Up to 60,000 registered as Uber and GrabCar drivers

uber-grab

The rise of ride-hailing in the country has seen a swell of people becoming service providers. The government estimates that around 50,000 to 60,000 people are believed to have registered with e-hailing applications such as Uber and GrabCar to become drivers, Bernama reports.

However, only 20% of these drivers were active, while the rest are part-timers who have permanent jobs, according to minister in the prime minister’s department, Datuk Seri Dr Wee Ka Siong. “Most of the drivers providing Uber and Grabcar services are concentrated in urban areas such as the Klang Valley and Penang,” he said in reply to a question at the Dewan Rakyat today.

Wee added that the bill to regulate ride-hailing services will be tabled in Parliament in March next year. Once the bill is passed, ride-hailing services will be regulated by the Land Public Transport Commission (SPAD).

In August, SPAD outlined its plans to improve the taxi industry in Malaysia through the implementation of the Cabinet-approved Taxi Industry Transformation Programme (TITP). The programme is geared to regulate e-hailing services (Uber/Grab), while providing existing taxis new opportunities to remain sustainable and competitive.

Currently, there are an estimated 77,000 registered taxi drivers nationwide. With the legalisation of ride-hailing services, around 150,000 new individual permit holders – comprising Uber, Grab and conventional taxi drivers – are expected to co-exist in the next three years.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Ben Yap on Nov 22, 2016 at 5:04 pm

looking at it, the 20% drivers from grab and uber will drop to only 10% from the 60,000 once the regulation is being imposed.

• Mikey on Nov 22, 2016 at 5:08 pm

Dr Wee Ka Siong, do U know why there are so many people registered as a Uber/Grabcar drivers ??!

It is bcos they have to make extra $$$ to pay for the Extra expenditure/debts incurred when our gov charged GST that lead to everything become more expensive.

I wonder how many of us still remember that a minister said that the Goods & Services will be cheaper with GST implementation. I am not surprised that there will be even more registered come 2017.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 14
    • kzm (Member) on Nov 22, 2016 at 6:34 pm

This is the problem when u hear half n forget the other half..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 18
      • if say so, mind tell another half story?

• The other half is: WEF says our GST was appropriate and the money collected to benefit the B40, was a masterstroke.

• Tax the rich and gip the poor full support to earn a living. Dun see no problem there. Only greeds like u complain in ur white castles (with turrets to boot).

• grabber driver on Nov 22, 2016 at 5:43 pm

I heard this grab uber driver can get RM 3500 to RM 5000 monthly. I think gov must stop give permit to company or to induvidual. Let rakyat use their own car as grab e healing kereta sewa. Dont use word taxi dinasour takyat hate this word. Thank u bn bcos hear rakyat voiice.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 20
  • wtf? what bs is this? You can’t just tell a business to charge X amount. That’s like asking a fine dining restaurant to charge the same amount as a fast food restaurant.

• From personal experience with grab, quality and ‘ride experience’ had dropped ever since regular taxi driver uses it.
    At least give some standards instead of cigarette smelling dented wira. Screen some of the driver’s vehicle on sign up or something.

• Abang Alza Pakai Topi on Nov 22, 2016 at 9:08 pm

Wira tomyams should be banned from being grab drivers.

• U dun like, u go back to using croni Dr Evil. Dun komplen otherwise ur BN lapdog.

• Nasi Lemak 5.0 on Nov 23, 2016 at 2:26 am

This is bolehland… our gomen oni care to fill their pocket… now they are trying to control uber/grab so their can be full again… this sh.thole gomen dont care abt rakyat… jz wayang2 all the time