Tesla Model S – GreenTech Malaysia begins first deliveries, full details on leasing scheme for the EV

tesla-model-s-malaysia-01

The Tesla initiative being carried out by Malaysian Green Technology Corporation (GreenTech Malaysia) has finally begun. The first shipment of 10 vehicles obtained their customs clearance late last month, and the first unit was delivered recently, with two or three cars expected to go out later this week.

Updates on models that will be available through the programme and details on the leasing options. Initially, the Tesla Motors-endorsed programme was supposed to be exclusive to GLCs, government companies and corporate members.

This has now been expanded – GreenTech CEO Ahmad Hadri Haris told paultan.org that the programme will be extended to private limited companies (PLC) and multi-national companies (MNC) that subscribe to the green agenda, which means that the car will be available to a wider audience and not just limited to GLCs and the like.

There are also changes to the pricing of the leasing options, of which there are two. The first is a lease-only path. Here, GreenTech is working with a partner called Insas Pacific Rent-A-Car (PRAC) to provide leasing of the Tesla; PRAC is a car rental company in Malaysia that was established in 1985, and is in the business of providing cars for long-term hire, daily hire or self-drive.

tesla-model-s-malaysia-09

The Tesla, which can be leased from two to four years, will be made available via a JV called PRAC GT (Pacific Rent-A-Car GreenTech). Two models are being offered for the lease-only option, the Model S 70 and S 90D, the latter being the primary Model 90 version offered through the programme. Meanwhile, it is expected that the S 75 will take over from the S 70 sometime down the road.

The leasing rate for the Model S 70 is RM10,500 per month (for a two-year lease period), RM10,250 (three years) and RM10,000 (four years), while the leasing rate for the Model S 90D is RM12,500 (two years), RM12,250 (three years) and RM12,000 (four years) per month.

The rates are inclusive of annual insurance, road tax (which is RM10 per year) and will also cover M2M connectivity (a SIM card to communicate with Tesla servers and other services like Google Maps), maintenance and services fees, the use of ChargEV charging facilities as well as a Tesla charger.

The second option is through a lease-to-own programme, which benefits from tax exemptions for import and excise duties. Here, the customer determines the specifications of a car, pays a one-off vehicle price, but does not own the car proper – well, not at the start anyway.

tesla-model-s-malaysia-10

That’s because there’s a minimum three-year leasing period before car can be transferred to the customer, should he want to own it. The customer just needs to pay the tax imposed for the transfer, based on the value at that point, Ahmad Hadri said. Should the customer choose not to, he can continue on with leasing.

Three models are offered via this route – the Model S 60, Model S 90D and Model S P90D (the latter will eventually be replaced by the P100D). As listed on the company’s website currently, the S 60 goes for RM326,055 (one-off base vehicle pricing before GST and delivery charges), while the S 90D is listed at RM425,205. As for the P90D, that is priced at RM509,238.

The rate of the delivery charges is RM88,888 (one-off inclusive of CIF, PDI, free standard services over three years and full Tesla warranties, mobile connectivity as well as the installation of a Tesla home charger). Currently, a monthly leasing fee of RM1,388 is listed, but Ahmad Hadri said this will be changed to an annual leasing fee of RM500 per year, inclusive of free use of ChargEV charging stations.

As mentioned in our earlier report, the vehicles are all Model S facelift examples. Unveiled in April, the 2016 rework brings about a new, more streamlined fascia and a pair of new adaptive LED headlamps with 14 three-position LED dynamic turning lights. Also new to the mix are a body-coloured front chin spoiler, side skirts and rear valence.

The update also brings new trim choices and equipment options, including a HEPA air filtration system, and standard kit includes a 17-inch capacitive touchscreen that serves as a display for the car’s infotainment system, navigation system, a reverse camera and eight airbags.

The MY-spec S 70 features 19-inch Silver Slipstream wheels, multi-pattern black seats and comes with dark ash wood decor trim as well as a white Alcantara headliner. Its equipment bag includes autopilot convenience and a smart air suspension system. The S 90D specification has identical fittings as above, but the Alcantara headliner is in black, and the variant also comes equipped with the premium upgrade package.

A recap of output numbers and performance figures. The S 70 is powered by a rear axle-mounted electric motor with 315 hp and 440 Nm, and the car has a 0-100 km/h time of 5.8 seconds and a 230 km/h top speed. It has an operating range of around 370 km range (EPA) on a single charge.

Save a lower power output from the motor, torque and performance stats on the S 70 are virtually identical to the S 85, of which two examples were brought in last year as test-bed mules. The 85 kW battery version has since been discontinued, its place effectively taken up by the 75, which has similar specs but a marginally lower operating range (401 km to the 426 km on the 85).

As for the S 90D, the 90 kW model has 417 hp and 658 Nm, with performance figures including a 0-100 km/h time of 4.2 seconds, a 249 km/h top speed and a 473 km operating range.

The dual-motor, all-wheel drive P90D, meanwhile, has 504 hp on tap (with the battery taken into account, 691 hp being the max output of the motor alone) and 931 Nm. Performance-wise, the car has a 410 km operating range, a 0-100 km/h time of 3.3 seconds and a 249 km/h top speed. Again, as mentioned earlier, it’s set to be replaced by the P100D as it goes along.

The first 10 cars are part of a special quota of duty-exempt Teslas being brought in via a special programme. Back in February, prime minister Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak announced that the government had given the green light for the duty-free importation of 100 Tesla Model S vehicles as part of its efforts to promote electric vehicles.

We’ve driven the Tesla Model S – read our special preview as well as an exclusive first-drive report on the S 85.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Painter on Nov 08, 2016 at 3:33 pm

I don’t quite understand the reason a government agency being involved in this business?

What is the actual purpose? The whole ‘promotion of green agenda’ thing seems to be a ruse as opposed to what they should be doing which is formulating a real action plan for EV.

You know, there are already Nissan and Mitsubishi, not to mention Toyota and Honda hydrogen cars which are just as good if not better. Why are we creating another Proton?

Do the people inside Greentech know what they’re doing?

Can someone enlighten me on this?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 138 Thumb down 24
    • Domotomo on Nov 08, 2016 at 5:53 pm

MY gov are not getting enough money with sales of tesla car. this way is how they earn it.
      tesla prefer to sell their car direct to the buyer.
      alas MY gov is the middleman for MY

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 3
    • AutoFrenz (the original) on Nov 08, 2016 at 6:46 pm

The road tax is only rm10 per year…wow

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 1
      • AutoFrenz (the original) on Nov 08, 2016 at 6:49 pm

After this more and more chinese will be using the name Tesla as their english name…eg Tesla Tong Mei Lan, Tesla Teoh Ah Kow, Tesla Tan Pei Pei…amazing…it works yes it works…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 36
      • I wonder for how long, once this car gets common I bet the government is going to bump that price up.

• Cukai free.. Inb4 ini mesti dah dedak nie

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 2
    • Jobless on Nov 08, 2016 at 11:37 pm

Instead of burning fossil fuels Tesla cars burn your money.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
  • What happens is something were to go wrong? Where do you bring it to? A youtuber I follow just got his P100D and about 2 weeks later the power steering went wrong so it had to be sent back to Tesla.

• Paul Tan on Nov 08, 2016 at 5:42 pm

Greentech as an agent of Tesla Hong Kong will take care of aftersales.

This is mentioned in the story.

“The rate of the delivery charges is RM88,888 (one-off inclusive of CIF, PDI, free standard services over three years and full Tesla warranties, mobile connectivity as well as the installation of a Tesla home charger).”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 0
      • AutoFrenz (the original) on Nov 08, 2016 at 6:57 pm

Theae peope are lousy…dont want to read one lah…only want to bash…happy to see their names appear…cheapskate one lah…

• kanazai2001 on Nov 09, 2016 at 12:07 pm

i juz wonder y not allow rakyat 2 buy this car since gof is heavily promoted GREEN…

• Kunta bin Kinte on Nov 08, 2016 at 4:11 pm

Who really can afford such expensive prices in Malaysia? Even rich people find it hard to pay RM10,500 per month for a lease.

Too much of nonsense involved for ownership. Like the RM88k transfer free etc.

With so much headache, even to got to lease the home charger, I might as well just buy a simple Honda Accord, Nissan Teana or Toyota Camry.

This really looks like a bogus scheme destined to fail. But no worries, Government can waste money (our money) when this scheme fails

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 15
    • Sheesh on Nov 08, 2016 at 5:08 pm

Who is going to ship the car from Hong Kong to Malaysia? And support the car. You gonna do it?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 10
    • Come here, Gov shud saman the owner for excessive emission from this no emission car. We must emulate our Great Southern overlords.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 19
    • kzm (Member) on Nov 08, 2016 at 8:40 pm

this is not a car for u to buy or lease.. if u read the article u know who they are targeting.

• Tesla is not a cheap car to begin with. Keep in mind that the cheapest Model S the S60, is $66k without any options. That is just $3k short of the Audi S6 in the US.

• Kunta bin Kinte on Nov 08, 2016 at 4:16 pm

Instead of all this complicated bullshit schemes, just go and buy a good 2nd hand Ferrari.

Now 2008, low mileage Ferrari F430 F1 selling for RM420k. Go buy it and own the car fully. You drive it, people will be more impressed than this complicated Tesla nonsense.

Then use it few years, sell it for RM320k. You buy this Tesla so mahal, 1 year later, to sell for half price also nobody will buy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 17
    • Brazbuz on Nov 08, 2016 at 6:11 pm

Bcoz they aim to promote zero-emission ev car with good driving range. So far tesla suit the best but they refuse to set up any dealer network (yet). This where the greentech play their role to allow msian that keen to own it peacefully (factory-backed warranty) become reality. Of coz there are many flashy car out there with better price than this but none of it is electrically powered with zero emission. Cheers….

• Quan Deag on Nov 09, 2016 at 10:11 pm

Yalah good luck on maintaining the Ferrari. Maintenance cost + total car cost will cost you more than the Tesla.

• Tommy on Jan 13, 2017 at 1:38 pm

You better check properly on the resell value of Tesla in US before passing such a judgement….. 50 percent after one year? Where you get the idea from?

• I think Kunta bin Kinte would be correct to point out 50% depreciation of Tesla cars in Malaysia.

Where can you find demand for the car when it is such highly priced compared to other non-electrical based alternatives?

• shahriman on Nov 08, 2016 at 4:52 pm

if gov really wants to promote green initiatives, thses prices offered simply did NOT shows that. please make them affordable.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 6
    • Sheesh on Nov 08, 2016 at 5:07 pm

Already tax free. What you want some more? Don’t be unreasonable

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 25
    • Alredi tax free, just the car freaking expensive only

• its not that the car is expensive..
      its because of the currency that u r using is x4 from the original USD price~ so its actually plausible to get it if you have a normal decent job in the US but u need to be a corporate in M’sia to achieve the same amount of salary

• Chong on Nov 08, 2016 at 6:30 pm

Applicable for east malaysia buyers?

• Malik on Nov 08, 2016 at 6:41 pm

Tesla used it’s revenue from its initial models to fund the new and upcoming model 3, so that people can afford it …it starts at 35k us dollar …
    These green tech people should devise the same strategy … and use the revenue it generates from glc and mnc from selling it’s initial batches to make the model 3 cheaper for 9 to 5 workers like me ….who actually car about green technology and pollution …
    But I seriously doubt that though!!

• Tesla fanboy on Nov 08, 2016 at 6:48 pm

My dream car but need to wait for proper EV infrastructures then only can consider…now its like impossible to drive EV in Malaysia…Hybrid is feasible la..

Hopefully, Elon Musk change his mind to build Tesla dealership in Malaysia/Singapore…Hopefully..

• Megane on Nov 08, 2016 at 7:16 pm

For those those who earn 60-100k per month only . For us mere mortals , we burn petrol to drive cars , we use Yoobao powerbank to charge our handphones .

• Promoting green pocket for some group.

• Head Hunter on Nov 08, 2016 at 9:53 pm

TESLA’s model was for the buyer to buy direct without the need of middlemen, something that many dealerships frown upon in order to reduce the hassle as well as cutting off the salesmen commission completely. Texas managed to block that move and somehow, we’re the only nation to do that. wow. Bab duit Malaysia memang boleh.

• 1) This is a special program to enable Malaysian executives to experience Tesla Model S and convince them about importance of EV. Hence, to influence their decisions and the ultimately government policy related to EV and green technology. Somehow most still don’t understand EV. And still no conducive policy to enable EV market in Malaysia at this moment.
    2) Tesla is not here in this region and has no plan to be here yet. Tesla only sells their cars direct via website in their chosen market. Hence this program is to prove to Tesla that there is a future for Tesla and a good market prospect in Malaysia and ASEAN region.
    3) This Tesla Model S program will hopefully entice other makes to also push for their EVs or PHEVs in Malaysia. And together this will grow the EV charging eco system via the ChargEV network.
    4) One day we hope that we could have Tesla Model 3 and other EVs such as Nissan Leaf and Renault Zoe be more affordable and available to more Malaysians. The above may be our first baby steps to make EV possible in Malaysia.
    Cheers,

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 7
    • None of your points make sense. Intro a premium car to “executives”? You mean cronies who can afford 10K+ repayments, right? Simple, why did gomen take away EEV tax exemption from local manufacturers? Honda Insight, Nissan Leaf, etc died overnight, see the logic? We are left with crony car Tesla at sky high price.

• It is good to create awareness on green technology. I fully support it.

But it is necessary to introduce Tesla products for awareness purposes?? Why not other brands of EVs? There are a lot in the market..

Is Tesla chosen based on open market competition and they win based on the best value for money? Or just a small group of people that have decided to use Tesla??

Point to ponder…

• C. P. MOHAN on Nov 09, 2016 at 10:28 am

TESLA, the car and technology specifically is not NOW intended for “mass-appeal” as can be seen by the various research undertaken. In the Malaysian context the operative words are mass-appeal.

• It would be great if paultan made a comparison of the total costs if; a) actual price in US (b) lease to own (c) grey import. Since the car is duty free, id want to know how attactive option (b) is compared to its original price (a) and price with tax (c)

• Alifzz on Nov 09, 2016 at 3:08 pm

Now Paultan.org can add Tesla in your manufacturer search button.

• These car are too advanced for Malaysia, I just don’t see how the unreliable power supply can give anyone the confidence.

• Chen Chiang on Nov 14, 2016 at 11:16 am

Is there a contact number or office for Pacific Rent-A-Car GreenTech or Malaysian Green Technology Corporation? Their web-site seems to be not working.

• ECOmodepassion on Dec 16, 2016 at 12:03 pm

Register your interest here:
      http://www.greentechmalaysia.my/tesla100/

• Andy Doyle on Jan 05, 2017 at 6:22 pm

I just did a web search to try and determine what Tesla availability there is here in Malaysia because I was recently in HK and they are selling like “hot-cakes” there! This is partially due to an attractive buy-back scheme. However, based on the crazy Leasing Costs mentioned in the Paul Tan article above that just isn’t going to happen here anytime soon??? Crazy protectionism wins out again I suppose…As the price is already ridiculously high compared to HK. I would welcome a response from anybody the industry who has an opinion, the government transport department which presumably appointed the related. agency which controls the import and distribution process and limits users only to certain organizations rather than individuals who want to make a statement about the environment and pollution or indeed Paul Tan

• EVs are better on Aug 20, 2019 at 7:04 pm

Why for lease only not for sale? I smell big oil and government colluding. Oh wait, big oil is GLC in this country wht I so stupid haha.