Liow unaware of Singapore’s road charge hike plan

liow tiong lai

It appears some confusion has arisen regarding Singapore’s plan to raise its road charge for Malaysians to enter the republic, with Malaysian transport minister Datuk Seri Liow Tiong Lai saying he was unaware of any such move.

According to Bernama, Liow said that he had not heard anything about Singapore raising its charge – reportedly being prepared to match Malaysia’s recent implementation of a RM20 road charge at its two land entry points to Johor – even though both countries have been exchanging their views on the matter from time to time.

“Singapore to raise their road charge? No…they never said this to me. Singapore had implemented their road change a long time ago, we are only about to start now,” he said. “We already informed them one year ago. This is an ongoing bilateral issue, they understand this issue, so no surprise for them.”

Last week, the national news agency reported that the island nation would match Malaysia’s road charge “in some form,” with its ministry of transport stating that the fee was “discriminatory against Singapore-registered vehicles as it is only applied at the Singapore checkpoints.”

johor causeway jam bernama pix

Liow responded by saying that the Malaysian government had never practised discrimination in implementing a road charge for foreign-registered vehicles from Singapore entering Malaysia, and it would implement the charge at entry points from other countries in phases.

“There is no discrimination. We will impose the road charge not only at our border with Singapore, but also our borders with Thailand, Brunei and Indonesia with a similar charge of RM20 per car,” he said.

Liow also mentioned that the road charge, which was implemented on November 1, was progressing smoothly – an average of 20,000 Singapore-registered vehicles enter Malaysia daily through the Causeway and the Second Link.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• LTL where can compete with glorious LHL? Our puny MY shud just swallow our punishment for daring to persoal and defy our Southern overlords.

Like I alwiz says, jangan persoal our foreign overlords. Otherwise u either like punishment or ur BN lapdog.

#JanganPersoalForeignOverlords

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
  • How is this surprising? Bodoh minister memang doesn’t know anything.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 1
  • More bread crumbs for you scum bag

• Woot Woot on Nov 08, 2016 at 11:16 am

unaware of any such move? it’s all over the news Minister Liow. total BS!

• Facebook on Nov 08, 2016 at 11:17 am

Since when did you inform Singapore side? You were informed that there will be a VEP charge not Road Charge.
    When is your implementation date for the rest of the borders? You don’t even have a road map for the implementation. Just a useless MCA minister, without any knowledge. Keep your bloody mouth shut Liow Tiong Lai…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 13
    • Why do My need to inform Sg for My own policy? Did those Sg inform My and consider for My pipu who want to enter Sg? BTW talking about discriminate, as far as I know, only one road are connected to Sg and that is from My but for My there is Thai, Indo and Brunei. Discriminate my a**, sound like kiasu to me.

• mohgui on Nov 09, 2016 at 12:08 pm

Discriminate means why only implement VEP at Malaysia/Singapore border and not other borders like Malaysia/Thailand, Malaysia/Brunei and Malaysia/Indonesia. Nothing to do with kiasuism… but the fairness in implementing VEP across board.

• Unaware my arses, what you doing all day? get pay and sit home do nothing. i have asked the customs official there, they us cctv to recognize the car plates from the office upstairs. if singapore car, they hold until the driver TnG. such tech needs for so long to figure out? how much had spent on this tech?

• john is otak batu on Nov 08, 2016 at 11:57 am

What type of joke is this?!!! Gomen better refund all motorists they’ve charged with interest

• Dont be penny wish pound foolish. Having entry fee for singapore reg. vech. will have impact of tourism.

• Dear minister, I suggest you increase to RM200 per vehicle to top up the gomen coffers. You see, just yesterday a small fry ex BSI banker has testified in court of stealing USD 4 Mio from money laundered through 1MDB read funds belonging to rakyat of Malaysia. And we are not even talking the big fish yet like the fatso who parties w Paris Hilton! we need more cash!

• Disgrunted on Nov 08, 2016 at 12:45 pm

LTL, please tell us the logic on this charge. When you announced VEP it was mentioned that VEP is to curb potong cars by forcing all foreign cars to be registered before entering MY.

Now you just make foreign cars entering from SG to pay extra RM20 w/o any registration. And you came out with this smart idea to have a separate T&G reader for Singaporean cars coz you know you cannot just add RM20 to the existing toll charges… that will upset us Malaysians.

Bravo LTL, government gets more income from foreigners and still get to keep locals happy. I’m very sure SG will increase VEP from $35 to probably $50 because of your smart thinking. Don’t forget SG encourage us to visit and spend by not charging VEP on weekends and public holiday, but your greedy ministry decided to charge VEP on per-entry basis 365x24x7.

• C. P. MOHAN on Nov 08, 2016 at 1:11 pm

Before appointing T.M the statement is “do not know” after appointing T.M the statement is still “do not know”, so why appoint if the result is the same.

• Faiz Roslan on Nov 08, 2016 at 1:38 pm

Before you all bash our ministers, ask yourself how should he know what other countries policies are on adhoc basis? You think he can read everyones mind?? Don’t oppose government for the sake of opposing, you guys are disgusting creatures. No wonder there are people who volunteer to be in the red shirt gang to topple you ungrateful citizens.

– Faiz Roslan CEng

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 37
    • In before, Sg do is ok, My do cannot. My do bash kaw2 even from Mysian, Sg do applause kaw2 also from Mysian.. If Sg increase the fee, so what. Gertak sikit dah takut.

• Unjustify on Nov 08, 2016 at 1:54 pm

I don’t see any logic why SG should match the VEP charges as SG charged $35 PER DAY basis compared to RM20 PER ENTRY.

• heybadigol (Member) on Nov 08, 2016 at 2:34 pm

Drive to Thailand lah. Go up north (very north) for a road trip. It’s more fun. Like that fella who drove his Nissan GTR from Singapore to the Everest Base Camp. Actually, Paultan could organise some sort of road trip to find the best driving roads in South East Asia, and share it here. Would be an excellent trip, and good read too.

• What big pile of dung. Get ur nose out of East Msia. Why must we impose charges for Bruneians to enter Malaysia? We need them for our market! Charging them, entry fee is daylight robbery!

• camtakpro on Nov 09, 2016 at 7:18 am

Since when LTL is aware of anything?

Anyway whatever shit, just charge the hell out of those Sg cars kau kau by percentage of the car value (Sg price converted to RM), say 1% per day.

• ben yap on Nov 09, 2016 at 3:53 pm

what a coincidence! I’m unaware that Malaysian transport minister is Datuk Seri Liow Tiong Lai.

I thought it was Jamal Yunos.