GALLERY: Volkswagen Beetle Dune 1.4 TSI in Malaysia

volkswagen-beetle-dune-1

A surprise popped up last month in the form of an ad for the Volkswagen Beetle Dune on our sister classifieds site oto.my, which hinted that the ruggedised version of the Bug could actually make it to our shores very soon. Its recent appearance at various showrooms in Malaysia has pretty much confirmed it, and we’ve got a complete gallery of the car for you to pore over.

The Dune takes over from the discontinued 1.4 TSI and 2.0 TSI models as the range-topping Beetle, slotting above the 1.2 TSI. Contrary to the ad posted, power comes from the 1.4 litre TSI turbo four-cylinder petrol engine from the revised Golf, instead of the 1.8 litre TSI mill from the upcoming B8 Passat.

In this configuration, it produces 150 PS from 5,000 to 6,000 rpm and 250 Nm between 1,500 and 3,500 rpm, sent to the front wheels via a seven-speed DSG dual-clutch transmission. So fitted, the Dune accelerates from 0-100 km/h in 8.8 seconds, and will go all the way to a top speed of 200 km/h. Combined fuel consumption is rated at 5.5 litres per 100 km.

Differentiating the Dune from the regular Beetle is a more aggressive front bumper design (as seen on the facelifted Beetle R-Line), side sill finishers, a two-tone rear spoiler, LED tail lights, beefier matte plastic mouldings all the way around and silver front and rear skid plates. Finishing off the look are 18-inch “Canyon” two-tone alloy wheels, side decals with the Dune script as well as a 10 mm higher ride height.

Inside, there’s Dune badging on the steering wheel, along with yellow stitching on the steering wheel, gearlever gaiter and handbrake lever. Our cars will come with “Vienna” leather upholstery, plus xenon headlights with LED daytime running lights, Climatronic dual-zone automatic climate control, a multifunction steering wheel and a Composition Media infotainment system with a 6.5-inch touchscreen.

So, what do you think of the new Volkswagen Beetle Dune – is there room for a tougher-looking Bug in your life? Sound off in the comments section after the jump.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Serious question to those who know: Does a 10mm (1 cm) increase in ride height is really any difference?

Cos if my 80kg friend sit in the car, the car already go down 1cm (the door will scrape the curb when try to open).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
    • Yup… Ride Height does play a major role in cars. In aerodynamic wise, a CM lower means less airflow through the bottom of the car, less lift, more grip. Lower ride height also means that the center of gravity became lower, giving you much better handling. That’s why, lets say a Toyota GT86 and a Honda Civic. GT86 may seems a lot lower but actually they are just few CM difference, but for handling performance wise, they are hugely different (GT86 scraps more often also). As for this case. They increase the ride height by 1CM means that they make it slightly capable off road. Every CM is a big difference in automative world. Not to say crazy offroad like range rover stuff. It’s more like driving to somewhere there’s no Tarmac, like going to plantation farm where there are small holes and stuff. And yea, if you carry your 80kg friend and and your car goes down by 1 CM. This additional 1CM will allow you to carry 1 more 80kg friend ;)

• I see, thanks. So it’s more of the handling then, and not for clearance.

• Dune? Make it an all wheel drive ler…

• OldBell on Nov 14, 2016 at 10:35 am

is this car using new DSG7 (wet)?

• Its torque only 250nm…definitely using dry dsg 7…only those 280nm torque & above will equipped wt wet dsg6

• passion on Nov 14, 2016 at 10:45 am

Tak Nak!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
  • Thoo Chin Wee on Nov 14, 2016 at 10:55 am

200k for this pile of ****? Why baby…why?!

• Albert says 1 year later can get at 40% diskaun, 2 years later can get at 80% diskaun, better buy his toyota junks woh….

• I would call it Dung Beetle..

• Dune bug

• Saw a VW Beetle, completely standstill at one of the traffic junction yesterday, the driver was panic-ly trying to call somebody.

I sincerely wish all VW owner have a good day everyday.

• VW fan on Nov 14, 2016 at 4:37 pm

I have seen a Toyota, Honda, Nissan, Mitsubishi ………you name it, breakdown. Anyway, thanks for your sincere wishes mate. We love our Volkswagens.

• Yep! I have seen a black shiny and handsome Porsche Carrera 911 broke down right smack in the middle of a 3 lanes LDP road in front of One Utama and made a long backlog congestion. Not to mention a 3 series beemer and a Volvo. Thank you for the wish zah! We the VW fans wish you have a good one too irregardless of what car you drive

• Better dune(don’t)

• Strange on Nov 14, 2016 at 11:37 am

@Paultan, is it really 5.5km/l rated fuel? That Bad?

• Jonathan Lee (Member) on Nov 14, 2016 at 11:40 am

No, that was an error – it’s actually supposed to be 5.5 litres per 100 km. The article has been amended. Thanks for the spot!

• Any idea about pricing or the cabriolets?

• Jonathan Lee (Member) on Nov 14, 2016 at 2:51 pm

None as yet, although we wouldn’t hold our breath for a cabrio version.

• Rm180k+

• Lovely on Nov 14, 2016 at 4:39 pm

Cute bug!

• Semi-Value (Member) on Nov 14, 2016 at 8:22 pm

this must be a joke