Oval circuit, dragstrip set to be developed in Perak

tcity-03

The first oval racing circuit is set to be built in the country, and it will be located in Perak. The facility will be part of a motorsports-themed modern integrated township development called T-City, which is expected to be completed in around 10 to 20 years, the New Straits Times reports.

Located about 10 km from Ipoh city centre, T-City will feature a dragstrip and a dirt track in addition to the oval circuit. Other showcase pieces will include a water-themed park and a motorsports country club.

The RM15.1 billion project, jointly backed by Goodland Group and Citrine Capital, will also contain other developments such as shoplots/commercial offices, automotive galleries as well as hotels, serviced apartments and a land transport terminal.

Perak menteri besar Datuk Dr Zambri Abdul Kadir said the project, which has been endorsed by the Malaysian Economic Council as part of the state’s key economic transformation programme, will be a boost for the state’s tourism industry. He added that the first phase of the project, comprising 204 acres, is expected to be completed in 10 years’ time.

“This development will better position Perak to capture growth opportunities and meet rising expectations of the tourism market, and will especially help our promotion efforts globally to draw more visitors. This is also part of our vision to internationalise the state of Perak,” he said.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• 4G63T DSM on Nov 14, 2016 at 11:24 am

Out of touch with reality???

Why on earth do we need an oval track? Its not like we have a big following in Nascar and Indycar.

Drag and Circuit racing yes, but Oval?? Do they realise most people here drive FWD? Try that on a high speed oval. LOL.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 11
    • ex-VGM staff on Nov 14, 2016 at 2:05 pm

nascar is actually a very interesting race, if you dont know. you take a car platform, remove the steel body and replace it with carbon fibre composite of some sort, plonk in a large v8 and remove EFi – fixed a carburettor instead and it is all man and machine. higher level of thrill and excitement.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
      • 4G63T DSM on Nov 14, 2016 at 3:59 pm

Nascar (Indy and the Craftsman Truck -No idea what they are called now) is interesting, no doubt about it, having been at the races myself. It is a more immersive spectator sport, unlike F1. The atmosphere is unlike any other.

But no, nascar race cars are all custom built tube frame cars. These are silhouette racecars sharing nothing with the normal road cars they ape.

But in Malaysia. A different story. The majority drive different type cars. There will be no V8 thunder.

All we get are some protons and hondas with fart cans. It wont be the same thing…. and there is no skill transfer from our local drivers “graduating” to Nascar drivers unlike drift and circuit drivers.

• trollmaster3000 on Nov 14, 2016 at 10:10 pm

if you enjoy watching race cars going circles and making endless left turns.. then NASCAR is for you..

• Virosh on Nov 14, 2016 at 2:07 pm

Could not agree more. Hey BN, how about helping the car scene in Malaysia by not bringing in any oval circuits. We don’t need drivers driving fast in an oval and think that’s impressive. It’s not. Children can do that. How about building smaller racetracks around the country to build actual interest among car lovers in this country. It sure makes us here spend more on our cars. It’s better for the economy no?

• 4G63T DSM on Nov 14, 2016 at 4:10 pm

Will disagree on you on one point.

The cars are certainly not easy to drive. Its no small feat driving a car at 300++kmh that have no downforce and very little grip.

They do the same speeds as the high tech spaceships which is F1 with traction control, massive downforce, and 1/3 the weight.

(Similar looking Indycars run even faster, with generally less downforce, hitting 350++kmh at the Indy500)

Food for thought.

Like I said, drive a FWD at Vmax on an oval and tell me how fun it is…….

• Hey, Donald Trump gonna love this!!!!

• Faiz Roslan on Nov 14, 2016 at 11:24 am

Good project that caters for the locals and tourist! Well done Perak Government for promoting development in the state!

– Faiz Roslan CEng

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 29
    • waste of money… how about investing in the future of ordinary people such as a good education system, better road safey especially for kids, such as those disgusting Bas Sekolah that should not be on the road or car seats that many people need but can’t afford.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 4
      • Faiz Roslan on Nov 14, 2016 at 3:36 pm

pls read budget 2017, a lot has been done by the federal government to promote what you have just said, don’t simply bash!

– Faiz Roslan CEng

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 17
        • Hot Cat not Hot Dog on Nov 14, 2016 at 6:56 pm

Do you know why ringgit to usd drop lagi gao compared others currencies like indo rup or china yen to usd ??…

• Ipohana500. The winner will guest race in Indiana

• lilytan on Nov 14, 2016 at 11:34 am

Smells fishy

• mr1031 on Nov 14, 2016 at 11:36 am

i kinda doubt this..

• Circle only takes 20 years?

• since when was Nascar exciting to watch in malaysia?

• spongewai on Nov 14, 2016 at 12:04 pm

wasted money

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
  • kapchai on Nov 14, 2016 at 12:26 pm

even if there is a need for this, why build it in Ipoh? who is going to travel to Ipoh to watch a race?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
  • Black hippo on Nov 14, 2016 at 12:51 pm

It takes 20 years to complete a white elephant? LoL!

• kyosho on Nov 14, 2016 at 12:53 pm

Another White Elephant project..Who gonna travel to ipoh just for a not popular oval racing? waste of money!! if this track built it in penang, JB or KL also died.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
    • Yong Tau Fu on Nov 14, 2016 at 5:33 pm

In case u haven’t read the article, it’s not only oval track there, there’s a lot others project. Malaysian education need to do something in english comprehension subject, or else we would have a lot of this guy above..

• We don’t need this. I don’t know what sort of brain they having right now. Motorsport won’t enjoy a mammoth project like this. We only need a small circuit with good safety let say 2 km circuit for drifting and mopped racing. And if you like enough build one like nurburging circuit.

• 4G63T DSM on Nov 14, 2016 at 4:13 pm

We have plenty of Rempits. Who knows, There might be more than a few Valentino Rossis in the wings.

Sure better way than to build an oval.

• donno on Nov 14, 2016 at 1:17 pm

Another potential white elephant. Should be a normal road circuit like sepang but with a dedicated drag straight. something like the KNA Raceway in Norway would be good.

• C. P. MOHAN on Nov 14, 2016 at 1:22 pm

To justify spending billions use the magic word TOURIST.

• Black Dog on Nov 14, 2016 at 1:33 pm

15.1B? Guess nobody talks about Million nowadays huh? Our country is damn bloody rich! But where’s the money?

• That much money, u wun see it physically. Its all in the system

• Smokey on Nov 14, 2016 at 1:43 pm

20 years
    Take even longer time than the HSR which is longer distance than a circle

• applegreen on Nov 14, 2016 at 2:34 pm

The idea is okay, maybe can revise to Hot Wheels theme park

• lao yee on Nov 14, 2016 at 2:43 pm

OH YES!!

• submarine on Nov 14, 2016 at 3:13 pm

Can you please invest on things that need immediate attention? The public healthcare system is in need of a long-delayed revamp. Look at the economy now, more people will be going for government hospitals for their healthcare services, can the government cope? What about education, has it ever gone to new heights these 10 years? Do you want a future generation of labour-exporting economy?

• rm 15 bil can build a pretty complete trams transportation system in Ipoh already. http://www.bettercheaperfaster.my/cheaper-to-build

• Semi-Value (Member) on Nov 14, 2016 at 8:22 pm

beribu ribu tahniah…..

• Hahah, nice project but sadly those developers mentioned in the article above are from Singapore, what on earth are they thinking?? Btw i have googled Citrine Capital, and they stated in their Homepage that they are the owner of the Development

• gearone on Mar 22, 2017 at 10:39 pm

What Malaysian motorsport needs is more grass roots motorsport.
    Building the most amazing circuits is a wonderful idea but that wont help local talent get there abilities shown.(Sepang = amazing = F1 bye bye)
    we need more circuits across Malaysia, with more motorsport opportunities.

Hill climbing
    short ovals
    short road course

This is the real starting point that needs to be implemented Grass roots building the grass roots builds the motorsport industry for Malaysia and also starts creating jobs