Volkswagen Passat open for bookings – from RM160k

volkswagen_passat_b8_ext-4

Volkswagen Passenger Cars Malaysia (VPCM) is now taking orders for the new Volkswagen Passat, with estimated prices ranging from RM160,000 to RM199,000, for the three variants that will be available – Trendline, Comfortline and Highline.

To recap, the B8 Passat is built upon VW’s MQB modular architecture, and measures 4,767 mm long, 1,832 mm wide and 1,456 mm tall. That makes it two millimetres shorter, 12 mm wider and 14 mm lower compared to the B7, while being up to 90 kg lighter than its predecessor. Boot space is up by 21 litres, to 586 litres.

Under the hood, two powertrain combinations are available for the Malaysian market, these being a 180 PS/250 Nm, 1.8 litre direct-injection petrol engine paired with a seven-speed, dry clutch DSG transmission in the 1.8 TSI Trendline and Comfortline versions, as well as a 220 PS/350 Nm, 2.0 litre turbocharged petrol engine, which equips the 2.0 TSI Highline.

volkswagen_passat_b8_ext-7-bm

Paired with a six-speed, wet clutch DSG transmission, this is the same powertrain that propels the Mk7 Golf GTI, albeit with different tuning.

Among the features in the Passat 2.0 TSI Highline are Dynamic Chassis Control, Electronic Differential Lock and Lane Assist, while both Highline and Comfortline variants receive Park Assist – which functions for both parallel and perpendicular parking situations – and a sensor-equipped, keyless-opening trunk which opens automatically by detecting the driver’s foot when waved beneath the rear bumper.

The B8 Passat comes with a five-year manufacturer’s warranty, and is available in seven colours – Pure White, Deep Black, Reflex Silver, Indium Grey, Crimson Red, Black Oak Brown and Harvard Blue. Those interested can check out the new sedan at Volkswagen showrooms nationwide on November 12 and 13.

GALLERY: Volkswagen Passat 2.0 TSI Highline

GALLERY: Volkswagen Passat 1.8 TSI Comfortline

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• Das Auto on Nov 10, 2016 at 2:39 pm

Solid & affordable!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 14
    • Look forward to garage sales 50-80K discount

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 13
      • Operation Manager on Nov 10, 2016 at 9:22 pm

Congratulations… luxury segment new BMW 3series 179k better buy… oh sohai…

• Sama L00 on Nov 11, 2016 at 10:47 am

Buy second hand better, cheaper and better quality than kimchi.

• Kunta bin Kinte on Nov 10, 2016 at 4:45 pm

Passat is a bad word in the Malaysian car industry. I advice people, instead of spending RM160k, just buy 2nd hand for RM70k after 1 year later.

Now, even 2014 Passat cars cannot sell. No used car dealer wants to touch the car cause nama busuk due to the DSG. VW Malaysia has kelentong the rakyat saying that using mineral oil has solved the problem.

But in 2016, people who are using mineral oil still seeing their DSG breaking down. And it is pretty sad, that you buy a RM160k car and you are told not to use fully synthetic but mineral oil.

Previous Passat prices dropped so much because VW Malaysia themselves do firesales and sell their previous Passat at RM120k. So, 2nd hand market follows suit. It just drops like crazy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 20
      • BeemerFreak on Nov 10, 2016 at 8:45 pm

Don’t like doesn’t mean you need to criticize it that way. Mine and many others did not face such problem and it’s a fact that the problem is solved. Just don’t buy………no one is forcing you

• Are you a vw owner? My dry clutch has never failed me, year 2014 ckd model. Don’t spread wrong information dude. Who is ‘people’ here. Kindly exclude me and many of the other owners in the VWOC. We never had problem, and these cars have clocked high mileage.

• Muzamil on Nov 12, 2016 at 8:18 pm

I agree with wayz, my ckd passat 2013 never failed on me, hard drive everywhere everyday even to felda. Maybe m the lucky ones.

• Kunta bin Kinte on Nov 17, 2016 at 12:26 pm

Many owners here come to say their dry clutch never fail them. They scared their RV so bad. Now only can get 30% of their car value.

So they come here and try to persuade people not to believe rumours. Go to VW facebook page. That does not lie. Read the comments there. All genuine comments. All comments come from facebook people with 200 over friends.

• ragnarokfan on Nov 10, 2016 at 10:52 pm

The same two critics are back – John and the African scammer Kunta Kinte. I guess their soul sold already

• Mikey on Nov 10, 2016 at 2:41 pm

Looks like VW (M) is listening/reading PT.org report card well. With 200k, you get the top specked Passat & power to go with it. This is good enough reason for VW to steal sales from Audi/BMW/Merc.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 15
  • seancorr (Member) on Nov 10, 2016 at 2:52 pm

While the high spec model is a steal for 200k the base spec sticker price isn’t so enticing.

• gti owner on Nov 10, 2016 at 3:06 pm

Dry clutch is a forbidden word

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
    • its perfectly fine now lah. Resolved so long time ago. If you’re so scared just stick with your CVT. probably you will get more enjoyment from the rubber band effect.

• kipKEEP1230 on Nov 10, 2016 at 5:48 pm

hey mick, is the head unit compatible with Android Auto and Apple CarPlay?

• With lies and scandals, I don’t trust them anymore.. “DSG issue resolved” probably just another cover up, who knows what else are they hiding..

• Zlatan Ibrahimovic on Nov 10, 2016 at 11:29 pm

If VW ditch the old 1.8 and replace with 2.0 wet clutch across all plus improvement in SC services, it will definitely regain market confidence !

• Passat_B7_Owner on Nov 11, 2016 at 12:11 pm

Dare not touch VW cars anymore. Unless they take my existing with high return value for change to new version only I will give it a try. They should gain back existing consumer confidence, else just wish them good luck. I will tell any of my friend do not take risk and try, there is no turning back. Clutch problems twice, juddering and cost me RM400 for workmanship because they claimed I had a late service schedule $#!+. Gearbox once, toll back. Fuel pump problem, toll back. Everytime sent in and end up go body and paint cause they damage the car body (Damansara & Mont Kiara branch) and everytime I sent different SSS Shop but end up same except Glenmarie branch.

• Ben Yap on Nov 11, 2016 at 3:24 pm

RM160K is a big no-no…. too expensive for a low reliability and resale value car.

• Stratified on Nov 11, 2016 at 5:49 pm

Low reliability? Have you owned a VW? Or you probably modded to stage 2 until the car gave up? My stock Jetta is running well. Only minor issue it had was door rattling (which car doesn’t have even minor issues) and Wearness Sg. Besi resolved it FOC. I’m happy with my ride.