2016 Hyundai Starex spotted on oto.my, RM164k

hyundai-starex-on-oto

A 2016 update of Hyundai’s cavernous people-mover, the 12-seater Starex, has appeared on oto.my at a price of RM163,888, placing it above the base RM156,888 VGT Royale. First to catch your eyes will be the imposing grille – even more so than before – at the front of the MPV, which incorporates a revised front bumper, where chrome takes on a more prominent role.

Listed as the “latest facelift”, the model seen here can be expected to be largely the same vehicle as before. As for the powertrain, the same 2,497 cc CRDi diesel engine is listed in its specifications, with the same 170 PS peak output as before. Peak torque appears to have risen to 441 Nm here, up from 392 Nm from before; drive is sent to the wheels via a five-speed automatic.

Styling-wise, the Starex retains its unique side mirror-mounted LED daytime running lights, and along with its keeping with the trend for imposing front ends, the rear end has been updated as well, with revisions to the rear bumper with integrated exhaust outlets and tail lamps.

GALLERY: Hyundai Starex spyshots

GALLERY: Hyundai Grand Starex Royale

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• Hunter on Nov 21, 2016 at 4:06 pm

This just brings ugly to a whole new level!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 1
    • Nothing Pupu on Nov 21, 2016 at 8:03 pm

Already seen it at mudah last month

• Jimmy on Nov 21, 2016 at 10:20 pm

Junk face.

Inspired by new Alphard front grill.

At > RM100k and yet still airbags dua biji = superjunk.

• starex has braces for grille.
      Alfat has false teeth for grille.
      Elgrand has blinkers for grille.

• passion on Nov 21, 2016 at 4:09 pm

OOPS! what happened to the grill?

• OMG…The front damn fake & ugly like shit…puihhh

• TheDuh on Nov 21, 2016 at 4:17 pm

Excuse me. I just vomited over my computer, and now I need to clean up.

• suomynona on Nov 21, 2016 at 4:20 pm

OMG What happen to the grill?!

• sam lee on Nov 21, 2016 at 4:25 pm

lexus grill
    haha
    make sam loo happy

• FIST (Member) on Nov 21, 2016 at 4:30 pm

Look!! I want to be a Toyota too!!

• lol Lexus wannabe

• fugly on Nov 21, 2016 at 4:32 pm

aiyak… almera MPV?

• musclemuseum on Nov 21, 2016 at 4:54 pm

been waiting for Hyundai to upgrade all seat belts to 3 point for 3 years. if this facelift only cosmetic, I’m gonna have to pass again. I can live with esc + 2 airbags (which is current starex have), but I find it ridiculous to have lap belts for all the 2nd, 3rd & 4th row. such a shame.

• CloneKing on Nov 21, 2016 at 5:06 pm

Hyundai is copying toyota alphard front grille

• hayata on Nov 21, 2016 at 5:18 pm

Wow! Ugly af

• fuyoo banyaknya gigi :)

• Fuyoo..This type of design is called Hyperdontia!

• kyoshooo on Nov 21, 2016 at 5:42 pm

Walau leh..fiece than Alphard!

• lihwoei on Nov 21, 2016 at 6:12 pm

NOPE, IT WAS REMOVE…

• AutoFrenz (the original) on Nov 21, 2016 at 6:14 pm

Alphard grille-wannabe…will suit the poor looking for more seats…especially those going for rally in yellow…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
  • wluqman on Nov 21, 2016 at 6:19 pm

Lexus front grill mash up with Alphard front end.

• Jayden on Nov 21, 2016 at 6:48 pm

Aiyo….. Why go copy the Alphard/vellfire styling?
    Hyundai should have own identity

• I thought it an alphard when i see the pic till read the title realize it starex

• Megane on Nov 21, 2016 at 10:36 pm

I’m pretty sure I’ve seen the front face on Astro Animal Channel . I think in the episode ” Brutal Animal Attack On Vehicles Caught Live On Tape”

• Good Riddance Red Taxi on Nov 21, 2016 at 10:59 pm

chrome must be very cheap in korea…..

• TheDean on Nov 22, 2016 at 8:40 am

I was genuinely startled when I saw the pictures. Looks like a maniacal clown.

• Ben Yap on Nov 22, 2016 at 9:45 am

very horrendous front grille.

time to grill the designer.