Edaran Modenas to distribute Kymco scooters in M’sia – new 125 and 250 cc Modenas bikes launched soon

kymco-downtown-250i-14

It was announced Edaran Modenas (Emos) has been appointed exclusive distributor of Taiwanese scooter manufacturer Kymco, in Malaysia. Emos will be responsible for the distribution, sales and marketing of Kymco scooters locally.

This marks the return of the Kymco name to the Malaysian market, and two models will be sold initially – the Kymco 250i Downtown and the 400i Exciting. As part of its sales and marketing effort, Emos has also appointed 30 exclusive dealers in Peninsular Malaysia, Sarawak and Sabah.

Emos is aiming to capture 25% of market share for scooters in Malaysia by March 2017. Out of a total Malaysian motorcycle industry sales volume of 60,000 units for the year 2015, scooters accounted for 13%, or 7,800 units.

“We intend to rejuvenate the Kymco brand and promote it as one of the leading scooter brands in Malaysia,” said Datuk Sri Syed Faisal Albar, group managing director of DRB-Hicom. Emos is a subsidiary of Motosikal dan Enjin Nasional (Modenas), which is in turn a member of the DRB-Hicom group.

The Kymco 400i Exciting carries a 399 cc single-cylinder, liquid-cooled engine that produces 35.5 hp and is fed by EFI. The Kymco 250i Downtown uses a 246.3 cc single-cylinder, EFI, liquid-cooled engine that puts out 22.5 hp and 23.1 Nm of torque at 6,000 rpm.

Weighing in at 200 kg (dry), the 400i Exciting rolls on a 14-inch hoops, and has telescopic forks in front and pre-load adjustable twin shock abosrbers at the back. Rated at 178 kg, the 250i has a 14-inch wheel in front, and a 13-incher at the rear.

kymco-downtown-250i-7

Kymco is Taiwan’s leading scooter manufacturer, with 3,800 dealers and 42.5% market share. The 2016 Kawasaki J300 is a rebadged Kymco Downtown with a 300 cc single-cylinder engine, and is sold in Malaysia at a retail price of RM31,498, including GST.

Meanwhile, a teaser image stating that Modenas will be unveiling two new models on November 25, 2016, has emerged. While no details are mentioned, the tagline says buyers can choose between a 125 and a 250, which we assume is the engine capacity of the two new Modenas machines.

GALLERY: Kymco 200i Downtown

GALLERY: Kymco 400i Exciting

Coming with diverse and extensive experience in heavy engineering, Mohan enjoys making anything with wheels go fast, especially motorcycles. His weapon of choice is the Desmoquattro engine, and he has a penchant for anything with a dash of Italian design. Strangely enough, he insists he's a slow rider.

• Ruslan Bahari on Nov 22, 2016 at 11:31 am

I think there is potential for more scooters in Malaysia. KYMCO too seems to be going great guns in the European markets so maybe they can make a splash here. Good luck!

• FIST (Member) on Nov 22, 2016 at 12:33 pm

Took them long enough

• “Emos will be responsible for the distribution, sales and marketing of Kymco scooters locally.”

who is doing the after sales? nobody? then forget it. I am not buying

• Kymco really took their time..But now JV with Modenas hopefully of better things to come.
    When will we be getting the new AK550…that would be real nice. Something to TMAX perhaps?

• Bernard on Nov 22, 2016 at 1:08 pm

Is it 200, 250 or 350 downtown that is being introduced in Bolehland ??

• orang biasa on Nov 22, 2016 at 1:23 pm

I thought Modenas was bye bye, rupa rupa masih hidup. Anyway, good have a official distributor of kymco.

• So Long on Nov 22, 2016 at 4:12 pm

Ala please buy la. Dont be like this.

• Ootai on Nov 22, 2016 at 8:11 pm

So,sym is not giving new models to modenas?? Shouldn’t we buy the kymco bikes direct from the shops. I have seen many kymco bikes from the local dealers. The worrying part is the warranty and spare parts. At least, sym parts are easily available (if you can’t get the modenas).

• kymco rocks! on Nov 22, 2016 at 10:53 pm

Yeay! Finally Kymco coming officially to MY. No more having to settle for stupid 3rd place ranker like Sym, good design but shitty scoots with loads of problems .. currently owns one VTS200 and its been giving me headaches with non ending problems after problems. Quite costly to repair oso …

• Michelin on Nov 23, 2016 at 12:54 pm

After sales service & sparepart, modenas? Hope the elegan 150/200 (sym rebadged) issues will not rise again..