Honda files patent for touch-sensitive window tint

honda-window-patent

The latest patent to surface from Honda could add the touch dimension to window tints, should it come to mainstream application. While electro-photochromic windows have seen automotive applications before, Honda’s patent allows touchscreen-like control by varying the windows’ tinted area with the user dragging a finger across the window surface.

Pinch movements would be used for controlling other parameters of the window tint, though with safety in mind, these functions can only be accessed when the vehicle is stationary. Though the patent image suggests its application for a vehicle’s side windows, the technology could be applied to the front windscreen as well, which could see it replace physical sun visors in the role of blocking out the sun’s glare.

What do you think of this new approach to window tinting? Will touch surfaces continue to lead the way forward, or would you prefer more tactile, physical controls?

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• Jimmy on Nov 14, 2016 at 1:39 pm

When you are driving, the last thing you want is to look for a tiny touch screen area to answer a phone call through bluetooth function.
    It is better to have an analog button on the steering wheel.

• Kunta katak on Nov 14, 2016 at 2:49 pm

Very soon our katak fren will come here shoot proton because they dont have this technology

• omegle on Nov 14, 2016 at 2:59 pm

the entire car side window screen is considered tiny for you?

• What he mean is the feel of touching a button is very helpful when your driving, no need to look at it. It is like when you typing a sms with touch pad vs touch screen,

• Wiwiwiwiwiw on Nov 14, 2016 at 1:52 pm

My old Waja, you touch… The whole window falls down due to epic fail window bracket design. Too thin to support the window. It costs $500-$650 per door! Until today they don’t want to recall and replace their poorly cheaply designed power window design. It works like magic.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 10
    • Got lifetime warranty

• You have mentioned OLD my friend..thats why its fall..because its OLD..next time go bought a 1986 Proton Saga and then complained the condition here. and dont forget to highlight poor quality of PROTON as well..

• wiwiwiwiwiw on Nov 15, 2016 at 10:32 am

My kelisa same age as the waja have no problem. My e36 even upper have to problem. Please use your brain when commenting

• karam singh on Nov 14, 2016 at 1:53 pm

this i dont like. not good for my tinted business. bad honda.

• James on Nov 14, 2016 at 2:47 pm

Well, not everyone will be able to afford this new adjustable tinting. Must cost a small fortune, probably at least 3-5kk.

• What kinda physical tactile controls on a normal window tint, that u mean?

• darkbright on Nov 14, 2016 at 3:07 pm

aiya just make it auto adjust la, under direct sunlight become darker, night time become brighter. new technology that need you to entertain is not smart all.

• LimAhPek on Nov 14, 2016 at 3:18 pm

I don’t mind if designed by apple, honda no thank you.

• U will have to pay to use it, and needs constant internet connection for it to work. If all okay and still dun work, its cuz ur touching it wrong.

• M'sia so panas on Nov 14, 2016 at 3:25 pm

Put in auto sensor. When sun up, the screen gets darker… Why bother to use finger to swap here and there. Turn on or off will do, the rest sensor to detect the sun temperature and brightness.

• nabill (Member) on Nov 14, 2016 at 4:22 pm

Most car companies are running out of ideas and new tech.. Thr are so many current new tech in cars that r either useless or distracting… All for da sake of having sting new… U

• They shud spend the money on something more meaningful, like make flying cars to the bypass jams.

• Susukotak on Nov 14, 2016 at 4:34 pm

don’t we have transition glass as of spectacle.

• Pierre on Nov 15, 2016 at 7:47 am

I hate fingerprint on glasses. This is disaster!

• Hunter Zolomon on Nov 15, 2016 at 12:15 pm

JPJ will hate this

• Boeing already have this tech in their 787 dreamliner

• Proton TerPowah on Nov 15, 2016 at 6:24 pm

Honda got touch sensitive window. Old news….

Proton has their own “safety window” many many years ago. This “safety window” literally jams the window glass, so nothing sticks out of the door.