New-vehicle quality in Malaysia up by 18% from 2015, gap between national/non-national cars narrowest ever

jd-power-2016-1

New-vehicle quality in Malaysia has improved by 18% from 2015, according to the J.D. Power 2016 Malaysia Initial Quality Study (IQS). The largest improvement in the 14 year history of the study has also narrowed the gap between national and non-national brands to the smallest it has ever been.

As in the past, the study examines new-vehicle quality during the first two to six months of ownership, and measures more than 200 problem symptoms covering eight vehicle components, these being vehicle exterior, driving experience, features/controls/displays, audio/entertainment/navigation, seats, HVAC, vehicle interior and engine/transmission.

All problems are summarised as the number of problems reported per 100 vehicles (PP100). A lower PP100 score indicates a lower rate of problem incidence and higher performance.

jd-power-2016-2

This year saw an improvement in initial quality across all eight problem categories measured in the study, with engine/ transmission registering the greatest reduction in problems. Vehicle exterior continues to be the category with the most reported problems, a trend that has continued from the beginning of the study in 2003.

Overall initial quality for 2016 was 69 PP100, a far cry from the 259 PP100 registered in 2003. The study added that while the initial quality score for non-national brands is still better at 54 PP100, national brands, with a score of 83 PP100, are closing the gap.

In a span of 14 years, the gap between national and non-national makes has shrunk to just 29 PP100 from 146 PP100. The study added that the year-over-year rate at which national makes are improving outpaces that of non-national makes, at 18% vs. 16%, respectively.

jd-power-2016-3

Interestingly, the study also found that there are particular groups of car owners that experience a higher incidence of problems with their vehicles. For example, men report more problems than women (79 PP100 vs 56 PP100 respectively).

Additionally, owners who usually have four passengers in their vehicle report an average of 73 PP100, compared with 54 PP100 for those who drive their car alone. Owners with more than 10 years of driving experience are also more prone to report problems, compared to those with no more than 10 years of driving experience (85 PP 100 vs 55 PP100 respectively).

As was the case with the 2015 study, the top three most frequently cited problems were ‘excessive wind noise’ (4.6 PP100), followed by ‘air conditioning doesn’t get cold enough and fast enough’ (2.7 PP100) and ‘noisy brakes’ (2.5 PP100). Owners of MPV and vans reported the most problems at 79 PP100, although quality in this segment has improved from 90 PP100 in 2015.

jd-power-2016-4

In terms of specifics, a total of 39 models were examined in the study, and two Toyota models, one Mazda and one Perodua model were ranked highest in their respective segments.

The Toyota Vios ranked highest in the entry midsize segment (48 PP100), while the Toyota Avanza was number one in the MPV/Van segment (52 PP100) for the eighth consecutive year. The Perodua Myvi aced the compact segment (73 PP100), and the Mazda CX-5 was ranked highest in the SUV segment (41 PP100).

The 2016 IQS involved a total of 39 passenger car, pickup and utility vehicle models from 12 brands, and was based on responses from 2,436 new-vehicle owners who purchased their vehicle between August 2015 and June 2016. The study was fielded between February and August this year.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Hamdan on Nov 10, 2016 at 7:41 pm

VW mana??

• sangkut dlm hutan, x dpt pergi SC

• Salam sejahtera on Nov 10, 2016 at 11:50 pm

HAHAHHAHAHHAHAHAHAHHAHA sian owner VW, yeah proton so many problem, BUT only minor problem such as sensor problem..still can run like normal car

• Kunta bin Kinte on Nov 11, 2016 at 8:54 am

I may hate Proton but you give me between VW and Proton, I will take Proton anytime.

Proton maybe a junk car but at least it does not breakdown in the middle of Karak highway at 2am.

• Sama L00 on Nov 11, 2016 at 10:44 am

What is the point of Proton making “superb” good care Suprima S/New Perdana but no one is buying it? And it need public money RM1.5b.

Get a Proton’s most popular model – Saga, then you know why is people shy away from Proton. Don’t play play with Proton quality.

• Sama L91 on Nov 11, 2016 at 2:24 pm

What you saying? I owned the Saga FLX SE 1.6 since 2012, not a single day it broke down. Never had major problem, still running fine and taking corners sharply. Almera wheel bearing issue solved? Vios loud knocking noise from font wheels are something to compliment of?

• Sama L00 on Nov 11, 2016 at 5:12 pm

You see Proton drivers, only 4 years with no MAJOR problem they so proud like obtained Harvard degree.
            On Toyota, we are looking on 10 years with NO PROBLEM, not even minor problem. Toyota has solid reason to become world’s best selling car maker. Faham, adik?

• Yong Tau Fu on Nov 11, 2016 at 6:50 pm

Bullshit.. I used to drive rush and it have a lot freaking problem.. there ia no car in the world that doesn’t have problem.. Typical SA comment.. ini car drive 5 years no problem la.. buy la.. bullshit..

• nabill (Member) on Nov 10, 2016 at 10:04 pm

Low sample volume la

• Kunta bin Kinte on Nov 11, 2016 at 8:57 am

Proton can do better and can be at par with Japs if they change their work culture. Cannot 8x minum teh and makan kuih talam in the kantin. Once they stop doing that, Proton QC will go higher

• Yong Tau Fu on Nov 11, 2016 at 6:53 pm

How do you know proton work culture is like that? You work there? Or you just slander them? And if you see them, which department they work for?

• UMW TOYOTA on Nov 10, 2016 at 7:48 pm

protong mna..my VIOS naik news leh..

• Good job Perodua for single handedly making great progress to narrow the gap.

• 2436 survey??? Must a lot of sohais

• azmanshah on Nov 10, 2016 at 10:01 pm

This news will bring nightmares tonight to P1 cybertroopers.
    And John Vios hater will be frothing in fits claiming the results were rigged.

• This survey taken b4 vios takata thing exploded (no pun intended, or maybe I did…?).

But yeah, it was rigged cuz them bashers says it was rigged and JDP MY cant be trusted. So according to basher logic, vios is actually down in the dumps.

• Moron Surveys on Nov 11, 2016 at 1:14 pm

2.5k surveyed out of 550k new vehicles registered each year? Totally rigged

• Satu2nyanegaraislamygadaketanasionalproton on Nov 10, 2016 at 11:12 pm

Proton lahir bila? Honda, toyota dan yang lain2 lahir bila? Proton masih muda bru umur 31thn..mengagumkan apabila keta nasional dpt mengurangkan perbezaan kualiti dri semasa ke semama walaupun proton hanya cuma ada pengalaman 31 tahun je…toyota, honda , nissan dan yg lain2 tak malu ke? Dah banyak pengalaman, dah belajar macam-macam , tpi still keta nasional malaysia yg masih muda boleh kejar tahap quality pengeluar2 keta terbesar d dunia? Perodua tak payah nak bangga sangatlah, perodua ni ambil “jalan mudah” , copy paste je kerja, teknologi bkn dari kepakaran sendiri, pengecut

• So based on your logic, Proton memang berhak mengeluarkan kereta berkualiti lebih rendah sebab ia lebih muda dari Toyota, Honda… sampai bila bila.

Inilah mentality orang yang sentiasa ketinggalan, jadi perlukan pertolongan istimewa.

• Anything But P1, Greedy P2 on Nov 11, 2016 at 1:53 pm

Tesla bila lahir?

• carbuyer on Nov 10, 2016 at 11:13 pm

The downward slope (quality improvement) for National cars seems to mimic Proton’s market share reduction.

• kzm (Member) on Nov 11, 2016 at 10:03 am

What? Do understand what this article all bout? U know that downward slope in the article mean?

• CarBuyer on Nov 12, 2016 at 2:19 am

It’s obvious that interpreting the graph is beyond some folk. Let me try to explain.

Around 2003, say National Car Maker 01 sold 60 cars every time NCM02 sold 40. And each NCM01 had 4 faults per car, but each NCM02 only had 1 fault per car (on average). So for every 100 cars sold (sixty NCM01 and forty NCM02) the total number of faults would be (60×4)+(40×1) = 280 faults per hundred cars. Close enough to the figure of 282 on the graph.

Move on to about 2010, and now NCM01 only sells (say) 25 cars (still 4 faults per car) every time NCM02 sells 75 cars (still 1 fault per car). So now, for every 100 cars sold (twenty-five NCM01 and seventy-five NCM02) the total number of faults is on average (25×4)+(75×1)= 175 faults per hundred cars.

This is how there can be an improvement (downward tilt – less faults per 100 cars indicates a quality improvement) without ANY quality improvement individually in either NCM01 or NCM02 cars. Shrinking market share of the lower quality NCM01 (4 faults per vehicle) replaced by a higher proportion of sales of better quality NCM02 (1 fault per vehicle) effectively improves the AVERAGE quality figure. p.s. If you don’t understand “average”, then all this means nothing to you.

• carbuyer on Nov 10, 2016 at 11:15 pm

The downward slope (quality improvement) for National cars seems to be a reflection of Proton’s market share reduction.

• Abang Alza Pakai Topi on Nov 11, 2016 at 9:00 am

I can agree. It kind of corelate to the phasing out of the problematic Campro generation of cars and people choosing P2 instead.

• And the downward slope for non-nationals reflects the sales of ur toyota. So why worry… oh wai…

• Abu Seah Masamy on Nov 11, 2016 at 1:19 pm

So both national and non national car makers got same reduction market shares? Sohai arguement.Eaten too much Jakim’s certified food or no pork no lard one? Surely SPM failed..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
  • common sensor on Nov 11, 2016 at 8:07 am

The good thing about this IQS survey is that the owner of the car evaluate his/her own car. It is a true voice of customer. The bad thing being that the sample size is too small that it is ridiculous to claim that the findings are true reflection of the actual condition. As such, the survey is more about business scam than real feedback to manufacturer. My 2 cents.

• Sample size does’t matter if the data collected is reliable and credible. In this case data collected from genuine car driver/owner – true voice of customer. If they continue the survey to increase sample, the finding will not to much difference. So why waste time and recourse.

• How many statistics subjects u hv taken… one? Sample size doesn’t matter….. hahahhaaha…

• Cheung on Nov 11, 2016 at 8:16 am

Yea, Vios dugong in the place.
    Told you toyota cars are great in quality!

• Mikey on Nov 11, 2016 at 9:09 am

I believe the assessment is one of the most logical when it reported men complaint the most compare to women.

The other important criteria is Owners with more than 10 years of driving experience are also more prone to report problems, compared to those with no more than 10 years of driving experience.

• Proton must be syok sendiri thinking they also contributed to this favorable result.

• Ex VGM staff on Nov 11, 2016 at 10:27 am

This is one of the simple reason as to why ppl buy Toyotas. 5 years ago, many Malaysians shopping for d segment car did not buy Camry. Instead they went for Hyundai sonata, kia optima, VW Passat, peug 508, Ford Mondeo and all etc. Today they regretted their choices when the cars were not as reliable as a Toyota or honda. Or nissan. Or have a wide service network and proper warranty coverage. Parts availabilities. And worst is when they suffered from super low resales value. No doubt being more than 100k car, an altis and Camry still suffer from heavy depreciation (simple understanding of economics) but others are worst even.

• Yong Tau Fu on Nov 11, 2016 at 6:55 pm

Change my vios airbag faster la then telling me no stock no stock.. then u can claimed to be the best.. how long that I need to wait lor..

• passion on Nov 11, 2016 at 10:31 am

my next car will be toyota.

• Cosmo on Nov 11, 2016 at 10:34 am

U all missed out 1 point… the reason national carmaker can improve quality this fast is…. they already stop making their own car, but rebadge or use Japanese car instead… so its basically a Jap car… don’t u think so?

• Redidiot on Nov 11, 2016 at 11:16 pm

That would apply to P2, all their offerings are badge engineered.