Malaysia’s first CKD EV teased ahead of unveiling

msia-baic-ckd-ev-fb-crop

Malaysia’s first locally-assembled electric vehicle (EV) will be unveiled this week, and ahead of that, the teaser image above has been released on social media.

To recap, the as-yet unnamed EV will be assembled in Gurun, Kedah, and will be based upon the China-market BAIC EV200, itself roughly based on the first-generation Mercedes-Benz B-Class (at least in design). In EV200 form (there are EV150/EV160 models in its home market), the hatchback has a 53 kW (72 hp), 180 Nm electric motor paired with a 30.4 kWh lithium ion battery.

The 4,025 mm-long, 1,295 kg vehicle has a top speed of 125 km/h, and can get from 0-80 km/h in 9.7 seconds. The local assembly effort is a joint venture between BAIC and the appointed local distributor, Amber Dual, with plans for both local market consumption as well as for export to other ASEAN markets.

GALLERY: BAIC EV200

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• Whatever happened to all the tesla patents tesla gave away anyway

• kzm (Member) on Nov 07, 2016 at 4:55 pm

Patent might be free but R&D for the actual car still need noney

• More specifically, the car tech is free but the battery tech and charging tech is not. EV car is useless w/o the proprietary battery, and if u try to ciplak the tech, FBI & DoJ says come come have coffee.
        Deswai no one else use Tesla tech even though “free”.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
      • Alfisti on Nov 08, 2016 at 1:18 pm

Tahniah Proton !!!

• Tesla gave away plans on everything but the battery. The battery is where the money is. A lot of manufacturers have built EVs, even Proton. Ever wondered why only so little have marketed them?

• P1 R&D boys told me. Its not the EV motor in the car which is expensive, its the battery stack. Up to 60% of the cost. And they need to make sure it dun become Note7.

• Mr. R on Nov 07, 2016 at 4:35 pm

Come on guys..0-80km/h in 9.7sec??and topspeed 125km/h??tesla did waaayyyyy better than that.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 25
  • where is the proton ev?

• Grab and uber i mean grabuber please buy this ev 100 000 unit and rent to grabuber dyver.help spad solved transpot problem mental. We dryver dryver don wan buy petrol and die sel anymore.we tak cukup makan kuroossss.

• Uber is developing self-driving EVs. Save on petrol, save on salary to drivers. I’d suggest Uber drivers to run to Grab now. Because as much as we like Uber for killing the useless Taxi industry, they’re pretty much undercutting their own drivers. That being said, it’s still pretty far off. I mean even in the US, Self-Driving is still pending approval. So here, even more.

• Overhead for driver headcount will be high. Imagine 1 car can fit how many pipu, compared to 1 bus?

• Bernard on Nov 07, 2016 at 8:47 pm

Well we know the lights work:) based on the specs , it’s as powerful as a cubcai…is that good or bad?

• meanwhile.. proton ev.. hmm..