you guys intention to improve safety environment, pls do it one shot and properly. Don’t end up after few cases happen, then baru nak minta extra fund to install real camera.

• Pls read properly. This is not idea by Gov, this is by some prof in uni. Nak tembak tu, sasar dgn betul.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
  • Sure or not, later fake camera cost higher than real camera. You can expect ridiculous excuses when it comes to things like this.

• azhar on Nov 07, 2016 at 5:51 pm

the more the better!..please install it at Maju Expressway…90% of drivers exceeding the speed limit

• Maju is in Slgr isnt it? I belip a recycle shopping bag is big enuff to fit over the camera…

• Iskandar on Nov 07, 2016 at 7:00 pm

About time we have a psychologist to advice on how to fix things, rather than pen pushers who think of nothing but KPI.

Remember the times when there were roadblocks during festivals? Whose idea is that? Or roadblocks in the PLUS highway? What’s the aim? Pileups?

Where we fail is clear. We graduated from driving schools that teaches nothing about civic.

• Gunting kecik on Nov 07, 2016 at 7:30 pm

why resort to fake stuff?? Waste of money, and wont be effective in the long run.

Next time to have fake policeman, fake soldiers, fake jet planes, fake submerines, fake everything lar….in addition to the fake MC, fake panadol, fake Phd…

It is known long time ago that the enforcement is blardy poor in Malaysia. With tak-apa-nasi lemak attitude.

• I think That is to test us to figure out which one is real panadol…real PhD … what a ‘brilliant’ idea..they are damn creative….how was the previous action plan? System Kejara by JPJ…share some statistics to the public…some studies b4 & after the system executed…i guess the so call Dr / professors / lecturer r too free n come out with this findings and stretegic solutions… thanks to our professor

• Susukotak on Nov 08, 2016 at 5:31 am

Dulu ingat lagi ada polis lukisan masa balik dari KL ke KB. Bertahun juga tahan kat situ.

• agreed…more fakes camera…it will be a good deterrent…move it and change it frequently around wt real ones….most developed countries do that

• 3 to 4 months ago I was late for a function in Alor Setar and drove at full speed all the way from Prai forgetting to slow down at the AES area, no summon has been received so far, I guess it is fake and I can do it more often

• Here is a fine specimen of an upstanding and outstanding Msian!
      Thank you for proving once again that MY pipu wun willingly follow the rules & regulations unless kena rotan by Gov. Even though we grad and have kids, our mentality still havent left primary skool yet. Takut Guru Besar saja.
      So thank you for being a true Msian!

• Tan Kim San on Nov 08, 2016 at 10:20 am

Since Malaysia speed limit is 110km/h, why not ask the car maker to limit the speed at 110km/h, we don’t want government suggesting something for 3 minute effort and from there another 26 bil gone…

• Saya ada PhD! on Nov 09, 2016 at 3:36 am

Now that we know they are fakes, we will still speed! I read an interesting article which says the best and fastest way to make people drive safely is not through education but through actual fines. This was done in Australia in the 70s because of the high rate of accidents. But look at Australia now.

Nothing tells motorists to abide the law than actual fines. Malaysian motorists know the road rules but choose to ignore it, that’s a fact. This attitude snowballs to other motorists they encounter. As a result, no one cares. People speed through red lights, weave in and out of lanes, use emergency lanes, do not give way, do not stop at a junction, etc, etc, because they know they will get away with it.

The real disease here is, “If other people can get away with it, so can I!” Real Enforcement is the mother of education. So please just fine these people. Enough la with the theories.