Volvo Concierge Services – life made less complicated

Volvo Cars is looking to make “life less complicated” for its customers by rolling out a new connected-car app called Volvo Concierge Services. According to the company, the app “could end the need for time-consuming trips to the gas station, car wash, service and more.”

How? By having someone else do it for you of course! Through the app, which expands upon Volvo’s On Call connected car app, customers will be able to “order” to have their car refuelled, cleaned or maintained, while they are busy doing other things like working, sleeping, or even traveling abroad.

Think of it like a personalised butler service that is specifically catered to your Volvo. If you’re worried about safety, Volvo Concierge provides a one-time-use digital key, which is location and time-specific, and is sent to the authorised provider to access the vehicle.

When the needed services are complete, the car is locked and the digital key expires. Customers can choose to have their car returned to where they last left it, or delivered to a completely new location at their request.

“Imagine parking your car in the morning at work and when you head home your car has been serviced, cleaned and refuelled. These are the kind of services we want to deliver to our customers. Our research shows that people spend hours every week doing these small errands – we want to give that time back to Volvo drivers, so they can do something more valuable instead,” said Bjorn Annwall, senior vice president of Volvo Car Group’s Global Consumer Experience division.

The company’s research revealed that consumers seek convenient and precise on-demand services that save them time. Fueling services were favoured by 70% of consumers, while 56% want their car to be taken for servicing, and 49% liked the idea of being able to have their car moved to another location.

For now, a pilot programme with the service is set to introduced this November in the San Francisco Bay area, targeting Volvo owners driving the new XC90 SUV and S90 sedan. It will then ramp up to include around 300 Volvo owners.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Jimmy on Nov 18, 2016 at 1:08 pm

Superb and excellent idea.

Very useful in certain occasions, unless you have two or more personal drivers.

Low class people will say: please don’t charge high on this; cheaper sikit boleh?

I seriously want high quality services, rather than cheaper intermediate/low quality ones.
    Good system, adequately trained personnels with good attitude towards their careers.
    Low class workers handle precious luxury vehicles in low-class manner/way.
    We don’t expect O-level/SPM guys, or Bangla, or Indons to do this work; we don’t want our vehicles spoilt by them and then we claim compensations from you. Worse, with even more hasslesss.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
    • ssshole on Nov 18, 2016 at 1:26 pm

Stupid comment..generalise everyone.

• bro 1.5 on Nov 22, 2016 at 2:06 am

Hey rude fellow, we all used to be that “low class worker” okay? Remember zaman SPM/sekolah or not? We all go through that phrase and there’s nothing to deny about it. You think you look smart writing that comment? That’s just plain rude. You’re making youths, especially SPM candidates feel useless and think they have no future. Who knows some of them may not be smart but they have talents that are more useful in some companies. Sometimes skills are better than grades. How about the foreigners? You don’t know if they have a family and the husband is trying to support his family work hard just to travel in our country to get a simple job with simple gaji will support them. Honestly, getting a job here isn’t easy you know.

• 300 volvos in all of san frisco?! Thats worse than P1 in aussie!

• I just want the app here.... on Nov 18, 2016 at 2:32 pm

I just want the Volvo on Call app here to work that’s all…

Please Volvo, you have a factory here producing your latest state of the art flag ship, the only other place in the world producing XC90s… but the Volvo on Call app does not work with our car due to the lack of a in built modem.

• tokmoh. on Nov 18, 2016 at 3:09 pm

Volvo > all