Honda Jazz Hybrid i-DCD teased in Malaysia, full hybrid with DCT – CKD, exports to ASEAN possible?

honda_jazz_hybrid-1

Here’s a surprise – Honda Malaysia has teased the Honda Jazz Hybrid at the Mines International Exhibition and Convention Centre (MIECC) today. Its appearance here hints that the company is looking to introduce it here in the near future, perhaps as a locally-assembled (CKD) model to take advantage of the government’s Energy Efficient Vehicle (EEV) incentives.

Although the car seen here is camouflaged, we already know the details surrounding the mechanicals of the car, having been launched in Japan as early as 2013. Under the bonnet sits the company’s Sport Hybrid Intelligent Dual Clutch Drive (i-DCD) system, mating a 110 PS/134 Nm 1.5 litre i-VTEC Atkinson-cycle engine to a 29.5 PS/160 Nm electric motor, a seven-speed dual-clutch transmission and a lithium-ion battery.

Unlike the previous car, which utilises the Integrated Motor Assist (IMA) system, the new model’s electric motor can not only assist the petrol engine under acceleration, but can also power the car all on its own. The system automatically switches between EV Drive, Hybrid Drive and Engine Drive depending on driving conditions, and off-the-line starts are done in EV mode.

honda_jazz_hybrid-3

A new electric servo braking system increases regeneration efficiency to the lithium-ion battery, while a fully-electric compressor reduces engine load. These contribute towards a significant 35% improvement in fuel efficiency to 36.4 km per litre on the Japanese JC08 cycle – a record for non-plug-in hybrid vehicles in Japan until the introduction of the 40.8 km/l Toyota Prius this year.

The car seen here appears identical to the regular Jazz, losing out on the full-height, continuous-strip LED tail lights found on the Fit Hybrid in Japan. However, a peek through the heavily-tinted windows show that it does come with a stubby drive selector on the centre console, rather than the traditional CVT gearlever.

Looking around the cars engine bay and boot, we spotted warning labels written in both Thai and Bahasa Indonesia. This suggests that the car is not a Japanese-spec model simply brought over to gauge demand, but an ASEAN-specific model designed to be sold in the region.

This raises one of two possibilities. The first would be that the Jazz Hybrid would be built in Thailand and exported to the rest of the region, with the Malaysia plant in Pegoh, Melaka only handling assembly for the local market, in order to be eligible for EEV status.

On the other hand, Malaysia could possibly end up being the hub for Jazz Hybrid production for the ASEAN region, making us the first country outside Japan not only to sell the car through official channels, but also to build it. This would follow in the footsteps of Mazda and Volvo in assembling cars in Malaysia to be exported to other ASEAN markets, and would also make this Honda Malaysia’s first export model.

So, what do you think of the Honda Jazz Hybrid – could an attractive price sway you into buying one instead of the regular petrol-power models? Sound off in the comments section after the jump.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• walter on Nov 10, 2016 at 12:46 pm

when is this coming to malaysia showrooms? I want to buy one

• RicoT on Nov 10, 2016 at 12:52 pm

Another lie by Honda Malaysia? Worse of them all, by their CEO Yoichiro Ueno (see first link). He should write an explanation to Paultan.org and explain in full details of why they didn’t launch it in Malaysia then.

Honda City Hybrid confirmed for M’sia – first details
    http://paultan.org/2014/03/20/honda-city-hybrid-confirmed-msia-first-details/

Honda City Hybrid seen in Malaysia, launching soon?
    http://paultan.org/2014/12/30/honda-city-hybrid-spotted-malaysia/

Honda City Hybrid (Grace) not coming to Malaysia
    http://paultan.org/2015/10/23/honda-city-hybrid-a-k-a-grace-not-coming-to-msia/

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 13
  • applegreen on Nov 10, 2016 at 12:57 pm

Malaysia’s first locally-assembled electric vehicle (EV)is gooder.

• No point. They still price it high even with Hybrid/EEV CKD incentive.

• offisial wan on Nov 10, 2016 at 12:59 pm

Hey there Jonathan,
    Please enlighten me on this “system automatically switches between EV Drive, Hybrid Drive and Engine Drive depending on driving conditions, and off-the-line starts are done in EV mode”.
    As the 2012 IMA hybrid(CBU) version (I own one)does the same too. Unless it has a dedicated EV mode only. I don’t see much different in this system. Correct me if I’m wrong. terima kasih

• Jonathan Lee (Member) on Nov 10, 2016 at 1:03 pm

Yes, Sport Hybrid i-DCD has a dedicated EV-only mode.

• I remember before this Honda was about to launch their City hybrid (Grace in JDM) before pulling the plug when the government wouldn’t extend the CKD-hybrid tax examption. Added the fact the I-DCD system is plague with problems in Japan with the first gear refusing to engage. Regardless, this will probably slot into the highest variant of the Jazz range, probably around RM95k. It’s technology justifies the pricing. I just hope that it’ll be CKD in Malaysia as promised before, thou it looks unlikely with our dwindling currency.

• RicoT on Nov 10, 2016 at 5:44 pm

I had been waiting for Honda City Hybrid since 2014 when they first announced, waited until 2015 still no news, but Honda Malaysia eat their own words later on close to end of 2015. Hybrid on sedan makes more practical sense, but with Jazz, a hatchback, a large chunk of the cargo room gone to accommodate the battery, despite it is already puny to begin when compared to City.

• Anonymous on Nov 25, 2016 at 2:10 am

The battery of the Jazz hybrid is hidden under the trunk, I believe, same as that of the City hybrid. No??

• Jobless said is testing the old newspapers how long stick on car. If the car cannot sale can use for bungkus

• lilytan on Nov 10, 2016 at 3:06 pm

4 years late. Use it 1 year and will be obsolete already.

• thomas on Nov 10, 2016 at 3:26 pm

Outdated once it arrives in Malaysia, the last market in the world with outdated Honda cars with old SOHC engines from 2009.
      They dont care because Malaysians just Buy Honda for its brand and not knowing whats inside their cars. BODOH

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 14
      • Outdated definitely bro.
        If you check out in recent auto news, this JAzz or Fit Hybrid model was recalled in Japan a while back due to an engine control computer glitch linked to cases of sudden acceleration. ECU glitches and etc.
        Honda Malaysia should include the brand new updated DOHC 1.5 liter 130 hp engine from Fit RS and RS bodykits and scrap off the base model with no VSC.
        6 airbags, honda lane watch and reverse camera across all variants. Even countrie like New Zealand, Indonesia and Thailand has the RS and Mugen models available to purchase brand new from the Honda showroom floor.
        Meanwhile here in Malaysia, no RS model for sale,
        Outdated engines and ultimately one of the dumbest Honda Dealerships sales and marketing team in ASEAN region. They are Bodoh like you stated, the customers all will purchase their competitors Jazz equivalent model instead. No offence here to fellow readers but the truth is the truth.

• Betul brother. Saya tak payah pergi membazir duit untuk pergi convert part2 untuk jadikan model RS atau Js Racing drpd Jepun.
          Beli brand new with equipped parts settle dah.
          Bodoh dipshit punya Honda Malaysia. Menipu bakal pembeli2 dan peminat Honda Malaysia.
          Baik beli kereta jenama Mazda, Nissan, Subaru atau Mitsubishi. Dont just limit to Outdated Honda Branded cars only. Stupid idiots.

• Krasher on Nov 10, 2016 at 4:35 pm

Resale value is disastrous for hybrids. Thanks Honda but I’ll give this a pass.

• Al Lampell on Nov 11, 2016 at 3:11 am

I just turned 80. I have a 2007 Honda fit which I love. I always thought my next car would be a self driving car but it’s taking longer than I thought for it to make it’s appearance. I may have to buy a plug in hybrid to meet my driving needs. I’d love to make it a Honda Fit but I need to know when it is going to make its appearance.

• FIST (Member) on Nov 11, 2016 at 3:20 pm

If the price is right

• Dalbinder Singh Gill on Mar 07, 2017 at 8:29 pm

Hi Jon,

Can you enlighten me on the part where you stated “losing out on the full-height”

Thank you