Transport minister: AES speeding fine fixed at RM150

jenoptik-stc1

All speeding summonses issued under the Automated Enforcement System (AES) will have a fixed penalty of RM150, according to transport minister Datuk Seri Liow Tiong Lai.

Liow said the decision to impose a fixed penalty was approved during a Cabinet meeting recently, Bernama reports. He was responding to rumours the government would dismiss 1.6 million speeding tickets issued by the AES since 2012.

“They have to pay, but from now onwards it will all be RM150,” he told reporters at Parliament. “Those who fail to pay up their summonses will be blacklisted and not allowed to renew their driving licences,” he said, adding that there are currently 40 AES speed cameras installed in the Klang Valley and Perak.

In April, it was reported that a total of 2,034,265 fines have been issued since the AES began operations in September 2012, with a total of RM96 million being collected. However, the collection rate is low, with only 15% of fines having been settled.

In May last year, the government announced that the AES coverage was to be significantly expanded in the second phase, with cameras being installed at traffic light intersections in stages at 262 locations nationwide. It was also announced that the AES and the Kejara demerit points system would be unified under a new name – Awareness Automated Safety System (AWAS).

Coming with diverse and extensive experience in heavy engineering, Mohan enjoys making anything with wheels go fast, especially motorcycles. His weapon of choice is the Desmoquattro engine, and he has a penchant for anything with a dash of Italian design. Strangely enough, he insists he's a slow rider.

• Mikey on Nov 16, 2016 at 11:00 am

What about those who have paid in full RM 300 ?!! Our transport minister better close shop if they don’t refund those who pay in full.

• Faiz Roslan on Nov 16, 2016 at 11:09 am

Good move by government, berani buat, berani tanggung, dont expect government to bend over for you. And the additional income will help development of the country. Well done government and Transport Minister.

– Faiz Roslan CEng

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 14
  • mr1031 on Nov 16, 2016 at 11:11 am

flip-flop yet again

• Semi-Value (Member) on Nov 16, 2016 at 11:23 am

beribu ribu tahniah banyak wang untuk berjaya

• still wait for discount, wait wait wait wait

• Kunta bin Kinte on Nov 16, 2016 at 12:00 pm

They have to do this cause the 2 crony companies who set up AES are hungry. Want more money. This is despite each making BILLIONS in clean profit per year.

Small Sdn Bhd, but they can make more money than any listed KLSE (Bursa) company.

Remember, these were the 2 companies that was charging our Malaysian Government RM1 million per camera too. And our gomen happily paid the RM1 million per camera to this crony 2 companies.

Now, we Malaysians suffer with this AES system because the crony companies have sucked so much money from the gomen.

• The Saint on Nov 16, 2016 at 12:03 pm

I still have a few outstanding AES summons.

I was stupid previously by paying the 300 promptly and the G subsequently waived the summons or giving hefty discounts. Now I will just wait and see. How are they going to blacklist my driving licence if the car is not registered under my name?

• Ben Yap on Nov 16, 2016 at 12:11 pm

RM150 fix rate is so cheap. I going to show the government how fast my Stage 2 Racechip Honda Civic 1.5T top speed.

• will there be any refund to people that paid rm300 before this?

• wow the fine for having a ‘fancy’ or ‘labour’ number plate is double of speeding…..

• hailthepurist on Nov 16, 2016 at 1:17 pm

at least we have symphaty..

• Pity those who paid early at $300! And for the rest they will continue to wait for gormen’s flip flop decision hopefully one day give 50% discount or better still no need to pay!

• Noh Jib on Nov 16, 2016 at 1:35 pm

Yeay thanks Gomen . I’ve been travelling at speed of 200+ regularly on my Megane RS . This is good news .

• Fakhriz on Nov 16, 2016 at 2:22 pm

No Need to use AES. Go saman those stubborn pipu park and blocking Emergency lane every FRIDAY noon 1st.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 12
  • Bodo piang. Shud have increased to RM450 instead of lowering. Why need to pander to these ingrates that choose to disobey the law? Sked they scold the officers and throw money at them, kah?

These idiots knew the AES is there cuz its no secret, and theres big big signboard b4 reach AES, yet they speed like shaitans. LTL shud put up more AES instead!

LTL, u dun need to pander to them to get their votes cuz u wun get them anyways! So dun bother with them and their expensive cars & castles. ENFORCE THE LAW LIKE DREDD.

• Hmm... Much Hmm... on Nov 16, 2016 at 2:52 pm

So in other words, the system almost works! The part where it fails is the apprehension of the criminals, the collection of summons and the enforcement of the law. Another way to put it, the human factor of our government failed the system.

I wonder if our government could be 1/4th as efficient as Japan. I’m not greedy right? 1/4th the efficiency is pretty lax right? I mean they fixed the massive sinkhole in Fukuoka in just 2 days and reopens the road on day 4 is probably the best benchmark there is. So 1/4th efficiency means the Bukit Bintang sinkhole could have been fixed and reopened in 14 days instead of 56 days it took. Hmm.. 56 days minus 14 days… maybe asking our government to be 1/4th as efficient is too much.. maybe it needs to be 1/14th (fixed in 28 days)?

• The main reason need to be for safety.. Govt need to ensure summon reaches the driver. And if not paid action taken promptly. If let accumulate then what is the point? Just $$$$?

• What happened to all the disenting voice?
    Can somebody, NGO, MPs say no to AES???

• Sometimes its meaningless.. midnight less cars, still sit middle of highway to do speedtrap..

And fine should reduce to those like parking fines.. first 2 weeks settle, rm50..3rd to 4th week rm100.. then rm150.. this way, people rushing one will weigh between paying or being late

• Andrekua on Nov 16, 2016 at 7:14 pm

Seem like they encourage speeding by slashing it 50% off.

• fabian on Nov 17, 2016 at 11:28 pm

Summon suppose want you to appear in court. Only court can issue a fine to you. There’s no such thing as pay summon. If admit guilty, settle out of court, you pay fine. Or you go to court, explain yourself and let the judge decide.

The problem is when you received summon no court date, no case. Why want to settle with government?

On top of that, I believe we have some kind of statute of limitation on traffic offences.

I’m not a lawyer, but at least this is what I understand it. Thanks to government for removing civic study.